Customer Reviews


69 Reviews
5 star:
 (49)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


45 of 52 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars GGGGGGGGGOOOOOOOOOAAAAAAAAALLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
There is just so much Mario these days for Nintendo's vast amount of video games, it can almost make your head spin. For the past several months, he has appeared in several great games for Nintendo's Gamecube system. First, he and his friends and enemies wowed us with the thrill of baseball in Mario Superstar Baseball. Next, he tried it again to the beat of Dance Dance...
Published on December 8, 2005 by Michael Kerner

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Somewhat pleased
Great game, but only when it works. The disc is very scratched. I am only somewhat pleased with my purchase.
Published 11 months ago by Chris Silvestri


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

45 of 52 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars GGGGGGGGGOOOOOOOOOAAAAAAAAALLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!, December 8, 2005
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Super Mario Strikers (Video Game)
There is just so much Mario these days for Nintendo's vast amount of video games, it can almost make your head spin. For the past several months, he has appeared in several great games for Nintendo's Gamecube system. First, he and his friends and enemies wowed us with the thrill of baseball in Mario Superstar Baseball. Next, he tried it again to the beat of Dance Dance Revolution with his own wave of the arcade clasic. Last month, he also scored big with the return of the board game classic in Mario party 7. Now, the turn of the single chant of Soccer strikes, and it happens to be a goal.

Super Mario Strikers for Nintendo's Gamecube is a rock'em, sock'em sports game, where Mario and friends tackle on the world of soccer. The game is themed with soccer through Nintendo's uniqueness without any loss. In the game, you can choose your captain from Mario or Luigi, to characters like Donkey Kong and Yoshi. The game also features methods of tricking your opponents from scoring a goal with weapons like the koopa shells, electric fences, and banana peels, similar to Mario Power Tennis. The control is a bit complex at first, but it is very easy to pick up with a little practice, and the graphics are really superb for anybody who loves to score a goal. The game also includes some terrific mini-games to help you score and control your characters.

All in all, Super Mario Strikers is a well-recognized soccer game for anybody who owns the Nintendo Gamecube. This is a great purchase for any die hard sports fanatic, or for all of us who have been longtime fans of Mario and company. Considering there haven't really been at all many soccer games for the Nintendo Gamecube, this one scores big.

Graphics: B 1/2+

Sound: B

Control: B 1/2+

Fun & Enjoyment: B for solo players, A- for multi-player games

Overall: B
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Better than Baseball,but not as good as Golf, December 7, 2005
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Super Mario Strikers (Video Game)
Dont Get me wrong, this game is good. Way better than the baseball game. BUT it is not amazing, i like it but it is just lacking sometthing. For one, it is too hard. Two, You cant control the goalie so all the effort is is in stopping them from shooting ala the old nintendo hockey games. So dont expect any shut outs. You cant really control the shots and any fancy shots are very limited. One the flip side it is fun, the graphics are great. The nintendo humor is there as the celebrations are great to watch. The game speed is good. Most soccers games are so slow not this one. IT moves really fast and that i like. So it is good. But it may get old. Bottem line is this, if you like the mario sports games, then you will like this. Worth a buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best game I have played in years., July 24, 2006
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Super Mario Strikers (Video Game)
I bought this game for our friends kids and I wound up playing it all day. What a game!!! It was fast and exciting all in one. Beats any real simulated game. Cartoon characters and throwing turtles shells at the opponent is extremely fun. I don't own a GameCube, but this game alone may make me buy a unit. I wonder if the baseball game is just as good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well worth it, January 9, 2007
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Super Mario Strikers (Video Game)
We purchased this game for our Mario obsessed 6 year old, and it has quickly become one of his favorites. It is also played frequently by my Husband. With multiple difficulty levels it is easily adapted to all ability levels, and has all of the familiar Mario friends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Funnest Soccer game I've played!, March 17, 2006
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Super Mario Strikers (Video Game)
I'm not really a soccers fan and never actually owned any of those games before. However, I've played a few at a friend's house and I can definitely say I was bored to death. This, however, is totally different. I actually had fun! Yes, I'm not a soccers fan and I actually had fun with a soccer video game! All the chaos and wacky things on the field brought the fun level to this sport all the way for me. An Example~ At one point, everyone on the field was tackling each other (totally legal in this game) while Bowser was burning and firing weapons at everyone. The most chaotic soccer field I've ever seen. Definitely a keeper.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent game, even better with friends, November 28, 2007
By 
Carl Carter (Knoxville, TN USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Super Mario Strikers (Video Game)
I'll admit, my first reaction to Super Mario Strikers was skepticism. Another Nintendo ploy to make money by slapping Mario's name on some sport. But, once again, Nintendo makes me eat my words. To put it simply, this game is pure hectic, frenetic fun. Essentially the basics of soccer are present, but this game is more about slamming your opponents into electrified walls and throwing bob-ombs or shells at them when they're out of your reach. Then slamming them into the electrified wall. I know, it sounds too violent for Nintendo's Gamecube, but it's true. And it's every bit as fun as it sounds. Don't worry too much though, moms, because unlike real soccer, no one ever gets hurt. And the craters on the field disappear eventually. (Once again, not kidding.) Having played soccer myself, however, I was afraid that these unorthodox tactics might take away from the experience. They don't. What they do, however, is succeed in making Super Mario Strikers one of the most fun Mario sport experiences available. And if you have friends you're in luck, because this game only gets better when it's a real live person you're slamming into an electrified wall. Seriously though, this is a great party game and is surprisingly deep. Combining items with your various moves make the more strategic player really able to dominate those who simply hit the "slam opponent into wall" button over and over. The only drawback of this game is that the frame rate occasionally slows, especially when you use the unlockable team.

Bottom Line:
Great, fast-paced, enjoyable game; you'll especially enjoy the multiplayer experience. If you own a Nintendo Gamecube and have enjoyed, or think you would enjoy, a Mario-themed sport, then you need to get this game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This is the best Mario Sports game out there!, July 23, 2007
By 
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Super Mario Strikers (Video Game)
Reviewed for Big Boss Games by: TTM

I never even heard that this game was coming out when it first released, but then my friend came over and he had bought it on a whim, and we fell in love.

This is the best Mario Sports game out there and differs from the other sports titles in the Mario series. It is rather refreshing to see a Mario game where the characters are not playing soccer to, say, free the twelve star maidens to chase Bowser away from the land, so they can party all night. This game is lacking any type of story, other then to win a tournament. It is full of out right hatred for the other players, and is quickly evident. The characters begin each match with a taunt, and then continue to bash each other around into electrical fences. (I really enjoy the sound of Daisy screaming as she hits an electrical Fence) It is the most fun I have ever had playing a soccer game.

The basic play is you and a team of 5 others (Sidekicks) is on the field competing against another team of 5. It will take tackles, shells, and the Captain?s (main character) super striker move to beat this match.

Over all this was a great game. Its graphics were not the best in the world, but they suited very well for this game. The one player mode was pretty fun, but where this game is best played in is multi-player mode. The controls are quick and easy to master, which is good for any player, new or veteran.

I give Super Mario Strikers an 8 out 10.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fast and fun challenge, January 29, 2006
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Super Mario Strikers (Video Game)
The game starts off easy, Shoot Pass Steal. This takes about 30 seconds. The control of more advanced moves are very intuitive as well and it quickly becomes not about how to play the game but how to play the game well.

I've played lots of Mario Golf, Tennis, and Kart, but Strikers is the most challenging so far. Usually you can plow through the first few cups before breaking a sweat, but it took us quite a few trys to make it through even mushroom cup on the normal difficulty.

The graphics are great, with nice motion capture(?) animation, fire, smoke, and slow motion action.

Unlike prior titles you are not force-fed saccharin soundbits every shot you take, it's more about an over-the-top soccer game than exploiting the franchise to make a buck.

One special note, for anyone who played NBA Jam titles: there is a brutal "shove" button (rather than the slide-tackle/steal) which will clear out your opponent. However, unlike the Midway NBA games your opponent is awarded a weapon/item if you smash a player who doesn't have the ball.

Minus points: 1. Loading time is long by GC standards. Maybe it's just they don't hide it very well. 2. The interface is pretty sparse. Not that I like obnoxious bouncy menus, but a little more perhaps. 3. Possible CPU Assistance(?). I'm not sure, but it seems like your goalie becomes confused if you're playing well. The CPU seems to make some incredible shots if down in the last 30 seconds. Maybe not, but that's what it seems like.

A great buy for you and your friends. The best addition to the franchise since Kart, I think.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect game, but dangerous, December 25, 2005
A Kid's Review
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Super Mario Strikers (Video Game)
O.k its a great game and all, but like all Mario games it`s dangerous for the caracters. (well maybe not all but most) Basicly its just another Mario sports game. This time your playing soccer with an extra one player mode. Its soccer except you can tackle and throw weapons. And every once in a while bowser will attack you

modes

grudge match; basic 2 to4player single game

cup battles; main1p game

super cup battles; an unlockable 1p game defete bowser

strikers101; check winning teems in cups

practice mode; practice your skills

youl love this game watch for enemy shells and bombs at .11 I`m not kidding. have fun!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars And oldie but a goodie, April 29, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Super Mario Strikers (Video Game)
One of Next Level game's first foray into prominence on Nintendo's battlefield. This game put them on the map for me, as the mechanics of Mario playing soccer were superb. Despite the aggressive style of the game, it's really.....actually pretty aggressive especially when you start moving up the cups. Quite a challenge, not just for a mario title , but a challenge for anyone gunning for a major completion. A strange title, proud achievement for Next Level Games.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Super Mario Strikers
Super Mario Strikers by Nintendo (GameCube)
$114.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.