Customer Reviews


432 Reviews
5 star:
 (349)
4 star:
 (44)
3 star:
 (20)
2 star:
 (13)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


116 of 126 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing Series
I've always been a bit of a fan of action but not so much horror. Supernatural is the exception. Not only is it full of action and monsters of every kind you can think of, and a whole lot you've never heard of, but the plot line is brilliant and intriguing. The chemistry between this cast is excellent and the acting is such that you're engrossed from the opening to the...
Published on March 23, 2011 by River

versus
13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars BEING DEAD DON'T MEAN YOU'RE GONE
Similar to many other avid SUPERNATURAL fans, I am a bit disappointed with Season 6. I just finished watching the DVD set (which, by the way, is once again well produced: it has easy to navigate discs, great sound and picture quality, interesting special features, and a great cover photo -- love the snake crawling up Sam Winchester's arm) and I have to tell you it was an...
Published on September 24, 2011 by Charlie Gee


‹ Previous | 1 244 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

116 of 126 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing Series, March 23, 2011
This review is from: Supernatural: Season 6 (DVD)
I've always been a bit of a fan of action but not so much horror. Supernatural is the exception. Not only is it full of action and monsters of every kind you can think of, and a whole lot you've never heard of, but the plot line is brilliant and intriguing. The chemistry between this cast is excellent and the acting is such that you're engrossed from the opening to the credits. It's enough to believe that there really are two brothers fighting out there to keep "the evil sonuvabitches" out. I've even got a couple friends into the series. I recommend Supernatural to anyone. It's got an amazing storyline and characters, action, thrills, and humor that will never leave you bored.
The only BAD thing about the series is the strong attachment that one grows to the characters and the immediate urge to watch another episode.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


65 of 69 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Supernatural is Back in the Saddle Again., April 6, 2011
This review is from: Supernatural: Season 6 (DVD)
I have been watching Supernatural since the show started in 2005. Its the only show on televison of its kind and it has become my all time favorite. Supernatural blends together seamlessly the sci-fi, horror genre with healthy amounts of drama and sarcastic comedy weaved in thats is very unique. The action is in my opinion feature film quality and the monsters this season are to die for ranging from djinns, to shape-shifters, vampires, faires, dragons, demons and the Mother of All baddies, Eve from Purgatory. We are still waiting to see how the Mother of All mystery continues to unfold, but so far its been wild.

In season six you will get to see Sam's dramatic struggle over his very soul while dealing with the introduction of the Campbell family. Dean's couragous attempts to help his brother while dealing with his own family drama with Lisa and Ben. The first episode directed by Jensen Ackles all about great supporting character Bobby Singer called Weekend at Bobbys. Along with all that you'll get to see Sexy Sammy shirtless in Third Man, Dean getting abducted by fairies and turned into a vampire, the first Old West episode where Winchesters finally meet Samuel Colt the maker of the very special Colt gun the boys used, and a super hilarious meta episode where Sam and Dean enter the real world of Jared, Jensen and Misha the actors behind the scenes of this great drama.

Yet, still at its core continues to be the relationship between Sam and Dean, especially in episodes like the premiere Exile on Main Street or Like A Virgin. That is what you will find the most thrilling is after all these two boys have been through over the years the Winchester brothers chemistry is undeniable and unbreakable. It will have you begging for more. I definitely want to see a Season 7.

The brothers are modern day cowboys with stunning good looks and even better acting talent to boot especially when you add in the incomparable Jim Beaver as the loveable grumpy Bobby Singer and the endearing Misha Collins as the confused angel Castiel you have a team free will that can't be stop. Not to mention they ride around in the coolest Metallicar on the road a black 1967 Chevy Impala it would make the General Lee jealous lol. Overall, Supernatural Season 6 is Back In the Saddle Again with enough crazy angst ridden adventures to keep you guessing where the show will go next.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


85 of 94 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Show on Television -- It has EVERYTHING!!, February 10, 2011
By 
Elizabeth Smith "AZEditor" (Glendale, AZ United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Supernatural: Season 6 (DVD)
Supernatural is far and away the best show on television, and it has been since its inception in 2005. The awesome acting (by the superb Jensen Ackles and Jared Padalecki -- later joined brilliantly by Jim Beaver and Misha Collins) is, simply, out of this world (no cliche intended)! Put these wonderful actors together with great production values, writing that is some of the best ever done for television, directorial brilliance every week, and the viewer experiences totally absorbing wonder, chills, and delight.

Season 6 is everything I had hoped it would be, and if you haven't seen Dean vs. vampires and Tinkerbelles, Sam go darkside big time, Bobby handle a wood chipper, and Castiel learn the secrets of a pizza delivery man, then you are REALLY missing out!

I own every season on an Amazon-purchased DVD; they are the best, and I look forward to getting mine every year, including Season 6, which I just ordered, thank you! Long Live Supernatural, and may the gods of Warner Brothers and The CW give us a Season 7, please!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars BEING DEAD DON'T MEAN YOU'RE GONE, September 24, 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Supernatural: Season 6 (DVD)
Similar to many other avid SUPERNATURAL fans, I am a bit disappointed with Season 6. I just finished watching the DVD set (which, by the way, is once again well produced: it has easy to navigate discs, great sound and picture quality, interesting special features, and a great cover photo -- love the snake crawling up Sam Winchester's arm) and I have to tell you it was an uneven ride. As other reviewers have noted, the first 17 episodes are very scattered. Some are excellent while others, like "The French Mistake" are just plain bad. Taking Sam and Dean and placing them on the production stage of SUPERNATURAL takes the viewer out of the mythology and erodes the integrity of the characters for a bit of cheap self-adulation by the production staff. The introduction of the Campbell cousins opened up some new possibilities for story archs, but the writers/producers/whoever decided to squander that by rapidly dispatching them in short order. (Bright spot: once dead characters return to life all the time on the show, so maybe we haven't seen the last of the Campbell cousins.) One episode has Dean Winchester running away like a scared little boy from a man who is following him. The next episode he's bad-mouthing a monster and staring him down. It's these types of character inconsistencies that have to leave us SUPERNATURAL fans scratching our heads and asking: "Why?"

On a more positive note, as with previous seasons, the acting overall is very good. Jim Beaver remains a true gift to the show and Jensen and Jared remain as charismatic as ever. The last five episodes I really liked. They helped to restore my faith that this show can continue to be great, although whether or not the character of Castiel is being developed wisely remains open for debate. Despite what I see as some weaker moments in Season 6, SUPERNATURAL is still a noteworthy show that manages to capture the imagination of its audience. It is worth adding to your collection. Hopefully Season 7 will see the boys returning to what I consider the series traditionally stronger characteristics: consistently high quality episodes, great monsters, tight pacing, addictive storylines, and less calling for help to angels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jensen Ackles is a funny guy, November 21, 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I always enjoy the comedy episodes of Supernatural and "Clap Your Hands" was one of the best. Loved the X-Files spoof intro, and it's always a pleasure watching Jensen Ackles at his goofiest. The Dean-cam bit where he was frantically running from the fairy in the dark back streets and alleys had me laughing out loud. For a show that's been on for as long as it has, the writers are still coming up with fresh ideas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not the best, but feeds a need., May 26, 2011
By 
JOHN F. "Barkless Dog" (oak brook, il United States) - See all my reviews
I was going to give it only three stars till I viewed the finally episode (which was really good). This has to be Sam's best & Dean's worst season, in my opinion. Soulless Sam is well written & well acted. Sam always had a menacing side to him & this season really capitalizes on that. Dean however lost all his humour & became really whiney. Dean used to be wise cracking, fun & perverted. Now he just whines all the time. What happened to the bromance? They killed that part of the show. Cass becomes a "cooler" character, which is welcome. Mark Sheppard is always a plus for the show (any show really).

Season 6 only gives a few fun filled filler episodes which have fun with the characters, but these are weak compared to years past. Another thing missing is the Classic Rock Sound Tracks, guess they needed to cut costs. That was as much a part of the show as the Impala. Who could ever forget the Groundhog "Heat of the Moment" episode.

You can tell the writers where going through the motions in 75% of the season. Just mediocre writing with little feel of the little details that made the show excellent. I like the idea of guest writers, like Stephen King taking a crack at this next season. I only hope it does not turn out to be a big spider in the end!

Overall I recommend it for fans who has seen the rest of the series, but in no way would this be a good place to start. Soulless Sam & Cass makes it worth the money. Dean should of stayed at home this season.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


45 of 58 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Addicting!, November 14, 2010
This review is from: Supernatural: Season 6 (DVD)
We started watching this series to help my husband expand his English vocabulary with something mindless and somewhat simple, but entertaining. Of course, all immigrants need to learn such critical vocabulary as werewolf, poltergeist, etc.

What my husband said is this is the only horror genre that attempts to maintain a logic. Dizzy girls don't (usually) follow a bloody killer deeper into a dark and scary house or forest while screaming and shaking. The series tries to maintain an internal logic and set of physics logic for the alternative worlds the mere mortals engage in and they even leave room for things they don't know -- telling a ghost they don't actually know where the ghosts go after they salt and burn the bones.

This series is a guilty pleasure -- fun to watch!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Supernatural Still Delivers, September 9, 2011
By 
Teresa K. Botkins (Columbus, OH United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Supernatural: Season 6 (DVD)
Season Six of Supernatural marked the passing of the leadership torch from Eric Kripke to Sera Gamble, and it showed. I compare this season to watching a kid learning to ride a bike without training wheels. It started out pretty wobbly and uncertain, but as time passed it gained more confidence and momentum. Supernatural has always been rock solid, and even at its worst it is more worth watching than some other shows are at their best, so I am more than willing to forgive this season's stumbles.

Please note: this review does contain spoilers for season 6.

As a genre tv watcher for many years, I have learned that shows like this almost always suffer from the lack of a solid antagonist. This was what season 6 lacked the most. The "Mother of All" was a markedly lack-luster "bad guy" after having such deliciously nasty advesaries as the Yellow Eyed Demon and Lucifer himself in previous seasons. Additionally I thought the "Alpha" story-line failed utterly, and I think I sing along with the choir in having an intense dislike of the whole Campbell family angle - and that was introduced in a previous season. Having Sam and Dean come from a whole family tree of well respected hunters of evil was always a little too trite for me. That they were victims of tragic circumstance read better.

The stand-outs in season 6 could have been played up a little more. Soul-less Sam would have been a better heavy than half the Alphas and the Mother of All combined. Jared Padalecki brought on his A-Game to portray the cold, calculating Soul-less Sam. His performance was delightfully subtle when it could have easily been taken too far over the top. This subtlety made the character quite unnerving. I would have liked to have seen him stick around for a little bit longer, to give Dean more of a challenge as he picked away at the mystery behind his brother's odd behavior.

Another stand-out I'd like to see more of (because I can't accept the notion that he won't return) was the Alpha vampire. Forgive me for not knowing the actor's name, but the man was phenomenal, and his characterization of this ancient vampire couldn't have been better. He was positively chilling. Death returned in Season 6 too, and did not disappoint.

A quick note regarding the Ben and Lisa storyline - alot of fans disliked both these characters and Dean's relationship with them, but I did not. Seeing Dean's awkward attempt at domestication only underscored the underlying angst inherent to his character. As he will come to admit himself, he cannot have that life - ever. Supernatural will always be a dark tragedy, and to tell the truth I'm a little surprised Sera didn't kill either Lisa, Ben or both off completely. Somehow, though, I think knowing they are alive but untouchable may be more torture to Dean than if they'd simply died, so maybe Sera is more vicious than I'm giving her credit for here.

In conclusion, although I liked Soul-less Sam, the better part of season 6 begins roughly mid-season when the show actually starts to "feel" like Supernatural and not something just going through the motions. I myself tend toward the dark and angsty, but in this season the better episodes are those lighter offerings such as Clap Your Hands if You Believe, and the delightfully off the wall French Mistake. The writers and producers have described this season as "noir" and one of the best examples of that in my opinion (it's not a genre I know particularly well) would be Live Free and Twi-Hard. Not to be left off this season's best list is Jensen's directorial debut of Weekend At Bobby's. Though it's Sam and Dean light, Jim Beaver shows his chops and carries this episode with aplomb. It's fun, and witty, and who doesn't love it when Rufus Turner turns up? Oh, and did I mention Jensen directs? Ha ha!

And although I have nothing against Sera either as a writer or in her new role as head honcho, my absolute favorite episode of this season was the finale - The Man Who Knew Too Much penned by Eric Kripke himself. I felt as if he pulled together all the jangle and whine, tied up all the frayed ends left by some weak storylines, and paved the way to what could be Supernatural's best season yet. That is why despite its shortcomings, I still give season 6 a four star rating. People need to keep watching. I do not want to discourage anyone.

The boys have a lot left to do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good but uneven sixth season-exceptional looking Blu-ray set, September 13, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
"Supernatural" was always meant to be five seasons long so when the show was renewed for two additional seasons the five year plan that creator Erick Kripke had in mind went out the window and so did Kirpke who although is still a consulting producer (and wrote the season finale for season six)stepped aside and writer/co-producer Sara Gamble took the reins.

Although not as consistent as previous seasons "Supernatural" struggled to establish a consistent tone during the sixth season of the series. Nevertheless, the sixth season had a number of strong episodes including a couple of tongue-in-cheek classics written by writer/co-producer Ben Edlund ("The Tick").

Introducing Sam and Dean's relatives as hunters was a great concept that wasn't developed as fully as it could have been; Sara Gamble and the other writers introduced a number of interesting characters including Sam and Dean's grandfather returning but didn't develop the characters as well as they could have. It's a pity because I think they could have built a couple of good episodes around the "hunter" family exploring their dynamic and relationship and eliminated a couple of the weaker episodes involving Sam & Dean's characters (or had them as peripheral characters much as they are in the episode "Weekend at Bobby's").

SPOILERS:

When we last saw Sam he descended to Hell with Luicifer's personna trapped inside him. Dean adopts a normal family life finding a peace he never had when he was raised. This lasts for a year but it seems like an eternity to Sam. When Sam mysteriously returns he lures Dean back into hunting but Dean finds Sam has changed--he's amoral and seems to delight in the torture of others something Sam would never do. Dean discovers that Sam has returned in body but he has no soul.

END OF SPOILERS:

The Blu-ray looks positively stunning--with a sharp, desaturated presentation true to the look of the original broadcast. Audio is presented in HD 5.1 lossless quality.

The extras include commentary tracks on Ben Edlund's amusing "Clap Your Hands If You Believe" and "The French Mistake" (by Edlund, producer Sara Gamble and director Robert Singer). The latter has an interactive trivia track for the Blu-ray.

We also get a featurette on Jensen Ackles turn behind the camera for "Weekend at Bobby's"; the last two episodes for "Supernatural: The Animated Series" "All Hell Breaks Loose" parts I and II are also include; we also get outtakes/alternate takes for "The French Mistake".

The Blu-ray also includes "The Hunter's Guide" an interactive feature with exclusive featurettes on the production of the series buried within it. The special features are wrapped up with "Supernatural: The Quest for the Soul" a featurette on season six and the gag reel for the sixth season.

While season six was a bit uneven taking awhile to find it's footing, once the sixth season did discover the tone for the season there were a number of outstanding episodes. Part of that issue was due to the switch over in producers but the main reason was that the show was originally designed as a five season series.

Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing that this show can still maintain this quality 6 seasons in, June 18, 2011
This review is from: Supernatural: Season 6 (DVD)
Supernatural is a seriously underrated show. It is on a tiny network, gets ratings that the NBCs of this world wouldn't get out of bed for, and is never considered for awards. Yet it is still here - six seasons and renewed for a seventh. The reason? It is a great show; brilliantly acted, brilliantly written, great stories. It is made by a tight team in front and behind the cameras, and even after 6 years they still care about making a quality show.

This season has a different feel to the earlier seasons, but maintains the quality we have come to expect. The storyline twists and turns and takes you places you never thought it would go. And it has some of the best eps of the show ever; the hilarious The French Mistake, Dean and Sam go to the old west in the great fun Frontierland, we get an excellent Bobby-centric ep directed by Jensen Ackles, the moving and wonderful Like a Virgin (including the best scene the show has had for 2 or 3 years), and many, many more.

Buy it. You won't regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 244 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Supernatural: Season 6
Supernatural: Season 6 by Jared Padalecki (DVD - 2011)
$59.98 $17.73
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.