Your Garage Best Books of the Month Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Brett Dennen Father's Day Gift Guide 2016 Fire TV Stick Luxury Beauty Father's Day Gifts Amazon Cash Back Offer DrThorne DrThorne DrThorne  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $149.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Outdoor Recreation SnS

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars47
Format: DVD|Change
Price:$4.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on August 28, 2009
For anyone who has watched the the swan princess movies and knows there is three movies total the way this movie is describede you may be mislead to believe it is a new movie, but the truth is that Swan Princess: Secret of the Castle is a dvd version of The Swan Princess II - Escape From Castle Mountain the sequal to the first movie which came out straight to vhs in 1997. The have simplely changed the name and the description a little bit. The new title fits the movie better then the old one. The movie is a good one and has some good music in it. As far as sequals go it is a good one.
0Comment|20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 19, 2003
In the second of the three part series of "THE SWAN PRINCESS" "THE ESCAPE OF CASTLE MOUNTAIN" is a good movie, (in my opinion). Most sequals are a disapointment, but not this one, (and they keep the main cast from the 1st movie--which is a BIG PLUS). The singing is great and so are the songs, and the plot and acting is good as well. I think Queen Uberta is funny, (Do not mess with the Queen). Well, if you never seen this movie, I think you should, you will not be disapointed.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 8, 2000
I loved this movie! I haven't seen the prequel, but this was a very interesting movie and it kept me watching. The prince's mother is funny and it's a neat movie.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 10, 2013
I absolutely love the Swan Princess movies. I really wish they would release anniversary editions like they do with The Little Mermaid and Beauty and the Beast. Course I guess the reason they don't is because she isn't one of the official disney princesses. It's still a really good series though.
22 comments|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 4, 2014
My grandchildren enjoyed 'The Swan Princess' so much that this seemed to be a fun next adventure. The same animated characters with another wicked sorcerer. 'Friendship' is an integral part of this second in the series of three. Definitely recommended for those who enjoyed the first in the series (offered with prime) and grandchild approved!

Purchased as an instant video and stored on Amazon . . . smooth streaming and crisp audio.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 24, 2014
My little 18 month old girl loves these movies. She dances along with the songs and loves the colors in the movie. We love them because it keeps her occupied. Not only that but they have some humor in there for an older audience that is withing reason. They're good clean movies that you don't have to worry about your kids watching.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
A year after the events of The Swan Princess, Derek and Odette are not getting the “Happily Ever After” that they had hoped for. It seems that Rothbart had a partner in crime, Clavius, a wizard who is stirring up trouble for the kingdom. Rothbart left behind a magic orb that would give the holder great power, and Clavius will let nothing stand in his way...certainly not Derek and Odette!

This 1997 sequel to The Swan Princess is a bit of a stop down. Most of the stars of the original film are not present for this one, and the music is noticeably lower in quality. So, if you are expecting The Swan Princess, you might be a bit disappointed.

But, that said, this is also a fun and entertaining 2D movie. It has a lot of great action and adventure, and a lot of good old fashioned silliness. So, if you want a nice cartoon movie for family movie night, and have seen The Swan Princess, then this is a good movie to get. I highly recommend it!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 19, 2012
I bought this DVD used and it's in perfect condition. The case is in perfect condition and the disc has absolutely no scratches. I was scared to buy used in the past, but now when it comes to DVD's I'll be buying nothing but used. Very Happy, Love this movie!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 4, 1999
The movie itself is rather bizarre, including songs my friends and I have dubbed "Tchaikovsky Meets the Spice Girls" and "The Scary Rock-n-Roll Song," but the fast-paced animated video would be entertaining for younger children (4-10?). The true charm of the movie lies in the voice of Prince Derek--Tony Award nominee Douglas Sills! As Derek, he is, of course, wonderful, and it's a true delight to hear him in the "No Fear Rap"! The adorable frog Jean-Bob also affords much amusement to any age audience, though the turtle got on my nerves a bit with his monotonous droning. Princess Odette is the typical heroine of children's cartoon fairy-tales: brave, devoted, and beautiful (though technically she shouldn't be able to live with a waist that tiny). The bad guy and his henchman are amusing and lovable (to the degree bad guys are), while poor Derek is stuck with a shrill-voiced mother who entertains because of her petty concerns. Prince Derek is the true selfless and courageous hero, risking his life to save first his mother and then his princess bride, facing every danger with nerves of steel, a noble heart, ever-changing eye color, and a voice to top all. The Swan Princess II is worth popping into the VCR for the kids any day and will afford amusement to anyone passing the TV. Get it now!
(3 1/2 stars for the film, countless more for Derek/Douglas Sills, plus points for the amusing conversations that ensue from watching this film with your friends)
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 1, 2012
On par with the original. Be warned the Christmas one out now is CGI and the animation is terrible...Odette looks weird in that one. But this one is similar to the first one.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.