Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better than the original! (If that's even possible).
All I can say is -- I love Tosca! I thought Suzuki was great when it was released, and now the strength of that original material is borne out by this collection of remixes. "Suzuki" is re-rendered in a new, more up-tempo incarnation; the scat singing which was so successful in the original, as a kind of vocal record-scratching; the piano elements are often...
Published on January 19, 2001 by Josh Rothman

versus
13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Bride of Suzuki? Not really...
After being blown away by Opera, and rather pleased by Suzuki, I was figuring this album was a sure thing. Knowing that this would be a remix album, I was hoping to hear some exciting new interpretations of the original tracks. This logic would follow from my experiences with the "Beep" remixes of Tranquility Bass, where I actually preferred the remixes to the...
Published on May 29, 2002 by Jonathan Riehl


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Bride of Suzuki? Not really..., May 29, 2002
This review is from: Suzuki in Dub (Audio CD)
After being blown away by Opera, and rather pleased by Suzuki, I was figuring this album was a sure thing. Knowing that this would be a remix album, I was hoping to hear some exciting new interpretations of the original tracks. This logic would follow from my experiences with the "Beep" remixes of Tranquility Bass, where I actually preferred the remixes to the originals in some cases. However, I feel that in this case the original is a superior album, and this new collection fails to be a worthy companion to it. While some of the tracks do not even capture the spirit of the originals (which is not really a sin in remixes), none of them provide a radically new or interesting interpretation of Tosca's work. This album is certainly a relative of Suzuki, but is not the marriage of Tosca and other comprable artists that I was hoping it would be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better than the original! (If that's even possible)., January 19, 2001
By 
This review is from: Suzuki in Dub (Audio CD)
All I can say is -- I love Tosca! I thought Suzuki was great when it was released, and now the strength of that original material is borne out by this collection of remixes. "Suzuki" is re-rendered in a new, more up-tempo incarnation; the scat singing which was so successful in the original, as a kind of vocal record-scratching; the piano elements are often fused with new percussion. The songs have more dynamic and instrumental variation to them (a good thing, since the original was a little monotonous in spots), but they still maintain a steady groove which is positively otherworldly. Listen to "Suzuki in Dub" to warm up, "Suzuki" to cool down - wow that's cheesy, but it's true!
Buy it! I hope G-stone records decides to release this domestically in the U.S. soon so prices come down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars dubble trubble, January 17, 2001
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Suzuki in Dub (Audio CD)
This album, like its predecessor, walks the exceedingly fine line between elegant and funky. You bounce while you doze. As for specifics, I think the dub version tests favorably, even in light of the outstanding original. It is somewhat dancier in parts, with added rythms and instruments. And, contrary to what another reveiwer found, I think it is qualitatively different from Suzuki. For example, track 7 is essentially a house groove; althought that's not a slight. I love it. If you're not into a track like that, I recommend you quit. Arrangements complex, production on point -- yet instantly accessable, even for those who do not see life through the lens of an international pimp.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Solid., January 3, 2004
By 
kgr "keiser" (new york, new york United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Suzuki in Dub (Audio CD)
This disk is outstanding. I have given it four stars because it is a derivative. If you liked Suzuki (and if you didn't you are no friend of mine!) you should enjoy this. Two quips: I was somewhat disappointed with the Suzuki remix (song 1), which I felt did not do justice to the original; second, the laughing sample in the final track is horrible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best CD ever!!, September 20, 2004
By 
Nauzia "ReNeGaDe" (Helmond, The Netherlands) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Suzuki in Dub (Audio CD)
I'm well known with this kind of music and i must say this is the best Trip-Hop/Lounge/Acid Jazz Album I ever heard!!

Maybe that is because this is one of the first Trip-Hop Albums I ever heard but I own about 70 albums now from this kind of music and I still like this the best even after hundreds of listens...

If you like to listen to Downtempo music and you want to buy an album which you'll still be enjoying in a couple of years I only have one piece of advice..... BUY THIS ONE!!!!

Greetz from a Tosca Fan,The Netherlands...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perfection., July 20, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Suzuki in Dub (Audio CD)
Love dub. Love Tosca. Love Suzuki so to me it gets no better than this cd. Perfectly compliments the origional disk and is a must have if you like Tosca and their Suzuki disk.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars *Not as good as the original*, August 5, 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Suzuki in Dub (Audio CD)
These interpretations of Tosca's stunning second album, "Suzuki" fall short of the original. But hey, the bar was set pretty high in the first place! Start with the real deal, then you can try this out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, October 3, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Suzuki in Dub (Audio CD)
All good, every track
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars too respectful of the original material, January 15, 2002
This review is from: Suzuki in Dub (Audio CD)
If anyone had the right to call for a collection of smoked-out remixes, it'd be the stalwarts of G-Stone Studios (official home of the downbeat dub), Richard Dorfmeister and Rupert Huber a.k.a. Tosca. Their 2000 release Suzuki proved a tantalizing piece of stereo sophistication, flush with percolating beats and twinkling grand themes, so any attempt to revisit that material certainly deserves a look.
Yet Suzuki In Dub shows these collective aficionados in downtempo too respectful of the original material; most revisions remain content with chopping the melody and substituting similar-but-different drum workouts (Dubphonic, Uka and Cosmic Rocker dubs). Notable tracks freshen the formula; Philippe Lussan brings additional bass and a ratchet up to mid-tempo for a needed pick-up. Baby Mammoth sends "Busenfreund" on a glistening, introspective ride.
Bottom line though, Suzuki in Dub doesn't evoke the necessary emotion, nor reinvigorate the original work, enough to categorize this album as anything but a curious side project.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars nice dubversion of dubrecord, December 9, 2000
This review is from: Suzuki in Dub (Audio CD)
Nice but not to far from the original "suzuki" album by Richard Dorfmeister from austrian duo Kruder&Dorfmeister liked their previous? If yes, this is must buy record
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Suzuki in Dub
Suzuki in Dub by Tosca (Audio CD - 2000)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.