Customer Reviews


36 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I think it's a decent start to Superman
This is always one of those titles I'd love picking up but I'd hear people say it's unreadable, but I disagree, this is a decent title and I feel sorry that it couldn't continue with the writer.

Good:
1.This book is really focused on giving us an update on Superman's life right now so that you'll pretty much get a lot of information in the first comic,...
Published 20 months ago by Sean J. Slocum

versus
14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Should have been better
Unlike Action Comics, this book didn't get off to a great start in the New 52. George Perez is a really good artist and I have loved many of the books he's done both writing and art on, but this just seemed like a collection of ideas that didn't get fleshed out all the way.

Perez has said in interviews that editorial had too much control over his stories and...
Published 20 months ago by Russell326


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Should have been better, November 22, 2012
This review is from: Superman Vol. 1: What Price Tomorrow? (The New 52) (Superman Limited Gns (DC Comics R)) (Hardcover)
Unlike Action Comics, this book didn't get off to a great start in the New 52. George Perez is a really good artist and I have loved many of the books he's done both writing and art on, but this just seemed like a collection of ideas that didn't get fleshed out all the way.

Perez has said in interviews that editorial had too much control over his stories and scripts and would change big things at the last minute, but in all honesty I don't think the base ideas presented here were ever that strong to begin with. An elemental-based alien villain? That's the book's biggest problem: villains who are utterly forgettable.

The artwork from Jesus Merino is actually pretty good most of the time, with assists from Perez. The most interesting parts of the story are actually the parts that focus on Clark Kent rather than Superman. There's plenty of character development there and some new situations that make Clark a very relatable character. I also enjoyed the new characterizations of Lois, Jimmy and Perry. They have a still classic feel, but with some minor tweaks to their status quo.

The fight scenes are well-illustrated, but the dialog is pretty terrible. When he's not Superman, Clark's speaking mannerisms are fine and his speaking pattern and word choice seem fine, but when he dons the Superman persona things get more than a little wonky/cheesy. It's like we're back in the 70s or early 80s. Not what Superman needs right now.

The next volume by Dan Jurgens is a much better take on the character, but falls short too because at about the halfway point it feels like he's just marking time until Scott Lobdell takes over, which definitely starts on a strong note with issue #13.

If you're a big Superman fan and you want to be in on this from the beginning, pick this up. Otherwise, wait til Volume 2 or 3 before jumping in. Volume 2 really will feel like it started over anyway, so don't worry about feeling like you missed something important. You didn't.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I think it's a decent start to Superman, December 6, 2012
This review is from: Superman Vol. 1: What Price Tomorrow? (The New 52) (Superman Limited Gns (DC Comics R)) (Hardcover)
This is always one of those titles I'd love picking up but I'd hear people say it's unreadable, but I disagree, this is a decent title and I feel sorry that it couldn't continue with the writer.

Good:
1.This book is really focused on giving us an update on Superman's life right now so that you'll pretty much get a lot of information in the first comic, something that other people criticized other comics for, but I really do like that it tells us where we start off.

2. I like how Superman is portrayed to an extent, although I do think this loner/isolationist thing isn't really Superman, but I can respect where they're coming from. This isn't pulled from someone's rectum but it's a theme that has been present in a lot of modern Superman comics. I like how smart Lois is portrayed in this, even going so far as to be able to meet the demands of her boss, Morgan Edge, while keeping her employees safe.

3. I think the narrative is good with the mystery of these strange beings that are meant to counteract one of Superman's powers, it's a ncie threat that seems pretty classical while allowing your character to still be powered up. The dialogue is well written, which is good as you'll see when I get to the bad. And if you're reading Action Comics, the main threat is a nice tie-in.

Bad:
1. Lot's of dialogue in these issues and this may be something that you might get overwhelmed by. At least that's what I get from other readers but in truth I haven't experienced that problem. The dialogue is good dialogue though so it never does feel like someone hit the exposition button as much as people are actually having conversations. Still, there is a lot of it and if you came in here for action than you might feel left out.

2. Though the story is good, it won't blow you away like Wonder Woman is doing right now or what Batman: Court of Owls will do. Unfortunately it doesn't seem like Superman has had as big the "umph" factor as other DC titles have.

3. Some might find the plot too "superhero"-formula because it's basically him combating a new threat in Metropolis each issue unitl another issue in which the plot twist comes in.

In Summation: This is still a really good trade and i would definately recommend it but do be warned about the massive amounts of dialogue. I still stand by my four stars and despite the plot doing nothing to go against the formula, it still does something good with that formula.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Great Art, Story Very Slow, February 13, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The art in this was great and it was well adapted for Kindle. The story moved very slowly and wasn't very engaging. The "New 52" superman's angst seems contrived and he does not have the depth of character of the classic DC superman.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent, January 30, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Superman Vol. 1: What Price Tomorrow? (The New 52) (Superman Limited Gns (DC Comics R)) (Hardcover)
amazing! going to try to buy the new 52 collection, if you love dc comics you should buy this one!.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The New Superman, January 2, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I was there for the great Byrne revamp and despite the minor re-vamps since this is a major change in Superman's status quo.

Perez handles it well with a great link to Action Comics and the 5 year gap. Good art, fast paced story telling, and a new Superman for a new audience. Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Solid Superman Story, December 25, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Being a golden-age and silver-age fan, I approached these reluctantly. These stories don't have the typical Superman/Lois romance nor the traditional rivalries of Lex Luthor or Braniac. Nevertheless, this small set is delightful and entertaining to read. George Perez delivers a powerful punch of a story filled with action, and more important, a heightened tension that kept me reading. In the first three issues, Superman fights three evil menaces within the context of a changing Metropolis. These monsters, however, don't aim at destroying him, but instead, they aim at controlling him for ulterior purposes. While in the fourth issue, readers get to see a transformed Superman, the last two issues introduce Supergirl, adding to the tension that is so aptly built. One favorite part is when Lois almost discovers that Clark and Superman are the same.

While I enjoyed the story, I saw a changed Metropolis; a modern Lois Lane who is not obsessed with Superman (actually, she sleeps with a Jonathan Carrol) and she is the daughter of a General Lane; Clark still likes Lois, but he's not the usual clumsy misfit from the Golden/Silver Age; Jimmy Olsen is Clark's friend, not Superman's; the Daily Planet is owned by a media conglomerate Galaxy Communications; and there is a Heather Kelly in love with Clark. I still like the fact that Supergirl can't speak our language, only Kryptonian.

In spite of these changes, Perez gives us a story with a smart plot and complex characters. I can't leave behind the artists Jesus Merino and Nicola Scott, who illustrated these characters with realism. The panels were also effective in moving the story. This was a great beginning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A decent start for the reboot, January 10, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Superman Vol. 1: What Price Tomorrow? (The New 52) (Superman Limited Gns (DC Comics R)) (Hardcover)
Solid (but not great) story and art for the introduction of the 21st century Superman. I'm not a big fan of how Clark's personality is developing: he seems dark, moody, a bit self-righteous... definitely not the boy scout we remember. The problem is that I liked the boy scout persona with a touch of naivete and a sunny disposition - that's what makes a all-powerful being tolerable. Yeah, I know it makes the character more realistic, but this is a fantasy piece - we don't need to overdo it. If I want realism can go to Dickens or Vitor Hugo by myself. And the dark, moody spot in this universe is already filled by Batman.

What I liked the most? The uniform: sleek, beautiful and with very convenient invulnerability and mimetic properties. New Jimmy and Lois - free from her infactuation ith Superman, she is a more interesting character.

Overall, a good start. There are some bugs to work out, the this new beginning is promising.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Superman Vol. 1: What Price Tomorrow?, July 14, 2013
Of all the New 52 reboots, I think one of the most confusing to long-time fans has to be Superman. For a character who had been around for 73 years and grown something of a following in that time, comic fans who had grown so used to Superman's mythology were thrown for quite a loop when the first arc, "What Price Tomorrow?" first appeared. In addition to the changes in the costume, Superman and Lois are no longer married--not even dating--Lois is now head of programming for a news channel and is no longer a reporter for the DAILY PLANET. Superman has only been in Metropolis for 5 years at this point and, while he's proved himself a hero and protector of the city many times already, there's still some mistrust there with a few citizens.

"What Price Tomorrow" is written by legend George Perez and while the details of this new world are still hard to take for many of us, the story itself is well constructed and thought out and is a good start. I say a good start, but in reality, even people who have never read a Superman comic are going to come into this first issue wondering what the!?! But those are just details. The STORY is the important thing here.

Over the course of this story, Superman is faced with three different challenges. In the first, he battles an alien made of fire that seems intent on burning up all of Metropolis, but upon further investigation it seems the creature isn't necessarily catching things on fire, it's turning them into fire. It's not burning the buildings of Metropolis, it's changing their make-up so they seem to be made of fire instead.

Next is an invisible alien, a large lizard-like creature that everyone in Metropolis can see and hear except, for some reason, Superman. Last up is an alien that threatens to turn the city into an icy wasteland, but much like with the fire creature, this new threat isn't really freezing anyone or anything, it seems to be turning them into ice. The people are still intact, but now everything, bones, organs, etc, is made of ice.

Up to this point, Superman has been protecting the city he calls home. But then he sees it's not enough to protect the city from the threats, especially when it seems as if these threats are appearing because of him. It's not a matter of "good thing Superman was here to save us", but instead he believes it might be a case of "if he weren't here, the city wouldn't need saving". So he makes the most logical move. No, he doesn't decide to leave Metropolis, nothing so simple and expected. Instead, he decides to show he means business by destroying every threat the city has faced thus far. Previously he had saved the city from a horde of giant robots. He had left the remnants to be studied, but now decides to destroy those parts. He had previously saved the city from a giant gorilla attack and, ever since, the gorilla is being heavily sedated and studied as well. Superman kills it, so it can never threaten his city again. There's a terrorist group called the Sky Raiders whose main goal is to show that Superman can't save everyone all the time. They're in custody but this new Superman can't risk them breaking out and resuming their previous activities. Plus, an example needs to be set. Sky Raiders, gone.

The people of Metropolis can't believe this new Superman and don't know if they should try to reason with him or just get the heck out of town while they still can. When a mysterious blonde woman wearing a familiar red and blue outfit and speaking Kryptonian appears, trying to match Superman power for power, things get even more heated.

Lois, who quite possibly has discovered Superman's secret identity (this is a plot thread I really wish had been followed up in this arc because I wanted to see the outcome), is yelling in her apartment for Clark to pick up his phone when suddenly we see a fragile looking Superman floating in space, trying to answer the call.

But if Superman's out in space, who is Supergirl fighting? The answer is, in my opinion, one of the most cleverly plotted storylines I've read in a comic in years, and it all goes back to the first time Superman saved Metropolis on a large scale, the story told in "Superman and the Men of Steel" in Grant Morrison's ACTION COMICS arc. That was a truly unexpected, but very welcome, twist, and it made me sit up and take notice of this new Superman and wonder if I should keep reading it after all. Alas, a month or two later I stopped buying New 52 books altogether, but after this first arc, if I had kept buying them, I'm pretty sure SUPERMAN would have remained on my monthly list.

George Perez has been in comics since the early 1970s and he's drawn pretty much everyone there is to draw, especially in the DC universe. Being the artist on DC's CRISIS ON INFTINITE EARTHS, he got the chance to tackle almost all of them. And his reboot of Wonder Woman in 1987 once again established Princess Diana as a major contender in that world. Perez left SUPERMAN after the completion of "What Price Tomorrow?" citing editorial intrusion and, since the book had to be consistent with ACTION COMICS, which takes place 5 years earlier and was written by the less-than-forthcoming Grant Morrison, he didn't know where the story was supposed to be going or what would be allowed in terms of his own ideas. While I don't blame Perez for leaving, I think the work he did in this arc, given the restrictions he was under, was pretty darn good.

Jesus Merino and, alternately, Nicola Scott provided the art and it was solid work without being too flashy. Unfortunately, I think a story this grand could have used some flash. Superman is never given a chance to truly shine and display any of the grandeur that is his due. In fact, the only really impressive shot is the reveal of Superman unconscious in space near the end of the book.

I think of all the altered characters, fan were probably least pleased with the changes made to Superman, so it was imperative to the success of the title that fans get a great story upfront. Thankfully Perez managed that with excellent skill, despite countless editorial changes and issues that he shouldn't have had to deal with. But he certainly made the best lemonade out of lemons he possibly could and I think "What Price Tomorrow?" is a great of a book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars which is also accompanied by excellent artwork. The mystery found within the plot keeps ..., July 15, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Superman Vol. 1: What Price Tomorrow? (The New 52) (Superman Limited Gns (DC Comics R)) (Hardcover)
A very interesting start to the Superman Genre, which is also accompanied by excellent artwork. The mystery found within the plot keeps you guessing until the very end and it arcs over into the new 52 Action Comics Volume 1. This is a great start to the new Superman and is a must have for any Man of Steel fans both old and new. The fact that it is available in hard-back is excellent, being so it can be passed down from generation to generation, and will last forever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars ... was complicated to understand what was boreding but very good graphic and the art, July 7, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Its was complicated to understand what was boreding but very good graphic and the art
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Superman Vol. 1: What Price Tomorrow? (The New 52) (Superman Limited Gns (DC Comics R))
Used & New from: $7.74
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.