Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


64 of 64 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good fun
I got this to help fill a few days of just my own company - I haven't tried it couples-style. At least, not yet.
These stories are the kind I like: reasonably literate, very explicit, and basically about people being happy with each other. The stories don't rush into the physical coupling - they always give a few pages to set their scenes end engage the imagination...
Published on June 5, 2004 by wiredweird

versus
46 of 50 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars We are VERY open minded, BUT......
This book just did not do it for us. We purchased this book (and Sweet Life: Erotic Fantasies for Couples 2) based on the reviews from other couples and women. We were sorely disappointed. But maybe our type of fantasies are different from others. Male-Male Bisexuality and enemas do not fit our view point of erotic fantasies.

However, based on the writing...
Published on June 5, 2005 by FunCpl


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

64 of 64 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good fun, June 5, 2004
This review is from: Sweet Life: Erotic Fantasies for Couples (Paperback)
I got this to help fill a few days of just my own company - I haven't tried it couples-style. At least, not yet.
These stories are the kind I like: reasonably literate, very explicit, and basically about people being happy with each other. The stories don't rush into the physical coupling - they always give a few pages to set their scenes end engage the imagination. There's no [almost] sub/dom theme here. Almost all of the stories are affectionate and mutual. That suits my tastes just fine, and doesn't interfere a bit with a juicy story. Quite the opposite, it encourages unhurried, detailed descriptions of the players and their play.
These stories really are what erotica should be. The stories are brief but fulfilling, come across without the dark edge that puts people off. By yourself or in company, Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


120 of 125 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Twenty one naughty tales you don't have to read alone....., May 9, 2002
By 
Rudolf Spoerer "dowadiddi" (Weston, FL United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sweet Life: Erotic Fantasies for Couples (Paperback)
WOW what a surprise. Generally I'm not much a of a fan of compiled erotic anthologies due to either substandard or inconsistent writing, but this book was wonderfull and very gentle for the erotic novice .....
Although I was only familiar with the writings of a couple of the contributors the stroies were well chosen to provide the reader with a smorgesbourg of fantasies. Erotic Massages, rape fantasies, having sex in public, erotic spankings, daddy fantasies, bad student fantasy, multiple parters stories are all included.
If it's everyman's dream to watch two girls getting it on this book has a sizzling little story for the girls watching two guys getting it on. When you see the title of Erotic Fantaies for 'Couples' one should easliy read that to mean 'Women' since I think the book is defintely geared towards the gentler sex getting their husband or boyfriend in the sack rather than the other way around.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


52 of 54 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars so good!, March 19, 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Sweet Life: Erotic Fantasies for Couples (Paperback)
This book was more than I expected. I thought it would simply be a bunch of short stories about fantasies (it is), but the fantasies are realistic and very sweet, even though they're sexually graphic and sometimes intense. My favorite was "Please" where a woman confesses to her man how she wants to be spanked. I shared the story with my husband and we have put the book to good use. The writing is consistiently better than other erotic anthologies I've read, and the stories in general are excellent. What a nice, exciting surprise!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


46 of 50 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars We are VERY open minded, BUT......, June 5, 2005
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sweet Life: Erotic Fantasies for Couples (Paperback)
This book just did not do it for us. We purchased this book (and Sweet Life: Erotic Fantasies for Couples 2) based on the reviews from other couples and women. We were sorely disappointed. But maybe our type of fantasies are different from others. Male-Male Bisexuality and enemas do not fit our view point of erotic fantasies.

However, based on the writing style, the stories are well written. We gave this 3 stars because the fantasies are just not our type, but the writing style is VERY well done.

Just not for us.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Sweet? Try Cloying..., January 22, 2007
By 
This review is from: Sweet Life: Erotic Fantasies for Couples (Paperback)
'Sweet Life: Erotic Fantasies for Couples' and I have essentially broken up by now. We've tried making it work for some months now, but the sexual chemistry just isn't there. It boils down to irreconcilable differences: I want something that is well-written and original; Sweet Life strives for as many cheap thrills as you can get with third-grade diction and vocabulary.

We gave it an earnest attempt at first: the wife and I got comfortable together and I read aloud the first five stories or so to her. Interest waned as it became apparent that certain phrases would be repeated throughout each tale. Phrases such as 'already erect', 'thrusting repeatedly', 'cries of pleasure' became commonplace, predictable. Every paragraph featured at least one superlative adjective.

Maybe if we'd built a drinking game around our reading-time ('Wet and slippery', take a drink!; 'So darn hard', take two drinks!), we could've made it work. But the inspiration wasn't there, so the inspiration wasn't there.

Besides droll repetition of stock erotica vocabulary, Sweet Life lacked the sophistication that I've come to desire in my fiction. I can't boast a collegiate background in literature, but I do appreciate it when my books can adroitly turn a phrase. I can count on Chuck Palahniuk's novels to titillate. Terry Pratchett does things with his sentences I didn't know were possible. And Stephen King, while getting on in years, still can work his prose into a frenzy, with a long-enough running start.

But Sweet Life's stories (with one exception, a doozy by Hanne Blank that has almost no sex in it) are, without fail, contrived, formulaic and cliché. Some examples:

'Although my internet-whiz husband spent his days in front of a computer screen, he kept in shape by by swimming laps at lunchtime at the health club next door to where he worked.'

'Negotiation has always been the hallmark of our relationship.'

'...it had literally been years...'

At 'literally', I nearly slammed the cover on Sweet Life, thinking, "There's just no excuse for this abuse of language in our relationship." But I kept my calm and just laughed it off, and let the distance grow naturally.

One day soon, I'll nonchalantly move the book to the cardboard box in the closet and the next thing it'll know, someone will be shelving it for purchase at the local thrift shop. And then I'll have completely moved on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars just what the dr. ordered, May 11, 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Sweet Life: Erotic Fantasies for Couples (Paperback)
This book came highly recommended from a woman-owned adult retail store and I'm so glad I listened to the ladies there. The writing is top-notch and the stories are unexpectedly untypical of pornographic erotica. While the stories are very explicit they are incredibly tasteful and it is nice to have adult erotica about couples that are in love. My wife and I read them to each other and even tried a few of the fantasies here. Some of the stories are very racy and might not be for everyone as they have taboo subjects and sex acts but it is overall one of the best collections we have ever read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Marvelous Miss Blue, February 9, 2005
By 
Erotic Collector (Santa Barbara, CA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Sweet Life: Erotic Fantasies for Couples (Paperback)
Violet Blue has gathered together an unparalleled collection of erotica with a unique purpose: to turn on couples. And it works! The stories in this beautiful book are sexy without being vulgar and they let couples know that it's okay to have dirty thoughts. It's okay to give in to erotic fantasies. These stories push the boundaries without ever being too far out. This collection is the type of book you could leave out in your living room without feeling embarrassed. The cover is striking and sexy, and the mood within the pieces are equally so. A very delicious selection from a mistress of the genre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very satisfied, October 31, 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Sweet Life: Erotic Fantasies for Couples (Paperback)
Add me to the list of very satisfied readers. This fantastic anthology made its way into my hands about a week ago, and I'm already re-reading my favorite stories. And sharing them with my long-distance girlfriend has been highly arousing and a real spark for both of us. The stories are really well written and are a serious source for fantasy material. In "Playing Doctor" a man plays a therapist who compels his wife to confess, then act out her fantasies. "The Last Train" is an amazing exhibition story where a man watches his girlfriend with another man. And there are several hot threesome stories, of every combination. It's an outstanding erotic anthology, and my girlfriend and I are looking forward to trying out some of these in person, hopefully soon!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow! Not for grandma!, September 8, 2003
By 
"music_lover_in_n_ca" (Silicon Valley, CA (USA)) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Sweet Life: Erotic Fantasies for Couples (Paperback)
This is the ultimate book of fantasies for couples. I have looked for many years for something "interesting" for my wife and me, but this is one of the first successes (others were way too tame). It seems every common fantasy is covered in a story, including women taking their men, women encouraging transvestitism, the traditional rape fantasy, hookers, public exposure, lesbianism, groups, and even man-man couplings involving women in some way. To truly enjoy this book one must have an open mind and be willing to escape into the stories. Anyone who is even the slightest bit uptight or prudish would be immediately embarrassed or even offended.
Golly.... I must be awfully kinky myself to enjoy it so much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars lots of fun and sweet stories, November 13, 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Sweet Life: Erotic Fantasies for Couples (Paperback)
I think the thing I liked the most about this book is that the stories are full of hot steamy sex, but they're still very sweet and loving. Also, they're just little tastes- most of them are fairly short. Tiny snacks that leave you lots of room to add details or make it fit your own fantasies.
A great read! You'll enjoy this one a lot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Sweet Life: Erotic Fantasies for Couples
Sweet Life: Erotic Fantasies for Couples by Violet Blue (Paperback - November 9, 2001)
$14.95 $13.46
Temporarily out of stock. Order now and we'll deliver when available.
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.