Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Welcome to the Swamp! Monster! Massacre!
How bad do things have to be for the bogeyman to be the good guy? That is the question posed by Hunter Shea in Swamp Monster Massacre. The answer is a swift tour of an Everglades hell that includes violently severed limbs, a rotten stench, a masterfully disgusting combination of necrophilia and bestiality, and death. Lots of death. Swamp Monster Massacre is a breathless...
Published 23 months ago by Aniko Carmean

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars It's b movie material
The book is ok. Nothing scary and no real excitement. It reminds me of a sci-fi channel movie. Low budget and no depth.
Published 16 months ago by trena myers


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Welcome to the Swamp! Monster! Massacre!, October 7, 2012
This review is from: Swamp Monster Massacre (Kindle Edition)
How bad do things have to be for the bogeyman to be the good guy? That is the question posed by Hunter Shea in Swamp Monster Massacre. The answer is a swift tour of an Everglades hell that includes violently severed limbs, a rotten stench, a masterfully disgusting combination of necrophilia and bestiality, and death. Lots of death. Swamp Monster Massacre is a breathless amalgam of action and horror with a higher than average gore content, but it is also an examination of the dark nature of revenge.

Rooster has a temper. A damn bad temper that's caused him to put his fist through another man's skull. Sure, it wouldn't have killed the guy if he hadn't done all that blow and rotted his own skull, but the simple fact is that Rooster killed a drug kingpin's son. And what are drug kingpins notorious for if not avenging the death of their own? Rooster's got a problem.

He's also got a bag of money and a bigger bag of guns.

Rooster's on the run in Florida, and he ends up on a pier. A amphibious tour plane is docked at the end, loaded up with tourists waiting to get a bird's eye view of the Everglades. They get Rooster instead; Rooster and a barrage of bullets fired by angry drug dealers.

The passenger manifest is varied. There are two co-eds, blonde as the Doublemint twins and trained in Marine combat technique. A pair of slickly groomed guys from NYC are tough talkers. A couple of empty-nest snow-birds are trying to rekindle their romance. There's a dork, skipping out on a conference. The guest list is rounded out by the grizzled pilot, who is no longer captain of his airship. Throw in Rooster with his guns, and things are about to get wild.

All of these characters have names, but there isn't any need to know names in this story. Not only are names meaningless when fighting for your life, they are also meaningless if you lose that fight. Lots of characters lose, but not because they mutiny against Rooster and cause the plane to crash.

They lose because they crash land in the territory of the skunk apes, reeking beasts eight-feet tall and twice a brutal. These are the titular swamp monsters, and they live up to their terrifying name and stench. They hunt the humans, employing amazing battle tactics that will leave you in awe of both Shea's inventiveness and his ability to make even the insanely bizarre believable.

(((( SPOILER ALERT: Read at own risk! ))))

The swamp monsters aren't just picking on the humans because they have trespassed. They are attacking for revenge. When the plane crashed, it mauled and killed a swamp monster child. Mommy is mad, and all the child monster's big brothers and sisters have joined Mommy's hunt. This echoes the kingpin's henchmen slavering to kill Rooster because he accidentally murdered one of their own. When it comes down to bloody revenge, no one in this book comes out looking any better than a monster. One of the NYC boys is taken by the swamp monsters early, and his friend becomes a blind instrument of revenge, taking stupid chances that cost him his life. Shea doesn't sugar coat his view on revenge: it turns you into an animal. A stupid animal.

(((( END SPOILER ALERT ))))

If you like monster stories, action movies, and some really fun lines, this is an excellent book for you. The point of view hops between characters, which prevents you from getting too invested in any one scenario, but that plays into the frenetic tempo of the tale well enough that it is a strength rather than a fault. Like the single-minded intent of revenge, Swamp Monster Massacre is a fast-paced read that doesn't let up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Horror Novel Reviews: Honesty in the Terror, August 2, 2013
This review is from: Swamp Monster Massacre (Kindle Edition)
Deep in the overgrown swamps of Florida, where humans rarely dare to enter, lives a race of creatures long thought to be only the stuff of legend...

B-horror movie fans rejoice, Hunter Shea is here to bring you the ultimate tale of terror!

Rooster has done terrible things. He's killed a drug lord and now he's on the run from merciless drug dealers who want to turn him into gator food. While on the run, he commandeers a tour boat scheduled to take a colorful cast of characters on a relaxing ride through the swamps of Florida. Only, things go wrong. Very wrong. The group tries to sabotage Rooster's escape plans, and they end up colliding with a furry, ape-like creature. Shipwrecked in the middle of nowhere, the survivors discover that they're not alone. There are beasts among them. And they are pissed...

Hunter Shea's novella is a great read that can be devoured in one sitting. It's phenomenally paced, has great characters, and even better villains. The Skunk Apes (Bigfoot's swampy cousin) are vicious creatures, hellbent on destroying the swamp's intruders (or are they?). The way Shea introduces them to an unsuspecting audience is utterly fantastic. I tore through the story with the same anticipation as the eight-year old version of myself used to rip through R.L. Stine's Goosebumps.

Hunter Shea's prose is a rare treat, and refreshingly original. If it weren't for his unique style, this novella might not have had the same effect on me. Since it's reasonably priced, I highly recommend picking up the digital version today, especially if you're craving an old-school creature-feature that has excessive gore and a few comedic breaks.

Overall, Swamp Monster Massacre reads like a late-night monster movie, impossible to change the channel.

Written by Tim Meyer from Horror Novel Reviews. Horror Novel Reviews does not receive payment for reviews. All books are promotional copies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding Everglades adventure!, January 29, 2013
By 
coachtim (Indiana, United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Swamp Monster Massacre (Kindle Edition)
"Swamp Monster Massacre" by Hunter Shea is a fast-paced thriller that pits humans against skunk apes (Bigfoot to you and me) in a battle for survival in the Florida Everglades.

Rooster Murphy is a bad man - a bad man on the run from Cuban drug runners who want to see him dead for killing their boss. As Rooster flees the Naples, FL, area with his life, he commandeers an airboat filled with passengers on a sight-seeing trip of the Everglades. Rooster knocks out the pilot, grabs the wheel and sets in motion the adventure of a lifetime for the unknowing passengers.

Rooster just wants to get the boat to his father's secret cabin in the 'glades without hurting anyone, but when the passengers band together and fight for control of the boat, the airboat crashes deep in the swamp where no man can find them. As the craft rams into the tropical flora, Rooster realizes that the boat has run over a furry, ape-like animal. When the group checks out the remains of the animal they're stunned because the creature looks like a small monkey. But... they all know that there are no monkeys in the Everglades, right?

It doesn't take long for the survivors to find that they're not alone on the islands and must fight for their lives. Author Shea ratchets up the suspense just as quickly as the body count rises. The novel is extremely hard to put down as the group moves from one desperate situation to another. Though not for the faint of heart, hardcore horrors fans should find "Swamp Monster Massacre" a story that they'll want on their To-Be-Read list.

This is my first experience with a book by Hunter Shea, but it certainly won't be my last!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely loved it!, November 8, 2012
This review is from: Swamp Monster Massacre (Kindle Edition)
My oh my did I enjoy myself when I read this book! I mean really this book has Kimberly written all over it. Swamp monsters, death, and horror! This is definitely the kind of book I enjoy reading. It was the perfect book to read since this month is October and Halloween is just around the corner.

The book itself isn't all that long but that doesn't mean that the book is any less substantial for that reason in fact for me it was much more like reading a full length novel because of how much I enjoyed it.

There was so much this novella length book has to offer. There is crime, blood, gore and all the sorts of things you would associate with monsters. I for one really enjoyed the setting for the book it was actually one of my favourite parts of the writing.

When I finally sat down to read Swamp Monster Massacre I couldn't have picked a better night since I decided to read it on a really stormy night and my night table light was actually flickering which added a lot to the whole spooky ambiance of the novel.

At first I was a little confused as to what was going on but once I got may 5 percent in the story itself began pick up and gosh was I hooked on the intense and spooky nature of the novella. I loved the characters but I really loved the swamp monsters or Big Foot if you'd prefer to call them. If you've followed my blog for long enough you'll know I have a soft spot for books where there are monsters, dinosaurs or prehistoric beasts and this one truly filled the monster bill.

If you're looking for a really spooky read but may or may not have the time to read a full length novel than I highly recommend this especially if you love horror novels and horror novels with monsters. For me this novella has me hooked on Hunter's writing and I can't wait to read more by him. I'm hoping he keeps writing more and more things like Swamp Monster Massacre because if he does I can guarantee that he'll have a fan for a long time to come.

*I received a free copy in exchange for my free and honest review. I was not compensated in any way and all thoughts and opinions expressed therein are my own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another winner for Hunter Shea, October 8, 2012
This review is from: Swamp Monster Massacre (Kindle Edition)
What a fun Ride. Highly recommended. It's an horror/adventure novella that brings back memories of creature features, Richard Laymon novels and campfire stories. Read it in a cabin in the woods and try to go to sleep after. If your a fan of Eric S. Brown novels or have read Dark Woods by Jay Kumar and Naked came the Sasquatch by John Boston, you will enjoy this a lot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars B-horror movie fans rejoice, April 29, 2014
B-horror movie fans rejoice, Hunter Shea has brought you the ultimate tale of bloody terror! Starts off very quickly with lots of action. We are introduced to Rooster not a very good man at all. He kills a drug lord, in self defense of course, and is now on the run from his minions. Hijacking a tour boat full of as random a cast of colorful characters as if Shea picked them out of a hat. This is not a bad thing, but very reminiscent of my favorite B-horror flicks. Soon shipwrecked in the middle of the Everglades they find out the hard way that they are not alone.

After accidentally killing a furry ape like creature. Our band of hooligans are now in a race to survive the primal revenge of these beasts. Finding that primitive monsters have tricks up their proverbial sleeves.

With an original and engaging writing style that I enjoyed a lot Shea has created a unique and fast tour of the Everglades full of ridiculous violence, very descriptive gore, severed limbs and all. Straight up monster horror through and though. I look forward to more!

Audiobook purchased by reviewer.

Please find this complete review and many others at audiobookreviewer dot com
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars It's b movie material, May 14, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Swamp Monster Massacre (Kindle Edition)
The book is ok. Nothing scary and no real excitement. It reminds me of a sci-fi channel movie. Low budget and no depth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Beast on beast, December 20, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Swamp Monster Massacre (Kindle Edition)
Rooster is a hell of a man. Really wanted it to end differently, but it was an interesting read anyways.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Biting My Nails, November 1, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Swamp Monster Massacre (Kindle Edition)
Hunter Shea's Swamp Monster Massacre is fast paced with lots of action. A frentic tempo moves a story with revenge at its core to a front burner. Good fun for horror lovers!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must read, October 20, 2012
This review is from: Swamp Monster Massacre (Kindle Edition)
"Swamp Monster Massacre" is a fast paced novel loaded with action, horror and excitement!Hunter pens his characters well developed in this spooky plot which reminds me of the old stories we used to tell around the campfire. A total must read for all thriller fans.

This review is based on a complimentary copy which was provided for an honest review.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Swamp Monster Massacre
Swamp Monster Massacre by Hunter Shea
$2.66
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.