Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love disaster flicks
OK, the acting isn't the best and the plot is filled with holes big enough to loose the grand canyon. But for what it is, the special effects were better than the average low budget disaster flick (quite good actually).

Truth be told my husband and I enjoyed this movie. It was funny in places, scary in others and actually quite good.

Now if you...
Published 10 months ago by Jeanne Barkemeijer

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars armaggedon as brought about by a great red spot
It's too bad. Somewhere in America's heartland three students serving high school detention (and one other student who's just there to do a story for the school newspaper) were maybe on their way to bonding like them kids from The Breakfast Club. But then that monster electrical storm got brewin' and devastatin' and there went the off chance of being serenaded by Simple...
Published 4 months ago by H. Bala


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love disaster flicks, September 15, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Super Storm (Amazon Instant Video)
OK, the acting isn't the best and the plot is filled with holes big enough to loose the grand canyon. But for what it is, the special effects were better than the average low budget disaster flick (quite good actually).

Truth be told my husband and I enjoyed this movie. It was funny in places, scary in others and actually quite good.

Now if you want to see one of the WORST low budget disaster flicks, watch the "500 MPH STORM".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars armaggedon as brought about by a great red spot, March 18, 2014
By 
H. Bala "Me Too Can Read" (Recently moved back to Carson, California, or as I call it... the center of the universe) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Super Storm (DVD)
It's too bad. Somewhere in America's heartland three students serving high school detention (and one other student who's just there to do a story for the school newspaper) were maybe on their way to bonding like them kids from The Breakfast Club. But then that monster electrical storm got brewin' and devastatin' and there went the off chance of being serenaded by Simple Minds' "Don't You Forget About Me." My guess is that the kids' detention project of cleaning up the gym for next Monday's science fair is gonna to have to wait a second.

The film alerts us that, uh oh, Jupiter's notorious zit - the Great Red Spot - has suddenly vanished. And here on planet home, reports rage on of unexplained weather disturbances, of storms volatile enough that they'd already laid waste to chunks of the eastern seaboard. New York, Boston, Washington DC... they're obliterated.

Only one scientist seems on the ball. A particle physicist named Carolyn (Erica Cerra) has put two and two together and added it up to "Oh, sh--!" Carolyn's been eyeing a potential scientific breakthrough, this discovery courtesy of a high school girl's science project. This girl, Megan MacGregor (Luisa D'Oliveira), happens to be one of the three teens serving detention. Carolyn theorizes that the girl's invention attracts "destruction particles" (or x-bosons), which is unheard of as these particles can only be found on gas giants... like Jupiter dunh-dunh-DUNH!). Off Carolyn flies to the "dull end of nowhere," as her colleague dubs Heartfield, Midwest America. But what can a smalltown girl's school project do against the Great Red Spot, now relocated to Earth and about to trigger a nuclear genesis - that is, alter solid particles into gases? This is not good as much of the stuff on Earth is made out of solid particles. This may be the worst detention ever.

Luckily, we have several Syfy veterans on the job. If anything can avert doomsday, it's gotta be a crew composed of Eureka's Deputy Jo Lupo, The X-Files' Asst. Director Skinner, and, um, Rory's dad from The Gilmore Girls.

Once in a while a Syfy Channel Original Movie goes off the reservation and startles its audience by not sucking too much. Space Twister - a.k.a. Super Storm; a.k.a. Mega Cyclone; a.k.a. Big Wind (okay, that last one's fake) - was surprisingly watchable. Sure, it wanders eagerly into speculative science - the existence of x-bosons has yet to be truly proven - and the plot coasts down that familiar road. But the acting performances are decent and the visual effects may be the best I'd seen from a Syfy production in ages (or ever?). It has to be a nice change of pace for Erica Cerra who steps away from playing the brawn on Eureka to here taking on a more cerebral role. It's great to see Mitch Pileggi, as well. True to his sci-fi street creds, his character - Megan's ex-R & D rocket scientist - is tough as nails. In one scene he gets shocked and plummets off a lofty windmill but then gets up and shakes it off after a minute.

Plot holes? Yep, of course. I'm no science geek so I won't even broach the veracity of the messed-up meteorology posited here. ***And maybe a SPOILERS alert now for the rest of the paragraph*** I do question Mitch Pileggi's decision to keep on climbing up that windmill even after multiple tremors. I question the late (and very convenient) introduction of that experimental rocket sitting in the barn. And I guess we're left to assume that the dispersal of the local storm, in fact, reflects dispersal on a global scale. They sure didn't show that onscreen (yay, crap budget). Maybe the biggest neg for me is that Will's (Brett Dier) parents hadn't a clue that their son was a genius. This long-held obliviousness makes me think less of David Sutcliffe's and Leah Cairns' characters. Still, overall, Space Twister slides over to the watchable side by virtue of earnest acting, decent production values, and a general damping down of hokey elements. And if you're a fan of Smallville, you may get a small thrill when you recognize Gunter MacGregor's farm as the same location set as the old Kent farm.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars super storm see it!, September 20, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Super Storm [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Very entertaining for a low budget movie with a little more money they could've made it more interresting but it was nice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nothing to write home about..., February 27, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Super Storm (Amazon Instant Video)
Be ready to suspend your sense of reality and this can be an entertaining movie. The acting is reasonably good. The premise? It's okay. As a scientist, this required me to let go of analytical thinking and use of a lot of imagination. It was unexpected science fiction. A little goofy and off the wall, but it passed the time pleasantly enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good disaster movie, July 3, 2014
This review is from: Super Storm (DVD)
it got here in good shape, and it played fine. thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Way Cool Movie, March 9, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Super Storm (DVD)
Loved this movie, first time seeing it and it was fantastic. These are the kind of movies that I like.Loved everything about this movie, would recommend at to anyone who likes these kind of movies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Super Storm Review, February 5, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
quality was bad, voice was very hard to hear. Didn't even finish watching it. Not worth my time when I couldn't hear. Poor quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars I love disaster movies, February 2, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This one's not bad. Lots of action. New twist with teenagers saving the day. Would and will watch it again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars So So disaster flick, January 28, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I love disaster flicks, this one is OK. The special effects are acceptable. And the story moves. But you can tell it is low budget. Still a nice movie. I would watch it again, but I don't think I would buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good Movie, December 23, 2013
By 
Avis Collins Goines (Warren, MI United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Super Storm (DVD)
Arrived quickly in excellent condition. Lots of actions. Acting was good. I would you tell others who like storm movies to buy
Good movie
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Super Storm
Super Storm by Sheldon Wilson (DVD - 2013)
$19.98 $9.49
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.