Customer Reviews


36 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What does one do when the objective they set in life is changed?
Liliana Claremont has a clear and concise way of handling problems and living her life. After her father's death she choose to live frugally allowing her to pursue his interests in chemistry without a husband. Geoffrey Wentworth, the Earl of Stratford is of the same mindset and the last thing he wants is to be married.

Geoffrey's mother and Liliana's aunt...
Published on February 7, 2012 by Mary Gramlich

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Inconsistent heroine but hero is really likable, 3.5 stars
Heather Snow's novel Sweet Enemy has a book smart heroine who is brave and determined and a hero who is unlike many heroes of his time, willing to see a woman as more than merely decorative. Yet despite these fine traits in the protagonsists, there are some flaws in this story.

Liliana Claremont has been raised by her aunt since her father's death. Liliana is...
Published on February 15, 2012 by Melissa


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not very original, March 19, 2012
By 
skinny sam (ut United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sweet Enemy: A Veiled Seduction Novel (Kindle Edition)
The plot is very similar to some of earlier other novels. intelligent heroine who is good at either chemistry or anatomy or whatever,but is pretty and a virgin.Over all, a pretty good writer and the tension builds up nicely until they get to do it and I don't know why suddenly I started to skim. The first sex is usually the part that I like to read about but it just lost its steam for me, maybe it is because the scenes were too similar to the ones that i liked a lot from other books. I felt like the author borrowed some of the parts from other better novels. After that, it went downhill for me. Read 'what i did for a duke' or 'the proposition' . They are better.I would like a more original story from the author since she has potential.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars 4.5 Stars, May 12, 2014
This review is from: Sweet Enemy: A Veiled Seduction Novel (Kindle Edition)
This was a fantastic romance. I enjoyed it from beginning to end. The characters were wonderful. I fell in love with Geoffrey and thought Liliana was perfect for him. I laughed out loud at their banter in the beginning and enjoyed their romance throughout the book. The mystery kept me engaged even though I guessed the villain from the beginning.

Great book. It's the first I read from Heather Snow but I'm sure it won't be my last.

Read from April 22 to 25, 2014
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Chemistry, Mystery, Romance, January 7, 2014
By 
M. Dieterich (Northeast Missouri) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Liliana has dedicated her life to science, and now that she has evidence her father may have been murdered, she's going to investigate to find out the truth. The evidence leads her to the Earl of Stratford's family, so she wrangles an invite, along with her cousin and aunt,  to a party at his country estate. She plans to use the time to search for more clues and find the person responsible for her father's death.

Geoffrey wants to avoid marrying anyone his manipulative mother has invited to this marriage mart, but he is unexpectedly attracted to the unconventional Liliana. He finds he can talk to her about his plans for helping retired soldiers with a bill in parliament, a mining operation, and even a village. All his plans would be made easier if he married a well-connected lady, but he finds the only woman he can open his heart to is Liliana.

The mystery keeps you guessing, and the scientific nature of Liliana's education in the sensual arts keep you wanting more. But Liliana fears there is a murderer in the Stratford family, and Geoffrey is afraid to really lay his heart on the line. Can they each learn to trust the other to find the truth and to find true love?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great book in a great series, January 4, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is a great book I now own all three in the series, It has a great mix of history and romance, that
I like in my books. Its a great read I would recomend to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sweet Enemy, December 24, 2013
This review is from: Sweet Enemy: A Veiled Seduction Novel (Kindle Edition)
I absolutely loved this book! I couldn't put it down. This book is a heart-pounding romance wrapped in an intriguing mystery. This is a great read that every romance fan should own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another historical romance at its best, November 27, 2013
full review on: Bookshelf Confessions; I received this book from the author in exchange of an honest review

What makes me love Sweet Enemy is that Geoffrey and Liliana’s love story started with intrigue and scorching moment. It was never easy. There was suspicion, then mutual understanding, distrust..and many more.. I saw their love grow and developed in a not boring way.

Also, there are a lot of information on the book, especially with healing plants, chemical reactions and even codes. Ms. Heather Snow, put her knowledge into this book, she’s a chemist..

This is a must read not just for historical lovers, but for mystery enthusiast too… An intriguing novel with characters that are anything but ordinary, Sweet Enemy would easily carve out a space into anyone’s heart. Highly Recommended!!! And would love to see more of this wonderful author!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A great read!, June 15, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sweet Enemy: A Veiled Seduction Novel (Kindle Edition)
I have always been a fan of strong, confident woman and this book delivers! Liliana is wonderful! The "struggle" between Liliana and Geoffrey is fun to be a part of. There are moments that had me laughing out loud, which had my family looking at me and smiling! The plight of returning soldiers from the war with Napoleon is real and hit home for our soldiers also! A great book for a weekend read. Made me want to go on to the next book in the trilogy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Creative elements, May 21, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sweet Enemy: A Veiled Seduction Novel (Kindle Edition)
I enjoy reading a fictional story that intertwines true historical facts, in this case chemistry/herbalism and women's rights. An intriguing mix of history, romance and mystery. Scenes were expertly painted but not overdone giving the reader a vivid sense of the situation at hand in a succinct fashion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Veiled Seduction 1: Sweet Enemy, April 1, 2013
Reviewed by Clare for TwoLipsReviews.com

Sweet Enemy (Veiled Seduction, Book 1)
4.5 out of 5 kisses

Earl of Stratford, Geoffrey Wentworth, returned home a war hero and wants nothing more than to focus his attentions on the plight of destitute soldiers. His mother, however, has other plans for him and is planning a lavish party at their estate in order to find Geoffrey a bride. All of the most eligible single ladies and their parents turn out for the weeks long affair, and all Geoffrey wants to do is hide away until it's over. That is, until he meets Miss Liliana Claremont.

Liliana is at the Wentworth estate under the guise of finding herself a husband, when all she really wants to do is find herself a murderer. New information about her father's death has led Liliana to believe that Geoffrey's father may be the person who killed her father years ago. She's determined to snoop around and find evidence, but the Earl soon becomes suspicious of her strange behavior. Will their undeniable attraction to each other destroy everything they have worked so hard to achieve?

Sweet Enemy is the first book in Heather Snow's new Veiled Seduction series and it's a sure hit. The story line is filled with intrigue, suspense, and non-stop action. Add that to the sizzling passion between the hero and heroine and you have a winning read in your hands.

Liliana is a daring and bold lead character, and I loved her spunk especially as she flaunts convention in historical England. Geoffrey is her perfect counterpart with his self-assured confidence and convictions as he tackles a difficult issue within the political system. It was fun reading as they both learned how to listen to what was in their hearts instead of in their heads. You could feel the sexual tension between them, as it was expertly shown in their flirty, witty banter. This is the start to a stunning new series that fans of historical romance will be sure to want to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Yes, this heroine is a chemist!, March 25, 2013
I truly enjoy reading historical romance, but I get tired of all the whiny leading ladies. That is NOT the case with this book and this heroine. She's smart, sexy, very knowledgable and a chemist to boot! I highly recommend this book for anyone tired of reading about helpless females in their Regency romances. I'm looking forward to reading many more books from Heather Snow in the future!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.