Customer Reviews


77 Reviews
5 star:
 (37)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not Quite the "Ultimate Edition"
Supercop is the North American name given to the third installment of the popular Police Story series starring international action movie star Jackie Chan. It was the first film in the franchise not to be directed by Jackie but instead by Stanley Tong. It was also the last film in the series to feature actress Maggie Cheung as Jackie's girlfriend.

The first...
Published on January 12, 2009 by Cubist

versus
34 of 34 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Edited American version?
Being an avid DVD collector I have made it a personal goal to collect every Dragon Dynasty release. This subsidiary of the Wienstien Company has gone to great lengths to release ultimate unedited editions of great Asian movies. Some of the films they are releasing were previously released on the Dimension home video label and are being re-released under the Dynasty label...
Published on January 17, 2009 by A. Snyder


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

34 of 34 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Edited American version?, January 17, 2009
Being an avid DVD collector I have made it a personal goal to collect every Dragon Dynasty release. This subsidiary of the Wienstien Company has gone to great lengths to release ultimate unedited editions of great Asian movies. Some of the films they are releasing were previously released on the Dimension home video label and are being re-released under the Dynasty label with more special features and..well most of the time...unedited versions of the Asian release. The Jet Li film Twin Warriors (as titled on the Dimension release) was re-released unedited under the title Tia Chi Master. I was hoping for the same with Supercop.

Sadly the the Dragon Dynasty release of Supercop is just a more special featured filled version of the earlier Dimension release because,for some reason unknown, Dyanasty has only released the American cut of the film. Where is my unedited 100 minute version of Police Story III: Supercop? Instead we get the same edited American release with a different score, added hip-hop soundtrack, and a lame title sequence. This is a shame because I have always been extremely happy with Dragon Dynasty's releases so far. Why not include both the U.S. and Asian version as they did with The Proctor DVD? Extremely disappointing.

Other than the fact that Supercop is the edited American version, the rest of the DVD set is a typical steller Dynasty release with great special features and another grand commentary by Hong Kong film expert Bey Logan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


45 of 49 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not recommended, May 4, 2011
By 
Amazon Customer (Kettering, OH United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Supercop [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Miramax has licensed their slightly cut English dub of "Supercop" (1992) to Echo Bridge Home Entertainment for Blu-ray. The print has good color and definition, as well as being fairly clean. The bad news is that it is ONLY the English Dub (no original chinese language option), and it is presented at the wrong aspect ratio (it's a 235:1 movie zoomed in to 1.78:1), missing picture information on both sides. If you aren't fussy about those things, then go for it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Needs more subtitles, May 12, 2011
By 
Peter Whitney (Seattle, WA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Supercop [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
So, with the DVD version you could turn on the original Cantonese track even though it's not the default setting. With the Blu Ray... It's only English. So not only do you have bad dubbing, you have the Rap music in the background and the Devo song. Not a knock towards Devo. Also, no extras to be found at all. I wish I didn't get rid of my Dragon Dynasty DVD of this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars THIS IS NOT THE UNCUT VERSION OF POLICE STORY 3: SUPERCOP, January 29, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Blah. That sums it up. After Dragon Dynasty did a FANTASTIC job with releasing uncut versions of Police Story parts I and II they did this to us... Yes folks, this is just the edited, American version of Supercop, re-released with different packaging. A huge disappointment!

There are a few good things to say about this. Some of the bonus content is interesting. In fact there's a great interview with Jackie Chan where he complains about how the American versions of his movies are edited and not as good as the original versions! Ha! After suffering through the disappointment of watching the edited version of Supercop it was quite funny to watch that interview.

The bottom line is boycott this. Pick up the Police Story (Digitally Remastered Collector's Edition) Trilogy DVD Boxset instead so that you'll have the uncut version of Supercop as well as the first two films in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 28 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Beware: You're Not Getting the Whole Movie, March 13, 2003
By 
ryangs (Kalamazoo, MI USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Supercop (DVD)
When you buy this DVD, you're actually getting an "Americanized" version of Police Story III, a Jackie Chan classic. If you're really a Chan fan, you'd be better off searching for an import shop (or a certain auction site) and getting the original Hong Kong version of the film. Not only will it have the original chinese dialog (with english subtitles of course!), but it also has a few extra minutes of film that were cut from this "American" version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not Quite the "Ultimate Edition", January 12, 2009
By 
Cubist (United States) - See all my reviews
Supercop is the North American name given to the third installment of the popular Police Story series starring international action movie star Jackie Chan. It was the first film in the franchise not to be directed by Jackie but instead by Stanley Tong. It was also the last film in the series to feature actress Maggie Cheung as Jackie's girlfriend.

The first disc features an engaging audio commentary by Hong Kong cinema expert Bey Logan. He talks about the differences between this version and the Hong Kong version. For example, there were different opening credits and musical scores for each version. This begs the question, why wasn't the Hong Kong version included on this supposedly "Ultimate Edition?" Logan provides brief biographical information on Michelle Yeoh and Maggie Cheung as well as a wealth of production details on this very informative track.

The second disc starts with a real treat: "Flying High: An Exclusive Interview with Star Jackie Chan." He talks about working with director Stanley Tong, who, at the time, was a young director. Jackie talks about working with Yeoh and speaks admiringly of her ability to do her own stunts. He also recalls how scared he was doing the helicopter sequence.

"Dancing with Death: An Interview with Leading Lady Michelle Yeoh." She had a background in ballet and only started doing martial arts when she did her first action film. She learned something new on every subsequent film. Yeoh talks about how she got into acting and speaks eloquently and warmly in this engaging interview.

"The Stuntmaster General: An Exclusive Interview with Director Stanley Tong." He talks about working with Jackie over five films and how they collaborate together. He talks about the challenge of doing the stunts in the film without CGI.

"The Fall Guy: An Exclusive Interview with Jackie Chan Bodyguard, Training Partner and Co-Star Ken Lo." He recounts his first meeting with Jackie when he was bouncer and the action star asked him if he would like to work in films. they have worked together for 20 years.

Supercop is a fun, exciting and entertaining film that you would expect from Jackie Chan. It has all kinds of cheesy jokes, top notch fight scenes and insanely choreographed chase sequences, all done without the assistance of computer technology. In this day and age there is something refreshing about that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Supercop, July 11, 2004
By 
Bob Weston (West Jordan, UT United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Supercop [VHS] (VHS Tape)
The movie is ok but it is a superior film in Cantonese. The dubbed English is awkward and detracts from the film. I find the "dubbing" very annoying and would prefer the vintage Hong Kong Jackie Chan films marketed in the US be provided in the original language. Argggh!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best movies by Jackie Chan, November 3, 2000
By 
Alexis S. Mendez (Aguadilla, PR USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Supercop (DVD)
I have seen some 20 Jackie Chan movies, and this one is close to the top of the list.
The movie is actually the third installment of the "Police Story" series. As with most Chan movies, the plot is not really important, but an excuse for the action.
While low on action during the first half, the movie have a superb ending, including a chase and a grand finale on a moving train. The best aspect about the movie is that Chan shares the action with Michelle Yeoh, who turns out to be an excellent match. I have found out that women usually like this movie, as the female lead is not a "girl in distress", but also a "Supercop"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Best "First" Jackie Chan Movie, May 7, 1999
By 
This review is from: Supercop [VHS] (VHS Tape)
*Supercop* (aka *Police Story III*) was the second movie released in the latest (and let's hope permanent) Jackie invasion. It's great that it will become affordable. I recommend it as the first movie to watch if you've never seen him before. One of the other reviewers mentioned that *Supercop* was not Chan's best effort to date. I agree, but *Supercop* rates fairly high in my opinion. The movie did serve as a comeback vehicle for Michelle Khan/Yeoh, so most 90s Chan films feature many more of his stunts. *Supercop*, US theatrical release, remained fairly true to the Asian *Police Story III*," unlike several others (notably, *Rumble in the Bronx*/*Red Bronx*). For this reason, *Supercop* is a good buy and serves as a fair representative of his work. Both casual viewers and fans will enjoy the insane action (especially Michelle Yeoh's motorcycle stunts!) through repeated viewings. Also, if *Supercop* doesn't make you hunger for more Jackie, then you probably won't like the two or three Chan films (out of several dozen) that might be consistently better. Also, I don't understand the R rating on this one; I've seen many PG-13 movies containing worse and/or more graphic violence than *Supercop.* Parents should be aware that Chan never glorifies violence, but *Supercop* contains more gunplay than most of his films.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Jackie Chan: "Women should not do any action, period... except for Michelle.", July 28, 2010
By 
H. Bala "Me Too Can Read" (Recently moved back to Carson, California, or as I call it... the center of the universe) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
POLICE STORY 3: SUPERCOP features the dream team of Jackie Chan and Michelle Yeoh, the only instance in which these two Hong Kong icons really teamed up (no, commercials and cameos don't count). The plot involves the Royal Hong Kong Police's top cop Ka-Kui Chan (Jackie) and Interpol's frosty Inspector Yang (Yeoh) infiltrating a crime lord's inner circle while pretending to be brother and sister. Expect some dynamite kung-fu stuff and also the two stars' performing their own stunts. Cue Jackie's patented humor, and maybe the funniest bit has Ka-Kui - in unfamiliar territory and accompanied by the bad guys - scrambling to adapt to the fake family the police had come up for him at the last minute. And what's a POLICE STORY without cute Maggie Cheung (who plays Jackie's girlfriend) inadvertently throwing a wrench into the works? Jackie and Michelle are awesome together.

I kinda figured this wasn't the uncut version when the real opening sequence didn't surface (the one with the big law enforcement conference in which the consensus was that it required a "supercop" to take on the vast drug dealing problem. I don't quite know why Dragon Dynasty went with this inferior version, when they went with the uncut editions for the first two POLICE STORY films. I blame broccoli.

I don't know that Michelle ends up hijacking Jackie's film, but she most definitely holds up her end, and this after around a four year hiatus from cinema. She refers to herself as a "tough cookie" in her interview in the bonus features, and I think she undersells herself. There's a gratifying element in that her Inspector Yang goes from being this stern, self-controlled figure into a more playful character as she masquerades as Jackie's character's sister. Juxtaposing her smooth, flowing fighting style is Ka-Kui Chan's more unorthodox street fighting moves, but both methods work and I just bet both styles are equally felt by Jackie's stunt group in lumps and bruises.

Maybe it's the purist in me but I wasn't entirely down with the Rambo sequence as Jackie and Michelle engage in a massive shootout in a renegade general's camp. I know that Michelle Yeoh, early in her career, played a bunch of gun-toting police officer roles, and Jackie's done similar roles, as well. But I say let Americans and John Woo characters do the gun thing. I'd rather watch Jackie wresting a gun away from a bad guy and then field stripping it in moments... Sorry, I can't help but feel that guns are beneath these two icons, and especially Jackie Chan.

This Dragon Dynasty release comes with two DVDs. Disc 1 has the feature presentation and an audio commentary by Hong Kong cinema know-it-all Logan Bey (but his stuff's always worth listening to). Disc 2 has these 4 interviews: Jackie Chan reflects on POLICE STORY 3, on Michelle Yeoh, on working with other directors, what it was like dangling dizzyingly off that helicopter, and his befuddlement over his pictures getting the serious edit treatment for overseas release (00;19:21 minutes); Michelle Yeoh talks about her time in the movie, on doing her own stunts, and how she wanted to do the helicopter stunt herself until the director asked her - and I'm paraphrasing - "Michelle, if you do that, what in the world is Jackie going to do to be able to top that stunt?" so she settled for the motorbike stunt (but, first, she had to learn how to ride a motorbike; 00:23:11); an interview with director Stanley Tong (00:19:32); and an interview with Jackie Chan bodyguard/training partner/co-star Ken Lo (with English sub-titles, 00:21:44).

As per norm, stick around for the outtakes during the closing credits. Michelle doesn't nail that motorbike stunt on her first try.

For my money, I did like the one alternate closing credits version in which Tom Jones sings "Everybody Was Kung Fu Fighting." But this isn't that version. Anyway, 5 stars out of 5 for the movie. 2 stars for the Dragon Dynasty presentation and for not having enough bonus material, all that averaging the thing to... well, I'm going with 3 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Supercop [Blu-ray]
Supercop [Blu-ray] by Jackie Chan (Blu-ray - 2011)
$7.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.