Customer Reviews


100 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (26)
3 star:
 (13)
2 star:
 (11)
1 star:
 (33)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


35 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Intriguing, Involving and Suspenseful!!
Some of the previous reviewers are either psychic(s) in terms of their uncanny ability to scope out the plot twists so far ahead of time, or truly veteran film goers of mysteries.....I was able to discern the major plot twist slightly ahead of the actual revelation, and was very satisfied with the way the writer and director decided to unfold their narrative and cinematic...
Published on August 25, 2009 by Noah Young

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Sickening and Endless
This is truly an example of money flushed down the toilet. A good cast, but the story is gruesome, nauseating, and not very well-paced. It seems to go on and on... I realized after awhile that I had actually seen it once before, but all I really remembered was who the "villain" was, which made it all pretty much pointless. Most of the characters were so obnoxious that...
Published 12 months ago by Socotronic


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

35 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Intriguing, Involving and Suspenseful!!, August 25, 2009
This review is from: Surveillance (DVD)
Some of the previous reviewers are either psychic(s) in terms of their uncanny ability to scope out the plot twists so far ahead of time, or truly veteran film goers of mysteries.....I was able to discern the major plot twist slightly ahead of the actual revelation, and was very satisfied with the way the writer and director decided to unfold their narrative and cinematic processes.....very intelligently done!! i found the dialogue appropriate for each character, and yes, while one must suspend belief as relates to the characters of the rural cops(borders on stereotype), that's okay because no one promised me character development in depth.
This film held my attention all the way through; i found the acting very good (Pullman and Ormond totally believable as FBI agents), and the twist quite satisfying. Overall, quite an entertaining film, good performances, believable, and i might want to see it again to pick up little clues/cues i missed the first time around. As a rental, you can't go wrong.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Solid movie, August 9, 2009
This review is from: Surveillance (DVD)
I thought this movie was delivered great. The way it was shot was really gritty and made me think of the end of Se7en and also the cover of latest Slipknot album (I know, really random).

The acting was solid and as usual Pullman played a quirky dude (prob signed on because of David) really well. There were parts where the dialog was a bit awkward and the story stalled but lets be honest, the director is the daughter of David Lynch...you cannot say there have not been slow/awkward scenes in Blue Velvet, Mulholland Drive, etc.

I thought the twist was great and the ending was fantastic. Not a 5, but definitely something I will recommend to fans of movies like Se7en, 12 Monkeys, Fight Club, etc. Beautifully dirty movies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars deliciously demented, August 19, 2009
This review is from: Surveillance (DVD)
I think a lot of the reviewers missed the point with this film.I believe the director(David Lynch's daughter)simply intended to make a fun,twisted flick with a surprise twist to the end.You may or may not see it coming,but,I don't think you'll get it exactly.I wasn't expecting much,was thoroughly engaged until the end.What more could you ask for?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Sickening and Endless, July 8, 2013
This review is from: Surveillance (DVD)
This is truly an example of money flushed down the toilet. A good cast, but the story is gruesome, nauseating, and not very well-paced. It seems to go on and on... I realized after awhile that I had actually seen it once before, but all I really remembered was who the "villain" was, which made it all pretty much pointless. Most of the characters were so obnoxious that one couldn't feel much compassion for any of them, which is problematic. Ms Lynch has the advantage of a famous
father, but though not without skills,she doesn't really seem to have much to say outside of shock for shock's sake.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Misfires but only just, February 17, 2010
This review is from: Surveillance (DVD)
Jennifer Lynch happily carries on the family tradition of scraping beneath the surface of American society and uncovering the horrors that lie beneath. Thus we are treated to an endless procession of law enforcement officers with varying degrees of corruption and stupidity; dysfunctional families; drugged-up, emotionally detached youngsters and unhinged serial killers. It's like a low-budget Pulp Fiction but without the irony.
But while David Lynch's films manage to strike an effective balance between darkness and light, Jennifer Lynch has no use for the good side. Surveillance is thus like watching, say, Blue Velvet, but with all the redeeming moments taken out.
Although there's enough drama, tension and plot dynamic at work to keep Surveillance from being a complete turkey, the gap between what it tries to achieve and what it delivers is simply too wide. The overall impression I get from watching this movie is of a young filmmaker trying too hard to be controversial. Some of the dialogue is facile in the extreme, and the acting, particularly by some of the police officers, is laughably over the top. Bill Pullman, Julia Ormond and Michael Ironside's talents, one feels, are rather wasted.
The bottom line is that Surveillance may have enough drug references to appeal to culturally-savvy 20-somethings, for the more mature, discerning movie fan it falls short of the mark.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Survellance, Murder Mystery Thriller, December 3, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Surveillance (DVD)
For me this was not a real scary movie because I like TV series such as CSI and Criminal Minds. For me the most surprising thing about this movie is the roles of Julia Ormond and Bill Pullman and the very twisted ending. After seeing Julia Ormond in Sabrina, The Wronged Man and Temple Grandin I was shocked to see her in this suspenseful thriller. Julia played such a convincing role and she pulled it off as usual. I was glued to the screen from start to finish and was never bored. Julia Ormond is such a great actress and I have become a big fan of her work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "I will play", July 5, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Surveillance (DVD)
The papier-mâché masked psychos of Jennifer Lynch's excellent thriller, SURVEILLANCE, are unlike zombies, vampires, aliens, ghosts or two-headed sharks. "Human-monsters" actually exist. Serial-killers are not supernatural which makes them the scariest of all extreme-cinema creatures. This horror sub-genre displays realistic scenarios of insanity and gore resulting in exquisite guilty-pleasure entertainment.

SURVEILLANCE skillfully shows differing degrees of madness beginning with the menacing yokel cops who then seem warm and cuddly in comparison to you-know-who. Along the way, the viewer meets all sorts of characters: A yuppie family, stereotypically asinine policemen, coked-up naïve youngsters and none of them deserve to die. But, of course, they do and in nicely orchestrated fashion. Lynch's pre-climax use of the Violent Femmes "Add It Up" is quite affecting with its aggressive strains of folk-punk acting as a musical harbinger of doom.

The craziest part of all is the murderers' reason for their path of destruction: Fun! Guess dinner and a movie aren't enough for some folks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars let's talk around Surveillance..., October 31, 2010
This review is from: Surveillance (DVD)
Writer/director Jennifer Lynch's crime thriller Surveillance (2008) involves such a major plot twist, that saying much that is specific about the film, would probably ruin the experience for anyone that has not yet seen it. This makes reviewing the film tricky, as this is the kind of film that people typically have strong feelings about. Unfortunately limiting comments to generalities, isn't particularly useful to those curious about the movie.

I found the film much like a magician's illusion, where director Lynch was trying very hard to amaze and impress her audience, while employing misdirection and showmanship. The results are not entirely satisfying. The method of storytelling, recounting events in a series of remembrances by different characters, does succeed in building up some tension and suspense, as it takes a while to figure out what has happened. One would have to be a very attentive viewer, to pick up on most of the major significant plot elements, during an initial viewing.

Is the film worth your time? My answer would be yes. There is an eclectic variety of characters, some provocative situations, unexpected violence, and attempts at razzle-dazzle. It is kind of a challenge to try and put the pieces together. The ending may or may not satisfy, but in many respects this film is more about the journey than the final destination, mainly because the movie's big "secret" just isn't very plausible.

What I find highly significant, is that upon the advice of her father, director David Lynch (The Elephant Man, Mulholland Drive, Lost Highway), Jennifer Lynch rewrote the ending. It was excellent advice, as the revised ending is a major improvement over the original, which is frankly a disaster. The original ending is included as a deleted scene.

The writing is good in places, but perhaps not as smart as the author may think, as realism is often stretched thin, and the story unravels badly near the end. The acting is generally very good, in that the performances are very much in tune with the screenplay. Pell James stands out as a sassy drug abuser who is one of the witnesses to the crime. Ryan Simpkins' performance is edgy, as a little girl who is also a witness. French Stewart and Kent Harper are excellent as a couple of unscrupulous cops. Cheri Oteri, probably most known for her stint on SNL, is solid in a dramatic role. Julia Ormond's performance is credible most of the way. I have a big problem with the way Lynch has written Bill Pullman's character, an FBI Agent. He starts as a straight kind of sleepy guy, who later transforms to someone channeling parts of Robin Williams' dramatic persona. Pullman's performance is probably true to the screenplay, it's just that the character is just a bit too much.

Judging by what is seen and heard in the bonus material and commentary track, Jennifer Lynch is a tough lady, in tune with both violent and subtle elements. In her free-flowing commentary, Lynch demonstrates that she can be both articulate, and spew more profanity than Uwe Boll, while being fascinated by such arcane matters as the Canadian province of Regina, the beauty of the sky, and Julia Ormond's good looks.

Surveillance is a tense, edgy thriller, that's a little too pretentious about being clever. Lots of things don't add up, and questions are left unanswered. While flawed, matters could have been so much worse, had the ending not been rewritten.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A Hateful Vile Film, July 20, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Absolutely everything about this film was hateful and vile. It was utterly without value of any sort. It should not exist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars terrifying, May 14, 2010
This review is from: Surveillance (DVD)
This film really frightened me. It is brilliantly made, highly suspenseful, and deeply disturbing. All performances five stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Surveillance
Surveillance by Jennifer Chambers Lynch (DVD - 2009)
$19.98 $12.49
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.