Customer Reviews


50 Reviews
5 star:
 (37)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Miles Ahead of Other Free-to-Play Games
There are many Free-to-play games out there, and the quality of a lot of them is very low. This game is updated every week and while issues still come up from it being updated constantly, I can tell the developers listen to the community.

Pros:
- Unique cross between DOTA and a third-person shooter
- updated weekly
- new content is free
-...
Published on July 12, 2012 by Joe Kramer

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good for a free game
The game was free when I got it. and it was pretty good. I would definitely recommend it. Why not give it a try?
Published 13 months ago by Trace


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Miles Ahead of Other Free-to-Play Games, July 12, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Super Monday Night Combat [Download] (Software Download)
There are many Free-to-play games out there, and the quality of a lot of them is very low. This game is updated every week and while issues still come up from it being updated constantly, I can tell the developers listen to the community.

Pros:
- Unique cross between DOTA and a third-person shooter
- updated weekly
- new content is free
- cash shop only includes cosmetic items (This isn't a Pay-to-Win game)
- random prizes allow people to get cosmetics without paying
- nice selection of characters to play

Cons:
- Matchmaking could be improved by having a larger playerbase, and a larger playerbase would exist if matchmaking was better, a catch 22.
- high learning curve
- a lot of opportunities to get angry at other players :)
- more difficult than your average game if you're coming from a DOTA-style game

If you aren't bothered by childish remarks that are present everywhere on the Internet and have patience to the learn the game, it can be very fun and rewarding.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best hybrid Third Person Shooter/DotA game ever., July 12, 2012
This review is from: Super Monday Night Combat [Download] (Software Download)
SMNC isn't MNC2, for those who played the original.

It combines elements from third person shooters and Defense of the Ancients or League of Legends (MOBA is the common acronym but I don't like it, so this is the only time I'll mention it).

There are (as of the review) three game modes,Super Crossfire (the main mode), Turbocross, and Super Blitz. Super Crossfire is a strategic battle of pushing robots down defined lanes toward the enemy's "Moneyball", which must be destroyed in order to win. Teamwork and awareness of your surroundings are necessary. Turbocross is, in short, a faster-paced but somewhat less strategic version of Super Crossfire, for those who like the faster gameplay option passive level bonuses are removed, damage output and movement speed is higher, and turrets can be rebuilt. Lastly, the newest game mode, Super Blitz, puts a group of players (up to five) against infinite gradually-stronger waves of robots trying to bring down the Moneyball. It's up to the players to build and maintain turrets to help defend the Moneyball as long as possible.

The setting takes place in the future, where (Super) Monday Night Combat has become the new NFL. Crowds of spectators come watch these Pros, cloned from the DNA of various figures of historical or cultural significance, fight and kill each other for fame and cash.

In short, it's excellent. And since it's free, there's no reason not to try it out.

Important questions to answer:

Q: Is this game Pay to Win?
A: Not at all. Nothing you can buy with money will give you a gameplay advantage, the only ways to get better are to play more, and use endorsements, which are unlocked ONLY with credits earned in-game, and provide very small boosts, with a small counteracting downside as well.

Q: How's the matchmaking?
A: Opinions tend to vary on this, but I have had generally good experiences with matchmaking lately. As more players play, the matchmaking algorithm will learn more and have a larger pool of players to pick from, and get better and better at making even matches.

Q: What about support for the game? Balance and bug fixes?
A: The game is in a very good state of balance, currently. Uber updates the game almost every week (they occasionally skip a week in preparation for a more important update, such as upgrading to a newer version of Unreal Engine), and at these times they typically fix glitches, make small gameplay tweaks, rebalance aspects of Pros (normally a little bit at a time), add new maps, pros, etc.

Q: I'm having a hard time, what should I do?
A: Contrary to some of the more vocal members of the community, there are many experienced players who are willing to take time to teach you the game, provided you are willing to communicate and cooperate with them in the process. The Uber forums also have guides to all of the pros, which serve as good beginner guides. No amount of reading makes up for experience, though, so in the end, it's best to get out there and play a few rounds and learn from your mistakes. Don't be afraid to ask for help from experienced players, and don't take it personally if someone tells you that you're terrible and should uninstall the game. They were that bad at some time, too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Deeply complex, crazy challenging, super fun!, July 12, 2012
This review is from: Super Monday Night Combat [Download] (Software Download)
For anyone looking to get a spot-on in-depth look at this game, I highly recommend watching the game review "WTF is Super Monday Night Combat?" on YouTube.

"What you have with SMNC is an incredibly enthralling, very deep, and balls to the wall challenging MOBA style third person shooter. It's unique, it's got innovation seeping from every single pore. It has style up the wazuu, a huge amount on all sides. It is a gem that shouldn't be hidden, but for some reason it seems to be."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Super Monday Night Combat - Super Fun!, July 12, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Super Monday Night Combat [Download] (Software Download)
Xbox 360 Controller Compatible! <3
A sequel to Monday Night Combat from Uber Entertainment. Updated once a week by Uber Entertainment.
SMNC is a third person shooter hybrid. Somewhere between Team Fortress 2 and League of Legends and with a very funny sense of humor.

You play as one of a growing number(15+) of clone combatants in a team of 5 players against another team of 5 players.
The objective of the game is to get to the enemy's base and destroy their Moneyball. The enemy will have defense turrets along the way, you must escort the robots that come out of your base down the lane to destroy their turrets and eventually their Money Ball. Only the robots can take the shields down that cover the turrets and Moneyball, once this is done, it is up to you as the player to deal most of the damage. Battle the enemy and their waves of robots as they try to do the same to you. With classes ranging from healers to stealthy to snipers to heavy damage dealing to all around pros, the game has a class and a character sure to suit your play style.

SMNC offers plenty of costumes and cosmetic items so change the appearance of your Pro, ranging from taunts to flair, to mustaches.

New game modes are always being worked, with Blitz mode on the way. Where you as a player will play by yourself or with others, facing robot opponents in waves of growing intensity. How long can you last?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Shooter Moba? It's a Shoba!, July 12, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Super Monday Night Combat [Download] (Software Download)
Super MNC is packed with great action and humor. Make sure you read the guides created by the community because there's a lot to wrap your head around. This isn't just a run and gun shooter. It requires strategy and teamwork. The game is constantly evolving (they update every week!) and the devs are very active in the community. Great work from a small studio.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best Moba/3rd person shooter hybrid, July 12, 2012
This review is from: Super Monday Night Combat [Download] (Software Download)
Super Monday Night Combat is one of the most fun games I have ever played. The gameplay is intriguing, the setting is brilliant and creative, and overall is just a medley of action, hilarity, and skill. Something that really shines about the game, however, is its developers. They are some of the most dedicated coders out there and really listen to their player base. Weekly patches are released that either add new content or address old issues so the game feels new and exciting every week. The game also, while free to play, does not have any pay to win mechanics or items. To everyone out there that is bored or looking for a new game that has real depth behind it, try SMNC. You won't regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Funnest Game I've ever played!!, July 12, 2012
This review is from: Super Monday Night Combat [Download] (Software Download)
I've always been a fan for shooter games, and just recently started getting into moba/dota type games, this game blends those styles together in the most amazing way. I can say that I've never enjoyed a game so much before ever. I have to say that it's not very easy when you first start out, but once you get the hang of what do do, its amazing fun, and once you invest the effort and time to get good at it it's very rewarding. 10/10 !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Shooter moba with the lols, July 12, 2012
This review is from: Super Monday Night Combat [Download] (Software Download)
Honestly this game is a mix of both shooters and mobas with the benefits of both and a sense of humor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best action/strategy/sports/rpg shooter, July 12, 2012
This review is from: Super Monday Night Combat [Download] (Software Download)
Games like Call of Duty and Team Fortress don't have anywhere close to the same character and flair as SMNC. Third person shooter and DotA-style strategy gameplay blend flawlessly, with a small but vocal community. Each character and level is unique in style and strategy, making each match feel different and unique. Grab some friends and party up to build teamwork and make your way through the ranks. Serious competition, hilarious dialogue and announcing that immerses you in this world more than most other shooters, pumping soundtrack that juices you up, random unique characters, taunts, products, "pro-tags" and costumes added almost weekly. Support the (relatively) small indie developers, good luck and have bacon!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Favorite, December 26, 2012
By 
Leonard R. Amurao (Monrovia, CA United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Super Monday Night Combat [Download] (Software Download)
This has become my favorite game since I started playing around April/May 2012 (right around when I had just become unemployed). I was turned off when I watched videos on it because I was expecting PVP, not killing bots. Then I got bored enough to install it after I saw there were Team Fortress 2 crossover items. For a while everything was gravy until Summer was coming to end and the number of players dwindled rapidly. I then got another job and could only play at night (PST) when there were even less people online.

Nowadays it seems the (skilled) people that I once played with have either clearly surpassed me and group together with other veterans or have given up on the game (there are only new people left and they either get stomped or continue to play bad because no one has shown them the way).

Hopefully something can be done soon...it's lame waiting for a match to be found and then I get frustrated and play another game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Super Monday Night Combat [Download]
Super Monday Night Combat [Download] by Uber Entertainment, Inc.
$0.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.