Automotive Deals Best Books of the Month Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Off to College Essentials Ruby jewelry Amazon Cash Back Offer harmonquest_s1 harmonquest_s1 harmonquest_s1  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro

Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:$3.22
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on August 2, 2013
Deep in the overgrown swamps of Florida, where humans rarely dare to enter, lives a race of creatures long thought to be only the stuff of legend...

B-horror movie fans rejoice, Hunter Shea is here to bring you the ultimate tale of terror!

Rooster has done terrible things. He's killed a drug lord and now he's on the run from merciless drug dealers who want to turn him into gator food. While on the run, he commandeers a tour boat scheduled to take a colorful cast of characters on a relaxing ride through the swamps of Florida. Only, things go wrong. Very wrong. The group tries to sabotage Rooster's escape plans, and they end up colliding with a furry, ape-like creature. Shipwrecked in the middle of nowhere, the survivors discover that they're not alone. There are beasts among them. And they are pissed...

Hunter Shea's novella is a great read that can be devoured in one sitting. It's phenomenally paced, has great characters, and even better villains. The Skunk Apes (Bigfoot's swampy cousin) are vicious creatures, hellbent on destroying the swamp's intruders (or are they?). The way Shea introduces them to an unsuspecting audience is utterly fantastic. I tore through the story with the same anticipation as the eight-year old version of myself used to rip through R.L. Stine's Goosebumps.

Hunter Shea's prose is a rare treat, and refreshingly original. If it weren't for his unique style, this novella might not have had the same effect on me. Since it's reasonably priced, I highly recommend picking up the digital version today, especially if you're craving an old-school creature-feature that has excessive gore and a few comedic breaks.

Overall, Swamp Monster Massacre reads like a late-night monster movie, impossible to change the channel.

Written by Tim Meyer from Horror Novel Reviews. Horror Novel Reviews does not receive payment for reviews. All books are promotional copies.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 7, 2012
How bad do things have to be for the bogeyman to be the good guy? That is the question posed by Hunter Shea in Swamp Monster Massacre. The answer is a swift tour of an Everglades hell that includes violently severed limbs, a rotten stench, a masterfully disgusting combination of necrophilia and bestiality, and death. Lots of death. Swamp Monster Massacre is a breathless amalgam of action and horror with a higher than average gore content, but it is also an examination of the dark nature of revenge.

Rooster has a temper. A damn bad temper that's caused him to put his fist through another man's skull. Sure, it wouldn't have killed the guy if he hadn't done all that blow and rotted his own skull, but the simple fact is that Rooster killed a drug kingpin's son. And what are drug kingpins notorious for if not avenging the death of their own? Rooster's got a problem.

He's also got a bag of money and a bigger bag of guns.

Rooster's on the run in Florida, and he ends up on a pier. A amphibious tour plane is docked at the end, loaded up with tourists waiting to get a bird's eye view of the Everglades. They get Rooster instead; Rooster and a barrage of bullets fired by angry drug dealers.

The passenger manifest is varied. There are two co-eds, blonde as the Doublemint twins and trained in Marine combat technique. A pair of slickly groomed guys from NYC are tough talkers. A couple of empty-nest snow-birds are trying to rekindle their romance. There's a dork, skipping out on a conference. The guest list is rounded out by the grizzled pilot, who is no longer captain of his airship. Throw in Rooster with his guns, and things are about to get wild.

All of these characters have names, but there isn't any need to know names in this story. Not only are names meaningless when fighting for your life, they are also meaningless if you lose that fight. Lots of characters lose, but not because they mutiny against Rooster and cause the plane to crash.

They lose because they crash land in the territory of the skunk apes, reeking beasts eight-feet tall and twice a brutal. These are the titular swamp monsters, and they live up to their terrifying name and stench. They hunt the humans, employing amazing battle tactics that will leave you in awe of both Shea's inventiveness and his ability to make even the insanely bizarre believable.

(((( SPOILER ALERT: Read at own risk! ))))

The swamp monsters aren't just picking on the humans because they have trespassed. They are attacking for revenge. When the plane crashed, it mauled and killed a swamp monster child. Mommy is mad, and all the child monster's big brothers and sisters have joined Mommy's hunt. This echoes the kingpin's henchmen slavering to kill Rooster because he accidentally murdered one of their own. When it comes down to bloody revenge, no one in this book comes out looking any better than a monster. One of the NYC boys is taken by the swamp monsters early, and his friend becomes a blind instrument of revenge, taking stupid chances that cost him his life. Shea doesn't sugar coat his view on revenge: it turns you into an animal. A stupid animal.

(((( END SPOILER ALERT ))))

If you like monster stories, action movies, and some really fun lines, this is an excellent book for you. The point of view hops between characters, which prevents you from getting too invested in any one scenario, but that plays into the frenetic tempo of the tale well enough that it is a strength rather than a fault. Like the single-minded intent of revenge, Swamp Monster Massacre is a fast-paced read that doesn't let up.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 9, 2015
A quick read w/ lots of gore & profanity. Story wasn't bad. Actually pretty good. But what floored me was the ending. It just stopped. To let the reader's own imagination finish the story? Who knows but to me this was only a partial book. I didn't mind the gore but the profanity was excessive. Of course it was free but if that is how all this authors books end (along w/ the profanity) its a pretty good bet I won't be reading anymore of his books.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 29, 2013
"Swamp Monster Massacre" by Hunter Shea is a fast-paced thriller that pits humans against skunk apes (Bigfoot to you and me) in a battle for survival in the Florida Everglades.

Rooster Murphy is a bad man - a bad man on the run from Cuban drug runners who want to see him dead for killing their boss. As Rooster flees the Naples, FL, area with his life, he commandeers an airboat filled with passengers on a sight-seeing trip of the Everglades. Rooster knocks out the pilot, grabs the wheel and sets in motion the adventure of a lifetime for the unknowing passengers.

Rooster just wants to get the boat to his father's secret cabin in the 'glades without hurting anyone, but when the passengers band together and fight for control of the boat, the airboat crashes deep in the swamp where no man can find them. As the craft rams into the tropical flora, Rooster realizes that the boat has run over a furry, ape-like animal. When the group checks out the remains of the animal they're stunned because the creature looks like a small monkey. But... they all know that there are no monkeys in the Everglades, right?

It doesn't take long for the survivors to find that they're not alone on the islands and must fight for their lives. Author Shea ratchets up the suspense just as quickly as the body count rises. The novel is extremely hard to put down as the group moves from one desperate situation to another. Though not for the faint of heart, hardcore horrors fans should find "Swamp Monster Massacre" a story that they'll want on their To-Be-Read list.

This is my first experience with a book by Hunter Shea, but it certainly won't be my last!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 17, 2012
This novella starts out fast and doesn't let up. Lots of action, good characters, terrifying monsters. After reading this story, you will wonder why Hollywood does not take notice of the good horror that is in books these days.

The story begins with Rooster finding himself in a pinch with some Cuban gangbangers. He hijacks an airboat filled with tourists on their way to see the Everglades. After being overpowered by some ass-kicking twin sisters, the boat loses control and everyone ends up lost in the Everglades. Soon the group discovers there are more dangerous things out there than alligators, poisonous snakes, and Cuban gangbangers.

This is my favorite story from Hunter Shea. Just a fun read. It never gets boring, even when there are no skunk apes in the picture. The character dynamics work very well to keep the story moving from bloody scene to bloody scene. Shea also was able to tap into the oppressive environment of Florida (so well that it brought back memories of a horrible family vacation 15 years ago). There will be points when you will want to laugh or cheer.

The icing on the cake for me is when the skunk apes cause our merry band of swamp travelers to come out of a tree that they are hiding in by throwing alligators at them.

Great stuff.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 2, 2012
Hunter Shea's Swamp Monster Massacre bleeds buckets of action, gore, horror and excitement!!! This book is infectious from page one till the end. Shea brings his characters to life quickly and spins an addictive yarn of Southern Florida horror at the hands of a family of Skunk Apes. If you are a fan of Eric Brown's Bigfoot series, or just like tales of Crypto - creatures, this book is not to be missed. Hope he plans on about 10 follow ups to this masterpiece!!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 8, 2012
My oh my did I enjoy myself when I read this book! I mean really this book has Kimberly written all over it. Swamp monsters, death, and horror! This is definitely the kind of book I enjoy reading. It was the perfect book to read since this month is October and Halloween is just around the corner.

The book itself isn't all that long but that doesn't mean that the book is any less substantial for that reason in fact for me it was much more like reading a full length novel because of how much I enjoyed it.

There was so much this novella length book has to offer. There is crime, blood, gore and all the sorts of things you would associate with monsters. I for one really enjoyed the setting for the book it was actually one of my favourite parts of the writing.

When I finally sat down to read Swamp Monster Massacre I couldn't have picked a better night since I decided to read it on a really stormy night and my night table light was actually flickering which added a lot to the whole spooky ambiance of the novel.

At first I was a little confused as to what was going on but once I got may 5 percent in the story itself began pick up and gosh was I hooked on the intense and spooky nature of the novella. I loved the characters but I really loved the swamp monsters or Big Foot if you'd prefer to call them. If you've followed my blog for long enough you'll know I have a soft spot for books where there are monsters, dinosaurs or prehistoric beasts and this one truly filled the monster bill.

If you're looking for a really spooky read but may or may not have the time to read a full length novel than I highly recommend this especially if you love horror novels and horror novels with monsters. For me this novella has me hooked on Hunter's writing and I can't wait to read more by him. I'm hoping he keeps writing more and more things like Swamp Monster Massacre because if he does I can guarantee that he'll have a fan for a long time to come.

*I received a free copy in exchange for my free and honest review. I was not compensated in any way and all thoughts and opinions expressed therein are my own.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
What fun THIS was to read! I felt like a 12-year-old who came across a pulpy monster flick on late night TV...a cast of characters drawn in broad, bold strokes facing all sorts of mayhem over a short period of time in a strange environment.
I don't want to give anything away...no details or summary, because if you've gotten to this review and have luckily not been exposed to much of the plot details, etc...just stop reading this, and click on the little purchase button thing.
I am so glad I took a chance with this one, and I will searching out other books Mr. Shea has written...
...I'm now a fan!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 19, 2014
If you grew up watching 80's horror films, this book is for you. There's no fat, no page padding. Shea hammers the accelerator down and doesn't let up until the very end. The style of the prose is fitting and humorous, giving it a great feel for horror. If you buy this, expect nothing less than a gory Swamp Monster Massacre.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 29, 2014
B-horror movie fans rejoice, Hunter Shea has brought you the ultimate tale of bloody terror! Starts off very quickly with lots of action. We are introduced to Rooster not a very good man at all. He kills a drug lord, in self defense of course, and is now on the run from his minions. Hijacking a tour boat full of as random a cast of colorful characters as if Shea picked them out of a hat. This is not a bad thing, but very reminiscent of my favorite B-horror flicks. Soon shipwrecked in the middle of the Everglades they find out the hard way that they are not alone.

After accidentally killing a furry ape like creature. Our band of hooligans are now in a race to survive the primal revenge of these beasts. Finding that primitive monsters have tricks up their proverbial sleeves.

With an original and engaging writing style that I enjoyed a lot Shea has created a unique and fast tour of the Everglades full of ridiculous violence, very descriptive gore, severed limbs and all. Straight up monster horror through and though. I look forward to more!

Audiobook purchased by reviewer.

Please find this complete review and many others at audiobookreviewer dot com
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.