Customer Reviews


650 Reviews
5 star:
 (360)
4 star:
 (130)
3 star:
 (69)
2 star:
 (38)
1 star:
 (53)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


65 of 73 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Never forget who you are...
I was a bit hesitant to watch this film at first because romantic-love-triangle-comedies all end the same way. Plus before the movie started, the audience was packed with high school teenagers with their cellphones. (They could litterally fiddle around with them for hours while looking seemingly busy.) But my mom insisted and I obliged. Anyways, the movie turned out...
Published on October 1, 2002 by Alvin Tanhehco

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not great, not terrible
I liked this movie, but if you're looking for something to redeem all the sorry romantic comedies currently out there (like I was), you'll be disappointed.
Reese Witherspoon's character, Melanie, is by turns selfish and likable and I wish they had been more consistent with her. I ended up liking her in the end, but her snobbiness in the beginning made that more...
Published on December 4, 2003 by Anonymous


‹ Previous | 1 265 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

65 of 73 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Never forget who you are..., October 1, 2002
By 
I was a bit hesitant to watch this film at first because romantic-love-triangle-comedies all end the same way. Plus before the movie started, the audience was packed with high school teenagers with their cellphones. (They could litterally fiddle around with them for hours while looking seemingly busy.) But my mom insisted and I obliged. Anyways, the movie turned out to be pretty sweet and heartwarming.
Melanie Carmichael (aka Melanie Smooter), played by Reese Witherspoon, is an up-and-coming New York City fashion designer who has just been proposed to by Andrew (Patrick Dempsey), the mayor's son. (Quite an impressive proposal I might add, with the Tiffany store open just for them.) There's only one problem, she's still legally married to Jake (Josh Lucas) in Alabama. That's where the real story begins. Melanie drives back to her hometown and nags Jake to sign the divorce papers. He drags his feet while Melanie gets some time to get reacquainted with his family and friends, whom she left for seven years. She desperately wants to believe that she's a whole new person (with the last-name change and all), and ends up hurting the ones who love her. Does she get her divorce and who will she be with in the end? Ah, for that you'll have to watch the film!
I think the more interesting aspect of this film is watching Melanie come to her senses and acknowledge her roots. In New York, she might have had to cover up who she really is to get to where she's at -- changing her last name and fabricating a tall tale about her family. But it was a lie waiting to be exposed. When she goes back to Alabama and brings this pompous personality back with her she is reminded that it won't get her anything but the disappointed looks of her friends and family; the people she left behind.
In a nutshell, even though the ending was relatively predictable, the story is poignant enough and had sufficient humorous scenes in it to keep the audience hooked. (I particularly liked it when Melanie realizes that being married to Jake means that they still have a joint account at the local bank.) Also, I think Reese Witherspoon gave a good performance, and it's always nice to see Candice Bergan in a frenzy.
This is one of the better romantic comedies I've seen this year.
LEAP rating (each out of 5):
============================
L (Language) - 3 (Cute, has its sentimental moments. Never boring.)
E (Erotica) - 0 (n/a)
A (Action) - 0 (n/a)
P (Plot) - 3 (In order to get married, Melanie must get a divorce, but going home and realizing how much she's left behind forces her to reconsider.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


60 of 69 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Reese Witherspoon is 'Sweet' in 'Alabama', September 5, 2002
Witherspoon gives another strong, leading performance that proves she can make just about any movie look good. She stars as Melanie, a New York fashion designer whose dream is about come true. She's proposed to by New York's most successful and eligable bachelor, who also happens to be the mayor's son. Before she can say for sure, she quickly travels back home to country-side Alabama, to try and get a divorce out of her high-school sweetheart Jake (Josh Lucas). The film was better than I expected. It was pretty funny and heartwarming, while Reese gives a sweet performance in SWEET HOME ALABAMA. It's kind of a chick-flick, but proved high for a comedy on my standards. If you're in the mood for something light and funny, sweet and entertaining, "Alabama" is worth seeing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 28 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sweet Home Alabama, April 4, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sweet Home Alabama (DVD)
Reese Witherspoon was wonderful as Melanie Carmichael! She plays the displaced southerner very well. Josh Lucas was the perfect counterpart portraying the southern hick. They have known and loved each other since they were kids, but of course life interferes, and that is where this movie starts. The town and residents are a typical stereotype, but it doesn't even matter because the film was that good. The writing and supporting cast are priceless. I do have to give special mention to Candice Bergen. She is at her best when she plays those dry roles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Maybe You Can Go Home Again!!, October 2, 2002
Sweet Home Alabama, which stars the adorable Reese Witherspoon (Election, Legally Blonde), is a homespun delightful movie. In my opinion, it is a welcome relief to those of us who dislike violent or depressing movies. You actually walk out of the theater humming the song with a wide smile on your face.
Melanie played by Reese Witherspoon is a charming fashion designer who is being courted by the son of the Mayor of New York City. Embarking for an evening out, the young couple arrive at Tiffany's where Andrew proposes to Melanie. Trying to keep their engagement a secret, though, is hard to do and suddenly the Mayor, played by Candice Bergen, is planning a wedding for several hundred at The Plaza. Only problem is not only isn't Melanie from a wealthy and old Southern family as she's led others to believe, but she is also still married to her childhood sweetheart Jake played by Josh Lucas (A Beautiful Mind). Now Melanie must return to sweet home Alabama and obtain Jake's signature on the divorce papers which he has stubbornly refused to do all of these years.. What ensues is a down home Southern yarn, complete with a reenactment scene from the Civil War, which leads to sorts of revelations.
I really enjoyed this movie. While it was refreshing and humorous, it also offered several warm and tender moments. The cast was well chosen and included some memorable actors. Among them was Candice Bergen, Mary Kay Place as Melanie's mother with Fred Ward as Melanie's father and Jean Smart as Jake's mother. Adding to the enjoyment was the beautifully photographed scenery from Florida and Georgia and a first rate soundtrack which I still can hear several days later. I do recommend you see this movie reminiscent of the great Frank Capra films of the past. And see if you don't find life in Sweet Home Alabama truly sweet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So much fun!!, January 29, 2003
By 
This review is from: Sweet Home Alabama (DVD)
I thought this movie was great! It's a fun and happy movie, and it's Reese in her natural element. Being a Southern girl myself, it was funny to see the way they portrayed people in a small Southern town. This really a sweet movie about the magic of a first love that lasts through whatever you can throw at it! Anyone can identify with her being embarrassed and ashamed (even if it's a different topic) and nearly any girl would give her right arm to be taken to Tiffany's to have her pick of any engagement ring there! It's the perfect rags-to-riches-princess-who-gets-the-RIGHT-prince-in-the-end story!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Sweet!, February 13, 2003
This review is from: Sweet Home Alabama (DVD)
I just have to say that, Sweet Home Alabama was a great romantic comedy! The story line was great and it was a good reminder, to all, to remember your roots. The actors were great! All of them! That Josh Lucas (Jake) was great in his role and I was truly touched by his humor and sensitivity. I hope to see him in leading roles in the near future!
Although the movie did have a predictable ending, I found myself hoping Melanie would end up choosing Jake, whom really loved her for who she is. There are some very funny scenes, like when Jake thought that he had locked Melanie out of the house, but forgot that she knew where the spare key was hidden! It was great, down to earth fun!
This is most likely more of a chick-flick, but great for those guys out there in-touch with their sensitive side.
I hope you enjoy this movie as much as I did!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Your typical romantic comedy with a North vs. South twist, March 5, 2005
This review is from: Sweet Home Alabama (DVD)
Melanie Carmichael (Reese Witherspoon) is the hottest new designer in New York, newly engaged to the hottest bachelor in town - the mayor's son. There's only one thing wrong with Melanie's life - she's actually Melanie Smooter, born & raised in a small & ppor Alabama town, where she married her high school sweetheart she still hadn't divorced.

Well, this being a North Vs. South comedy, we get the worst kind of stereotypes on both ends - most of the NY people are just plain weird, and the southerners all live in shabby homes & fry anything in sight.

On the other hand, the performances were very good - not only from the 3 major players, but especially from the supporting cast.

The director's commentary on the movie, & the wxended scenes (also with optional commentary by the director) were very enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not great, not terrible, December 4, 2003
This review is from: Sweet Home Alabama (DVD)
I liked this movie, but if you're looking for something to redeem all the sorry romantic comedies currently out there (like I was), you'll be disappointed.
Reese Witherspoon's character, Melanie, is by turns selfish and likable and I wish they had been more consistent with her. I ended up liking her in the end, but her snobbiness in the beginning made that more difficult than it should have been.
As for the men. . .Josh Lucas' character is both easy on the eyes :-) and a nice guy, as is Melanie's fiance. And that's part of the problem too: it feels like the writers didn't want to make anyone the bad guy, so they wrote themselves into a corner. No wonder Melanie can't make a decision.
It's really not a bad movie, though. It's light, enjoyable, and though you wish that Melanie (and the writers) had made some different decisions, it will make for a nice afternoon.
By the way, the special features are nothing spectacular. It's mostly just scenes and, in one case, an entire subplot, that hit the cutting room floor. But take my advice on this one--DO NOT watch the alternate ending. It was terrible and it has haunted my later viewings of the movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Get your...down here and give me a divorce..............., November 23, 2002
By 
Nicole (San Diego, CA United States) - See all my reviews
Sweet Home Alabama should be right up there with movies like My Best Friends Wedding and The Wedding Planner. Reese Witherspoon's acting in this movie was a lot more serious, not like her usual bubbly blonde roles like in Legally Blonde. Reese plays Melanie Carmichael a famous New York fashion designer who is engaged to Patrick Dempsy who plays the part of the wealthy son of New York mayor played by Candice Bergen. Everything in Melanie's life seems perfect, that is until she decides to go back to her hometown Alabama and tell her family and friends she is going to get married. When she returns home the first item on her list: ask her husband played by Josh Lucas for a divorce. Hilarity and mishap ensue.As time progresses Melanie realizes just how important her family is to her and how it was wrong of her to shut them out. She also comes to realize that her love for husband is even stronger and that he is the one she should be with. This movie proves to be a great romantic comedy and is a movie for both girls and GUYS. It is not a chick flick ok? Also look for appearances by Ethan Embry as Melanie's cousin Bobby Rae and Melanie Lynskey as Melanie's friend. The acting is great, the script is original, and Reese who was not only made for this part proves that she can be a serious actress and is not one of the stereotypical blondes of Hollywood.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Reese Gives Us Another Helping Of Her Charm, October 4, 2002
With any other actress as the lead in this movie, I don't think it would be as nearly as enjoyable as it is. Reese gives us an irresistible charm that usually brightens up any movie that she's in and makes it better than it usually is. The same can be said for Sweet Home Alabama. A movie which is so predictable, you can almost utter each line yourself before the characters get them out of their honky tonk mouths. However, something can be said about predictability and in times like these, I think it's great to have a movie come out that you know you can fall in love with. Sweet Home Alabama is a perfect fit. Reese plays Melanie, a very succesful fashion designer who's left behind her hillbilly home. Living the glamorous life, she ends up falling for the mayor's son played by Patrick Dempsey, a handsome and rich man who happens to honestly adore her. Just when she thinks he couldn't get any more perfect, he proposes to her at Tiffany's. Just one problem ... she's keeping a big secret from him - she's already married. That's when our main character decides to go back to her hometown to get a divorce from her stubborn ex named Jake played by newcomer Josh Lucas. In typical romantic comedy fashion, Melanie and Jake get on eachother's nerves to the point that they wanna either strangle eachother or fall in love all over again. I don't wanna give to much away, but Melanie basically has to decide between her childhood sweetheart and the new prince in her life that wants to sweep her off her feet. It's predictable and very hokey, but you can't help but fall in love with this movie. One of my favorite scenes is when Melanie visits her old dog at a pet semetary and opens up about why she had to leave the animal behind. Its heartbreaking and very touching. Reese won't win any oscars for her portrayal as a confused small town girl, but she sure will win your heart.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 265 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Sweet Home Alabama (10th Anniversary Edition) [Blu-ray]
$15.99 $9.90
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.