Customer Reviews


310 Reviews
5 star:
 (119)
4 star:
 (76)
3 star:
 (60)
2 star:
 (25)
1 star:
 (30)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


48 of 52 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great 2Disc Set,Wish The Superman Sequels Got This Treatment
Supergirl seems to grow on you after a while. It's not the powerhouse that the first two Superman films were, but it definately has it's own unique story to tell. Helen Slater does a very nice job in the title role. She comes across as goodnatured, if not a bit naive since she knows very little about the people of Earth. Catch Matt Frewer (Max Headroom, Honey I Shrunk...
Published on July 2, 2001 by Mr.

versus
13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars No Superman, But...
In lieu of the recent addition of Kara/Supergirl to the cast of Smallville and the fact that it's a spin-off of the Christopher Reeve Superman series, Supergirl is a keeper. Cheesy? YES. In fact, as were many superheroine portrayals in the 1980's, this would be one of the dingiest portrayals of a female superhero to date. And it's more of an attempted comedy than it was a...
Published on October 1, 2007 by Itani Mullik


‹ Previous | 1 231 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

48 of 52 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great 2Disc Set,Wish The Superman Sequels Got This Treatment, July 2, 2001
This review is from: Supergirl (Limited Edition) (DVD)
Supergirl seems to grow on you after a while. It's not the powerhouse that the first two Superman films were, but it definately has it's own unique story to tell. Helen Slater does a very nice job in the title role. She comes across as goodnatured, if not a bit naive since she knows very little about the people of Earth. Catch Matt Frewer (Max Headroom, Honey I Shrunk The Kids) as one of the thugs who tries to take advantage of her when she first arrives.
The interaction between Selena (a nicely wicked Faye Dunaway) and her friend Bionca (Brenda Vaccaro) make for some fun dialogue. Just a couple of gals having fun and dabbling in black magic. It's a nice bit of comic relief that fits quite nicely in the film.
...on the radio in one scene it is stated that Superman is off on another planet doing some diplomatic business and this is why he's not around. Actually, Christopher Reeve was considering being in the film. He would've been the one to show Supergirl around, and at the end, Supergirl would end up saving his life, but this would never come to pass after he decided not to be in the film. But one of my favorite moments is when Kara (Slater) walks into Lucy Lane's dorm room and sees the poster of Superman on the wall and just slowly puts her hand on it. I really liked that.
I highly recommend you pick up this 2 Disc Set before it's no longer available. Only 50,000 copies were made and once they're gone...they're gone. And although a single disc version will remain available, what you lose on the 2nd disc is the director's cut which adds on an additional 15 minutes of footage that rounds out more of the story and character development, paticularly, Jimmy Olsen (Marc McClure) and Lucy Lane (Maureen Teefy)'s relationship.
I was somewhat surprised when Supergirl came out on DVD before any of the Superman films did. I was also disappointed that, with the exception of the first Superman movie, none of the sequels contained any additional scenes or extra features. Kind of makes me wish Anchor Bay had the rights to these films. Then they'd all be 2 disc Collector's editions like Supergirl. Even Superman: The Movie isn't a 2 Disc Set. Instead, Warner Brothers used both sides of one DVD, so it can't have any cover art like all the other films. Supergirl actually has the most impressive packaging. A nice two box snap case, with cover art on both DVDs as well as a nifty 16 page booklet that gives you more information.
The extras on Supergirl rival the extras on Superman: The Movie. In fact I'd say if it wasn't for the fact that Superman contains 3 retrospective documentaries and an isolated music score, Supergirl would beat it hands down. The featurette, hosted by Faye Dunaway is an hour long and is very enjoyable to watch. You get all the trailers (U.S. and Foreign) and U.S. TV spots, storyboards, still & poster galleries of some very nice artwork. This stuff should've been on the Superman DVDs. Anchor Bay has outdone themselves and put Warner Brothers to shame at the same time. So check this out, it's worth every penny and will become a collector's item, once all initial copies are sold.
Supergirl: a girl's story of the most exciting kind!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It took 22 years, but........, December 27, 2006
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Supergirl (DVD)
....it was good for Warner Bros. to finally release Supergirl under its own label, after being previously released by Anchor Bay. Interesting, seeing as WB abandoned the film as a whole during its 1984 theatrical release.

The film is virtually the same transfer of the international version as used on the Anchor Bay release, along with the commentary track by Bosco and Szwarc. (Interestingly, WB uses the famed John Williams Superman theme on the menu screens, despite the theme not being used in the film.)

The film was one of the most underappreciated entries of 1984, but is really worth watching, and only in the famed "international version", and not in the heavily butchered theatrical version, which will hopefully never see the light of day on DVD ever. The film focuses heavily on fantasy aspects, with most of the Sci-fi aspects that made the whole Superman franchise.

All in all, this DVD as a whole allows WB to make amends for giving up on this film before it ever got out of the gate. Hopefully, WB can go in when we see the next round of DVD tie-ins in 09 when the next Superman movie comes out, and revisit this film and even give us the "Director's Cut" with a more wider release than the utterly expensive and limited edition that Anchor Bay gave us.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Almost Perfect example of a Limited/Special Edition DVD !, September 10, 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Supergirl (Limited Edition) (DVD)
Supergirl the Limited Edition DVD has proven itself (to me anyway), that it is possible to have an almost perfect Limited/Special Edition DVD, despite a campy storyline.
On this very special edition DVD created by Anchor Bay, there are 2 versions of Supergirl. The first vesion is a Digitally Mastered, THX quality of the International Version of the movie (Yes, the one not shown in US theatres). The second version is an unrealeased Director's Cut, which contains about 24 mins of never before seen footage of the movie. Both were spectacular (in terms of quality and sound) despite its weak storyline. Included in the DVDs are: a featurette on "The Making of" the movie, Trailers, TV spots, stills, poster galleries, star bios, and even an Audio commentary by the director, on the various scenes throughout the movie. Above all these goodies, there is even a 16 page full-color booklet on the various aspects of the movie (and a mini-poster)!
Its too bad that the movie was a flop when it was shown in the theatres back in 1984 (due to the weak plot, no doubt). Helen Slater was simply meant to play Supergirl (she's a natural). Her portrayal of Supergirl's innocence and beauty could be seen in the ballet scene; and the night flight scene over the Chicago Skyline was simply awesome! Together with the music by Jerry Goldsmith, it was a match made in heaven (or Hollywood anyway).
This DVD set, in my opinion, is much better produced (in terms of it's contents) than Superman : The Movie, Special Edition. More movie special editions should be made like this one. I hope the Indiana Jones, and Star Wars Trilogy (if and when it comes out in DVD) could be produced exactly like this one.
This Limited Edition set is limited to 50,000 copies (every copy is numbered). I would most certainly recommend this movie to anyone, if they are interested in seeing how (in my opinion) a special editon DVD should be made, and also, how vibrantly restored the movie was - the color is awesome. I can completely agree with what was written on the bonus booklet, "If you haven't seen SUPERGIRL on DVD, you haven't seen SUPERGIRL at all"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Much Better in Hindsight, May 5, 2001
This review is from: Supergirl (Limited Edition) (DVD)
It is safe to assume that I have never been fond of this movie, but I decided to check out this release after hearing it was packed with extras that Superman fans should not miss. Much to my surprise, I was glued to my TV for hours simply going through all of the bonus features! There is the 1984 'Making of Supergirl' one hour documentary, which chronicles everything from day 1. Then there are several TV spots, domestic and foreign trailers (these are fun, especially the German one), storyboard art, talent bios, and tons of color and black & white stills from the movie. In addition to all of this, there is a neat 16 page color booklet which reprints some of the original promotional movie tie-ins like contests and games. I can't believe somebody actually managed to dig all of this up!

The movie itself is a nice, crisp transfer with 5.1 digital surround sound. The audio commentary by the director and the special project consultant is among the most informative and fun I have ever listened to. The consultant manages to get the somewhat wooden director to reveal a lot of tidbits like Christopher Reeve's proposed cameo and the reasons behind why and how they created so many of the special effects and set pieces. To its credit, this film performs much better as a major motion picture after viewing the 138 minute director's cut included on disc 2 and seeing the original intent of the filmmakers. Cutting out a half-hour of footage from any movie is bound to affect the flow of the plot and characterization. Anchor Bay Entertainment should be commended for taking a widely panned movie and giving it the VIP treatment, proving irrefutably that it is possible to produce a great DVD for an under-appreciated movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars There and Back Again, October 30, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Supergirl (DVD)
I don't remember when I first heard about this film. But, it was at least at age five, a year after it was released to theaters. Apparently, most people didn't think much of it, because it was viewed historically as a commercial flop. A part of it may have been circumstantial, though. Supergirl production was started hot off the heals of the rap on Superman III, a film that performed abominably in the theaters. Pending who you asked, many people were starting to get burnt out on the Superman cannon, and they must've seen a teenage, female equivalent as a joke. If it had been produced and released in between Superman II and III, that might've had a more positive, circumstantial effect.

Here, Helen Slater stars in her first leading role as Kara, the Kryptonian cousin to Superman (official name of Kal-El) who left Krypton with her parents to live in the inner-space settlement of Argo City. At the film's start, her mentor Zaltar (Peter O'Toole), incidentally the city's forefather, makes a mistake that forces a key power source, an omegahendron) to disappear into outer space, necessitating Kara's swift departure to rescue it, Zaltar's lifelong expulsion into Phantom Zone and possibly resulting in the whole city's eventual degradation. The omegahendron surfaces on earth and, the little ball is snared by a narcissistic, pretentious and vindictive would-be witch named Solina (Faye Dunaway) and her jittery sister, Bianca.

When Kara surfaces on earth herself, she discovers she has unprecedented powers of flight, strength, hearing and mater manipulation. She uses an armband transmitter to detect the general location of the ball. Eventually, she manages to disguise herself to conceal her attire. Then, she passes as a student at a private university in a town called Midvale. She passes as Clark Kent's cousin, Linda Lee and forges a letter of recommendation from him. The headmaster places her with Lucy Lane, a sophomore who happens to be sister of Lois Lane and love interest of Jimmy Olsen (Marc McClure reprising his Superman role). As a coincidence, their math teacher, a man named Nigel is also Solina's erstwhile instructor of black magic. He pursues her repeatedly, and she repeatedly rebuffs him.

Meanwhile, all the girls at the school (including Linda) lust after a big, muscular groundskeeper named Ethan. But, Bianca also catches his eye, as does Solina, who says he belongs to her. Using a cheap form of black magic, she seduces him and tries to make him fall for her. However, her magic goes badly awry, and his heart instead falls to Linda (after she changes to her true identity and saves him from physical danger). Back in her dorm, Linda is forced to do battle with Solina's evil magic (as Kara) and comes out of this bout unscathed. Then, she gets a signal from her transmitter that the omegahendron is functioning, and she tears off for the abandoned amusement park where the evil sisters reside.

And, who should be waiting for her but Ethan, spouting uncharacteristic love poetry and brandishing flowers & chocolates for Linda. The two are ambushed by the sisters, and Solina attempts to eliminate Linda, unsuccessfully. Linda is forced to change back into Kara and carry Ethan away to a distant lakeside. Solina eventually caves in and asks Nigel to help her eliminate Kara (whom she appropriately christens "Supergirl"). Nigel arrives at the park with a wand built for pure evil, which they use to lure Ethan back; Solina steals the wand, petrifies Nigel and creates a tall mountain with a castle on top in the exact middle of town. Supergirl arrives in the castle to rescue Ethan, only to find herself imprisoned in a diamond-shaped piece of glass, which then expels her to the Phantom Zone along with Zaltar. Meanwhile, she succeeds in subduing the whole community and seizing Lucy & Jimmy.

at first, she doesn't know where she is, but she knows she's lost her powers. When she and Zaltar come into contact with each other, Kara tries convincing him that they shouldn't let the Phantom Zone consume them and that if they don't try and escape, Argo City is finished and so is earth. She uses straightforward teenage irony to finally win him over, and they push off for a deadly vortex. If they can circumvent the perimeter of the vortex, they can get to a way out. However, with the aide of her magic mirror, Solina spies on Kara & Zaltar and tries summoning elements of the Zone to kill them. She succeeds in finishing Zaltar, who lets himself die so Kara can push through. This she does, regaining her earthly abilities and flying straight through Solina's mirror and into the castle. Supergirl manages to rescue Lucy, Jimmy & Nigel from the cages they've been sealed in and engages a battle with Solina's dark magic. With help from Ethan and Nigel, Supergirl not only overpowers the magic but manages to create a vortex and shunt Solina & Bianca through the broken mirror and into the Phantom Zone. Afterwards, things return to normal, and Kara is able to return to Argo City with the reclaimed omegahendron.

I for one thought the movie was well worth watching. I've actually watched it multiple times. It didn't include Christopher Reeve, Margot Kitter, Jackie Cooper or Gene Hackman, but that has very little to do with the quality of the film. It's an almost-completely new cast, and that does in fact add to the unacknowledged greatness of the film. It did go kind of far when the character of Ethan mentioned the fact that Supergirl [and Superman] could "leap tall buildings in a single bound." But, that was probably the only remotely inappropriate Superman reference in the finished product.

There are only two real problems I've ever had with this film, and neither one of them could make me change my rating. First, How does Kara find out that Superman's earth identity is Clark Kent? Also, could someone explain to me where Solina could possibly have learned about the Phantom Zone, let alone send Supergirl there or manage to manipulate its elements?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars No Superman, But..., October 1, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Supergirl (DVD)
In lieu of the recent addition of Kara/Supergirl to the cast of Smallville and the fact that it's a spin-off of the Christopher Reeve Superman series, Supergirl is a keeper. Cheesy? YES. In fact, as were many superheroine portrayals in the 1980's, this would be one of the dingiest portrayals of a female superhero to date. And it's more of an attempted comedy than it was a superhero/action film. However, her interaction with the Superman poster, her rooming with Lois Lane's sister, the cameo appearance by Jimmy Olsen, and our first glance at the Phantom Zone make for a good addition to one's Superman collection. In fact, as cheesy as the movie was, the things that urked me more than the comic approach and stiff dialogue were: (1)how did the Kryptonian module find it's way into the lake, (2)where did the Supergirl outfit come from, and (3)how she was a brunette as Linda Lee and a blonde as Supergirl? Oh well...it's only fiction...a cheesy yet fun keeper.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic DVD, under-rated comic book movie adaptation.., September 28, 2000
By 
JP Welch "mindgap007" (Brighton, East Sussex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Supergirl (Limited Edition) (DVD)
Strangely, SUPERGIRL has obtained the reputation of being one of the worst blockbusters of all time - the question remains though, WHY? Criticisms that it lacks the "maturity" or flair of the first two SUPERMAN films just aren't really fair. I mean, surely the director didn't want the film to just be a SUPERMAN film with the only difference being the lead character? Indeed, SUPERGIRL certainly has it's own identity and rarely feels like a SUPERMAN clone, so hats off to the filmmakers on that one.
Helen Slater is actually perfect for the part, and it's a shame that she seems to have disappeared these days, whilst the supporting cast are hugely impressive, particularly the always reliable Peter O'Toole, whose scene with Slater in the Phantam Zone remains the most effective of the movie. Faye Dunaway makes a splendidly over the top villain, even if her humorous portrayal means she lacks the danger that Hackman's Lex Luthor displayed in SUPERMAN, and Peter Cook is wonderfully sarcastic as the school teacher who likes to dabble in sorcery.
The real star of the film though is Jerry Goldsmith's amazing score, which lends the film a power it just wouldn't have otherwise. A genuine classic score, it's testament to Goldsmith's talent, that he's able to bring so much to the quality and atmosphere of a movie like this.
Special effects wise, SUPERGIRL also impresses hugely, outclassing the SUPERMAN movies at evry turn. Not only are the flying sequences absolutely stunning (helped by Slater's graceful presence), but the big-scale street sequence is still, for my money, one of the best "live" special effects sequences I've ever seen. Superb.
Congratulations to Anchor Bay too, for presenting such a great DVD of an overlooked movie. From the THX sound to the excellent, vibrant picture, it's a top class job that many other companies would do well to learn from. The animated menus also add a nice finishing touch, and the extras are also brilliantly researched, with a very interesting commentary, an impressive gallery of pictures, photos etc, and best of all, the original making of documentary (over 50 minutes long) which is one of the best makings of I've seen on a blockbuster movie.
I can not recommend this Limited 2 disc DVD enough!! Shame however, that the Directors Cut is only in mono. Go Supergirl!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Time to Believe a Girl Can Fly...!, December 29, 2000
By 
Pat A Reinhardt (Louisville, KY United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Supergirl (Limited Edition) (DVD)
"Supergirl" hit the American theater screens in November of 1984, it did fairly well that first weekend, then faded into the backwash of movies that pop up from time to time at 3:00 in the morning while your up with a sick kid. The film is of little or no importance to film historians, usually looked upon as "The movie that was better than Superman III". The film eventually found a niche among a small band of followers that saw it for what it was, a heck of a lot of fun!
Helen Slater débuts as the Girl of Steel, Superman's cousin Kara from a doomed chunk of Krypton that's survived the planet's explosion. (All of this is only breezed over in the film, of course.) Slater does for this film what Reeve did for the other movies in the franchise, she -is- Supergirl when she's on screen, much as Reeve -was- Superman, their presence is almost tangible, you forget it's an actor in a silly costume and simply accept them as the characters.
The effects are, in a word, breathtaking, knocking the previous flying shots in the super-films to the ground hands-down. The "first flight" Supergirl takes is among one of the most watchable effects sequences ever committed to film, and was done in a time before CGI...
Yes, the acting is often hammy and over-the-top (Particularly from the major "names" in the film), and, no it's not a knock-your-socks-off action/adventure...it's more a fairy-tale, as stated in the commentary track of the DVD. If you let yourself ease into it, it's one heck of a lot of fun. The colors on the DVD transfer are incredible, from the swirly red and blue mists and fantastic chromes of the opening credits to the muted colors of the Phantom Zone, the movie looks better than it did in the theater.
If you've only seen this film on cable, or in the American Theater (or the dreadful quality VHS release of a few years back), give it a chance with this release, you haven't seen "Supergirl" at all.
The directors commentary track explains a lot about the "Supergirl" movie that almost was (initially slated to have been "Superman III," I believe, as some of the storyboard cards presented in the supplements state) which would have featured Reeve as Superman, it makes us wonder what we may have missed...
But we've got this, and, all things considered, it ain't half bad...time to watch "Supergirl" again, for the first time...let the child inside out for a couple of hours...and believe a girl can fly...!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THIS FILM IS REALLY WELL DONE., July 27, 2000
By 
Gabriel Taylor (Seattle, WA (USA)) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Supergirl (Limited Edition) (DVD)
I wrote a review for this film a couple of weeks ago and gave the film four stars. Well, this time Iam giving it five stars. Why did I change my rating, well it all happened when I was surfing the web. I came across a site about the new DVD editions of Supergirl. The site featured an interview with the director of Supergirl, Jeannot Szwarc. I read the interview and was amazed at how fasinating it was. He was explaining how difficult it was to make the film because of all the special effects. Most of the special effects in the film had never been done before, so he (Jeannot Szwarc)and his team of special effects people had to invent new technologies. The film took almost a year and a half to complete, because of all the technical problems they had to over come. For example there is a scene where you see an overhead view of Supergirl flying over Chigago, well most people think that was done with blue screen and special effects, but it wasent. They wanted the shot to look REALLY real, so they hung a stunt double on wires to the bottom of a helicopter and placed the camara over the stunt doubles body. So that seen looks so real because she really was flying over the city. Here is another thing they did that amazed me. There is a scene where Supergirl fly's out of a lake, naturally in those days that couldn't be done, they didn't have the aid of computers, so they had to do everything live. For two months they debated over how they where going to make Supergirl fly out of the water. Finally they had an idea. They took a picture of the actress who was playing Supergirl standing and then blew up the picture and pasted it on a board of wood and covered it with a water proof paste. Then they put the life sized picture under the water and pulled it up out of the water very quickly. You would never had realized it was a picture if I had not told you. In conclusion I have given this film five stars. I get very mad when people give a film a bad rating, because they don't realize how much HARD work and thinking go into making films like this. If you really watch the movie, and I mean REALLY watch it carefully you will be amazed at how real the special effects look, and how hard they had to work to accomplish those scenes. And don't forget that they didn't even have computers! Today we could make a movie like this easy, it would be very easy because we have computers and CGI to do all those special effects. So, really give this film a chance, it really is good, despite what critics say. I hope this review has helped you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "This movie is awful...and yet I am enthralled.", August 21, 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Supergirl (Limited Edition) (DVD)
I stated this fifteen minutes into the International cut of SUPERGIRL, my friends all agreed heartily. SUPERGIRL is deeply flawed...the dialogue is awful ("I have lost the omegahedron. I must go to the phantom zone."), Slater's acting is wooden (although somehow charming all the same), and the main conflict of the plot involves Supergirl fighting with a snarling Faye Dunaway over a gardener...but all of these flaws add to the movie's charm! The movie really is charming. Maybe I was just feeling nostalgic since I watched this film all the time when I was a young'en in the 80s, but I thought it was lots of fun in a bad way.
People complain about the special effects, I must disagree...some of them are goofy, but they really are very cool and comic-book like (I don't think that some of the movie's critics realize that this was the director's intention). They made me miss the days before wretched cgi effects took the excitement out of them. They are especially well represented on the fabulous transfer of the new DVD. I enjoy it, I would reccomend it if you are in the mood for some good, mindless fun. The limited edition DVD set is fantastic. I can't wait to watch the director's cut of the movie and hear the audio commentary! GO ANCHOR BAY!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 231 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Supergirl
Supergirl by Jeannot Szwarc (DVD - 2006)
$18.49
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.