Winter Driving Best Books of the Month Valentine's Day Shop Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon St Lucia easycohice_2016 All-New Amazon Fire TV Subscribe & Save Valentine's Day Cards Find the Best Purina Pro Plan for Your Pet Amazon Gift Card Offer chiraq chiraq chiraq  Amazon Echo All-New Fire Kindle Paperwhite Shop Now SnS

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars66
Format: PaperbackChange
Price:$8.46+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on October 23, 2012
While Supergirl: Last Daughter of Krypton is not the best of the New 52 titles released by DC as part of its epic relaunch, it is far from the worst. The Supergirl origins story told here is, in some ways, more similar to prior incarnations of its title character than many of the other origins stories in the New 52. Supergirl's meteor ends up crashing through the earth and landing in Siberia instead of Kansas. When Kara climbs out of the rubble of her ship she is already an adult rather than a small child as her more famous cousin was upon arrival.

The story gives us a very alien Supergirl. She struggles to make sense of her new surroundings, speaks and thinks in Kryptonian and is unable to accept the news that her home planet, Krypton is no more. Unlike Superman's story, which is in many ways about an alien learning to thrive and be accepted in his new environment, Supergirl's story is more about culture clash, loss and alienation. Whereas Kal-El is adopted by a kindly American family when his ship lands, Kara is immediately attacked by heavily armed soldiers. Her powers all manifest themselves instantaneously upon her arrival and she sometimes does not fully understand them. In one panel she is horrified by her own X-Ray vision.

While Supergirl herself emerges as an interesting and sympathetic character, I still found this book a bit uneven. The villains that Supergirl confronts once she learns the truth about Krypton are rather generic. I don't want to give away any spoilers here, but for me the second part of the book was less successful and interesting than the first two or three chapters.

Mahmud Asrar's pencilling more than gets the job done. The storytelling is excellent. Asrar draw his characters with a slightly angular style that I found visually appealing. Supergirl's new costume looks great and matches the armored look that Superman has been sporting in his story lines (the new costumes are essentially indestructible suits from the home planet).

Although the book slowed down somewhat for me in the second half, it was on the whole worth reading. It reintroduces Supergirl with relatively minor changes to the basic story of this sixty year old character but at the same time makes her relatable to contemporary audiences. The new Supergirl has a lot of potential if her creative team brings her up against interesting challenges and villains.
44 comments32 of 33 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 27, 2012
Prior to the DC's line-wide relaunch in 2011, Supergirl was one of the many characters who suffered from convoluted continuity due to the fact that no less than 4 different versions of the character had existed since her inception in 1959, and although writers such as Sterling Gates have done some great work with Supergirl, more than anything else, she needed a fresh start.

SUPERGIRL VOL. 1: THE LAST DAUGHTER OF KRYPTON collects SUPERGIRL # 1-7 and is made up of two separate story arcs. The first begins with Kara Zol-El's pod crashing in the Siberian wilderness. Confused and disoriented, she is immediately attacked by soldiers, though she has no idea what they want with her or even what they're saying to her. The final three issues feature her struggle against the Worldkillers, four super-powered beings from her homeworld of Krypton. Of the two story arcs, the second is stronger and moves at a quicker pace, but the first does a solid job of laying the groundwork for the character while introducing a potential archnemisis.

Writers Mike Johnson and Michael Green clearly have a strong understanding of the character and write a Supergirl who is both strong and independent yet also searching for her place in the world. They are helped by the excellent art from Mahmud Asrar, whose style is slightly more-cartoony (a wise move considering the probable demographic) than many of the Image-influenced artists currently working at DC. Asrar's storytelling is always clear and he is especially skilled at conveying emotion through facial expressions. It should also be noted that Kara is in no way sexualized which stands as a direct contrast to the treatment of other female heroes such as Starfire and Catwoman in the New 52.

On a personal note, I usually prefer to read comics through trades and there are only two series that I read on a monthly basis--Aquaman and Supergirl. Both series continue to deliver strong stories month after month and those who choose to buy this first volume can anticipate another strong outing in Vol. 2 (especially the George Perez-drawn SUPERGIRL #8).

Ultimately, SUPERGIRL is great fun. Further, it's a comic that a parent can read and enjoy and then pass onto their child.
0Comment14 of 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 10, 2012
I'm not to familiar with Supergirl but after reading this arc I have to say that I'm all in for reading more. I never really liked the "Superman Family"(Being Superman, Superboy, and Supergirl.) I always thought that as a writer you would never be able to balance their power sets but Michael Green and Mike Johnson really set up a story where it's more focused on the character. You're in for a cold opening when the book starts but as the story goes you start to get behind this character. You really are sympathetic towards Kara and you can really see where she is coming from when you get her inner monologues. Artist wise you have Mahmud Asrar and Dave McCaig who do a great job as well.

Talking about the story as a whole, it was great. The arc really lines up, sure the end villains were a bit generic but for what they represented it was great to see some what of a pay off with our main protagonist. I have to say out of the New 52 books this is probably the second strongest female title to come out of D.C Comics in the past year. I would say Wonder Woman is a bit stronger but that's for another review.

Overall a great read that is new user friendly. One of the things I really enjoyed about it was that I didn't need to know much of Supergirl in order to read this book. So if you're curious about Supergirl let this be a jumping on point for you.
0Comment12 of 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 29, 2013
There's a great story in this graphic novel. Unfortunately, Michael Green and Mike Johnson didn't actually tell it.

Kara Zor-El has crashed on Earth with no memory of how she got there or what happened to her homeworld. She doesn't speak any Earthly language (a very nice touch) and isn't completely prepared for how Earth's yellow sun affects her Kryptonian physiology.

Yet the story often seems to devolve into a series of excuses for Kara to fight people, as if the writers (or DC editorial) were worried the readers would get bored if they didn't load up the story with tons of action. It's symptomatic of the generally frantic pacing of the storytelling--Green and Johnson never seem content explore Kara's feelings about a situation. In fact, she comes off as something of a sociopath, given her predilection for attacking things she doesn't understand and her rather bizarre impulsivity (the latter driven by a need for her to keep the story moving).

There are essentially three story arcs in the seven issues collected here, and I feel like all seven issues could easily have been spent exploring just one of them. Instead, we're just left to rush through them, and they all suffer for it. Each of the three gets progressively worse in some respects, becoming increasingly tropey as they go.

Speaking of which, the book suffers from that oh-so-common trope of "villains who must explain themselves to the protagonist for no discernible reason." Why DC's editors don't feel any need to reign in the exposition found in books like this or, say, Wonder Woman: Odyssey, Vol. 1, I have no idea.

Still, I have to give the creative team some props for coming up with a solid story (or two), even if they're told rather poorly (and I can't give Green and Johnson too much credit for the protagonist, since they didn't exactly come up with a completely fresh interpretation of Supergirl).

The art's pretty decent, too, though I'm not fan of Supergirl's pants-less, weird-crotch-shield-adorned costume (and it's a shame, because the costume is SO CLOSE to being great--everything from the waist-up is awesome). One of the special features at the back is a few alternate takes on the new Supergirl costume--three from Jim Lee and four from the book's artist, Mahmud Asrar. As much as I'm a fan of Jim Lee's art in, for instance, Batman: Hush and with the costume he came up with for Wonder Woman in Odyssey, I think Asrar's designs were probably better.

Anyway, it's not a terrible book, but it's actually made worse by some of the lost potential--if these stories had been told better, if the pacing had been slower, this would've been a great reintroduciton of Supergirl for the New 52.
0Comment5 of 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 28, 2013
nice new start to the super girl franchise, couldn't wait to see what they did with the character. the art work is excellent and a great way to start off.
0Comment4 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 3, 2013
Read this story and I think it was awesome! Supergirl in a modern-age, plus a new design for the suit was perfect! Can't wait to see how Vol 2 turns out!
0Comment5 of 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 9, 2014
Supergirl Vol. 1: Last Daughter of Krypton (The New 52) was given high ratings and has an interesting plot, so I thought I'd give it a go. At $3.99, it collects issues #1 through #7 of Supergirl. She crashes on an asteroid in Siberia as a young adult, speaking no English and no Russian, wearing a "Supergirl" uniform in the freezing cold. She is immediately confronted by giant robots that she easily dispatches, and then Superman arrives. But Supergirl is determined to go her own way. She faces a variety of antagonists, including the Worldkillers, Kryptonian monsters with the power of Superbeings.

I had low expectations of Supergirl, and I can say that I was happily mistaken. Sure, overly powerful heroes tend to be boring, but Supergirl's flaws are emotional in nature. She's untrusting, she's lost everything she ever loved, and everyone around her tries to take advantage of her, or so she presumes. See, the boring thing about Superman isn't that he's all-powerful; it's his attitude. He's just a jolly do-gooder who never has a care in the world. Supergirl isn't like that; she's Kara, a struggling teenager who's suddenly gone through a change (and it isn't puberty). ****1/4.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 9, 2014
This is my first time ever reading Supergirl and I enjoyed this introduction to her. The New 52 introduction is a set-up story giving Kara her background arrival on earth. She doesn't know what is going on, where she is, and finds she has superpowers. She's rip-roaring mad and when Superman makes an appearance she takes it out on him. That was a lot of fun! There is a story in here that has Kara up against some creatures called the "Worldkillers" and there is some sort of secret between them, her father and Krypton but that plot is settled for the time being and the next volume is ready to start a fresh story. We don't get to know Supergirl much as she's angry and stubborn most of this book but I'm pretty ok with her look, costume and she's muscular, certainly a good look. I'm intrigued and will read her again.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon January 5, 2013
Read this on my kindle fire HD. 7", The panel view makes viewing and reading the graphic novel easier, enlarging each pane.

The story was decent, I was unfamiliar with Supergirl's story so it was neat to learn and understand her struggle to find her place on Earth.

I wasn't terribly impressed with the artwork, though, particularly faces. Characters often had odd, angular faces and sometimes slightly stretched out disproportionate bodies.

Other than that, it was a pretty good book.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 7, 2013
I mainly picked up this title because of the artwork. I follow Mahmud's work on deviantart so I knew what to expect. It's excellent. But I really enjoyed the story just as much. It introduced some cool new villains and she gets to beat up on Supes a bit. I can't wait for the next volume. This is the best new 52 title I've read so far, but I've got a lot more to try.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.