Automotive Holiday Deals Up to 50% Off Select Books Shop Men's Athletic Shoes Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon Prime Music Sweepstakes egg_2015 All-New Amazon Fire TV Grooming Deals Gifts for Her Amazon Gift Card Offer cm15 cm15 cm15 $30 Off Amazon Echo $30 Off Fire HD 6 Kindle Cyber Monday Deals Indie for the Holidays in Prime Music Outdoor Deals on HTL
Surfing the Middle East and over one million other books are available for Amazon Kindle. Learn more

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your email address or mobile phone number.

Buy Used
+ $3.99 shipping
Used: Very Good | Details
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: This book shows minor wear and is in very good condition. Blue Cloud Books. Hot deals from the land of the sun.
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See all 9 images

Surfing the Middle East: Deviant Journalism from the Lost Generation Hardcover – 2012

19 customer reviews

See all 3 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
New from Used from
"Please retry"
"Please retry"
$1.99 $0.01

Take an Extra 30% Off Any Book

Special Offers and Product Promotions

  • Take an Extra 30% Off Any Book: Use promo code HOLIDAY30 at checkout to get an extra 30% off any book for a limited time. Excludes Kindle eBooks and Audible Audiobooks. Restrictions apply. Learn more | Shop now


Hero Quick Promo
Holiday Deals in Kindle Books
Save up to 85% on more than 1,000 Kindle Books. These deals are valid until November 30, 2015. Learn more

Product Details

  • Hardcover: 240 pages
  • Publisher: Casbah Publishing (2012)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0983700915
  • ISBN-13: 978-0983700913
  • Product Dimensions: 9.1 x 6.2 x 1.1 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 1.2 pounds
  • Average Customer Review: 4.4 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (19 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #1,459,977 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Author

Major in political science. Graduate with honors. Fail to find a job. Go surfing in the Middle East.

Jesse Aizenstat is the author of "Surfing the Middle East: Deviant Journalism from the Lost Generation" He also co-produced with an Emmy-winning studio a revolutionary iPad app, titled "Surfing the Middle East."

He has written for many newspapers, blogs at The Huffington Post, and has appeared on MSNBC, CNN, and other news-related shows about culture and the Middle East.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful By Grady Harp HALL OF FAMETOP 100 REVIEWERVINE VOICE on August 3, 2012
Format: Hardcover
To start, Jesse Aizenstat may be a young writer (and according to his own statements a dyslexic one at that), but he is a journalist in the finest sense of the word - and unfortunately journalism of this sort is sadly becoming extinct. When a journalist has the courage to step into the middle of a situation in order to feel it, see it, smell it, interact with it, even take the chance of dying for it all with the goal of reporting to the world from an eyewitness stance, that is the kind of information for which we are hungry. It is one thing to be a snazzy commentator on the television screen, a person with distance and a staff of writers and photographers to create a view of a situation: it is another to have the information from the living in the moment source.

Less the reader gets the idea from the above that this is another serious examination of the ongoing eternal crisis in the Middle East, then that is only part of this delicious memoir. Jesse Aizenstat is a young stud surfer from Santa Barbara, CA who after completing college in 2009 with a major in political science finds it impossible to find work. He had been to Israel and surrounding countries before, but his intense interest in Middle Eastern politics and shenanigans gave him the idea of combining his passion for surfing with his desire to return to the Middle East: his gimmick was to surf from Israel to Lebanon and the only magazine to whom he pitched his idea that would take him on was the Surfers Journal (!), and off he went via Birthright transport (his `in' by being Jewish) to Israel to begin his self-designed assignment. `Second to the American job economy, the other reason I embarked on this adventure was the cold hard fact that for most of my schooling life I'd been dismissed as a hopeless dumbass.
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful By Nicholas A. Heras on May 31, 2012
Format: Hardcover Verified Purchase
Jesse Aizenstat's "Surfing the Middle East: Deviant Journalism from the Lost Generation" is a great book written from a unique perspective. Aizenstat's writing style combines the best elements of travel writing found in the works of authors such as Robert Kaplan with a Hunter S. Thomson-esque attention for detail and situation that is reminiscent of the "Rum Diary" and "The Kentucky Derby is Decadent and Depraved." He very effectively describes the situations that his journeys present to him with both wry humor and a good grasp of the underlying social, cultural, and political realities of the countries that he visits.

Aizenstat has a gift for edgy description and for capturing the good ol'-fashioned irony that he encounters throughout his trip. Importantly, he is not above an honest appraisal of himself, his actions, and his interpretations of the behavior of the people with whom he encounters, allowing the reader to more fully appreciate the manic quality of his travels. The resulting story is both humorous and educational, with characters who are larger-than-life, but not easily dismissed as simple caricature.

This book is a must-read for students of the Middle East, international relations junkies, and people who simply love a great story with a wonderful narrative. Highly recommended.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful By CSB on August 14, 2012
Format: Kindle Edition
This e-book is a truly unique, interactive experience all on its own, the story entirely set aside. The images and layout only serve to enhance the superb story telling that Aizenstat brings to the table.

As far as the writing itself, Aizenstat's approach represents something both new and old--it is an example of fast-paced, gripping guerilla journalism, something fit for new media formats such as blogs and e-books. It is raw, and adventurous without embellishment, giving readers a chance to read and experience Aizenstat's travels and learn something real about this part of the world. In addition, however, it holds true to the timeless practice of simply keeping a journal of one's travel and adventure, and of traveling not as a tourist propped up by a thick wallet and an English-speaking guide but as a young man full of curiosity, determination, and boldness.

As someone who has traveled to this part of the world before, I can confirm that Aizenstat has captured reality in his writing. He brings the reader the real experience and gives a valuable insight on the region that definitely deserves our attention. And besides, he went through the entire experience dragging along a surfboard, which makes an already interesting trip just that much more interesting!
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful By Joey Madia on September 24, 2012
Format: Hardcover
Surfing the Middle East is a book of endless dicotomy. Subtitled "Deviant Journalism for the Lost Generation," Aizenstat's diary and depiction of his two trips to the Middle East is equal parts eye-opening participant journalism in the tradition of Sebastian Junger and V.S. Naipaul's Among the Believers (the best book I have ever read about the tangled weave of cultures and belief systems in the Middle East) and an at times over-the-top homage to the Gonzo journalism of Hunter S. Thompson (as evidenced most obviously by the opening quote from the good doctor and more subtly by the rampant use of his signature words: "savage," "swine," "fiend," and his metaphorical device of linking drug-tripping adjectives with his on-site experiences).
To be fair to Aizenstat--whose idea to surf in Israel and Lebanon while immersing himself in the Gordian knot of what is happening "over there" as an American Jew was as excellently executed as it was extremely evocative in concept--I have spent the past eight years reading everything I can find written by or about Hunter S. Thompson (indeed, as I was reading Surfing the Middle East I was also reading Hey Rube, so the Doctor's typical dialogue and devices were foremost in my mind). Thompson's appeal is his intense Uniqueness, and any attempt to borrow from or otherwise emulate what he so carefully cultivated rubs me the wrong way. It's like trying to paint like Jackson Pollock and pass it off as in any way your own. I have watched with no small sorrow as Johnny Depp sinks into a not-so-subtle cartoon echo of his fallen hero. Sad.
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Most Recent Customer Reviews

Want to discover more products? Check out this page to see more: surfing travel