Customer Discussions > Casablanca forum

Surprise! I'm still learning from Casablanca

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-8 of 8 posts in this discussion
Initial post: Dec 31, 2006 8:06:42 AM PST
D. Ellis says:
I take this movie out once every two years and wonder if I my taste has moved on to more fantastic sites. To my delight this movie gets richer as the years go on. Thinking of wartime then and now, thinking of the personal struggle men have with sensitivity and toughness, the great songs, the friendship of Sam and Rick as equals, the lighthearted comedy in the midst of escaping the Nazis and lastly the beautiful compositions of the black and wide screenplays. The only regret is I want it in letterbox format. Love this movie!

In reply to an earlier post on Mar 10, 2007 11:49:19 AM PST
takemehome says:
Casablanca was not filmed in widescreen. Until 1953's The Robe, although widescreen processes existed, it was very rarely used. But all video and DVD releases feature Casablanca in its intended theatrical aspect ratio.

In reply to an earlier post on Jan 4, 2008 12:09:09 PM PST
Presbyteros says:
I emphatically agree. The last time I saw it, I was struck by how operatic it was. The scenes in the cafe are short, punchy little vignettes, the dance band plays, and there is a little interlude until the next scene. And the dance band arrangements are terrific! I always wondered if they were Max Steiner's work.

In reply to an earlier post on Aug 17, 2008 5:33:10 PM PDT
Mark Tobak says:
Yes it is operatic but I don't know that opera informs its technique. Citizen Kane, which was released only two years earlier, was constructed, in Pauline Kael's phrase, in a series of "blackout" sketches strung together into a story, with similar lighting and "noir" touches. But there is so much to see in a Casablanca; it creates a world which we can endlessly revisit and reconstruct.

In reply to an earlier post on Sep 4, 2008 12:11:59 PM PDT
Lon + says: