Automotive Deals Best Books of the Month Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Happy Belly Coffee Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer harmonquest_s1 harmonquest_s1 harmonquest_s1  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis Enter for the chance to win front row seats to Barbra Streisand Segway miniPro

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on September 16, 2009
I enjoy a sugar-free lifestyle, but it's difficult to find good dessert recipes without using artificial sweeteners, honey, or molasses. Even the title of this book let me know it would be perfect for me. The recipes are all very easy to make, and so far everything has come out delicious. There are a few ingredients called for that you might not have in your pantry already, but they aren't difficult to find or expensive. These do take a little more time to prepare than a similar product made with an artificial sweetener, but I think it's totally worth it... and you don't get that nasty aftertaste!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 1, 2011
This book is exactly as it says, sweet and natural. For someone who cannot eat sugar and wants to stay away from artifical sweetners it was great to find recipes that still offered a chance at some beautiful desserts!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 29, 1998
Janet Warrington brings a fresh test to dessert. Because she doesn't use sugar or sweetners her dishes taste real and not powered by the sheer sweetness that many dessert cookbooks are loaded with today. She uses a lot of ideas and ingredients that my grandmother uses in making her delicious. It's great to finally have a cookbook of desserts that aims at taste and comfort rather than sugar power.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 7, 2014
I had this book before and lost it in a move. My favorite recipe is... well I love them all but Kiflis are delicious. And Sunshine Squares. My kids grew up with Sunshine squares as birthday cake. It is just a great book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 1, 2013
This book basically creates sweetness out of fructose in fruit. Yes, there are more nutrients in fruit than in traditional sweeteners such as sugar, honey, etc. But there is mounting evidence that fructose is not much better for you than sucrose, so you're probably not doing yourself a lot of favors by baking these recipes.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 3, 2013
It is a really interesting book. I tried the sweet milk and it worked great. I would recommend this book for someone who is cooking for a diabetic. I am borderline and my husband is not a willing participant in the sugar free lifestyle:(
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon December 16, 2008
This recipe book is a strange & unique collection of recipes from the Great Depression (which my grandmother used to make), newer desserts, and sweets of all types. But the author shows you how to make it all without sugar.

It was written in the early 90's, and the author (almost prophetically) points out that nutrasweet and the other old sweeteners don't taste great, but also pose potential health problems.

She has some rather complex ways of sweetening desserts, just like my grandmother used to do when they couldn't afford sugar (i.e., boiling raisins in milk, blending up apples and prunes to your dish, etc).

She has got some really good sugar substitute ideas. Feel free to follow these recipes to the "T" if you're yearning for the tastes and smells of nostalgia. *HOWEVER*...many of these recipes work just as well with a cup of Splenda, or a few drops of Stevia.

Make them the old fashioned way, or do short cuts with new sweeteners (like we do). As an added bonus, the Splenda or Stevia are zero carb and zero GI, so even lower carb than many of the authors solutions. Either way, these deserts fit a variety of lifestyles, whether you're body can't handle too much sugar (diabetics, etc), whether you're cutting sugar for health reasons, or if you are just looking to lose or maintain a healthy weight.

Enjoy!
22 comments| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 16, 2015
Turns out, this is a very nice book. Too much sugar is so bad for us, here you can have dessert without the guilt.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 7, 2008
This book contains very complicated processes in which to make desserts without added sugars aside from fruit sugar, like cooking raisins in milk for a long time. Perhaps when it was written there were not other easier substitutes available like there are today. These recipes are not worth the time and effort. It is easy to find good, simple, recipes for diabetic desserts and baked good nowadays. I never use this book.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 17, 2010
TYPO in your OWN book title! How can I trust your ingredients' measurements if you can't spell your own title correctly?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.