Customer Reviews


117 Reviews
5 star:
 (73)
4 star:
 (20)
3 star:
 (13)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing Season
When you get the best of the best together to play this game you are guarenteed a great season and it delievered with player Outwititng, Outplaying and Outlasting each other. I personally was disappointed that a bunch of All-stars didn't figure out how powerful Rob and Amber was and didn't get them out. Even though i dont really consider Amber an Allstar...did anybody...
Published on August 26, 2004 by Dusty

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Don't look at the covers of the DVD's they'll spoil the winners
Not sure why they made the DVD's this way, but the people who outlast each tribal council are on the cover of each DVD. SO if you don't want it spoiled try to remove the disc without seeing the cover.

Otherwise, it's a great season. It is interesting to see how much the game play has evolved since then.
Published 20 months ago by Ashley


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing Season, August 26, 2004
By 
Dusty "Dusty" (Calgary AB Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Survivor All-Stars - The Complete Season (DVD)
When you get the best of the best together to play this game you are guarenteed a great season and it delievered with player Outwititng, Outplaying and Outlasting each other. I personally was disappointed that a bunch of All-stars didn't figure out how powerful Rob and Amber was and didn't get them out. Even though i dont really consider Amber an Allstar...did anybody really notice her in the Outback. Way more entertaining people should have filed her spot. I hope they release all the seasons. I am also surprised they jumped right into Allstars. Well buy this item if you can't get enough of survivor.

How I rank the seasons:

8. Thailand (Figures their was only one allstar from here)

7. Marquesas (Nothing special)

6. Amazon (Some bright moment, not the most exciting, most exciting Jenna and Heidi taking it off)

5. Africa (Location boring, great cast though)

4. Pearl Islands (3 amazing players : Sandra, Jon, and of course Rupert)

3. Allstars (Great season, dissappointed by the result)

2. Australian Outback (So close to #1, great location, amazing cast)

1. Borneo (The thing that started it all, the oringal alliance was born in this game..Rich, Kelly , Rudy, and Sue...hey why wasn't kelly on stars...Jenna ahead of her??)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 42 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 1 STAR For Giving The Order Of Elimination Away On Each Front Disc, October 14, 2005
By 
Spider "Boy" (CALIFORNIA United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Survivor All-Stars - The Complete Season (DVD)
Who ever is the genius idiot who decided to put the faces of the people eliminated on the disc they are eliminated? Did anyone ever think that some people may not have watched the show and did NOT want to know who was going to win, which was clear from the order of the faces on each disc? Once you know this the element of surprise is gone forever.. How sad...

Don't look at the pictures on front of every disk if you want surprises. If you don't care then you'll know who exactly get voted off with each disc and worse, you'll know who wins when you see them on the last sole disc.

Otherwise, this show was GREAT!! and therefore gets 4 stars, but really zero stars for ruining the surprises. Fire that putz that decided to blow it for people that have not watched it. Me, one of them.

The only other thing that was pathetic was the commentary by Lex, Kathy and Alicia who spend their valuable audio time on the bonus commentary bickering like teenagers over Boston Rob. Making ridiculous statements that Rob betrayed Lex etc. and that people were lying. Duh!!! The game is about outwitting, betraying, lying, and outsmarting everyone. Their bitterness of not winning makes me sick. What did anyone expect? That they were going to hold hands all the way to the finish line?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Season yet, December 19, 2005
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Survivor All-Stars - The Complete Season (DVD)
This was the best season. The only con is the fact that they ordered the pictures on the front in how they were voted out. Terrible idea. If you have forgotten the order then hide the cover for at least some surprise to remain. Whoever decided to do the cover like that needs to bring me their torch!! Having said that, it is risky to do an all stars. It's kind of like the risk Amazing Race took with the Family Edition. The AR special edition season did not pay off. Fortunately Survivor's risk did. It paid off big time. This is the only season I actually own on DVD and that is because it is good enough to watch it over and over again. The main reason for that is because of Rob Mariano. He is a hoot. I think he's the best player of the game yet. If you don't like Rob then don't buy this season. This DVD could be more aptly titled the Mariano edition. I would not have necessarily picked all of these individuals to be considered "all stars" but a lot of that has to do with who agreed to actually put themselves through this one more time. Rob was only slightly memorable from the first time he was on the show but this time he was ruthless. If you are the type that watches Survivor in hopes that no one will actually "play" then you'll hate this one!! People you loved last time may become villains. Those who were masterful before are easily voted out. This is truly full of surprises. No matter how many times these people play the game of Survivor the outcome is going to be different every time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best purchase ever!, June 26, 2005
This review is from: Survivor All-Stars - The Complete Season (DVD)
I still don't understand why so many people thought that Survivor All-Stars was a bad season. Anybody who is a true survior-fanatic thrives on watching the extreme politics, fierce mental and physical competition and the strategic moves of the players. This season has all of this, and then some.

What made it so great was that it invloved the most memorable chracters from previous seasons. Some of the most loved, most hated and most devious people were brought back (like Shii-Ann, Rob C, Rob M and of course the infamous Richard Hatch) and thrown together, resulting in a mosaic of so many different types of gameplay.

However, what made this box set truly incredible were the special features. There are so many aspects of the season that weren't aired (such as the inter-tribal letters), and every disc is jam packed with snippets of game-twists, various strategic moves and interesting events, which viewers otherwise would have been in the dark about. Other examples of special features are the complete "final words" for ALL the contestants and audio commentaries from contestants for most of the episodes.

I highly recommend this purchase, however if you are not acquainted with the characters, it is probably best to hold off until you have seen most of them in action in there previous seasons.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Robfather permutation . . ., March 8, 2006
This review is from: Survivor All-Stars - The Complete Season (DVD)
When he decided to bring back 18 former contestants for Survivor All Stars, creator Rob Burnett thought he had another winning idea. The all star contestants picked were, Amber Brkich, Rob Mariano, Genna Lewis, Rupert Boneham, "Big" Tom Buchanan, Shiii Ann Huang, Alicia Calloway, Kathy Vavrick-O'brien, Lex Van Den Berghe, Jerri Manthey, Ethan Zohn, Colby Donaldson, Sue Hawk, Richard Hatch, Rob Cesternino, Jenna Morasca, Rudi Boesch, and Tina Wesson. One may quibble with some of the selections, but these players were for the most part, among the more memorable or successful players of the game, including four past winners. Despite some memorable twists and turns, All Stars turned out to be the `Rob and Amber' show. The alliance turned romance not only `survived", but produced a live on air proposal, with Amber then being named the sole survivor.

Familiarity with the contestants makes All Stars a whole new game for both the players and the audience, with past winners targeted for early elimination. Things proceed without any major bumps until Jenna M, in probably the most poignant Survivor moment ever, decides to bow out in order to be with her dying mother. Then another surprise, when Sue also decides to quit, after being `traumatized' by Richard during a challenge. Some pretty emotional stuff.

The physical group challenges as usual, are very exciting and competitive. It is painful to watch survivors get smacked down during the block puzzle. The boat building challenge was another fun event. The flag capture on the balance beams produced a number of thrilling spills, and fortunately no one was seriously injured.

Other notable events include Richard's shark encounter, the very improbable tribal switch, where Amber was joined by all the members of the opposing tribe, the shelter building contest where Rupert encounters an immovable tree root, and Shii Ann's immunity challenge win.

As the game progressed, Boston Rob and Amber formed more than an alliance. Opportunities to breakup the power couple were not taken, and the pair took control. Rob was criticized for his backstabbing ways, but he was not alone. Colby was ousted thanks to Ethan's ploy, with Ethan in turn done in by his buddy Lex. Richard was `bamboozled" and sent packing, and "Big' Tom was steaming mad after being completely blindsided.

Like them or not, when the money was in `smelling' distance, Rob and Amber showed their true determination to win. Rob M won the final immunity challenge, and Amber the second to the last. Genna slit Rupert's line, only to have the shifting of her foot cost her a chance at a million dollars. All this, leading up to an emotional final tribal council with the jury, where the sparks did fly. The customary reunion show provided the platform for Rob's proposal to Amber, the announcement of the winner, and the usual recap. The new twist was that the festivities were extended to a second program where Rupert was also awarded a million bucks, based on votes cast by the public.

What really adds spice to the proceedings on DVD are the commentary tracks, which are quite revealing and inflammatory at times. Early exiters Rob C, Jenna M, Rudy and Tina contributions are rather light hearted and fun. The fireworks start when Lex, Kathy, Shii Ann, and Alicia get together with Boston Rob in their sights. Their dislike for the `Robfather' is almost universal, with Genna L and Amber also on the hit list. It's refreshing that we are allowed to hear some real shots taken. Got to love the honesty.

The final four of Rob M, Amber, Genna L and Rupert provide commentary for the last few episodes. They have little to say about those they have outplayed, mainly focusing on themselves. If you disliked any of them, the commentary probably won't change your mind, except maybe for Rupert. Mr Tie Dye was clearly steamed with Genna after being voted out, but winning a million bucks in the popular vote transformed a fierce competitor into a satisfied pussycat, who has very little to say.

Survivor has continued to be successful by evolving and keeping the game interesting. Some may find that they way things played out this time, somewhat disappointing, but Survivor is after all, just a game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Robfather Dominates, November 8, 2004
This review is from: Survivor All-Stars - The Complete Season (DVD)
I have never been much of a fan of reality television, but there have been a few exceptions. I watched the original Survivor simply because it was new, it had never been done before and I found that entertaining and compelling. After the first season I didn't return to Survivor until the All-Star edition began after last year's Super Bowl. The reason I tuned in? Because it was new and different. Nobody had ever returned to play this game a second time.

Coming into this game, the All-Stars had to know that this was going to be different. Everything was going to be stepped up a notch and they had to bring their A games. As soon as the tribes set foot on the island, the elevated level of survival came boiling to the surface, as winners (of which there were four) realized that they had a huge target on their backs, and alliances began to form, one of which lasted until the bitter end.

While Amber Brkich (Survivor Australia) walked away with the million dollar prize at the end of the game, this season, in every sense of the word, belonged to Boston Rob Mariano. He dominated the physical challenges and was incredibly strong in the mental ones as well. He outplayed everyone on the island, using everything he could, including friendships, to get him to the final two. It is kind of depressing on the commentaries and on the episodes themselves, to listen to the constant whining of Lex and Alicia. Both of these All-Stars were played by Boston Rob. He used them to get to the end, wh ich is the whole idea. They cried like babies about it and it is sad. Like original winner Richard Hatch said in the reunion show, "It's just a game." They should realize that he outplayed them, accept it and move on with their lives.

As I said, Boston Rob outplayed everyone in the game, but he didn't win the million dollars, as I feel he probably deserved. He lost out because of the bitterness of two people who felt betrayed, in a game where betrayal always comes into play.

For the All-Stars, Rupert, Jerri, Colby, Sue, Richard, Big Tom and the others provided plenty of entertainment. The challenges were extremely tough, probably the hardest ever, as they should be. You could see the complete exhaustion in the faces of these seasoned veterans of the game. This was not a walk in the jungle for anyone.

While there are many people who could have been cast, it is possible, many didn't want to return to the game. I am sure there are a lot of people who would have liked to have seen Colleen, Greg and Gervase from Season One, or Michael Skupin or Elisabeth Filarski (Hasselbeck) from Australia, or any number of others. Despite all that, the All-Stars chosen were a diverse bunch and made for solid competition.

The DVD set has a number of great extras, with lots of unaired scenes and confessionals. While the recap episode (Number Nine) is not included on this set, the best scene from that episode, the mock tribal council with Rob Cesternino's dead-on Jeff Probst impression, is included in the extra scenes. In addition there are a number of commentaries, including four featuring the hilarious Cesternino at the head of the pack.

While this season didn't end up being the best Survivor ever, as claimed in the promos (In my mind that honor goes to season one), this was a pretty solid effort. It had never been done before and that in and of itself made it worth watching.

Go out and buy this set. It is worth it. I also highly recommend purchasing the set from Season One, if for no other reason than the incredibly beautiful Colleen Haskell.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another fun Survivor season, January 23, 2006
By 
Lord Darkseid (Biloxi, Mississippi United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Survivor All-Stars - The Complete Season (DVD)
I would assume if you're a Survivor fan that you should already know the winners of this season since they've gone onto compete in The Amazing Race as a team and I think they had a reality tv wedding special like Trista and Ryan from The Bachelorette. Yes, you know who I speak of... Rob & Amber. However having already seen the season, I decided to rent this and watch it again since it's been awhile and I couldn't remember how people were eliminated nor did I remember the challenges, so it was fun to watch again. But the BEST thing about the dvd set, is the commentary! If you couldn't stand Boston Rob through this season, you'll love the commentary! It was so great to hear other people voice their very open opinions of him that many of us viewers thought along the way. Are the losers bitter? Heck yeah...just like any of us would be when you look back in hind site. They all admit they were stupid for not seeing Rob and Amber being such a huge threat or rather ...they lacked the guts to break them up. If you hadn't seen it, you'll definitely find yourself yelling at the tv screen for the idiots to wake up. Anyways, its a fun season. Knowing who won, doesn't spoil it! Its great watching it all unfold! And like I said its definitely worth watching for the MANY commentaries...10 to be exact. Check it out!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars All-Star Glory, April 1, 2005
This review is from: Survivor All-Stars - The Complete Season (DVD)
Okay, first of all, to those who have labelled "Survivor: All-Stars" as being 'boring' and 'predictable', stop reading this review right now! While many, of course, may think that the Survivor formula is wearing a little thin at this stage (this is the eight season), Mark Burnett can always be depended upon to throw in some new elements to screw people's expectations up. The primary example of this lies in the fact that now, not only are there 18 contestants taking part, and forming 3 new tribes, but that these 18 contestants have all taken part in the show before-they know each other and know the format of the show (not to mention the strategies of each other).
This is just part of the brilliance of "All-Stars".
Here we see many of our favourites from the past 7 seasons battling it out once again for that now synonymous million-dollar prize. What better way to enjoy this than the complete DVD box set that is packed with special featurettes and interviews and behind the scenes footage (All in a staggering seven-disk set).
The first six disks contain all 13 episodes of the season (each presented in full-screen format that is of the highest picture and sound quality), as well as a host of special features such as never-before-seen footage, extended confessional-booth interviews with each castaway and audio commentary on most of the episodes with the All-Stars. The sixth disk also contains the reunion show, where the castaways are reunited to discuss the events of the season and account for some of their actions while on the island. Following this is the exclusive Survivor: All-Stars, America's Tribal Council, where the American public were given the chance to reward one survivor with another million dollars (Who could it be?). This also contains polls such as Survivor's sexiest women and men, the most devious villain, and the greatest survivor moment of all time, as voted by the American public.
The seventh disk is a special-features bonanza! Here, viewers get an insight into how the survivor challenges are designed and developed; view promos from the past 7 seasons; witness the casting process with the casting director and the final four All-Stars; see exclusive interviews with each of the All-Stars.
This really is an excellent disk, allowing those of us who can only imagine what it's like to be involved in Survivor an insightful look behind the scenes (and beyond).
What I was also pleasantly surprised with was that, unlike the packaging of "Survivor: Borneo, the complete season", which (almost unfairly) revealed the name of each survivor to be voted off on the back of each disk, "All-Stars", thankfully, omits this flaw, whilst still giving a short synopsis on each episode.
One thing I will say, though, is that, if you are a new-comer to the whole Survivor phenomenon (bit slow, aren't you?), then I would recommend you first buy "Survivor: Borneo, the complete season" and start at the beginning. I don't mean that every season is interconnected, and that you have to have seen them from the beginning to understand it all. YOU DON'T! But, I think All-Stars is the wrong place to start, as, in the opening episode, it gives an account of each of survivors playing the game, and how each contestant did in their past season. All-Stars does include a few past winners, and it just doesn't seem right to have them revealed to you in a instant before actually waiting to see the seasons in full.
"Survivor: All-Stars" is well worth the marked price (remember; you're getting 7 disks. 7!) and contains twists and turns that equals the intrigue of the original "Survivor: Borneo".
One question, though: Why in God's name did they not bring Colleen Haskell back?!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Solid Entertainment, January 19, 2006
This review is from: Survivor All-Stars - The Complete Season (DVD)
I know it has become fashionable to declare :"I hate reality TV", and for those dear souls this would be torture. I, quite frankly. LOVE good reality TV and Survivor is a WONDERFUL idea for this genre of television -very well executed, with clever editing and sound (granted - sometimes used in a partial way to influence the viewer's stance towards an idea/person/sub-plot)and has very high production values. I enjoyed watching the ALL-STARS again, especially to see (in hindsight) the shenanigans of Boston Rob and the gradual budding romance with Amber! Great to see familiar faces in new surroundings - for example the original "master" Richard and the unofficial winner of series 2 Colby, "only-to-be-understood-when-you-are-drunk-yourself" Big Tom etc etc Lots of extras and also commentary tracks on some episodes. Would have liked to hear more background on the Sue "(scream)I WAS VIOLATED" incident, but that was somehow snuffed. Great entertainment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This is (almost) how Survivor box sets should be done., February 15, 2011
This review is from: Survivor All-Stars - The Complete Season (DVD)
I am a huge Survivor fan, and I relish in things such as delete scenes, uncut exit interviews, commentaries, and other bonus material. This set is the pinnacle of each of those things. There are deleted scenes on every disc, all 14 uncut exit interviews are included, commentaries on more than half of the episodes, and the seventh disc includes a plethora of bonuses that are far and away more than we've gotten on any of the other box sets. Even the America's Tribal Council live special is included. So why am I giving this only a four star rating? There's an episode missing. Given it's a recap episode and most of the scenes from it are featured in other episodes or deleted scenes, but still it makes for an incomplete watchthrough for hardcore completists such as myself. All of the other seasons that had recap episodes have had those episodes included on their respective box sets, so the exclusion of this one is rather bizarre, especially since there was an extra disc dedicated solely to bonus features. If you're a huge Survivor fan, and especially if this is one of your favorite seasons, buy this set. There's almost no chance that there will ever be an updated release featuring the recap episode, and the special features on this set will definitely satisfy your cure for more things Survivor. Missing episode aside, this is how these sets should be done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Survivor All-Stars - The Complete Season
Survivor All-Stars - The Complete Season by Mark Burnett (II) (DVD - 2004)
$24.99 $16.29
In stock on December 29, 2014
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.