Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Survival, February 7, 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I purchased this product for a survival kit that I have for teaching Scouts and for my personal use. IT WORKS. What more can you say about a product. Used it for a class I taught for the, "Wilderness Survival", merit badge and the young men had a great time using the flint and steel to start a fire. Used the Mayadust just to show them how flammable it is, but used shaved, "fire sticks", to show them how to do this if you have to and do not have Mayadust or other commerical products available.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent fire starter, July 31, 2010
By 
Mark (Clarkston, GA United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is a superb fire starter. I purchased the cheaper emergency fire starter and it was really bad. That one was difficult to ignite, and involved shaving bits of magnesium of first. This fire starter just requires you to strike it and your done. Once you remove the initial surface with a few strikes, this gives lots of sparks wit a single strike.

Pros: Lots of sparks, easy to use, lasts a long time.

Cons: Have not come across any yet!

Spend the bit of extra money, it is worth it, and you will be happy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Firesteel, easy to spark., September 24, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Swedish Firesteel Fire Starter - Army Model - Black
I bought one of these for a 72 hour emergency survival kit. Of course I had to test it out first. I used it camping before placing it in the kit. It is very easy to spark this thing. If you have good tinder it should be pretty easy to turn that into a fire. It's really thick so it's going to last for thousands of strikes. They say 12,000. I don't think that's an unreasonable expectation with how thick it is. That's probably more than I'll ever need short of an Apocalypse situation. Matches are easier but they don't last forever and to store 12,000 strikes worth it would take up a lot of space. You'd also need to keep them completely dry. It would be good to keep some matches too but I highly recommend one of these for every survival kit and camper. You don't want to be stuck in the cold without a fire.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Swedish Firesteel Fire Starter - Army Model - Black, May 27, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Swedish Firesteel Fire Starter - Army Model - Black
This fire starter works really good once you scrape off the black paint coating on the fire rod. This is easy to do with the attached striker. I may have to order some more of these as gifts and spares as needed. The cord attaching the striker and the steel rod is very sturdy and well made.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fire starter, March 17, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Swedish Firesteel Fire Starter - Army Model - Black
Works great. I've started two different types of fires with it. One with the items that came with it, and the other with mountain man char cloth. Both worked well. I'd recommend this for anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars awsome, December 18, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Swedish Firesteel Fire Starter - Army Model - Black
this item is awsome im gunna put it in my survival pack. i recomend this everyone.the only thing i dont like about it is the handle is to small
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, October 31, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Swedish Firesteel Fire Starter - Army Model - Black
I haven't used it for a real situation but it looks really cool if you show it off to your friends. Got here quick, no complaints.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars nice product, October 5, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Swedish Firesteel Fire Starter - Army Model - Black
its very handy but you must know it can't just light anything on fire so use dryer lint or cotton balls but besides that it can be used at night to signal people
over all its very good for the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The bomb!!!, June 29, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The fire steel works amazing, and every time. Haven't used the tender yet but its an amazing product!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A nice tool, April 10, 2008
This review is from: Swedish Firesteel Fire Starter - Army Model - Black
This "flint" is more expensive than the magnesium bars but it is a little more convinient for making sparks because it has a small handle and an attached striker (you have to find your own tender). I did not have a problem using the attached striker as another reviewer did. I also skipped the step of taking the paint off. I just scraped firmly and the ammount of sparks was crazy. My only complaint is the price but if it lasts as long as claimed it is a bargain compared to matches or lighters.

I have both the full size model and the scout model. The full size model is a little easier to use because it is easier to grip but the scout model is not hard and is a little smaller for packing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Swedish Firesteel Fire Starter - Army Model - Black
Out of stock
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.