Professional restaurant supplies Textbook Trade In Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_cbcc_7_fly_beacon $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Grocery Made in Italy Amazon Gift Card Offer out2 out2 out2  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors Kindle Paperwhite ReadyRide Bikes from Diamondback May4th

Format: DVD|Change
Price:$6.28+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on November 29, 2010
I watched this movie with my little niece the other day. I'm a big comics fan and I thought it wasn't bad. There was some good action, a bit of humor and pathos, and the animation wasn't mind blowing but it did the job. All in all, this is a decent if not memorable movie. That's my take on it.

My niece on the other hand loved it. She's in her pre-pre-teen years and while she loves animation (she still calls them cartoons) what she really likes are stories with strong female leads. She likes it when girls are the heroes. I think that's why she loved this movie.

You have a few cute scenes with Super Girl (Kara Zor-El) palling around with Clark Kent when she first arrives on Earth. You have some great fight scenes involving Super Girl, Wonder Woman, Big Barda, the Female Furies and an entire nation of Amazon Warriors. This movie showcases tough, capable women warriors as well as a strong, tough-minded teenage girl. My niece ate it up. She can't wait for more like this. She is even getting into the comic books. Seeing "girl superheroes" on an even footing with "boy superheroes" made a big impression on her. I hope the studios produce more like this one. So does my niece.
44 comments|70 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 18, 2010
I say that because that's really what this story is about. It isn't really about Superman/Batman Vs. Darkseid as it is more about them (along with Wonder Woman and former Darkseid soldier Bertha) fighting over the fate of Kara Zor-El, better known as Supergirl.

Kara comes to earth and is lost when Batman finds her. Superman and Batman both argue over what to do with her while Wonder Woman enters the fray and takes her to train with her on Themescyra. Meantime, Darkseid has been monitoring the events and decides to make Kara one of his new lieutenants!

What comes is an all out battle over the fate of Kara. Will she become one of earth's newest saviors or one of their biggest threats?

Also included is 4 episodes from the 90's Superman series that centers around Darkseid (Apokolips....Now! pts. 1 and 2) and Supergirl (in her own two parter). You also get a 10 minute short featuring Green Arrow and some behind the scenes extras mainly discussing Darkseid and the mythology behind him, Mr. Miracle, Orion and New Genesis. All created by the late, great Jack Kirby!

Overall, a good use of $20 if you have that to spend!
22 comments|48 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 29, 2011
Well, we have Superman, Batman, Wonderwoman, Darkseid, and some step characters really expressive, like Barda, the furies and a solid story. And, introducing Kara Zor-el, the Supergirl, back from the death!!! Lots of extras, including the old Kara story, back from the beginning till her tragic death on Crisis on Infinite Earths, best DC saga ever!!!! Really this is a must have on the fans collection, the animation is beautiful, and, whoever likes Superman or Batman, or even Wonderwoman, will enjoy a really good time watching this pic.
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 8, 2011
Superman / Batman Apocalypse... mainly dealing with a newly arrived Kryptonian, an overdue return of Wonder Woman
(voiced by Susan Eisenberg) and the being that menaced the DC Universe beyond Lex Luthor... Darkseid. As many
disagreements that Superman and Batman have had in roughly 70+ years, they actually are more alike than not so.
Granny Goodness, played by Edward Asner.... great choice. The `Apocalypse' incarnation of Darkseid is more reserved,
patient and yet... devious (as only the great Jack Kirby could develop). The most brutal battle between Superman
and Darkseid other than `Twilight' from Justice League and `Destroyer' from Justice League Unlimited. Intense and
loaded with action.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 10, 2011
What these other reviewers fail to realize this is an amazing adaptation of Jeff Loebs', and Michael Turner's Superman/Batman Volume 2. The animation reflects The late Turner's artwork, scene for scene. The pacing is quick, and Timm's production values are outstanding.
The retelling of the Supergirl saga, updates that particular chapter in Superman history, placing Darkseid into the mix just makes for more cohesive storytelling. The extras, are right on and DC pulls no punches in offering it's audience, a total package of classic animation
Thank you DCU for releasing this direct to DVD release
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 15, 2013
Good movie:
This movie is the second half of the same comic series "Public Enemies" is from. It deals mostly with the story of Supergirl, and very little to do with Apocalypse. That said, it's still an entertaining story; though I was more entertained by the Green Arrow short. Wonder Woman and Batman also make brief appearances. Special Features includes 4 cartoons featuring Darkseid, the story of Supergirl, and other featurettes including one about why Darkseid is so badass. Overall it's a pretty good buy.

Poor service:
I ordered this on Friday night. Saturday morning I was at a local retail store and saw this on sale for $10. I bought it from the store and tried to cancel my order on Amazon. Not yet shipped, it hasn't even been a full day since I ordered, yet Amazon said I couldn't cancel... My order came today, and I was thinking of returning it. But since Christmas is only 2 months away, I'll give the Amazon copy to my cousin. If another store is charging $10, then Amazon is overcharging at $20.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 12, 2016
I choose this rating because the movie is good. What I like about the movie is that “She will prove a treasure for your world.” (Superman Translating Kryptonian) A mysterious spaceship from Planet Krypton crashes on Earth with a beautiful girl inside, and everyone wants to meet the new kid. Superman embraces the connection to his past, Batman suspects a traitor, Wonder Woman senses a kindred spirit, and Darkseid desires a champion. But this feisty teen has her own ideas, none of which include a secret identity, a cape or heroics. It will take a life or death battle with Darkseid to uncover her true purpose on Earth. A dynamic voice cast Kevin Conroy, Tim Daly, Andre Braugher and Summer Glau highlights this DC Universe Animated Original Movie introducing the world to Supergirl! What I dislike about the movie is that I wanted to see more of it. I would recommend this movie to other people.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 13, 2014
The Big Three (Batman, Superman and Wonder Woman) did a GREAT job of making this animated adventure realistic. The most dominant flaw is that the movie should have been darker as it pertains to Superman's character and and the dialogue sessions.

I compare all DC Animated Adventure to Under the Red Hood. This movie is Extremely Good but it does not Measure us to that emotionally gripping storyline.

As a stand alone, it is Fantastic!

David
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 23, 2015
A spaceship from Krypton crashes on Earth with a teenage girl in it and Superman takes her under his care. Batman however is very skeptical. Wonder Woman is "given custody" of her and takes her to Paradise Island/Femascara to train her in using her super powers. Soon after though Darkseid notices the young Supergirl(the one you think!) and wants her to join his armies. This particular teenager has plans of her own that do not include saving the world however. The battle that soon takes place is both heart wrenching and awesome! Darkseid has always been a top notch enemy in DC Comics with only Doomsday or Mongul coming close. Another one was Omega when Superboy was teaming with the Legion of Super Heroes. You get the idea. This is one HECK of a fight! I take that back.This is an all out WAR with levels of violence you are probably not accustomed to seeing in an animated movie unless you like Japanese anime. What is the true purpose of Supergirl? Only one way to find out!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 18, 2013
Batman is freakin' awesome in this. Supergirl unfortunately is relegated to a damsel in distress who does one useful thing at the end (functioning as a Deus Ex Machina) character, but the movie isn't called Superman/Batman/Supergirl, so her lack of major inclusion isn't terribly surprising. The movie did a good job until the end of not de-powering Superman just so he could fight alongside Batman, in fact, Batman's lack of powers are used really well in the movie. The action is fun, very enjoyable. I'm glad to have finally finished my DC Animated Collection.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.