Customer Reviews


421 Reviews
5 star:
 (226)
4 star:
 (97)
3 star:
 (34)
2 star:
 (18)
1 star:
 (46)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


42 of 49 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Making the Scene
Rising young stars Jonah Hill (Knocked Up) and Michael Cera (Arrested Development) have one last shot at popularity in the very funny coming-of-age comedy "Superbad". Seth (Hill) and Evan (Cera) are lifelong best friends who really want to lose their virginity before heading to college. When they are invited to the year's biggest party, the boys use their friend Fogell's...
Published on December 2, 2007 by R. J Rey

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The party's over when the cops show up
The first 30 minutes or so of this film are absolutely a riot. With perfectly cast actors, hilariously creative profanity that would make Kevin Smith proud, and certain wistful remembrance of what was good and bad about high school, it's a blast of fresh air in a stale genre. When it reached the peak - a scene in which Seth reveals his, uh, unique drawing habits when he...
Published on December 14, 2007 by Richard E. Benns


‹ Previous | 1 243 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

42 of 49 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Making the Scene, December 2, 2007
By 
R. J Rey (Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Rising young stars Jonah Hill (Knocked Up) and Michael Cera (Arrested Development) have one last shot at popularity in the very funny coming-of-age comedy "Superbad". Seth (Hill) and Evan (Cera) are lifelong best friends who really want to lose their virginity before heading to college. When they are invited to the year's biggest party, the boys use their friend Fogell's (Christopher Mintz-Plasse) new fake I.D. to score some alcohol for the party but their plan soon turns to a madcap night of unpredictable and outrageous situations. "Superbad" is an uproariously funny teen comedy from the creators of "The 40-Year-Old Virgin" and "Knocked Up". The raunchy teen comedy delivers a well paced storyline, some side-splitting moments and memorable comic performances. Seth Rogen (Knocked Up) and Bill Hader (SNL) are hilarious as two incompetent police officers. "Superbad" received overwhelming positive reviews from US critics and became one of the year's highest grossing comedies with over $130 million nationwide.

If you've enjoyed "Superbad" in theaters, then I strongly recommend checking out "Superbad" Unrated Edition. The raunchy teen comedy is presented in 1.85:1 anamorphic widescreen format with more unrated footage that wasn't included in its theatrical release. The picture quality is surprisingly good with no obvious flaws. The 5.1 Dolby Digital sound is clear and well balanced. Among supplemental material, the DVD includes 8 minutes of deleted scenes, trailers, a short gag reel, "Cop Car Confessions" and "The Making of Superbad" featurettes, an exclusive sneak peek of the upcoming comedy "Pineapple Express" and an audio commentary with director Greg Mottola, production crew and cast members. Overall, "Superbad" Unrated Edition scores a "B+".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SuperTrue, January 25, 2009
By 
MyHomeZoo (Overland Park, KS) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Superbad (Amazon Instant Video)
I thought I'd read the 1 star reviews before writing mine. I'm guessing there are a lot of people who would be offended by this movie: some who are offended by silly sophomoric humor, some who are prudish and others for whom it hits too close to home. The rest are looking for a cinematic masterpiece and are sorely disappointed.

This is a somewhat over-the-top portrayal of typical pubescent male behavior. This is the movie's genius, because you know that much of what happens in this movie has happened in some fashion somewhere in America. Male teen behavior is inherently funny (unless you're a parent of one) and this movie takes full advantage of that fact. Everyone who has ever been a teenager has known someone who could have been a character in this movie.

Suggestion: Watch this movie with an open mind and no preconceptions. It is not like most American comedies. Do not look for a point or moral to the story, just sit back, relax and have a giggle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


40 of 52 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars another triumph from the "Knocked Up" team, September 8, 2007
By 
Filmmakers Judd Apatow, Seth Rogen and Evan Goldberg make lowbrow comedies for highbrow audiences. With films like "The 40-Year Old Virgin," "Knocked Up," and their current gem, "Superbad" (directed by Greg Mottola), they have begun, in their own quiet way, to re-write the rules of the modern sex comedy, making films that, despite their R-rated blueness, are just a tad more insightful, a little more nuanced, and a trifle more literate than most films in that genre.

The characters in their movies may seem at first blush to be mere photocopies of the nerds and losers familiar to us from all those post-"Animal House," pandering-to-youth comedy hits of the late 1970's and 1980's. Yet, there is something rather different about these individuals, a difference that it is not always all that easy to put one`s finger on. They seem somehow more reflective and self-aware than their earlier counterparts, more able to step out of their skins and see themselves for who and what they are. It's almost as if these characters have had the added advantage of seeing themselves reflected in all those earlier movies (one imagines they've spent a great deal of their childhood reveling in "Revenge of the Nerds") and of extracting important lessons from those films to help them chart their course through life.

The storyline, in and of itself, is hardly original. The screenplay by Rogen and Goldberg chronicles the misadventures of three teenage super geeks determined to go to any lengths or suffer any humiliation to be part of the "in" crowd at school. With only a few days left before graduation, Seth, Evan, and super-nerd Fogell - an outcast even the outcasts can feel comfortable ostracizing - decide that the time has come to take some drastic action if they hope to have any chance of losing their virginity before high school ends. Thus, Seth cooks up a scheme to smuggle booze into a graduation party being thrown by one of the hottest girls on campus. It is the expected setbacks they encounter as they go about the business of achieving "coolness" that provide the comic energy for the tale.

As they did in "Knocked Up," the writers capture the way people in the real world actually speak. The dialogue may be crude and vulgar, but it is also sharply observant and wickedly funny as the characters lament the unfairness of life and reveal deep-seated concerns and feelings about themselves and each other. What's nice is that the characters in this film not only sound like people we might encounter in everyday life but LOOK like them as well. Even the "beautiful" people in this film aren't drop-dead gorgeous, just believably well put-together and attractive.

Jonah Hill, Michael Cera and Christopher Mintz-Plasse are so authentic and convincing in the roles of Seth, Eric and Fogell, respectively, that they have us securely in their corner from the very first moment they appear on screen. Rogen and Bill Hader ("SNL") also have a good time playing goofy cops, although their characters aren't as finely drawn or interesting as the three main characters, and the scenes with them do tend to drag a bit.

It is crucial to point out that, amidst all the blush-inducing, foul-mouthed hilarity, there's an incredible underlying sweetness to "Superbad," particularly in the final two scenes of the movie.

Together, this team of talented filmmakers is making it fun to go to the movies again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I was McLovin this comedy, March 31, 2008
This was a hilarious movie full of fun characters in the same vein as Fast Times at Ridgemont High or American Pie. The plot follows the lives of two high school seniors who are best friends as they attempt to get with some high school hotties before they take off to different colleges.

Some of the funniest scenes in this movie center around the antics of their friend Fogell (aka McLovin) and a pair of keystone cops. One of the cops is played by Seth Rogen who also co-wrote the screen play.

If you enjoy stupid humor about suburban kids then you will enjoy this coming of age comedy. If you yearn for something with more substance, then you might want to give it a pass. I for one enjoyed this movie enough to watch it three times, and laughed at every joke the third time through.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Superbad, September 5, 2007
By 
Michael Zuffa (Racine, WI United States) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Evan (Cera) is a average shy high schooler. Seth (Hill) is loud and obnoxious. Fogell (Mintz-Plasse) is a big nerd. Together, they have a chance to impress the girls at a high school party by supplying alcohol. Evan is interested in Becca (MacIsaac), Seth likes Jules (Stone), and Fogell wants Nicola (Aviva). Of course nothing goes smoothly, and soon they are dealing with Officers Slater (Hader) and Michaels (Rogan), who aren't very competent and want to hang with Fogell, who is going by the name McLuvin on his new fake ID.

"Superbad" is a very funny movie. The dialogue is profane and very R-rated, but clever as well. It is like an even funnier version of "American Pie". The three leads are all believable as high schoolers on the brink of college. The camaraderie is genuine, and you can tell that they had a blast making this movie. Produced by Judd Apatow (director "Knocked Up"') and written by Rogan and Evan Goldberg, it is clear that they know their subject matter, and know how to make it funny. Apatow and Rogan seem to be the voices of comedy these days, and "Superbad" is a prime example. I recommend this film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Superfunny! Sorry, is that title taken?, March 29, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Superbad (Rated) (DVD)
SUPERBAD is just flat out hilarious. Start to finish funny. You take some awkwardness of high school. Some kids on the fringe. Mix in a few cute girls. Graduation. A party and a little coming of age. Stir it up with laughs that you never see coming and two lead actors that nail every joke and you have a modern day comedy classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Crude, Disgusting, and Vulgar, December 9, 2007
"Superbad" is also one of the funniest movies of the year. I approached this movie with a bad attitude thinking it was going to be a throwback of those sex romp comedies back in the early to mid eighties. Unlike a lot of those other movies, "Superbad" has characters that are both likeable and believable (for the most part). Jonah Hill's Seth is obnoxious and crude, but still I felt for this warped guy.

The Blu Ray disc looks fantastic . This isn't a big budget special effects extravaganza but it still has a wonderful picture quality. The extras on the DVD are as funny as anything included in the movie itself. This isn't a movie for everyone but it is good light entertainment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pleasantly surprised!, November 26, 2007
I'm not a fan of "stupid-funny", so when I saw the trailer for Superbad, I was immediately turned off.. I didn't even plan to see the movie until one of my friends invited me to come with him to see it.. I will never judge a movie by its trailer again.. This was one of the funniest movies I've seen in the past few years.

The one factor that made this movie roll to success was the incredible on screen chemistry between Jonah Hill (Seth) and Michael Cera (Evan). They made the movie believable, and their interaction, especially the one-on-one conversations and playing off each other's reactions was, to say the least, phenomenal. Chris Mintz-Plasse (Fogell) was probably one of the best supporting characters I've ever seen in a comedy. His story revolved around his encounter with police officers who were desperate to prove that cops can "be cool too." This combination produced some of the best one-liners you'll hear at the movies, or in my friend's words, "the quotables."

The story evolves over the course of one day as Seth, Evan and Fogell go to lengths to make a name for themselves in the final weeks of their underachieved high school careers. Each has their own personal love interest and their own strategy of impressing the girl. As the story evolves, comedy and sentiment each take their role in a plot which ultimately provides the perfect mixture and a fun time in any atmosphere. Seth Rogen and Evan Goldberg, who this movie is essentially based on, once again display their creative writing and genius in production.

I'd recommend this movie to anyone looking for a good comedy. However, be aware that there is a lot of foul language. If you can get by that, you're in for quite a ride.

Grade: A
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Super- Rad, November 14, 2007
My friends dragged me to this when it was in the theaters. Before it started I thought "I know I am going to hate this." I thought it was going to be like that stupid Napolean Dynomite humor (you know where everyone who saw the film repeats the lines because they're so stupid), and was totally not looking forward to it.

Anyway Let me just say, as soon as I saw the first scene I realized that seth rogan is way better than what I anticipated. The characters and the dialogue are so real that it is so easy to lose yourself in it. I know this is a whole lot to say, but I actually think it is probably one of the best written comedies in a long time. My only proof is to say see this movie. I ended up going back to see it two more times in the theater. I told a lot of people about what a suprise this flick was. They were all skeptical, but all said the same thing. It was everything I said it was. Definately a must watch!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Funny Yet Ultimately Conservative Film, March 28, 2008
This review is from: Superbad (Rated) (DVD)
Apatow's films are funny (see The 40-Year-Old Virgin (Rated Widescreen Edition) and Knocked Up (Widescreen Edition)) and this one is no different. It's directed by Greg Mottola who did The Daytrippers, another decent film. These movies take the standard sex comedy fare and add an ultimately conservative twist. For The 40-Year-Old Virgin, the movie says it's a good thing to wait until marriage to have sex. For Knocked Up, casual sex gets one into trouble and babies are better with two dependable parents. Superbad has another conservative message.

But don't go looking for a wholesome family affair, for this is not it. If I had to watch this movie with my parents, I fear that I would perhaps pass out. It's raunchy. Even though there may not be nudity per se, these guys talk like real guys, and they don't talk nicely about our, umm, private parts.

This movie is the story of Seth and Evan, based on the writers of the script, and one evening during their last weeks of high school before they split up to go to college. They have always been misfits, but finally, they may be able to become cool without changing. That's one of the good things. It isn't about these guys "fitting in" with the in-crowd. It's more about the in-crowd realizing that they're actually cool guys.

The movie is flawed, though. So much of the script is ad-libbed that some things don't make sense. Characters say things that contradict earlier ideas, and the editors just kept it becuase it happens to be funny. I guess I can forgive that.

The DVD has some hilarious extras, too, especially the one with Jonah Hill going through different versions of his lines. I don't know how they decided on only keeping one of them. I liked them all.

I have trouble recommending Superbad because of its raunchiness, but if you're okay with that kind of thing, enjoy and get something more than mere comedy out of what is ultimately a conservative, enjoyable film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 243 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Superbad
Superbad by Greg Mottola
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.