Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars De lo mejor del 2006: Trae grandes recuerdos!
Los Amigos Invisibles se embarcaron en un proyecto interesante con "Superpop Venezuela". Manteniendo la linea tipicamente divertida de su musica, se enfocaron en estos 18 temas en rendir tributo a algunas de las canciones que fueron legendarias en los años ochenta en Venezuela. Desde el tema del concurso Miss Venezuela hasta clasicos como "No Es Facil Amar" (de...
Published on September 20, 2006 by Manny Hernandez

versus
12 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars pales compared to the last 3 albums
Let's be candid, this album is not as well-produced or infectious as the prior 3 Los Amigos Invisibles albums. I love these guys to death, I'm not trying to be negative. But I find myself having no urge to re-listen to "Superpop Venezuela", whereas I always loved to revisit the Luaka Bop releases. Los Amigos Invisibles are an incredible live act, so perhaps this new...
Published on September 24, 2006 by Lil' Creeper


Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars De lo mejor del 2006: Trae grandes recuerdos!, September 20, 2006
This review is from: Superpop Venezuela (Audio CD)
Los Amigos Invisibles se embarcaron en un proyecto interesante con "Superpop Venezuela". Manteniendo la linea tipicamente divertida de su musica, se enfocaron en estos 18 temas en rendir tributo a algunas de las canciones que fueron legendarias en los años ochenta en Venezuela. Desde el tema del concurso Miss Venezuela hasta clasicos como "No Es Facil Amar" (de Adrenalina Caribe), "San Agustin" (de Vytas Brenner), "Si Tu Te Vas" (de Colina) y "Media Luna" (de Yordano), el album entero reverbera con musica que trae grandes recuerdos para cualquiera que crecio en Venezuela en los ochenta.

Si no conoces la musica, tambien vas a encontrar suficientes razones a lo largo de "Superpop Venezuela" para bailar, cantar y reir, como para que este album de clasicos se convierta pronto en un nuevo clasico de Los Amigos Invisibles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Directly from Venezuela this time!, September 5, 2006
This review is from: Superpop Venezuela (Audio CD)
I have to admit that this is an ambitious project from LAI and a very creative one as well. They're taking their favorites from Venezuelan artists and just making it their own basically.

The selection is quite diverse. For example, it's entertaining to hear them cover a song from Diveana because I'd consider her basically the Britney of merengue pop.

This is a must for hardcore LAI fans!

This is a band that given with the right promotion and dedication from a record label can go far!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars pales compared to the last 3 albums, September 24, 2006
By 
Lil' Creeper (Los Angeles, CA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Superpop Venezuela (Audio CD)
Let's be candid, this album is not as well-produced or infectious as the prior 3 Los Amigos Invisibles albums. I love these guys to death, I'm not trying to be negative. But I find myself having no urge to re-listen to "Superpop Venezuela", whereas I always loved to revisit the Luaka Bop releases. Los Amigos Invisibles are an incredible live act, so perhaps this new material is better in concert.

If you're looking for a new act that has some of the same inspiration and creativity as prior Los Amigos Invisibles releases, you could do well by picking up The Pinker Tones debut "The Million Colour Revolution." They are from Barcelona and have a lot of the same good vibes LAI once had.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally something different and good., December 5, 2006
This review is from: Superpop Venezuela (Audio CD)
I LOVE this album! It is so much fun! It's got a killer mix of styles that showcase what Los Amigos Invisibles do best. They create a great dance party with some Disco, Salsa, Funk, House and other styles too. Dmitiri from Paris gave it a really nice vibe as the producer. There are songs to chill out to, songs to laugh to and most of all songs to dance to. This album will definitely put a smile on your face. I have a two hour drive to work and can honestly say that I can listen to this album from beginning to end and not get bored. Definately worth every penny and have bought some copies for friends and family as stocking stuffers this x-mas. Enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Album with a Variety of Different Sounds, August 20, 2012
By 
A. Brown (Washington, DC) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Superpop Venezuela (Audio CD)
I recently discovered Los Amigos back in the spring of this year, so I'm relatively new to their music. This was the last album I picked up because some of the reviews on here made it seem like it was a huge deviation from LAI's other albums. While this album does deviate from the sound of their other albums, it does so in a way only Los Amigos could do. After listening to the entire album about 5 times, I've really come to appreciate the variety it offers. It's a great album to put on when you're not wanting to shake it on the dance floor and you just want a more chill, diverse collection of sounds.

My top songs from this album are:
1. Yo No Se
2. No Es Facil Amar
3. Ganas
4. Si Tu Te Vas
5. All Day Today

Many other great songs on this album, but those are the ones I've hit repeat on a dozen times or more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amigos Invisibles at their best, April 12, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Superpop Venezuela (Audio CD)
Awesome music, great mixes, and wonderful and funny tunes.... This CD brings their talent !!! Highly recommended along with Arepa 3000: A Venezuelan Journey Into Space
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Superb cover tune offering, March 6, 2007
By 
Dave Huber (Delaware, United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Superpop Venezuela (Audio CD)
Like a fine wine or cognac, Los Amigos Invisibles only get better with age. With "Super Pop Venezuela," the sextet take a break from their own musical acumen to produce a disc that covers a gamut of Venezuelan melodies. Of course, though, LAI give the assembled harmonies their own unique magnetism. Thanks largely to the euphonious [writing] talents of guitarist José Luís Pardo (aka "Cheo"), "Super Pop"'s offerings are likely to satisfy anyone who enjoys the genre in which LAI subsists. And that's because, even though these songs are not LAI's own, they *make* them their own by injecting into them their own extraordinary character.

My personal favorites are "No Es Fácil Amar a Una Mujer," "Yo No Sé," "Curda y Pan" and most especially "Yo Soy Así." Keep in mind, too, that as with past LAI discs, not all the tunes have vocals -- which, in LAI's case, really makes not a difference as their musical proficiency is off the scale!

Even a casual fan of Los Amigos *has* to see them live at least once in his/her life. It is a truly remarkable event.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Very Best of LAI., January 12, 2007
This review is from: Superpop Venezuela (Audio CD)
I was living in Venezuela in the 80's, when these songs were first time published, and I can't stop remembering how many woderful things happened to me when I was listening to this music. These is so far, the very best CD released by the LAI, and among other latin bands, LAI is simply the very best of all them. I'd give more stars for this Cd, if they were available. By the way, listen to them alive is another glorious experience. I strongly recommend these guys.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Superpop Venezuela
Superpop Venezuela by Los Amigos Invisibles (Audio CD - 2006)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.