Customer Reviews


427 Reviews
5 star:
 (364)
4 star:
 (33)
3 star:
 (21)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


61 of 70 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Angels and Demons and Winchesters
I highly anticipated the return of Supernatural after the cliff hanger we were left with on Season Three. So far [there's still a couple more episodes of season four which have yet to air] this season has not been disappointing. From the beginning, with Dean escaping from Hell, to this raging war between the angels and demons, this is one action packed adventure and...
Published on March 20, 2009 by Courtney A. Walters

versus
13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Best Show On TV. Worst Picture on Blu Ray.
I am bummed to be writing this review. Supernatural is my favorite show on TV and this was the best season so far. I am NOT critisizing the show. The Blu Ray transfer looks awful. It is grainy and inconsistent. I watched the last episode of season 4 on TV tonight and compared it to the Blu Ray and besides the HUGE CW logo on the screen the TV picture looked much clearer...
Published on September 3, 2009 by Venkman


‹ Previous | 1 243 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

61 of 70 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Angels and Demons and Winchesters, March 20, 2009
This review is from: Supernatural: Season 4 (DVD)
I highly anticipated the return of Supernatural after the cliff hanger we were left with on Season Three. So far [there's still a couple more episodes of season four which have yet to air] this season has not been disappointing. From the beginning, with Dean escaping from Hell, to this raging war between the angels and demons, this is one action packed adventure and thrilling ride to be on. I have watched this show from it's debut, and it just keeps getting better. I don't want to reveal too much information for those who read this and have not watched SPN, and I also can't comment as much as I'd like because the season has not yet finished. However, I couldn't wait 'til it's completion to fill out a review for it, and I have definitely put this box set on Alert so that I know immediately when it's released this Fall [more than likely]. I can't wait to have these episodes on DVD to rewatch and relive. I highly recommend this show to anyone; this season stands so far to be the best of SPN yet.

Just wanted to add to my review quick: a lot of people seem to be wishing for a Supernatural soundtrack. Here are 2 awesome sites that will give you a list of songs played in every episode from Season One to Season Four. So get to downloading and making a SPN playlist of your own! :)

Edit: I'm so sorry; every time I put the URLs in for the sites, Amazon doesn't show them.. I'm going to try putting them into a comment for this review so check there if you're interested!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


62 of 72 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fang-tastic Show!, May 17, 2009
This review is from: Supernatural: Season 4 (DVD)
Supernatural, season 4 makes up for the 17 episodes of season 3 (thanks WGA people!)with a full 22 episode run. This is a rare gem of a show where I find myself rewatching a season every 3-4 months (never, ever boring). Seriously, this show has become something of a religion and has re-introduced me to classic, old school rock from the likes of AC/DC & Grand Funk Railroad.

Outstanding episodes here include: In The Beginning (where we see a smoking hot actress called Amy Gumenick as a young Mary Winchester); Metamorphosis; After School Special; Jump The Shark (which was Eric Kripke's in-joke about Chad Michael Murray being a third Winchester brother and introduces us to a new foe); The Rapture; Family Remains (unusually news topical) and saving the best for last: Yellow Fever, where at the very end, we have Dean Winchester doing his rendition of Survivor's "Eye of the Tiger" - believe me, you will watch that scene again and again! It's no wonder youtube get so many hits on it everyday and proves 80s rock DOES ROCK!!

On a sad note, this series marked the passing away of Kim Manners, who was very much a creative force in terms of direction, the overall look and feel of the show. We miss you, buddy - RIP.

As per usual, Jared Padalecki & Jensen Ackles are outstanding as Sam & Dean Winchester. Jensen is very much the Han Solo character who gets to quip funnier lines and pop culture references throughout; whilst poor old Jared has cranked up the emotional steering wheel 3 notches and is a revelation in the process. Fans of Heroes often do the Hiro scrunchy face when he time travels, but for me, I always do the Sam stretching-his-hand-out-before-extracting-a-demon-from-its-host routine. Before long, everyone will be copying it! These two actors have a chemistry I haven't seen since Niles & Frasier Crane. Also have to say kudos to Misha Collins as Cassiel, whom I really got used to, even if he does annoy Dean most of the time!

Whilst watching Shatner & Nimoy in Mind Meld, it was great seeing these legends of screen & TV, discussing their fond memories on Star Trek and personal lives. I hope that one day, we'll get Jensen & Jared doing the same about Supernatural.

PS: Don't be frustrated about the final scene of Lucifer Rising - Eric Kripke is genius personified and trust that he knows what he's doing - especially if season five is going to be the last. It's a classic cliffhanger, but the guessing game is on for what hell Lucifer will unleash! Forget girly rubbish like Twilight and stick to the real deal that is Supernatural!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Supernatural's 4th is 'Angelic', May 2, 2009
This review is from: Supernatural: Season 4 (DVD)
Even though season three of "Supernatural" was tragically cut short because of the writer's strike, 16 episodes instead of the usual 22, it never came up short. It ended the season with one massive cliffhanger and left it's fans and viewers wanting to race through the summer to see what happened. Dean had to beat the clock thanks to his deal with the crossroads demon, and when the season ended, it left many people wondering how in the world it could continue. What did creator Eric Kripke have up his sleeve?. Will the show ever be the same?. Season four is still currently airing as of this writing, with only one more episode to go. The big season finale. It is sure to be brilliant thanks to an already brilliant season. So, what does season four have in store?. Let's get into it(without being spoilery)....

The basic premise for season 4 concerns Dean Winchester(the continually show stealing Jensen Ackles)and his reappearance out of hell. He and the others will wonder how it happened, who did it, and if it plays a bigger part in something. Brother Sam(Jared Padalecki)has his own demons, all the while the two of them still traveling the highways and back roads of America hunting down evil...with some new help along the way in the form of Castiel(Misha Collins).

Season four of "Supernatural" displays the show at it's very best. I have been thrilled and overjoyed with each passing season, one just as great or better than the last, and season 4 has truly elevated the show to another level. The scares, humor, and brotherly drama is all there in full force, but it seems so much more epic. The writers and everyone behind the scenes have thrown everything out there to deliver a whopper of a season. So, what to expect?. The season premiere, "Lazarus Rising", is the best season premiere of the show by far. It answers some questions, raises some more, and has a glorious introduction to Castiel. Perfect beginning. Other highlights of season 4 include "In The Beginning", which features a great guest appearance by Mitch Pileggi, Skinner on "The X Files". It's a great 'Back To The Future-esque' type episode that reveals some new surprises of the Winchester family. And they keep a comin' this season!. A top highlight is the fantastic "Monster Movie", a loving homage to the horror movies of the 30's and 40's, complete with the right staging, lighting, music and, best of all, shot in black and white. "It's The Great Pumpkin, Sam Winchester" is a very cool Halloween episode. Fans waiting for the show to do an episode on the holiday shouldn't be disappointed. "Family Remains" is a classic horror story with a fun twist; "Afterschool Special" is a wonderful flashback episode looking at the Winchester bros in, you guessed it, high school; "Jump The Shark" is a shocking episode that puts a new wrinkle in the Winchester family; "The Monster At The End Of The Book" is just great. What may seem like a stand alone, quickly veers deep into the show and it's ongoing arc this season. The first few minutes are side splitting hilarious as the show takes a 'wink, wink, nudge, nudge' approach at it's own self and the fans. There are many more great episodes and moments, like the return of two fan favorites in "Are You There God?, It's Me, Dean Winchester", radical wishes coming true in "Wishful Thinking", and so much more. Bigm arc heavy episodes abound in "On The Head Of A Pin", "When The Levee Breaks", and others. Not a stinker in the bunch.

Season four is filled to the brim with excitement, action, scares, chills, and plenty of new unbelieveable twists, turns, and surprises. It could of all veered off course if it weren't for the incredible Eric Kripke, and all of the amazingly talented people working on the show. Of course, the shows rests on the shoulders of the Winchester boys themselves, Jensen Ackles and Jared Padalecki. Ackles continues to knock it out of the park and continuously impresses with each passing season. He gets plenty to chew on here. Padalecki really came into his own as Sam in season 2 and has continued to evolve from there. He gets some juicy stuff here in season four and he takes Sam to places we haven't seen before. It turns into some tight drama, and the brother/family drama that the show is so much about is tested throughout the season. Elsewhere, Jim Beaver continues to be a strong asset to the show(and the boys)as Bobby, and Genevieve Cortese takes over the role of Ruby(replacing Katie Cassidy, who I liked better in the role). Misha Collins, as Castiel, is a wonderful new addition to the show. He has the right balance of mysteriousness with Castiel.

In the end, season four shows a series that is at the top of it's game. Hitting on all cylinders. Supernatural, like Buffy, just grows and grows from season to season, deepening it's story and inner family turmoil, with plenty of shocking surprises and twists along the way. Season four of Supernatural is shocking, brave, brilliant, witty, scary, and exciting. One can only wonder what Kripke and Co. have in store for us for season five.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars outstanding!, January 17, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Supernatural: Season 4 (DVD)
Supernatural, is clever, funny, relevant, and scary. With real characters we can care about and amazing situations that are rendered believable by the down to earth dialogue and event progression, this is a groundbreaking show. Gritty, real, and chock full of amazing effects this series is a must see for any Sci-Fi or Horror fan or anyone who is interested in being entertained. Written with a nod to the intelligence and humor of its audience I cannot rave enough about this series, every season keeps improving on the last and continuing the entire overall arch of the Winchester's with the legitimacy of any other genre. ABSOLUTELY watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A rarity for a show to get better and better as time goes on!, April 1, 2009
This review is from: Supernatural: Season 4 (DVD)
As shows age, it is a very rare thing for it to grow in plot and suspense. But Supernatural is one of those rare gems that seems to do just that. As each season goes it grows into itself and I can't turn away. I can't wait for this season to finish and come out on DVD it truely is an under-rated masterpiece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Underrated Show - give it a try, June 28, 2009
By 
S. Mammano (Scottsdale, AZ United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Don't be scared off by the show being on a network not known for quality (the CW), or by the overheated fans who scream for the show's two handsome stars. Just as Battlestar Galactica was handicapped by being on the Sci-Fi channel's otherwise lousy schedule, Supernatural doesn't seem to get the mainstream coverage that it deserves while being broadcast on the CW graveyard. It's one of the scariest shows on television, and among its strengths, features some elements that rarely are successfully merged into one show: scares, creatures, humor, an engaging ongoing storyline, and most importantly, show runners that bring sharp writing skills to the table. I love the show's "backwoods America" setting, and the haunted houses and creepy woods that populate it. I'm not a huge "classic rock" fan, but enjoy the way they've merged some classics into the show's soundtrack. If you're even slightly interested in any of these things, go rent the first couple of episodes from Season One on DVD and see for yourself. I don't buy many shows on Blu-Ray, but this one is near the top of the list. Give it a try and support a quality show while it's on the air.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great show, dvds, and bonus disc, September 9, 2009
This review is from: Supernatural: Season 4 (DVD)
Bonus disc- like others, i bought the target version(still on sale for second straight week btw) with the 30 minute bonus disc of Jared, Jensen and a few of the writers in a Q&A at the 2008 Comic Con. It's short, but it's nicely edited and well-paced with no slow or awkward moments. First 10 min is moderated, the other 20 being mainly fan questions, with a brief interruption from Supernatural's rival show- The Ghostfacers(that show sucks! just kidding). This is a great bonus disc for me since i didn't get to go and can now watch some of that event at any time(and i think it's worth more than just one viewing).

DVD package- The packaging is different than the first 3 seasons as others have mentioned. Gone is the fold out, panoramic style, now it's in a hard-cover case that holds all 6 discs in a plastic spindle(folks, i admit, i don't know the terminology for these things). At first i thought this was an extremely cheap plastic spine that could fall out, but i think they made it that way on purpose in case you ever need to take the spine, with all 6 discs, out of its box for whatever reason. The bonus disc gets it's own placeholder inside the box. If you're going to buy season 4(and you should), the target version is the way to go with the fun bonus disc. However, i could've sworn the ad last week said it was 45 min, not 30. Of course, the standard extras are there as well- gag reel, 3 commentaries, 3 featurettes, and deleted scenes.

Me rambling- anyway, i tried season one when i thought it was a monster-of the-week show. I found out it was more though thanks to the story arc or theme that runs through each season. Since the first, i've been hooked and am now a fan/collector. The best thing about the show has to be the chemistry of the characters, especially the Winchester brothers. You could have a down show or two, or an episode whose 'monster' you don't like or care for, but it doesn't matter. The real reason you tune in is to see the guys and how they deal with their ongoing situation together, and being a part of that journey. So if you enjoy shows that have a horror theme, yet dramatic with its story arc, and infuse humor when needed, while centered around some lively characters, Supernatural is for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Supernatural Season 4 is the best!, December 9, 2008
This review is from: Supernatural: Season 4 (DVD)
Supernatural just keeps getting better and better with each passing season. This year has added a whole new dynamic to the show, and even if the season hasn't ended yet, I just know that the finale will be great. The acting and producing and directing and writing are all first rate! It's the best show on TV that so few people are watching. Can't wait to see more and if you haven't seen any of it, I suggest you watch it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Best Show On TV. Worst Picture on Blu Ray., September 3, 2009
I am bummed to be writing this review. Supernatural is my favorite show on TV and this was the best season so far. I am NOT critisizing the show. The Blu Ray transfer looks awful. It is grainy and inconsistent. I watched the last episode of season 4 on TV tonight and compared it to the Blu Ray and besides the HUGE CW logo on the screen the TV picture looked much clearer. I have a pretty good player. It's a Panasonic BD 30. It is fully updated and in perfect working condition. I can't believe they did such a BAD JOB on such a GREAT SHOW.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Season So Far, July 8, 2009
By 
Z. Fu (New York, NY) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Supernatural: Season 4 (DVD)
After a mildly entertaining third season, Supernatural came roaring back with its best season yet. The show has also evolved in a number of ways. It is now more serialized. It is no longer only about two brothers driving around the country in Impala, with classic rock blasting, and fighting monster of the week. Episodes are more interconnected as the overall story revolves tightly around the coming battle between angels and demons.

The story also turns much darker as the two brothers struggle with inner demons: Sam's addiction to demon blood and power, and Dean's guilt over what he was driven to do in Hell. The two young actors have stepped up and met the demands of the roles, though the new actress for Ruby seems bland and out of place acting at opposite side of them.

The battle of angels and demons is no ordinary black and white affair. We learn that God is forever silent, and that some angels are shady and would not hesitate a second to sacrifice human lives for a "greater" cause. Lucifer was formerly an angel. "Fallen" angels may or may not be "evil" in Supernatural's universe. I marvel at how successfully the creator and writers of the show explore the Christian themes and myths. There are countless references to the Bible and Milton's Paradise Lost, and echoes of Philip Pullman's His Dark Materials. In so doing, the season goes beyond popular entertainment to the realm of serious fantasy.

I recommend anyone new to the series to watch the first three seasons, and then stay in sequence for season four. For long term fans of the show, watch the season again. It is that good!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 243 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xad074b7c)

This product

Supernatural: Season 4
Supernatural: Season 4 by Jared Padalecki (DVD - 2009)
$59.98 $22.26
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.