Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Look - up in the sky! That's a $#!+load of Kryptonians!
When we look back and evaluate the comic books published by DC in 2009, odds are that the consensus runaway hit event is gonna be Blackest Night. Which is too bad for Superman and the pretty compelling New Krypton saga. If you haven't been keeping up with what the Man of Steel's been up to lately, then chances are you'll be startled at all the major, major...
Published on October 13, 2009 by H. Bala

versus
3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ahh Superman!
It's interesting to see Superman torn between protecting his heritage and defending Earth from New Krypton. The story revolves more around Supergirl than Superman. But It's a good read.
Published on November 15, 2009 by J. Weithman


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Look - up in the sky! That's a $#!+load of Kryptonians!, October 13, 2009
By 
H. Bala "Me Too Can Read" (Recently moved back to Carson, California, or as I call it... the center of the universe) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
When we look back and evaluate the comic books published by DC in 2009, odds are that the consensus runaway hit event is gonna be Blackest Night. Which is too bad for Superman and the pretty compelling New Krypton saga. If you haven't been keeping up with what the Man of Steel's been up to lately, then chances are you'll be startled at all the major, major developments.

Things irrevocably changed for Clark Kent following the monumental events in Action Comics #870 (Superman: Brainiac). In that issue Brainiac's assault on the Kent farm induced a fatal heart attack on Clark's adoptive father, Jonathan Kent. Superman proved oblivious to Martha Kent's cry for help, preoccupied as he was in the Arctic with the restoration of the bottled city of Kandor. In the end, Clark was too late to save his father.

SUPERMAN: NEW KRYPTON Vol. 2 reprints SUPERGIRL #35-36, SUPERMAN #682-683, and ACTION COMICS #872-873, this collected story arc helping to set the stage for the 12-issue SUPERMAN: WORLD OF NEW KRYPTON maxi-series (which I'm digging very much). This volume, as well as the volume preceding this (Superman: New Krypton, Vol. 1: Birth), illustrates that where and how you were raised plays an integral role in determining your adult worldview. Where it truly counts, there's more of the Kansas farm boy in Superman than there is the godlike extraterrestrial. Even so, with one hundred thousand Kryptonians suddenly walking our planet and rubbing elbows with him, Kal-El's Earth upbringing clashes hard with his alien heritage. Going into this bunch of issues I wasn't sure which side he'll end up on. But I did know - and you knew, as well - that this storyline is going to force him to choose. And this, with Clark still very much reeling from Jonathan Kent's death.

Earth loves Superman, loves its big blue boy scout. But folks are a bit more leery toward other Kryptonians, after what those Phantom Zone escapees did and after Supergirl's shenanigans during Amazons Attack! One hundred thousand displaced Kryptonians walking our planet, and try as Superman might to acclimate them to Earthly customs, there's a strong restless faction claiming that perhaps it should be Earth acclimating to the New Kryptonians. There's a reason that General Zod, whom we consider a supervillain, is so well regarded by his fellow Kryptonians. It turns out, his idealogy is shared by many. This brings to surface the most deadly sort of culture clash.

On the good side, Kara Zor-El (a.k.a. Supergirl) is at last reunited with her parents. But then her mom immediately demands that Kara forsake her secret identity of Linda Lang, scornfully dismissing her Earthly ties. Later on, her mom will make even more stringent demands. Poor Kara, poor Maid of Might.

***Oh, hey, it's a SPOILER alert now***

Raging paranoia ferments in one particular top secret U.S. military project, ramrodded by General Lane, Lois's believed-to-be-dead father. He aims to come up with a final counter for Superman and for the Kandorians, and his scheme involves the jailbird Lex Luthor, Reactron and Metallo (villains powered with gold and green kryptonite hearts, respectively), and the captive Brainiac. Checking out this roster, you just know it's a recipe for disastrous crippetycrap.

The writers toss in ever more intriguing elements, namely the debut of the mysterious Superwoman and further sightings of Nightwing and Flamebird, whose identities I'm very curious about. And then, most terrifically, the Creature Commandos (who some time ago were captured by Brainiac) leap into action. I've a couple of worn-out WEIRD WAR TALES issues from the early '80s, which is when I first read about the Creature Commandos. I've always been fond of these guys, so seeing them here is pretty awesome.

Back to the core story, the doodoo hits the fan when coordinated acts of aggression by a group of Kryptonians result in the abduction of some of Superman's rogue gallery and also a number of fatalities from the science police, this last being summed up by a leading Kryptonian as "collateral damage." This ultimately leads to members of the JSA and JLA (and the Guardian) storming Kandor, looking for an accounting. Except that Kandor isn't about to give up its own, no matter how desperately Superman urges the governing faction to do the right thing (because, to the New Kryptonites, the act that was committed was wholly justified, and "oops, but oh well" that there were casualties - again, warring philosophies).

The odds suck horribly for our Earth superguys as they go up against two hundred Kryptonians, all with Superman's abilities, none with his empathy. And, behind these 200 are 99,800 more standing by. Not to mention, we're still not totally, totally certain on which side Superman and Supergirl fall. But we're treated to a blistering, drag-out skirmish. It's neat how the Earth heroes, outgunned and undermanned, still find ways to gain an upper hand. Black Lightning and Starfire, in particular, are ingenious with how they apply their powers. Still, whatever momentum they gain is fleeting. I mean, these guys are basically fighting two hundred Supermen. But, then, as it turns out, the Earth heroes have back-up of their own. Hint: there are three things that can reliably take out a Kryptonian; two of them are kryptonite and a red sun...

With three writers involved, one has a fear of too many cooks. But Geoff Johns (ACTION COMICS), James Robinson (SUPERMAN), and Sterling Gates (SUPERGIRL) collaborate well enough that there's a clear cut cohesion to the story. As I read these issues, there's an electric sense of excitement, of things happening on an epic scale, of big plot points being advanced. I'm hoping that DC keeps moving forward with this, that they don't chicken out and return Superman to his former status quo (things look very promising so far, what with the good stuff going on in SUPERMAN: WORLD OF NEW KRYPTON). But I feel bad for Supergirl's plight. She really is torn between two worlds.

The artwork is really good, notably the issues worked on by Renato Guedes (SUPERMAN) and Pete Woods (ACTION COMICS). Even Jamal Igle (SUPERGIRL) isn't bad, his stuff somewhat reminiscent of Phil Jimenez's style, which in turn strays close to hallowed George Perez territory. And then there are Alex Ross's glossy covers which continue to get me all gobsmacked. I've been off and on with Superman all my life, his sort of bland superheroing not really my cup of tea. But with Geoff Johns and company breathing new life into him, I am hanging on for dear life, enjoying this ride. Kal-El no longer the Last Son of Krypton? Works for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it!, November 2, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This New Krypton story line has been a awesome series. It is definitly building with each book and is the only Superman book that I collect. Highly recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great story... art...meh, February 4, 2011
This review is from: Superman: New Krypton, Vol. 2 (Paperback)
These three writer's are extremely talented. Johns, Robinson and Gates deliver a tale told in a modern conversational way about an epic event in the DC world. The character moments really feel genuine. The art crosses the spectrum from great to poor. The covers by Alex Ross, Gary Frank and Joshua Middleton are all really nice. The interior art varies, but the story more than makes up for it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A tribute to the parenting skills of Clark Kent's human parents, January 22, 2012
This review is from: Superman: New Krypton, Vol. 2 (Paperback)
The Kryptonian city of Kandor houses the largest concentration of Kryptonians in the universe and they now reside on Earth. However, there is a great deal of fear and uncertainty among the earthlings about the Kandorians, for now rather than having only a few with the power of Superman there are 100,000. The Kandorians are led by Supergirl's parents and they embark on a plan to capture all of Superman's powerful foes and exile them to the phantom zone. This plan goes awry when a Kandorian team in search of a villain kills some human police officers that resist them.
Superman and Supergirl are caught in the middle and try to cool tensions, which mean that the Kandorians that killed the human officers have to be brought to justice. Brainiac, Lex Luthor and other creatures are included in the mix as the violence escalates until it is a pitched battle between a large group of the Earth's superheroes and the Kandorians.
Eventually, the Kandorians are able to extract their city from Earth and create a new home world for themselves in the solar system. This does not solve the underlying tension between humans and Kryptonians, just shifts it to a different form. Kal-El is also informed that he will not be welcome on New Krypton.
In many ways, this story is a reflection on the extreme goodness of Jonathan and Martha Kent in raising their son Clark. It is from them that he has derived his deep-seated goodness, for the Kryptonians of Kandor act a great deal like humans with their rivalries, hostilities to others, emotional instability and unwillingness to listen to reason.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Story, September 29, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Superman: New Krypton, Vol. 2 (Paperback)
Great story for any Superman fan. Would be a great gift or even something for yourself. Drawn good and wonderful story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars New Krypton Vol. 2 HC, March 19, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This book is WAY better than volume 1!!.

Superman is between a rock and a hard place here. How can you be Kryptonian and Human at the same time. LEt me tell you right now that is not possible. Poor Supes!.

Sorry if my review of the bok seems hollow, but I hate giving spoilers, but what I can say about this one is that it have action, mistery, WTF moments and more.

What I don't like is the art. So many artist and just a handful can get the characters right. Sometimes the drawings are good but the coloring is too shining. Anyway, I topok a star out because of the screwy art.

This hardcover edition doesn't give you anything new nor cool, and the art make it non-worthy of having it in cool hardbound. Without the dustjacket the book is very simple. Nothing fancy, and because of that I recomend you to save your money and get the sofcover edition instead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Brought to Life!, February 3, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Superman: New Krypton, Vol. 2 (Paperback)
Continuing the story from Superman: New Krypton, Vol. 1, this volume includes some surprising developments and more confrontations between the people of Kandor and the people of Earth. This is the last crossover volume, before most of the characters split up and enjoy their own story arc. The mysteries of Nightwing and Flamebird are particularly intriguing, as is the conclusion to this volume. New Krypton clearly does not warrant the hatred it has garnered (although I am reviewing these books with the powerful weapon of Hindsight).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars As good as part 1, July 2, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I just finished reading part 2. The very good storyline started in part 1 continues. It has several surprises for Superman and Supergirl fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The continued adventures of a Boy Scout, October 22, 2012
By 
William Kendall (Ottawa Valley, Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
One of those crossovers that probably works better as an idea than it does fully carried out. The notion of Kryptonian survivors on Earth suddenly asserting themselves, trapping Superman and Supergirl in the middle, is hampered by the basic fact that Superman is, at heart, a rather boring character anyway.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, September 26, 2014
This review is from: Superman: New Krypton, Vol. 2 (Paperback)
Really impressed by the way the story is progressing .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Superman: New Krypton, Vol. 2
Superman: New Krypton, Vol. 2 by Geoff Johns (Paperback - September 14, 2010)
Used & New from: $4.98
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.