Customer Reviews


40 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars story-driven gore is under-appreciated.
HOOK: members from a diamond heist gone wrong six years ago gather for a celebration dinner where sushi is served on the body of a naked woman.

LINE: presumably one would watch this based on the premise alone (what do you mean it's sushi served on a naked woman?!). ten seconds in and my mind's been taken over by the lush visuals and crazy performances. Fish...
Published 22 months ago by jen k

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars drags on but interesting
If you need a violence fix, this is right up your alley. Weird but fixating. Positives: It does have an interesting plot that all comes together in the ending. Negatives: There is so much violence that it becomes almost boring.
Published 16 months ago by Topnish


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars story-driven gore is under-appreciated., November 28, 2012
By 
jen k (off-planet) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Sushi Girl (DVD)
HOOK: members from a diamond heist gone wrong six years ago gather for a celebration dinner where sushi is served on the body of a naked woman.

LINE: presumably one would watch this based on the premise alone (what do you mean it's sushi served on a naked woman?!). ten seconds in and my mind's been taken over by the lush visuals and crazy performances. Fish (played by noah hathaway) has just been let out of a six-year prison sentence -- waiting for him in the prison parking lot is a guy twice his size, with an invitation he cannot refuse. Duke (tony todd) is the heist ringleader who's dinner invite to celebrate Fish's prison release is accepted by Crow (mark hamill), Francis (james duval), and Max (andy mackenzie). all four men are convinced Fish hid the diamonds from the botched heist and seize the opportunity to force a confession. a dinner with your four ex-con buddies in a remote restaurant on a dark, rainy night? guaranteed pee-in-your-pants freak-out, no matter how beautifully naked your dinner is served. two-thirds of the film is lavished on the dinner -- each delicious, nail biting, gum chewing moment of it. every second is punctuated by in-your-face dialogue -- mark hamill's Crow (the perfect unhinged jester) in particular gets quite a few memorable one- liners. when Crow is not making withering observations, Max is busy breaking apart the room and the people in it. Francis is the cowering conscience of the audience while Duke's even, measured menace casts the shadows overall. and you, the audience? you get to watch Fish suffer through literal torture. crazy, intense, holy-crap-they-did-not-just-do- that torture. and all the while, the sushi girl is laying on the table. not making a peep admist the cursing, the gushing blood. what in all hells is going on around here!?

SINKER: now here's the thing -- it'd be easy to dismiss sushi girl as a b-grade gore fest. which is the laziest of all lazy conclusions. the first ten minutes tell you otherwise, from the sushi girl's reaction to Duke to Fish's anguish over his son not recognizing his voice. while the film happily (gleefully) takes you to those moments where it wallows in torture pr0n, there is quite a revenge story lurking beneath all the flashy talk and flying bullets. a twist ending worthy of many repeated viewings. a movie can be pretty (which sushi girl most definitely is) but without a good story supported by convincing performances, it cannot be memorable. the cast of sushi girl gave all that and bag a chips to bring to life extreme characters that, at turns, make you laugh and then scare the bejesus of you. the film rides on these highs until it slams you with a climax that turns the roller coaster on its head -- where you're left savoring the bittersweet emotions that only the best revenge stories can evoke. i wax fancy verbage but i do not lie. sushi girl is the kind of film that everyone will reference in the future -- or at the very least try their damnedest to imitate and post to you-tube.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best quality mash up of acting talent ever!, February 22, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sushi Girl [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
The story is wonderful (no, I'm not giving anything away). The acting is superb. Mark Hamill exudes the creepy, much like his interpretation of the Joker. :-)
Also, brilliant direction, wonderful framing and use of the screen for beautiful and horribly indelible images that stick with you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great film., March 20, 2013
This review is from: Sushi Girl (DVD)
I had been following this title for the better part of the year, and sadly there was never a theatrical release within 250 miles. I never buy movies because I almost never research them. This is one of 4 movies that I own, and I am glad that I do. I've already rewatched it twice. I am refraining from posting anything about the content but please note that it passed my already high expectations.

Buying this movie instead of pirating it supports Indie films.

It shows that good ideas don't need a big studio to work.

And it shows that there are plenty of profitable ideas out there for willing investors to get in on.

Buy your copy today. You get a great movie and you tell the world you are tired of Hollywood's slice-n-bake movies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars ILHM Reviews: Sushi Girl, March 10, 2013
This review is from: Sushi Girl [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Fish jumps out of the frying pan and into the fire when he is released from prison into the hands of the four other men that were involved in a botched diamond heist. They welcome him home to a fine sushi dinner that has been laid out on a beautiful woman, but before he can set in, he is tied, tortured, and interrogated over the location of the diamonds. It isn't long before their past rivalries catch up with them as the thieves turn on one another with millions of dollars at stake between them. Kern Saxton's explosive new exploitation flick takes all the right cues from Quentin Tarantino by placing a firm emphasis on the characters and their finely-crafted dialog amidst the gruesome torture and gore. SUSHI GIRL plays out a lot like RESERVOIR DOGS, with frequent allusions to past events and entertaining anecdotes that draw us in and keep us glued to the screen. The cast is an exploitation fan's dream, featuring favorites from all across the genre that include Tony Todd as Duke, Noah Hathaway as Fish, Mark Hamill as Crow, and additional appearances by James Duval, Danny Trejo, Michael Beihn, Jeff Fahey, Sonny Chiba, and many more. This comes at a cost, however, since many of these character actors play to type and ham it up in the process. Still, it is the comic book super-villainy of characters like Duke and Crow that makes them so enjoyable, even in their weaker moments. Plot contrivances aside, SUSHI GIRL offers a number of fun twists that few will see coming, and holds a certain appeal for Tarantino fans.

-Carl Manes
I Like Horror Movies
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing!, December 23, 2012
By 
Joanne (los Angeles, CA, United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sushi Girl (DVD)
I have seen this movie twice now & it is really a brilliant movie. The cast is superb. Mark Hamill & Noah Hathaway remind you of why you loved them in movies. Wonderfully written with little nods here & there in the movie. Watch & catch it. Also available on demand right now. Check it out then pre-order. You wont regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just finished watching it...., July 21, 2014
This review is from: Sushi Girl (DVD)
I haven't had the pleasure or watching such a good movie in a long time. Just when you think, I know what's gonna happen next.....SIKE! I must admit I was nervous buying this film since I have never heard of it. I stumbled upon the trailer while watching another movie. The cast performed well, I don't recall any moments where I felt the pace was too slow. I don't want to say more because I feel like I would be ruining the movie. I recommend you at least watch it once. This is definitely staying in my library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hidden Gem with a Fantastic Cast., January 6, 2014
By 
Matthew Bush (Warroad, MN USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I went into this movie thinking meh might be worth a watch, boy am i glad i did. This movie is filled with horror film alumni. The Candy Man, The original Lawn Mower man, Machete and the Joker (Mark Hamill) all have great rolls and do a fantastic job acting. I didnt see the end of this movie coming but when you do it rounds up the story nicely. This movie has Torture violence, Nudity, Adult Language so if that aint your cup of tea you have been warned, For everyone else please enjoy the feature presentation
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ... Wow., May 7, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sushi Girl (DVD)
(sorry for being french, this message may sometimes be difficult to understand.)

An exceptionnal film, which doesn't show extreme violence for itself but uses it to highlight a deep psychological tension. A masterpiece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars YOU GOT THREE MINUTES, May 6, 2013
The Sushi Girl (Cortney Palm) is the naked platter for a sushi bar. She is not allowed to move as she is part of the decoration. Duke (Tony Todd) has put together a reunion of 5 guys who performed a somewhat unsuccessful diamond heist 6 years ago. Fish (Noah Hathaway) the bag man, has just gotten out of prison. He is there along with Max (Andy Mackenzie) a brutish type, Crow (Mark Hamill) who talks effeminate, and Francis (James Duval) a coke head.

The diamonds are missing and Fish is suspected of having stashed them somewhere. The guys take turns torturing Fish to get the information.

The film has flashbacks and a twist. It also boasts Danny Trejo in a very minor role. For me the torture scenes were a bit real. My teeth started to hurt at one point. I enjoyed the opening and closing songs, "Diamonds are Forever" and Chef's version of "Walk on By."

Parental Guide: No sex. F-bomb, nudity (Cortney Palm)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars drags on but interesting, May 2, 2013
This review is from: Sushi Girl (Amazon Instant Video)
If you need a violence fix, this is right up your alley. Weird but fixating. Positives: It does have an interesting plot that all comes together in the ending. Negatives: There is so much violence that it becomes almost boring.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Sushi Girl [Blu-ray]
Sushi Girl [Blu-ray] by Kern Saxton (Blu-ray - 2013)
$16.98 $11.08
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.