Customer Reviews


658 Reviews
5 star:
 (550)
4 star:
 (65)
3 star:
 (25)
2 star:
 (10)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


173 of 190 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars best show on television even after 7 years
I don't think Supernatural has fans. I think Supernatural has fanatics. The word "fan" implies that those who watch this show are passive. That they look forward to that one hour a week where they can escape and watch these boys fight what overwhelming "big bad" they are facing, turn off the TV set and then go about their daily lives. "Fanatic" is far more fitting for the...
Published on May 31, 2012 by bertandernie

versus
61 of 82 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Watchable but full of wasted potential
NOTE: This review is a work in progress and currently only covers episodes 1-15 of season 7. I'll post an update after the final 8 episodes of the season air. This review also contains spoilers for the season. I've tried to keep them to a minimum but some of my problems with the season can't be easily discussed without revealing some major spoilers. So I recommend reading...
Published on February 28, 2012 by C. Parent


‹ Previous | 1 266 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

173 of 190 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars best show on television even after 7 years, May 31, 2012
By 
This review is from: Supernatural: Season 7 (DVD)
I don't think Supernatural has fans. I think Supernatural has fanatics. The word "fan" implies that those who watch this show are passive. That they look forward to that one hour a week where they can escape and watch these boys fight what overwhelming "big bad" they are facing, turn off the TV set and then go about their daily lives. "Fanatic" is far more fitting for the followers of this show. We are obsessed. We read spoilers, we go to conventions, we write fan fiction, guess at plotlines, and emotionally invest in characters to the point where they become our family. This show has been on the air for SEVEN years and over those years there has been so much character and plot development that it has definitely paid off to be a fan. It is clear that the writers are smart because the consistently deliver succinct and intelligent writing and continue to move the show forward in a clear and sweeping development through Heaven and Hell, and now even Purgatory. The actors are talented, and can consistently deliver humor and heartbreak with rough raw emotion that makes the show feel realistic even if there are supernatural elements that could not happen in the real world.

A lot of people have complained about the last couple years, but I think Dean says it all in Season 4's "The Monster at the End of this Book"-"For fans they sure do complain a lot" People like to whine and complain about the last couple of seasons but at the end of the day if they aren't watching then they don't have anything to complain about and if they can complain about the plotlines of the seasons that they supposedly hate then they're still watching!

Each year there is a new surprise and new drama and new humor and the new greatness. I can't wait for Season 8 and all of the whiners will just have to continue to whine and I will continue to toss them up to representing the human condition. The show is constantly trying to out do itself, but in a realistic transition from it's own past, which is incredibly rare in a series and should be respected greatly.

Even after 7 years of being on the air, I continue to be invested in the characters and curious to how it will all turn out, not many long-running shows have the ability to keep you on the edge of your feet with perfect writing and a past that they are so aware of.

If you are not watching it. You should start.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


50 of 52 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Supernatural Still Knows How to End a Season with a Bang!, June 18, 2012
This review is from: Supernatural: Season 7 (DVD)
I have been an avid follower of Supernatural since season one. As such, I have seen the show's two main characters, Sam and Dean Winchester, face creatures ranging from demons to witches, from vampires to werewolves, from wraiths to tricksters, from roogaroos to angels, and SO much more. Needless to say, you would think with a show like this, especially one where the writers will only pull from legends that already exist, things would get old quickly. However, Supernatural has been running for seven seasons now, and each one has presented something new and exciting for viewers. This particular season presented a whole new breed of monster: the leviathon. And these monsters brought with them an entirely different set of rules.

I must admit that while there were a lot of things to love about this season, including the new monsters, the classic monster-of-the-week episodes a la seasons 1 & 2, the brotherly bonding moments between Sam and Dean, and the classic Supernatural humor that fans have come to know and love, there were also a few things to dislike about this season. The main two things that I had issues with this season were the loss of beloved characters and the fact that the leviathons' constant hunt for the boys drive them to ditch the Impala for the vast majority of the season.

Still, in spite of these two drawbacks, the show still managed to pull off another great season. And like they have always managed to do, they ended the season with a cliffhanger that leaves you wanting more. And I'm personally hoping that the "more" I get with season 8 rectifies my few issues with season 7 by bringing back our lost characters and reinstating the Impala to its rightful role: an appearance in EVERY episode!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


88 of 102 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Supernatural Still Going Strong, January 20, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I thought I'd be tired of this show by now since I typically get bored with most TV after about the 3rd or 4th season. Not so with Supernatural where the only dark moment was the beginning of Season 6 when Dean was busy trying to be a middle class white guy in suburbia. (So not you, Dean) Season 7 continues the saga while upping the stakes for the guys yet again. I miss Castiel, but not that much since the storyline he was such an integral part of has resolved--at least to some degree for now. You never know and that's the best thing about Supernatural, it combines common elements with fresh surprises every episode. Season 7 also sort of brings the regular cast back to their original roots of simply chasing monsters while staying one step ahead of their enemies. And I never get tired of that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bringing back the monster of the week, June 12, 2012
Supernatural fans have had it better than most for quite some time. After a rocky first season, Supernatural season 2 set the tone for the rest of the series: a powerful force with personal ties to the Winchesters that has to be dealt with is a formula that has spawned the series most successful seasons. Unfortunately, some fans feel that this blueprint should never change and because of that feel that this season was lacking. I am here to disagree.

I have loved every season of Supernatural, but as the seasons passed I started to miss the lighter episodes that showcase why the boys are the best in the business; namely the monster of the week cases. The boys having to overcome personal struggles and stop the apocalypse is fantastic, but sometimes it gets too heavy. Season 7 did a nearly flawless job of combining the two.

The constant threat of the Leviathan mencace was handled well without becoming over bearing. Sam and Dean still have to save the world, but also show their versatility as hunters. They take on everything from age old witches and ancient Egyptian dieties, to killer clowns and spirits that can only be seen while drunk. There are also plenty of heavier episodes with them dealing with the nearly unstoppable leviathans, creating a satifsfying balance.

Season 2 still ranks as my favorite season, but this set is easily my second favorite. Season 7 is an entertaining, well balnaced season that has something for all fans. There doesn't have to be an apocalypse every season for it to be good, and season 7 proves that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


61 of 82 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Watchable but full of wasted potential, February 28, 2012
By 
C. Parent (New England, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
NOTE: This review is a work in progress and currently only covers episodes 1-15 of season 7. I'll post an update after the final 8 episodes of the season air. This review also contains spoilers for the season. I've tried to keep them to a minimum but some of my problems with the season can't be easily discussed without revealing some major spoilers. So I recommend reading at your own risk.

I've been watching Supernatural since season 1. So you could say I'm a long term fan of the series. Somehow the writers on this show managed to not only raise the stakes each season, but they also managed to top themselves with the overall story arc, standalone episodes, and character moments.

Season 4 marked a major turning point in the series with more serialized storytelling and the introduction of angels and heaven to the show's mythology. Season 5 continued on in that same manner but upped the stakes even more by introducing Lucifer and the apocalypse. The war between heaven and hell that had been brewing for the previous seasons finally came to a head.

I was initially skeptical of season 6 but they managed to raise the bar yet again. Rather than making the stakes larger than the apocalypse, they raised the stakes in more personal ways for the characters and by introducing a number of mysteries that appeared to be somewhat disconnected. By the end of the season, everything came full circle and all of the smaller mysteries were clearly part of a much larger story. The cliffhanger for the season raised the stakes yet again and promised a completely new situation when the show came back the following fall.

That brings me to season 7. Conceptually, season 7 should feel fresh and original. It doesn't deal with angels or demons. Instead, it introduces a brand new breed of monster for the Winchesters to fight: the Leviathans. New rules, new abilities. They can be summed up as "so many humans to eat, so little time." They can't be killed or stopped in the usual means and they have the ability to take on the form of anyone they eat. They're more about infiltration and indirect attacks than the usual methods we're used to with angels and demons.

Despite the fantastic setup and the strong start, sadly season 7 has been a mixed bag so far. It started with a huge burst of energy and featured one of the strongest Castiel character episodes to date. And then most of the arcs and plot threads were conveniently swept under the rug in favor of Sam/Dean angst, the return of the monster of the week format found in earlier seasons, and the systematic removal of most supporting characters and familiar places/items that fans of the series have come to know and love.

What should have been the perfect opportunity to explore the new threat from purgatory has quickly become a long, fairly uninteresting, tired slog. The Sam/Dean angst that has been at the core of the series since the very first episode isn't nearly enough to carry the show by itself anymore, and yet they seem to be focusing almost entirely on that. The series evolved over the course of seasons 4, 5, and 6. It introduced numerous supporting characters to help inject some much needed variety into the rapidly aging formula and to shake up the usual Sam/Dean interaction.

Season 7 eliminates all of the surviving supporting characters (with the exception of Sheriff Jody Mills and Crowley), gets rid of the Impala (seriously?!), and introduces a new, highly paranoid character that sort of replaces Bobby (and with none of the personality).

The removal of the familiar, in theory, should be pushing the brothers to new levels of desperation. While new territory and ultimately a good idea, in practice they've barely done anything with it. The brothers are supposed to be running for their lives from the Leviathans and yet they stop in town after town to deal with mundane cases that we've seen them solve several times over and aren't allowed to get any additional information on what the Leviathans are up to (after all, it isn't the season finale yet...). The Impala hasn't been in use for about 10 to 11 episodes.

One of the things that has helped keep Supernatural fresh for so long is the inclusion of clever dialogue and plot twists. Season 7 still mostly has the clever dialogue but overall the stories are pretty run of the mill and have a definite "been there, done that" kind of feel to them. With an exception here or there, even the monsters have been rather easy to defeat (the low point being vampire-like monsters that can be killed with a silver knife to the chest *yawn*). Even the usual high amounts of gore have been rather lacking this season.

It's been interesting to see how the brothers cope without all of their usual help from Bobby and Castiel. However, the problem is that nothing really feels any different. They're going up against the same old monsters and the Leviathan plot is pretty much where it was at when the season started. All we know is that they can't be killed, they're rapidly taking over the planet, and they enjoy eating people. Add in one of the most uninteresting villains (Dick Roman) and I've been finding this season to be rather disappointing. I always used to look forward to this show every week and this year I've often been finding myself looking at the clock whenever it's on. The story is almost at a standstill, the brother angst feels tired and forced, and many monster of the week stories this year feel like the writers are simply going through the motions.

They can and should be able to do better than this.

UPDATE: I just realized that I never came back to update this review after seeing the rest of the season.

Unfortunately, my opinion of the season remains the same after seeing it in its entirety. Starting with "The Girl with the Dungeons and Dragons Tattoo," the pace of the season picked up some. It also introduced Felicia Day in a recurring role, which was a brilliant decision. The Impala also ended up making a brilliant return in the final arc of the season. It really drove home just how much that car is a part of the style of the show. It just isn't the same without it. The Leviathan arc ended up not going anywhere particularly interesting and it was concluded almost as quickly as it was introduced. That said, I did find its resolution to be relatively satisfying overall. But it definitely didn't need all the set up it received. They had about 6 episodes of story for the Leviathans that was dragged out over the course of the entire season.

The good news is its conclusion freed up the new showrunner (Jeremy Carver starting in season 8) to do whatever they wanted with the storyline and left the door open for introducing a larger supporting cast. The season finale also managed to set up an interesting premise for season 8.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Interesting Episode, May 12, 2012
Fans haven't liked the leviathon arc. This episode gives a tantalizing glimpse of what could have been. The ancient tablets gave Sam and Dean the information they need to make a weapon that will defeat the leviathan, but a weapon is one thing, victory another. For this weapon, among other things, they need the blood of an angel, the blood of a demon and the blood of an alpha vampire. Bobby has some ideas regarding tactics and strategy as well, but the boys are more and more worried that Bobby will become a vengeful spirit and are taking less and less heed of what he has to say. Kevin Tran is still being held hostage, as is his mother and his role as prophet could be an interesting addition.

In this episode, Sam and Dean set out to get the ingredients for the weapon. Plot concentration is on the alpha vampire who holds a young girl hostage and has since she was eight years old. The blood of virgins is pure you see. The alpha vampire is on the side of the leviathons, but they may be about to double-cross him. This plot line, the alliance between the vampires and the leviathon could have been used over several episodes and could have made the leviathon arc much more interesting. So too could have been the development of a weapon to right them. Once again, Sam and Dean are forced to make questionable alliances - this could have been explored more fully. So, a good episode, but ultimately a bit of a tease as many of the solutions to the leviathon scourge strike the viewer as magical rather than earned - and they could easily have been earned, making this an outstanding season of Supernatural rather than a fair season. Recommended to fans for the improvement, but not the place to start for new viewers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars When gods prevailed, January 21, 2012
Supernatural time travel episodes are my favorites. This one is no exception. When Sam and Dean go after what appears to be a demon, Dean ends up disappearing in a ball of red light and reappears in the 1940s teaming with another hunter - Elliott Ness (Nice to see Nicholas Lea/Alex Krycheck X-Files in a good guy role.) The demon (wonderfully played by Jason Dohring/Ringers/Moonlight) turns out to be the god of time. It will require cunning in the 1940s from Dean and Elliot Ness, and a perfectly timed spell in the present by Sheriff Jody Mills (Kim Rhodes) and Sam to bring down a god and bring Dean back to his own time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Oh my god Castiel!, December 9, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The seventh season kicks off with Castiel as god judging and correcting the world as he sees fit. Dean, Sam and Bobby are no longer his friends and anyone in the world who differs from his opinion (preachers, motivational speakers, politicians, etc.) end up as bloody carnage. Bobby and the boys summon Death (the fabulous Julian Richings) hoping to reel Castiel in. Instead they get an earful from Death about the new big bad called Leviathans. Leviathans are older more evil than anything on earth, and the reason god created purgatory in the first place. On top of everything else, the wall in Sam's head is down and all is not right with Sam's world. This is a strong episode that gets season seven off and running.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I have every season....., August 1, 2012
This review is from: Supernatural: Season 7 (DVD)
I wish I could pretend I was a really young person ordering these, but I am not (50+). We own every season, and my love for this show is shared by my son and grandchildren. We have seen every episode (more than once). Some people probably won't care for it at all, but we love it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The floodgates have burst open, October 16, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
A great start to an awesome series. Julian Richings is a pleasure to watch as Death and he definitely doesn't disappoint this episode. Castiel has been warped by the souls he's swallowed and is on a power trip, believing he's setting things right. The Winchester brothers are at a loss at how to save Cas, desperate to stop him before all Purgatory breaks loose. The question is, how do you stop "god?" As if that weren't enough, Sam is having increasing difficulty functioning with the wall in his mind gone, the echoes of his memories in hell causing him to hallucinate. It's refreshing that the series is breaking away from the Biblical theme and is exploring other lore again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 266 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Supernatural: Season 7
Supernatural: Season 7 by Jared Padalecki (DVD - 2012)
$59.98 $16.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.