Customer Reviews


36 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Most fun and original game I've played in a long time
I had been watching this game for a bit on Xbox Live Arcade, but hesitated to buy it because I'm mainly a cinematic action gamer, and FPS gamer. However, I made a realization that lately I've been enjoying the smaller more arcadey games. They are easier to pick up and play when I get time now that I'm busy with work and family. So, you could say, SUPER MEAT BOY SAVED MY...
Published on April 6, 2011 by Michael Neth

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Just okay
My son was bored after playing it a few times. Now it just sits in the drawer. Hopefully one day it will get some use.
Published 4 months ago by Corden


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Most fun and original game I've played in a long time, April 6, 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Super Meat Boy Ultra Edition - PC (CD-ROM)
I had been watching this game for a bit on Xbox Live Arcade, but hesitated to buy it because I'm mainly a cinematic action gamer, and FPS gamer. However, I made a realization that lately I've been enjoying the smaller more arcadey games. They are easier to pick up and play when I get time now that I'm busy with work and family. So, you could say, SUPER MEAT BOY SAVED MY FAMILY.

No more do I have to spend $60+ on a game that I only play twice! NO MORE, do I have to be slave to hour long cutscenes. SUPER MEAT BOY SAVED MY LIFE.

Get in. Die 249 times. FINALLY reach the end. Win. This game is frustrating, satisfying, aggravating, relaxing, funny, sad, high protein and low fat.

Do yourself a favor, and get Super Meat Boy in some form or another. WHY NOT THIS VERSION? It has things in it which look neat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best platformer of our generation., April 5, 2011
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Super Meat Boy Ultra Edition - PC (CD-ROM)
Oh, yes. You will get angry. You will curse. You may even heave your controller across the room.
You will cry out in agony and frustration. You will play the same level hundreds of times.
But, at the end of the day, you find yourself grinning like an idiot.
You just had the most fun with a game since you had your NES.

Super Meat Boy is the most ridiculous game that has been released in a long while, and therein lies its' charm. It is such a unique, quirky idea, it reminds one of NAMCO's gem, Katamari Damacy. I mean, this is a game about a hunk of meat trying to save his latex girlfriend from a ugly robo-fetus.
What's not to love?

The gameplay is the tightest, best controlled platformer I've ever laid hands on. Each of the hundreds of levels seems like it was meticulously designed for the player, with all the narrow misses and 'I ALMOST HAD IT!'s. The game lasts and lasts forever. If you want to complete the light world (the normal difficulty) and the dark world (the hard difficulty) it will take you hours upon hours. And then there are the hidden bandages that unlock awesome characters (including original ones and ones from other games). The look on my face when I was jumping around these levels as Tim from Braid must have been priceless. In between levels you are often treated to hilarious animated cutscenes setting the stage for the next zone or level. They are great, and it almost seems like Meat Boy could have his own cartoon.

The music deserves its own paragraph. A little bit 8-bit, a little bit metal, a little bit electronica, Meat Boys' music will have you rocking out in no time. From the awesome opening theme to each area's unique song, it's all stuck-in-your-head-humming-it-all-day greatness. And the best part? It comes with the soundtrack.

If you like platformers, you have no reason not to buy Team Meats' baby. It's $20, and for that you're getting one of the best platform games in existence. So go to it, and watch out for all the saw blades! ;)

10/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A MUST BUY!, April 5, 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Super Meat Boy Ultra Edition - PC (CD-ROM)
This is one of the best games to come out of the last decade. The price is perfect and includes tons of extra goodies. Every pixel is just oozing with personality and quality. This is a must buy for anyone who plays and enjoys games.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars By Gamers, for Gamers, July 9, 2013
By 
Nomnom (Boston, MA USA) - See all my reviews
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Super Meat Boy Ultra Edition - PC (CD-ROM)
As a gamer since 1984, I have run through every game genre there is. I keep myself abreast of the industry as a whole, and have a genuine love for the gaming industry. I've traveled to PAX numerous times and have beta tested some of the largest franchises to date. I continue to play video games as an entertaining and interactive diversion from the normal hustle and bustle of life, and expect artistic as well as technical achievement from the games I play, otherwise why would I waste my time playing them.

Why have I bothered saying all that? It was my feeble attempt at creating some sort of credibility with you, so that when I tell you my verdict for the game, you MIGHT listen to what I had to say:

Go buy this game.

You're welcome.

If you're can't afford the collectible version, buy it cheaply off Steam or XBLA; leave the boxed version the die hard fans (read: me).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Despite the extreme difficulty you can't put it down, March 28, 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Super Meat Boy Ultra Edition - PC (CD-ROM)
The Good: Pixel perfect controls, tons of charming visuals, catchy music, humorous story and characters, replays are a blast to watch

The Bad: Brutal difficulty, extra characters are hard to unlock

2D platformers are always compared to a 20 year old game known as Super Mario Bros. and they have every right to. That game was flawless and literally created the 2D platforming genre. Super Meat Boy is probably the only game in recent history that comes close to that kind of pixel perfect jumping and tight responsive controls. SMB also has a ton of humor infused with it, and the game is a blast to play and is highly addictive.

You play as Super Meat Boy who is trying to save Bandage Girl from Dr. Fetus. It's a simple story, but its hilarious and the cut scenes are drawn beautifully. The art style is very unique and there's so much detail infused in this game it's nuts. When SMB gets destroyed he splatters his meaty goodness all over the walls and it stays there. He makes a splooshing sound when running and his facial animations are very funny. There are other characters you can unlock by completing warp levels and these guys are just as detailed and have their unique abilities.

The controls in the game are what really surprised me. They're just absolutely perfect. They are super responsive and tight and it feels like your controlling the characters with your fingers instead of buttons. Using the Games for Windows controller (or any other) is essential, but the keyboard works too. Jumping around corners and manuvering though the games brutal levels can be conquered thanks to these tight controls. I'm dead serious about the game being hard because every corner and jump requires extreme precision or you will die 30+ times. Oh sure, you'll die that many times thanks to a quick reset button that has zero loading. What's cool is after you beat the level you get to see a replay of every time you died, so every SMB goes off and you can follow them until the last one makes it. It's awesome, unique, and makes you want to watch every replay and save them for friends to laugh at.

The warp levels bring the graphics back to 8 bit with amazing music and tend to be more challenging than the regular levels. Usually you get to play the characters you will unlock, but game play varies in these levels. You can also find bandages in the regular levels, but these require extra extreme precision (if that's possible), so this game is really for hardcore gamers only. Casual gamers will give up quick and there's no difficulty levels to set. From the frantic boss fights to the constant dishing out of new obstacles to overcome the game ramps up after the first few stages, so you must stay on your toes.

With a crap ton of charming visuals, catchy music, and perfect controls the game shines above all other 2D platformers. It wouldn't hurt to say it's probably the best 2D platformer in the last decade, but the brutal difficulty is very forgiving thanks to the feeling of accomplishment once you trump that level. Try beating the record time to feel even better about that victory! I highly recommend SMB to any platforming fan or even fans of the 16/8 bit eras.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A masochist's favorite game., August 30, 2011
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Super Meat Boy Ultra Edition - PC (CD-ROM)
How much do you value your precious free time and the amount of blood, sweat and tears that you may lose from being frustrated at a game? Well, regardless of what bodily fluids you may lose over playing this game, SMB is an awesome game. It is hardcore tough. Completionists may take a liking to this game because there is a lot to do and masochists...well, you get the point. This game is tough.

You play as Meat Boy, a lovable wad of meat who is trying to rescue Bandage Girl from being kidnapped by Dr. Fetus. Awesome already isn't it? You must get from point A to point B in each stage while maneuvering sometimes very difficult obstacles. There are 7 worlds to beat, usually with 20 stages each, an additional 20 stages that are more challenging, boss stages, and secret hidden levels. There are extra characters to unlock (many of them you may recognize from other games) and each with their own special ability.

Cons: Tough as nails platformer may be a turn off to some looking to play a casual game. Also, turn back now if you don't want to realize you actually have a potty mouth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The game...MELTS FACES, April 11, 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Super Meat Boy Ultra Edition - PC (CD-ROM)
Did you like video games at any point in the last 20 years? Does any one of the following titles or series appeal to you: Super Mario Bros, Contra, Sonic, Castlevania, Sonic, Metroid, Mega Man, Zelda, Street Fighter, Half-Life, Halo, Bionic Commando, Blaster Master, Metal Slug, Ninja Gaiden, Metal Gear, Wario Ware, Cave Story, Earthworm Jim, Assassin's Creed, Prince of Persia, Sylpheed, Bonk, Little Samson?

SMB does not emulate all of the above, but the point is that, Team Meat, a small band of independent game developers, has captured the magic of what's so awesome, addicting, and enticing about the very essence of video gaming and condensed it into what is probably the most enthralling title in the last 10 years. I haven't had this much fun playing a video game since I discovered Castlevania SOTN a few years ago (wow, did I miss out in the 90's). The sublime blend of nonstop action, micro-progression, nostalgia, and accomplishment this game brings are analogous to the rush of base-jumping. The bottom line here is, if you like to have fun when playing a video game, you could drop $60 on this title and it'd be worth every cent. If you have ANY interest in gaming, YOU WILL LOVE this title, period.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just plain awesome, April 7, 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Super Meat Boy Ultra Edition - PC (CD-ROM)
I bought this game back in December on Steam, I like/play it so much that I gifted it to two friends just recently, and now I've ordered this, and yet somehow I still feel like I have gotten more enjoyment out of it than I've payed for (especially considering the garbage huge game studios will churn out for 60 bucks a pop). At roughly 160 hours according to Steam and still going strong with new levels (user-made and dev-made) coming out making it over 500, that's nuts. The game is very hard as many have stated, yet rewarding at the same time. These pricks deserve your money, and I only use the word prick because of The Kid warp zone ((Say hi to the princesses for me) You'll See!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Liar!, May 3, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Super Meat Boy Ultra Edition - PC (CD-ROM)
it did not include the poster,the tape damaged the box,and the outer flap did not have the velcro it's supposed to have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Just okay, April 28, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Super Meat Boy Ultra Edition - PC (CD-ROM)
My son was bored after playing it a few times. Now it just sits in the drawer. Hopefully one day it will get some use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Super Meat Boy Ultra Edition - PC
Super Meat Boy Ultra Edition - PC by Team Meat (Windows 7 / Vista / XP)
Used & New from: $19.89
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.