Truck Month Best Books of the Month Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Eric Clapton Father's Day Gift Guide 2016 Fire TV Stick The Baby Store Find the Best Purina Pro Plan for Your Pet Amazon Cash Back Offer DrThorne DrThorne DrThorne  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Outdoor Recreation

Format: Amazon Video|Change
Price:$9.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on December 2, 2007
Rising young stars Jonah Hill (Knocked Up) and Michael Cera (Arrested Development) have one last shot at popularity in the very funny coming-of-age comedy "Superbad". Seth (Hill) and Evan (Cera) are lifelong best friends who really want to lose their virginity before heading to college. When they are invited to the year's biggest party, the boys use their friend Fogell's (Christopher Mintz-Plasse) new fake I.D. to score some alcohol for the party but their plan soon turns to a madcap night of unpredictable and outrageous situations. "Superbad" is an uproariously funny teen comedy from the creators of "The 40-Year-Old Virgin" and "Knocked Up". The raunchy teen comedy delivers a well paced storyline, some side-splitting moments and memorable comic performances. Seth Rogen (Knocked Up) and Bill Hader (SNL) are hilarious as two incompetent police officers. "Superbad" received overwhelming positive reviews from US critics and became one of the year's highest grossing comedies with over $130 million nationwide.

If you've enjoyed "Superbad" in theaters, then I strongly recommend checking out "Superbad" Unrated Edition. The raunchy teen comedy is presented in 1.85:1 anamorphic widescreen format with more unrated footage that wasn't included in its theatrical release. The picture quality is surprisingly good with no obvious flaws. The 5.1 Dolby Digital sound is clear and well balanced. Among supplemental material, the DVD includes 8 minutes of deleted scenes, trailers, a short gag reel, "Cop Car Confessions" and "The Making of Superbad" featurettes, an exclusive sneak peek of the upcoming comedy "Pineapple Express" and an audio commentary with director Greg Mottola, production crew and cast members. Overall, "Superbad" Unrated Edition scores a "B+".
55 comments|45 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 25, 2009
I thought I'd read the 1 star reviews before writing mine. I'm guessing there are a lot of people who would be offended by this movie: some who are offended by silly sophomoric humor, some who are prudish and others for whom it hits too close to home. The rest are looking for a cinematic masterpiece and are sorely disappointed.

This is a somewhat over-the-top portrayal of typical pubescent male behavior. This is the movie's genius, because you know that much of what happens in this movie has happened in some fashion somewhere in America. Male teen behavior is inherently funny (unless you're a parent of one) and this movie takes full advantage of that fact. Everyone who has ever been a teenager has known someone who could have been a character in this movie.

Suggestion: Watch this movie with an open mind and no preconceptions. It is not like most American comedies. Do not look for a point or moral to the story, just sit back, relax and have a giggle.
0Comment|20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 8, 2007
Filmmakers Judd Apatow, Seth Rogen and Evan Goldberg make lowbrow comedies for highbrow audiences. With films like "The 40-Year Old Virgin," "Knocked Up," and their current gem, "Superbad" (directed by Greg Mottola), they have begun, in their own quiet way, to re-write the rules of the modern sex comedy, making films that, despite their R-rated blueness, are just a tad more insightful, a little more nuanced, and a trifle more literate than most films in that genre.

The characters in their movies may seem at first blush to be mere photocopies of the nerds and losers familiar to us from all those post-"Animal House," pandering-to-youth comedy hits of the late 1970's and 1980's. Yet, there is something rather different about these individuals, a difference that it is not always all that easy to put one`s finger on. They seem somehow more reflective and self-aware than their earlier counterparts, more able to step out of their skins and see themselves for who and what they are. It's almost as if these characters have had the added advantage of seeing themselves reflected in all those earlier movies (one imagines they've spent a great deal of their childhood reveling in "Revenge of the Nerds") and of extracting important lessons from those films to help them chart their course through life.

The storyline, in and of itself, is hardly original. The screenplay by Rogen and Goldberg chronicles the misadventures of three teenage super geeks determined to go to any lengths or suffer any humiliation to be part of the "in" crowd at school. With only a few days left before graduation, Seth, Evan, and super-nerd Fogell - an outcast even the outcasts can feel comfortable ostracizing - decide that the time has come to take some drastic action if they hope to have any chance of losing their virginity before high school ends. Thus, Seth cooks up a scheme to smuggle booze into a graduation party being thrown by one of the hottest girls on campus. It is the expected setbacks they encounter as they go about the business of achieving "coolness" that provide the comic energy for the tale.

As they did in "Knocked Up," the writers capture the way people in the real world actually speak. The dialogue may be crude and vulgar, but it is also sharply observant and wickedly funny as the characters lament the unfairness of life and reveal deep-seated concerns and feelings about themselves and each other. What's nice is that the characters in this film not only sound like people we might encounter in everyday life but LOOK like them as well. Even the "beautiful" people in this film aren't drop-dead gorgeous, just believably well put-together and attractive.

Jonah Hill, Michael Cera and Christopher Mintz-Plasse are so authentic and convincing in the roles of Seth, Eric and Fogell, respectively, that they have us securely in their corner from the very first moment they appear on screen. Rogen and Bill Hader ("SNL") also have a good time playing goofy cops, although their characters aren't as finely drawn or interesting as the three main characters, and the scenes with them do tend to drag a bit.

It is crucial to point out that, amidst all the blush-inducing, foul-mouthed hilarity, there's an incredible underlying sweetness to "Superbad," particularly in the final two scenes of the movie.

Together, this team of talented filmmakers is making it fun to go to the movies again.
0Comment|42 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon September 5, 2007
Evan (Cera) is a average shy high schooler. Seth (Hill) is loud and obnoxious. Fogell (Mintz-Plasse) is a big nerd. Together, they have a chance to impress the girls at a high school party by supplying alcohol. Evan is interested in Becca (MacIsaac), Seth likes Jules (Stone), and Fogell wants Nicola (Aviva). Of course nothing goes smoothly, and soon they are dealing with Officers Slater (Hader) and Michaels (Rogan), who aren't very competent and want to hang with Fogell, who is going by the name McLuvin on his new fake ID.

"Superbad" is a very funny movie. The dialogue is profane and very R-rated, but clever as well. It is like an even funnier version of "American Pie". The three leads are all believable as high schoolers on the brink of college. The camaraderie is genuine, and you can tell that they had a blast making this movie. Produced by Judd Apatow (director "Knocked Up"') and written by Rogan and Evan Goldberg, it is clear that they know their subject matter, and know how to make it funny. Apatow and Rogan seem to be the voices of comedy these days, and "Superbad" is a prime example. I recommend this film.
11 comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 23, 2016
This movie will never get old. Jonah Hill, Michael Cera, and Christopher Mintz bring nothing but laughs. I saw this film when it was originally released and it is just as funny then as it is now when I rewatch it. So many epic scenes. One of the hilarious scenes which is one of my favorites is when Fogell gets his fake ID and it says McLovin on it. Lmao. This movie is the kind of movie I will watch when I need a good deep laugh because this film brings it.
“McLovin? What kind of a stupid name is that, Fogell? What, are you trying to be an Irish R&B singer?"
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 27, 2016
Unless you are a guy that made it through high school and college, you can't imagine how spot-on this movie is. Hilarious and absolutely inappropriate in every way. Jonah Hill is awesome, Michael Cera is an absolute genius as the straight man. McLovin is .... McLovin! I laughed like I did in high school- takes you right back.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 21, 2012
This movie could have been crap, but thanks to some very good acting, it was actually really funny. This is back when Jonah Hill wasn't insanely annoying because was only the co-star and not the leading man. Michael Cera is always hilarious and the supporting cast is great. All the special features are pretty awesome too. Well worth owning.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 29, 2008
SUPERBAD is just flat out hilarious. Start to finish funny. You take some awkwardness of high school. Some kids on the fringe. Mix in a few cute girls. Graduation. A party and a little coming of age. Stir it up with laughs that you never see coming and two lead actors that nail every joke and you have a modern day comedy classic.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 9, 2007
"Superbad" is also one of the funniest movies of the year. I approached this movie with a bad attitude thinking it was going to be a throwback of those sex romp comedies back in the early to mid eighties. Unlike a lot of those other movies, "Superbad" has characters that are both likeable and believable (for the most part). Jonah Hill's Seth is obnoxious and crude, but still I felt for this warped guy.

The Blu Ray disc looks fantastic . This isn't a big budget special effects extravaganza but it still has a wonderful picture quality. The extras on the DVD are as funny as anything included in the movie itself. This isn't a movie for everyone but it is good light entertainment.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 26, 2007
I'm not a fan of "stupid-funny", so when I saw the trailer for Superbad, I was immediately turned off.. I didn't even plan to see the movie until one of my friends invited me to come with him to see it.. I will never judge a movie by its trailer again.. This was one of the funniest movies I've seen in the past few years.

The one factor that made this movie roll to success was the incredible on screen chemistry between Jonah Hill (Seth) and Michael Cera (Evan). They made the movie believable, and their interaction, especially the one-on-one conversations and playing off each other's reactions was, to say the least, phenomenal. Chris Mintz-Plasse (Fogell) was probably one of the best supporting characters I've ever seen in a comedy. His story revolved around his encounter with police officers who were desperate to prove that cops can "be cool too." This combination produced some of the best one-liners you'll hear at the movies, or in my friend's words, "the quotables."

The story evolves over the course of one day as Seth, Evan and Fogell go to lengths to make a name for themselves in the final weeks of their underachieved high school careers. Each has their own personal love interest and their own strategy of impressing the girl. As the story evolves, comedy and sentiment each take their role in a plot which ultimately provides the perfect mixture and a fun time in any atmosphere. Seth Rogen and Evan Goldberg, who this movie is essentially based on, once again display their creative writing and genius in production.

I'd recommend this movie to anyone looking for a good comedy. However, be aware that there is a lot of foul language. If you can get by that, you're in for quite a ride.

Grade: A
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.