Customer Reviews


232 Reviews
5 star:
 (168)
4 star:
 (29)
3 star:
 (16)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


368 of 373 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great, In-Depth Information on Some Super Nutritious Foods
David Wolfe provides very detailed information about some specific "superfoods" and also provides scientific rationale (sometimes down to the molecular level) about why these foods are so beneficial for us. This book is very informative and I like that it also provides practical ways in which to consume the superfoods, providing recipes and recommended dosages. However,...
Published on July 10, 2009 by Jennifer Ayers-Gould

versus
194 of 235 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars disappointing, lacking substance
I have been aware (if not "following" ) of David Wolfe's work and message for about 13 years now, and still see him first and foremost as a
lawyer and a salesman- able to slickly manipulate information for personal benefit. As an educator, this book was actually
hard to read- let's just say I winced. I would recommend it to my students as an exercise in...
Published on January 28, 2012 by Bwana


‹ Previous | 1 224 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

368 of 373 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great, In-Depth Information on Some Super Nutritious Foods, July 10, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Superfoods: The Food and Medicine of the Future (Paperback)
David Wolfe provides very detailed information about some specific "superfoods" and also provides scientific rationale (sometimes down to the molecular level) about why these foods are so beneficial for us. This book is very informative and I like that it also provides practical ways in which to consume the superfoods, providing recipes and recommended dosages. However, he also lists a lot of very "impractical" recipes using very obscure and expensive ingredients that most people will not find in their pantries, even if they are already a practicing raw-foodist (like me). While I find the information very enlightening, I also find a lot of blatant advertising for David's "Sunfood" brand of products and his "Longevity Now" program. I don't know about you, but when I find a sales pitch interwoven into the pages of what should be a purely informative book, it immediately causes me to have some doubts regarding the credibility of the material. So, while the information on superfoods is very good, I was not impressed with the advertising thrown in with it. Otherwise, I would have given it 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


118 of 126 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Packed with Information & Great Recipes, May 13, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Superfoods: The Food and Medicine of the Future (Paperback)
David Wolfe has lived up to his reputation as an encyclopedia of nutritional facts with his new book on superfoods.

Why superfoods? The rationale is that the soil, as my own raw food book points out, is vastly depleted of minerals. If you cling to your cooked ways, adding superfoods can bring a huge boost to your health. But even if you eat 100% raw organic, you could have mineral deficiencies (and minerals are more important than vitamins). Quite simply, these foods make for tasty and nutrient-dense treats. I have recently begun combining a raw food diet with calorie restriction for longer life. I view the superfoods as essential because the fewer calories we consume, the more nutritious they need to be. Why take dead vitamin pills when you can get more bioavailable nutrition from these enzyme-rich foods?

David presents what he considers the top 10 superfoods, and these are not your every day superfoods. I have a whole shelf dedicated to superfood books, and most authors list items such as wild salmon, pumpkins, blueberries, broccoli and kale. The exotic ones chosen by David include the illegal-to-grow here (hemp seed), the unheard of (marine phytoplankton), the foreign (maca) and the controversial (raw cacao). But as David says in the intro, "Our nutrition potential has finally caught up to our technology," meaning that we now can learn about and import foods from virtually anywhere in the world.

Each chapter, featuring a different super food, includes a section on history, facts and legends of the food; benefits; what to look for (how to determine if the food is high quality); how to use the food, and recipes for the food. There are also great colored photos and boxes with tidbits of information.

The last chapter includes "honorable mentions" of 7 other superfoods that didn't make the top ten, so the book really educates you about 17 great foods. The appendices provide detailed nutritional composition of the foods as well as scientific studies proving their superiority.

I congratulate David on his fine research. Even though I have a master's degree in Chinese herbs, I was delighted to learn a few tidbits on goji berries that were new for me.

Warning: do not read this book if you are fasting. Like most people who have eaten raw for several years, I have outgrown the recipe phase and don't do much raw gourmet food, eating more simply. But I have to admit my mouth was watering over several of these recipes and I just might make some, such as the "White Goddess Chocolate" and "Maca Vanilla Ice Cream."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


72 of 77 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AMAZING!!!, May 2, 2009
This review is from: Superfoods: The Food and Medicine of the Future (Paperback)
David has done it again. This man knows so much about nutrition it's mind boggling! He is a shining, living example of what happens when people eat these superfoods because he is total boundless energy all the time. I interviewed him for my radio show the other day and just talking with him energized me beyond belief. I have incorporated many of these superfoods into my diet and it has doubled my energy levels. I love the goji berries and of course raw chocolate the best. Also the coconut oil has truly helped me to look and feel ten years younger. I believe this book will help transform your body, your mind, and your emotions. When I do what David says, I get immediate and life transforming benefits. I am so grateful to him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Top 10 Superfoods... and why you need them, April 12, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Superfoods: The Food and Medicine of the Future (Paperback)
From the author of "The Sun Food Diet Success System" author David Wolfe takes us on a global journey to bring us the good the bad and the ugly of our food. The first thing you'll notice about the cover is that the author's picture eclipses the title of the book. Couple that with the myriad of pictures (on many pages) of said author made me ask myself, "Is this Facebook or a book about food?"

Within the confines of the 342 pages, each chapter is devoted to a particular superfood. Each chapter also includes the superfood's origin, its place in history, its medicinal purpose, recipes and how to shop for them.

The old adage, "You are what you eat" really comes into play with this book. If you think about it, most (if not all) of the superfoods mentioned in this book have been consumed by human beings for centuries. So why aren't most people eating this stuff nowadays?

Basically superfoods fall into three subcategories; living raw plant foods, superfoods and superherbs. Take one look around and you will see the result of our fast food diet. More and more human beings have become overweight or obese and have been stricken with diseases that could have been avoided with a better and more nutritious diet.

Other topics covered in this book are proteins, minerals, antioxidants, good fats and oils, essential amino acids, glycol nutrients, vitamins, enzymes, co-enzymes, essential fatty acids and polysaccharides.

Wolfe asserts that too many of us live in a state of poor health, lethargy and moderate obesity. We live with back pain, headaches, inflammation, arthritis, cancer, skin problems and insomnia - they're the byproducts of our diet. This book is really designed to detoxify your body and boost your immune system. Nutrition is affected by something called acid - alkaline. With a poor diet, our bodies become a breeding ground for disease causing microbes and organisms. High acidity is usually the primary cause of being overweight because our body will store excess acids in the fat tissue which leads to cellulite and weight gain. Wolfe also asserts that when you introduce superfoods into your body, your energy level, your sex drive and stamina and your focus will improve.

I'll now give you an idea what each chapter is all about.

Chapter 1 - Goji Berries
a.k.a. Wolf berries, boxthorn, matrimony vine, and Desert Thorn

The author refers to Goji Berries (an adaptogen that aids in internal organ health) as the fountain of youth. Goji berries are most often grown in Asia but have recently been growing in North and Central America. The Chinese strongly believe that this fruit can significantly extend your life. Apparently there is a Chinese legend that speaks of a man (Li Qing Yuen) who lived to the age of 252 years from 1678 to 1930. He consumed Goji berries daily - whole or in his tea. It is also rumored that Native Americans regarded the Goji berries as an important food source. Tribes often spoke of astounding strength, agility and longevity due to a diet rich in Goji berries. The author also asserts that Goji berries will enhance her libido and sexual stamina by increasing HGH production which then facilitates an increase in testosterone production. Goji berries are also great antioxidants, they improve vision, it's an immune system booster, helps with hydration, it supports brain and neurological health, supports cardiovascular health, and it keeps vital organs healthy.

Chapter 2 - Cacao
raw chocolate

Basically it's a chocolate nut. The Cacao bean has always been and will always be Nature's #1 weight loss and high-energy food. It's a great antioxidant that includes magnesium, iron, chromium, manganese, zinc, copper, vitamin C, omega six fatty acids and the amino acid tryptophan.

Chapter 3 - Maca
"Andes Aphrodisiac" and Peruvian Ginseng

Maca is usually grown at an altitude between 9,000 and 10,000 feet and is considered the highest altitude crop on Earth. The Incas ate Maca Root over 2,600 years ago. It's known to improve the following conditions: anemia, chronic fatigue, depression, and fertility and sterility in humans and livestock, lack of libido, malnutrition, menopausal symptoms, menstrual discomfort and disorders, poor memory, stomach cancer, stress tension, and tuberculosis. Walker is also known to have quite the aphrodisiac quality the author calls it nature's answer to Viagra. One of the main reasons I bought Maca Root powder to help diminish wife's hot flashes.

Chapter 4 - Bee Products
Including honey, pollen, Royal jelly and propolis

Bee Pollen is the most complete superfood found in nature. Honey can be used topically to heal wounds and it will also has anti-biotic effects on anthrax, diphtheria, urinary tract infections, sinusitis, animal bites, pneumonia, tuberculosis, typhoid, dysentery, boils, impetigo, tooth decay, scarlet fever, sore throat and cholera to name a few. Royal Jelly is the combination of pollen and honey while propolis (meaning - "for the city") is the waxy substance that seals the hive and has a long history of medicinal, herbal and alchemical uses.

Chapter 5 - Spirulina
the protein queen
(Tecuitlatl (Aztec), Dihe (African)

Here's an ancient blue-green spiral algae that comes in more than 35 varieties and grows in freshwater lakes and waterways. Ancient civilizations consumed Sprulina for its nutrients including chlorophyll, protein, vitamins, major minerals, essential fatty acids, nucleic acids, polysaccharides and a myriad of antioxidants. It's also known to aid in healthy brain chemistry and is also an immune booster. Spirulina has as much iron as red meat.

Chapter 6 - AFA super blue-green algae
the primordial food

At least forty thousand species of microalgae phytoplankton exists. Fossil evidence indicates that they were the first organisms on Earth and are responsible for 80-90% of the planet's overall food and oxygen supply. Basically, it's a more potent version of Spirulina.

Chapter 7 - Marine Phytoplankton
the basis of all life

Improved detoxification, more loss of weight, improved memory, feeling stronger, more normal blood sugar, fewer food cravings, improved concentration, faster nervous system repair, better sleep, improved digestion, improved eyesight and better sex can all be achieved with this superfood.

Chapter 8 - Aloe Vera
Essene and Egyptian secret of immortality

Aside from treating the skin for burns, insect bites/stings, poison ivy/oak and athlete's foot, the gel of raw Aloe Vera contains vitamins, minerals, antioxidants, fiber, amino acids, sterols, lignins and poly saccharides. Aloe cuts and dissolves mucous in the intestines which helps increase nutrient absorption. It also reduces inflammation, radiation sickness, cancer, heart disease and helps control blood sugar. It's also an "adaptogen" which helps keep internal organs healthy.

Chapter 9 - Hempseed
superfood of the future

You say hemp, we say Marijuana. It's actually a close relative to Marijuana with much less THC. Hemp's been around for centuries - Ben Franklin, Thomas Jefferson and George Washington grew hemp on their property. It's packed with 33 - 37% protein, it's one of nature's richest sources of complete protein.

Chapter 10 - Coconuts
the symbol of paradise

This pre-historic plant is very salt-tolerant which explains why they can grow right next to the ocean. In Sanskrit (Ancient India's language) coconut trees are known as "the tree that supplies all that is needed to live." Fresh coconut flesh, coconut water, coconut oil or coconut cream can save your life. It has one of the highest sources of electrolytes found in nature. Coconut water is nearly identical to human plasma and soldiers were known to have used it as emergency plasma for injured soldiers! Benefits include improved digestion, boosting the immune system and it can improve the utilization of blood sugar and that can lessen the symptoms of hypoglycemia.

Wolfe gives honorable mentions to Acai, Camu Camu berries, Chlorella, Inca berries, Kelp, Noni and Yacon. He does include their benefits as well.

FINAL WORDS:

At first, I was annoyed by the book because it seemed like it was all about the author. Once I started reading the book, it became quite clear that it's all about our diets and how these superfoods can and will enhance our lives. I found the book to be quite informative and each of the 10 superfoods got a detailed history and use - with interesting recipes. If not for the annoying albeit plentiful pictures, this would be a 5-star book and wonderful as a reference guide and smoothie cookbook. After all, David Wolfe is the TV spokesperson for the NutriBullet.

Of the top ten superfoods llisted above, I currently use six of them in my smoothies. I will delve into the "honorable mentioned" as well. Funny thing, after reading this book, I've Googled where the Farmer's Markets are in my neighborhood and plan to visit them a lot more often than my usual supermarkets.

I highly recommend this book to anyone interested in making dietary changes for better health. There really is a science to superfoods and superherbs... most of which can and WILL save and/or improve your life.

The author closes with a page on "How to Order Superfoods" - basically he asks that you visit the links via his website (davidwolfe.com) so that it will help support continued research by the author.

Health is Wealth!

NOTE: I wrote this review for Epinions.com as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


194 of 235 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars disappointing, lacking substance, January 28, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Superfoods: The Food and Medicine of the Future (Paperback)
I have been aware (if not "following" ) of David Wolfe's work and message for about 13 years now, and still see him first and foremost as a
lawyer and a salesman- able to slickly manipulate information for personal benefit. As an educator, this book was actually
hard to read- let's just say I winced. I would recommend it to my students as an exercise in developing discernment.

Most of the chapters came off very similar to the labels and treatises uses to sell
products at the health food store- full of exotic anecdotes about "ancient civilizations", and "historical" use of certain roots
shoots and seeds- but without impressive substance to truly distinguish them as "superfoods", aside from their potential to
dazzle and sell. Let's not forget that the author has been heavily invested in personally selling some of these "foods' for
many years now.

Certainly there is some good information in this book- but I would recommend Rebecca Wood's "New Whole Foods Encycyclopedia"
for more comprehensive reading, detailed information, and lack of bias. I would also recommend the work of Susan Smith Jones
on this subject. What "superfoods" actually ARE , are nutrient/dense foods capable of delivering a high percentage of bioavailable
essential and trace nutrients for fewer calories. In this regard, spirulina, chlorella, nutritional yeast, coconut oil- all
potential "low profit' food products - are given a less featured showcase compared to "maca" and "cacao". Products that David
Wolfe sells are raved about (again, often without the substance I would want to see as an educator) - more common nutrient dense
products are on the B list or left out altogether- like eggs, of course, which don't jibe with the author's vegan philosophy- a
philosophy with a huge potential carbon footprint, often accessible mostly to elite populations comparatively- unless you can tell
me where in your backyard YOU pick your lentils, sesame seeds, and coconuts.

More disturbing- David Wolfe stretches the truth when referring to meat and dairy intake - here is an example, parapharased,
from one of his comments on the movie "Food Matters"- sentiments echoed in this book "Meat takes a "MASSIVE amount of energy
to digest". This simply is not true. Are we seeking "super" foods to replace the concentrated nutrients available in traditional
diets composed of natural dairy, eggs and meat? Has our terribly imbalanced food system in general taken us in this direction?
I suspect so. All in all- read with discernment- compare to other sources, and
ask yourself how the rest of your diet is and why you feel the need for exotic foods.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superfoods provides super info!, April 24, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Superfoods: The Food and Medicine of the Future (Paperback)
I find David Wolfe's book the perfect blend of knowledge and wisdom. He uses the best medical data available to present a comprehensive understanding of why these foods are listed in the super category and what that really means to us nutritionally and medicinally. He writes in an easy to understand manner bringing ready comprehension to an often complex subject while interweaving both folklore and history to explain why these foods have traditionally been considered to be of great value. His book significantly raises societies understanding during a time when so many are in need of sustenance with substance. I heartily recommend it!. Superfoods: The Food and Medicine of the Future
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Super Resource, September 16, 2009
This review is from: Superfoods: The Food and Medicine of the Future (Paperback)
The top ten "superfoods" according to author David Wolfe: goji berries, cacao, maca, bee products, spirulina, blue-green algae, marine phytoplankton, aloe vera, hempseed, and coconuts. What are superfoods? Think Superman and you get the idea. To be more specific, they are not exactly foods and not exactly herbs, but are a class of the most nutrient-dense, potent, and super-concentrated foods on the planet. Each has a dozen or more unique properties. They are a class of foods known as "adaptogens:" distinct from other substances in their ability to boost the endocrine and immune system and the power of the body's response against stressors. Additionally, they normalize the body by strengthening under-functioning systems and toning down hyper-functioning systems. I could go on about the virtues of superfoods, but you'll want to find out for yourself--you really will.

Author David Wolfe has done a superb job of finding and sharing the best sources for these foods (most are easier to find than you think), researching their history, properties, and healing benefits, and offering both beginner and advanced raw food recipes. Seven foods that didn't quite make the top ten, but merited honorable mention, are also included. His passion for bringing these healing foods to everyone on the planet and raising the collective body and soul vibration is only equaled by his knowledge and exuberance in sharing what he knows. After reading Superfoods you'll be saying, "I want what he's having!"

Buy this book; it's beautifully designed, information-rich and has great photographs. Then choose a superfood (or ten) that appeals to you, add it to your diet, and get optimal health! My advice: buy extra copies for your friends and family because you'll want to keep your own copy close at hand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not for beginners!, December 11, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Superfoods: The Food and Medicine of the Future (Paperback)
If you are VERY familiar with this way of eating..which I hope to be, this is great I'm sure. But if you are new to a superfoods diet, you will find this book very overwhelming. I bought this because of the video Forks over Knives. But after going through this..with many ingredients that leave me scratching my head, I can see I need to start with the basics...which this is not. So be sure you have a deep understanding of health food ingredients. Otherwise, you will be walking in your local whole foods or health food store crying..HELP!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An amazing, invaluable and beautiful handbook, July 17, 2012
By 
This review is from: Superfoods: The Food and Medicine of the Future (Paperback)
This is an extremely important book for all of us who wish to live in a state of optimal health. And surely we all wish that!

It introduced me to the concept of superfoods and I have now begun to include more of them in my diet. (I'd already been using coconut products and Spirulina, without knowing they were actually "superfoods".) This is contributing to my physical and in fact total transformation.

David's top 10 superfoods are as follows: Goji berries, Cacao (raw chocolate), Maca, Bee products, Spirulina, AFA Super Blue-Green Algae, Marine phytoplankton, Aloe Vera, Hempseed and Coconuts.

Additionally, seven products which he awards "Honourable Mentions" are Acai (pronounced ah-SAH'ee), Camu Camu Berries, Chlorella, Incan Berries, Kelp, Noni and Yacon.

Superfoods comprise foods that have a dozen or more unique properties. They are both a food and a medicine - they are "a class of the most potent, super-concentrated, and nutrient-rich foods on the planet".

Below I will indicate only a few of the most important attributes of each superfood.

1) Goji berries. These are some of the highest antioxidant -containing foods in the world. They contain polysaccharides, that fortify the immune system. There is evidence that they increase longevity. They have anti-inflammatory properties and enhance libido and sexual function.
2) Cacao (raw chocolate). I had heard that dark chocolate was health-giving, but hadn't dreamt that it was a superfood. Cacao beans contain no sugar, and cacao is one of the great weight loss foods owing to its content of minerals and PEA (Phenylethylamine) molecules that shut off appetite (surprise, surprise!).
3) Maca. This is a member of the cruciferous family of plants that includes broccoli and cauliflower. It is grown for its root, and has been cultivated in the Peruvian Andes for over 2000 years. Maca is a powerful adaptogen which has the ability to stabilize the body's "glandular-hormonal system, nervous system, cardiovascular system and musculature". It is known to improve innumerable disorders and has aphrodisiac qualities,
4) Bee products. These include honey, pollen, royal jelly and propolis. These various products have also been known to relieve or cure innumerable disorders.
5) Spirulina. This belongs to a class of single-celled, blue-green algae, and contains "an astounding array of nutrients", including chlorophyll, protein, vitamins, etc. etc. It consists of 65-71 percent protein, which is the highest concentration of protein found in any food. It is "a powerful tonic" for the immune system, and is the only green food rich in the essential fatty acid GLA (Gamma-linolenic acid).
6)AFA Super Blue-Green Algae. These algae (Alphanizomenon flos-aquae) are a type of wild blue-green algae that live in Klamath Lake, the largest lake in Oregon. They contain even more minerals, chlorophyll, phycocyanin, Vitamin C and essential fatty acids than Spirulina. The product is "one of the most digestible and utilizable protein foods in all of nature". It is filled with chlorophyll and contains 40 major and trace minerals. AFA is a wild food, and the author states that the key solution to mineral deficiencies appears to be incorporating wild foods into our diet.
7)Marine phytoplankton. These are the smallest plant organisms found on Earth. Marine phytoplankton forms the basis of the Earth's food chain. It is the best "plant-based source of long-chain omega-3 fatty acids" and "a natural source of wide-spectrum, plant-based vitamins, minerals, antioxidants, polysaccharides, and protein". It is an ideal detoxification tool, helps you lose excess weight, improves memory, normalizes blood sugar, etc. etc.
8)Aloe Vera. The gel of raw aloe vera helps alleviate all sorts of digestive problems and is effective at killing yeast (Candida), It reduces inflammation, radiation sickness, cancer, heart disease and diabetes.
9)Hempseed. Hemp is "one of the most nutritious food sources on the planet". It contains all the essential amino and fatty acids. It is one of the few seeds that contain chlorophyll.
10)Coconuts. Coconut products can "save your life". They improve digestion and contain antiviral, antifungal and antimicrobial fatty acids. The saturated fat in coconut oil is in the form of medium-chain fatty acids (MCFAs) which support the immune system, the thyroid gland, nervous system, etc. Coconut water is wonderful for rehydration. (I myself drink coconut water every day without fail, and it removes all symptoms of the Crohn's disease from which I suffer - and I use only coconut oil for cooking.)

Due to lack of space I will not go into the properties of the seven excellent products given an "Honourable Mention" by David.

This wonderful book has been an absolute eye-opener for me. It has introduced me to Goji berries, the amazing properties of Cacao, Maca, the healing properties of bee products and above all AFA blue-green algae and marine phytoplankton, which I feel to be the most powerful of the superfoods and which I hope will help me the most with detoxification and healing.

David presents an extremely informational overview of all aspects of the various superfoods, including historical, biological and other scientific facts, the benefits of each food, its healing properties, its nutrient contents specified in detail, how to use the products, what types to look for, recommended dosages and pages and pages of appetizing recipes. The book includes innumerable beautiful photos.

It is an amazing, invaluable and beautiful handbook. It is extremely well-written except for a few problems as regards whether the word "algae" is in singular or plural form. It is actually a plural form ("alga" is the singular form), but he uses it as both.

The book contains extremely detailed, informative and invaluable appendices listing the exact nutritional content of all the mentioned products and references to scientific studies. I found the quality of the book to be excellent.

I also applaud David for helping the public to gain access to these products - he is contributing to our health and longevity in innumerable ways! I look forward to reading his coming book on super herbs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars In Depth Superfood Knowlege Guide Book For Your Health, May 13, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Superfoods: The Food and Medicine of the Future (Paperback)
If you want to truly know and what to expect from certain nutrionally rich superfoods that have dietary benefits and healing potential to the body, then this books is for you. David Wolfe really went in depth into illustrating, providing overviews, sources, scientific information and much more on ten superfoods he selected as well as 7 others he honorably mentions. The top 10 superfood he expounds on are as follows: Gogi berries, Cocao, Maca, Bee products(honey, bee pollen, royal jelly, propolis), Spirulina, AFA Blu-Green Algae, Marine Phytoplankton, Hemp Seed, and Coconuts. He also provides recipes for each superfood on how they can be used which gives you ideas on how you can use them whenever. He also listed an additional 7 and they are as follows: Acai, Camu Camu Berry, Chlorella, Incan berries, Kelp, Nomi, Yacon. For the cost of the book, you got a two semester college course that could improve your health and save you medical costs, aches and pains, and much more. I thought I knew it all, but found out I did not, and gained much insight in the use of the foods in smoothie use, meal use, etc to get a better bang for the buck when it comes to my health and well being. To me this is excellent book and worth while investment to anyone's library. I have now made it a point to provide these superfoods into my diet. At my age, I need all the help I can get as the SAD diet and the AMA, Food industry, Drug Industry, etc do not care about me and my health except the bottom dollar to satisfy their wealth and greed. This book is helping me free myself from their greed. Recommend this book highly!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 224 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Superfoods: The Food and Medicine of the Future
Superfoods: The Food and Medicine of the Future by David Wolfe (Paperback - April 28, 2009)
$18.95 $12.42
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.