Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Sushi Girl [Blu-ray]
Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Pink Floyd Fire TV Stick Sun Care Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer CafeSociety CafeSociety CafeSociety  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro STEM

Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:$11.48+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on November 28, 2012
HOOK: members from a diamond heist gone wrong six years ago gather for a celebration dinner where sushi is served on the body of a naked woman.

LINE: presumably one would watch this based on the premise alone (what do you mean it's sushi served on a naked woman?!). ten seconds in and my mind's been taken over by the lush visuals and crazy performances. Fish (played by noah hathaway) has just been let out of a six-year prison sentence -- waiting for him in the prison parking lot is a guy twice his size, with an invitation he cannot refuse. Duke (tony todd) is the heist ringleader who's dinner invite to celebrate Fish's prison release is accepted by Crow (mark hamill), Francis (james duval), and Max (andy mackenzie). all four men are convinced Fish hid the diamonds from the botched heist and seize the opportunity to force a confession. a dinner with your four ex-con buddies in a remote restaurant on a dark, rainy night? guaranteed pee-in-your-pants freak-out, no matter how beautifully naked your dinner is served. two-thirds of the film is lavished on the dinner -- each delicious, nail biting, gum chewing moment of it. every second is punctuated by in-your-face dialogue -- mark hamill's Crow (the perfect unhinged jester) in particular gets quite a few memorable one- liners. when Crow is not making withering observations, Max is busy breaking apart the room and the people in it. Francis is the cowering conscience of the audience while Duke's even, measured menace casts the shadows overall. and you, the audience? you get to watch Fish suffer through literal torture. crazy, intense, holy-crap-they-did-not-just-do- that torture. and all the while, the sushi girl is laying on the table. not making a peep admist the cursing, the gushing blood. what in all hells is going on around here!?

SINKER: now here's the thing -- it'd be easy to dismiss sushi girl as a b-grade gore fest. which is the laziest of all lazy conclusions. the first ten minutes tell you otherwise, from the sushi girl's reaction to Duke to Fish's anguish over his son not recognizing his voice. while the film happily (gleefully) takes you to those moments where it wallows in torture pr0n, there is quite a revenge story lurking beneath all the flashy talk and flying bullets. a twist ending worthy of many repeated viewings. a movie can be pretty (which sushi girl most definitely is) but without a good story supported by convincing performances, it cannot be memorable. the cast of sushi girl gave all that and bag a chips to bring to life extreme characters that, at turns, make you laugh and then scare the bejesus of you. the film rides on these highs until it slams you with a climax that turns the roller coaster on its head -- where you're left savoring the bittersweet emotions that only the best revenge stories can evoke. i wax fancy verbage but i do not lie. sushi girl is the kind of film that everyone will reference in the future -- or at the very least try their damnedest to imitate and post to you-tube.
44 comments| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 22, 2013
The story is wonderful (no, I'm not giving anything away). The acting is superb. Mark Hamill exudes the creepy, much like his interpretation of the Joker. :-)
Also, brilliant direction, wonderful framing and use of the screen for beautiful and horribly indelible images that stick with you.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 22, 2014
OK, this manages to get a 5 star review out of me. Why? Because it's an amazing little movie, wonderfully written, clever and creative, with non linear editing and a major plot twist or two. It's also amazingly filmed, dark, moody, with a rich color palette and is excellently acted. Most particularly, look for Mark Hamill in what to me is his best performance ever. Honestly, based on seeing him in a few low budget scifi pieces after Star Wars I would never have expected such a stunning performance from him. He plays an older, greasy, slimy obviously gay violent thug, long greasy blonde hair, just a despicable person, and boy does he do it with panache!

This manages to out Tarantinio Tarantino, and out Reservoir Dog Reservoir dogs, it's that kind of criminal movie.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 5, 2016
This is a great tale with a surprise ending! Love all the actors in it including Mark Hamill. Has a cool noir feel to it and the cinematography is awesome. We rented it then liked it so much we bought it.

Get it. You'll dig it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 10, 2013
Fish jumps out of the frying pan and into the fire when he is released from prison into the hands of the four other men that were involved in a botched diamond heist. They welcome him home to a fine sushi dinner that has been laid out on a beautiful woman, but before he can set in, he is tied, tortured, and interrogated over the location of the diamonds. It isn't long before their past rivalries catch up with them as the thieves turn on one another with millions of dollars at stake between them. Kern Saxton's explosive new exploitation flick takes all the right cues from Quentin Tarantino by placing a firm emphasis on the characters and their finely-crafted dialog amidst the gruesome torture and gore. SUSHI GIRL plays out a lot like RESERVOIR DOGS, with frequent allusions to past events and entertaining anecdotes that draw us in and keep us glued to the screen. The cast is an exploitation fan's dream, featuring favorites from all across the genre that include Tony Todd as Duke, Noah Hathaway as Fish, Mark Hamill as Crow, and additional appearances by James Duval, Danny Trejo, Michael Beihn, Jeff Fahey, Sonny Chiba, and many more. This comes at a cost, however, since many of these character actors play to type and ham it up in the process. Still, it is the comic book super-villainy of characters like Duke and Crow that makes them so enjoyable, even in their weaker moments. Plot contrivances aside, SUSHI GIRL offers a number of fun twists that few will see coming, and holds a certain appeal for Tarantino fans.

-Carl Manes
I Like Horror Movies
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 21, 2014
I haven't had the pleasure or watching such a good movie in a long time. Just when you think, I know what's gonna happen next.....SIKE! I must admit I was nervous buying this film since I have never heard of it. I stumbled upon the trailer while watching another movie. The cast performed well, I don't recall any moments where I felt the pace was too slow. I don't want to say more because I feel like I would be ruining the movie. I recommend you at least watch it once. This is definitely staying in my library.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 21, 2015
This is not a bad film. The story line is great, but some of the actors who portray some of the characters in this film did not satisfy me. The concept is good. The story is good. Most of the actors are good. But something was lacking for my taste. It somewhat reminds me of a Pulp Fiction type story. Lots of twisted violence, vicious kooky villains, a victim and a hot chick. What more could one ask for in a film. Its not bad.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 22, 2015
Hard-boiled crime admixed with horror in this gritty, gruesome tale of dogged thieves in search of treasure and comeuppance. The ensemble cast of genre-experienced actors is universally good with Mark Hamill delivering a rich and nuanced portrait of a deeply damaged, cruel, and self indulgent criminal and Tony Todd using that deep and throaty voice and sizable frame to project unrestrained but focused malevolence as the thieves' headmaster. However the real revelation of this already cult movie, may be the young, beautiful, and remarkably talented woman who literally embodies the title role, Courtney Palm. It isn't easy to be in nearly every scene, to be part of the tension rapidly ratcheting towards the unbearable, to be nearly naked. She pulls it off, and does exactly what she needs to, exactly when she needs to--and her character resonates with you emotionally long after you've seen it. I haven't seen many small, indy thrillers that have a beginning, middle, and end, maintain the suspense, ladle in just the right amount of gory horror, and satisfy you with storytelling. This movie leaves you completely satisfied on all levels, and you won't be second-guessing the third act, which is the case for 90% of the other indy genre flicks--but not the magnificently entertaining 'Sushi Girl.' Add this one to your collection, give it as a gift to your fellow fans. And see everything that Courtney Palm is in from now on.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 19, 2015
Did the world really need another heist/revenge movie? When it's as good as Sushi Girl, yes! Past and present unfolds at the perfect pace. The characters are a little two-dimensional, but I did not expect more from it, so that was ok.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 20, 2013
I had been following this title for the better part of the year, and sadly there was never a theatrical release within 250 miles. I never buy movies because I almost never research them. This is one of 4 movies that I own, and I am glad that I do. I've already rewatched it twice. I am refraining from posting anything about the content but please note that it passed my already high expectations.

Buying this movie instead of pirating it supports Indie films.

It shows that good ideas don't need a big studio to work.

And it shows that there are plenty of profitable ideas out there for willing investors to get in on.

Buy your copy today. You get a great movie and you tell the world you are tired of Hollywood's slice-n-bake movies.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.