Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Captivating!
I was very excited when i heard there was a new book out by C.J Archer and i was not disappointed! This book had me captivated from the start and i couldn't put it down.
Yet another fabulous book by this indie author!
Published on February 20, 2012 by Samantha Adams

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not quite worth five stars, but fun nonetheless
This is a well written Regency that features a set of appealing primary and secondary characters. The only thing that stops me from giving it a better rating, is a plot that somehow feels a bit thin and unconvincing. The book is worth the price, however, and I would certainly buy more of this author's work.
Published on February 25, 2012 by PLB


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Captivating!, February 20, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Surrender: a Regency Romance of Love and Addiction (Kindle Edition)
I was very excited when i heard there was a new book out by C.J Archer and i was not disappointed! This book had me captivated from the start and i couldn't put it down.
Yet another fabulous book by this indie author!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not quite worth five stars, but fun nonetheless, February 25, 2012
By 
PLB (Ottawa, Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Surrender: a Regency Romance of Love and Addiction (Kindle Edition)
This is a well written Regency that features a set of appealing primary and secondary characters. The only thing that stops me from giving it a better rating, is a plot that somehow feels a bit thin and unconvincing. The book is worth the price, however, and I would certainly buy more of this author's work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Love story, December 3, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Surrender: a Regency Romance of Love and Addiction (Kindle Edition)
Very a very hot and juciy book great love story had a good theme to it. Anyone who likes there romance novels read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five BIG, OVERFLOWING STARS! I thoroughly enjoyed this book., December 16, 2013
This review is from: Surrender: a Regency Romance of Love and Addiction (Kindle Edition)
C.J. Archer swept me up in this quickly paced, period romance. Alexander and Georgina, our main characters, are entertaining and captivating. C.J. writes in such a way that I would recommend this book to my male friends, as well as my female friends. A classy and edgy tale is built around opium addiction, and every detail to this historical romance was spot-on, and well researched. Surrender was truly one of my favorite short and steamy reads of 2013. If you are looking for a few hours to mentally escape this decade, this book is the perfect way to pass the time. You can check out my official review with casting pictures here, just copy and paste this link into your browser:
[...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyed Surrender, October 10, 2013
This review is from: Surrender: a Regency Romance of Love and Addiction (Kindle Edition)
This was an enjoyable read. I liked that the book had a female physician during the Regengcy Era and that she specialized in drug addiction. Her patient, Alex, was a spy and dealing with addiciton to opium due to nightmares of a disasterous mission that resulted in the death of his friend. There was a mixture of emotions and unexpected revelations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars From a man's point of view., September 10, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Surrender: a Regency Romance of Love and Addiction (Kindle Edition)
Loved it. All I can say about this book is read it. If I a male person 78 years old loved it, Than ladies you will go nuts for it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Potential but not much else, August 11, 2013
By 
Jeanne (COINJOCK, NC, United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Surrender: a Regency Romance of Love and Addiction (Kindle Edition)
Although this novel has the interesting plot involving Georgiana Appleby, a women who is following in her famous physician father's footsteps and who specializes in opium addiction and withdrawal, it falls a bit flat. The hero, Alex Redcliff, a former spy and now opium addict, suffers from severe PTSD resulting from an episode in which his best friend was killed. Sadly, with all the makings of a great book, the novel really doesn't go anywhere. In addition the style a bit choppy, and there is a wholesale massacre of first person objective case which is always incorrectly rendered as "whoever and I" no matter what the position in the sentence. Truly annoying--makes me wonder if C. J. Archer ever took and English class or looked a grammar handbook, but I digress. Overall, not a terrible book, but not one I'd really recommend either.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Physician Specialty Opium Addiction, September 29, 2014
This review is from: Surrender: a Regency Romance of Love and Addiction (Kindle Edition)
I received this book as an ebook free from the author through LibraryThing in exchange for an honest review. This book is regency historical fiction. There are some additional twists with a live-in female physician treating a male patient with an opium addiction. There is also murder and attempted murder, spies, sex and romance, and hidden secrets. As I read this book I especially enjoyed the author’s creative ability. This was a good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Surrender, August 13, 2013
By 
Lauren Johnson (Santa Clara, CA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Surrender: a Regency Romance of Love and Addiction (Kindle Edition)
Alex Redcliff is a spy. The only problem now is that he is a spy with an opium addiction to help suppress his terrifying nightmares of events he doesn't want to remember. In Georgiana Appleby he finds his salvation, sent to help him recover from his addiction, Georgiana has quite a few secrets about herself and her past she wants to keep hidden.

I liked the character of Georgiana but I wanted someone a little bit more strong willed personally. She takes on the whole world defying the conventions of the time but the minute she is in a room alone with Alex all of her propriety goes out the window and she becomes unable to resist kissing his lips. Alex had that slightly jerky quality about him (it could have been the opium addiction) but he recovered his good qualities by his actions. I didn't think their hate then sudden irresistible attraction was plausible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars HISTORICAL ROMANCE WITH A DIFFERENCE, August 8, 2013
This review is from: Surrender: a Regency Romance of Love and Addiction (Kindle Edition)
Alexander Redcliffe believes he murdered his friend. But he has no memory of the event. Consumed with grief and guilt he suffers from terrible nightmares. Opium is his drug of choice.Georgiana Appleby is to treat Alex for his addiction. Attraction flares between them

Beautifully and sensitively written this historical romance stands out from the crowd. With fully rounded characters and a Stirling plot make this a must read. Alex was very sympathetically written. While Georgiana was a tough no nonsense character, strong and determined. With the added bonus of the romance between them, and the riddle of what really happened to Alex's friend. This is a recommended read.
ARC courtesy of C J Archer and NetGalley.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.