Customer Reviews


237 Reviews
5 star:
 (146)
4 star:
 (38)
3 star:
 (29)
2 star:
 (10)
1 star:
 (14)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A deliciously fun Adventure Into a New lifestyle!
It has been a very long time since I've read an erotica book. I was a little shocked haha .. I guess I feel old. Regardless, this book was super cool and I really like the story and the characters.

The author did a fantastic job bringing the characters to left. The diversity of personalities is a wonderful change.

Sweet Surrender is a book about...
Published on December 21, 2011 by Tilly Slaton

versus
63 of 77 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An exercise in frustration
I really wanted to love this book. It had all the elements I enjoy: strong alpha hero, an intelligent and strong heroine who has a submissive streak sexually, and a suspense plot to keep things interesting.

There were parts of this book I really enjoyed. I liked the hero and heroine a lot. Both characters were engaging and well-drawn, and on paper were ideal...
Published on March 5, 2009 by Aficionado


‹ Previous | 1 224 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

63 of 77 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An exercise in frustration, March 5, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sweet Surrender (Paperback)
I really wanted to love this book. It had all the elements I enjoy: strong alpha hero, an intelligent and strong heroine who has a submissive streak sexually, and a suspense plot to keep things interesting.

There were parts of this book I really enjoyed. I liked the hero and heroine a lot. Both characters were engaging and well-drawn, and on paper were ideal for each other. The problem is in the execution.

In what I'm guessing was an attempt to build sexual tension, the author kept the hero and heroine dancing around a mild flirtation for about the first 1/3 of the book. Now, I love sexual tension in erotic romances when its done well. One of my pet peeves is authors who have the h/h jump into bed right away without giving the reader a chance to want them there. Frankly, we don't see enough sexual tension in erotic romance, in my opinion. Unfortunately it wasn't done well in this book. The hero kept the heroine at arms length to the point of acting like a beta male, nowhere near the take-charge alpha the heroine (and I) was looking for. Worse, conversations and scenes between them became boring after awhile. There was no real tension, just a sense of marking time.

There was also the fact that for a submissive, the heroine spent an awful lot of time trying to control the relationship and force the hero to take charge (I can't say that I blame her. He was annoyingly passive sexually for the first half of the book). To be fair, the author addressed the heroine's attempts to control things; the hero points it out in what becomes a turning point for them. Unfortunately that still means that for more than half the book you have a supposedly submissive heroine acting anything but submissive sexually and a supposedly dominant hero who has to be knocked upside the head before he will begin taking charge.

Toss in a disappointingly thin suspense subplot and the whole book became an exercise in frustration for me. I would also have liked to have known ahead of time that the book includes a menage scene. It's not a deal-breaker for me; they're fine in pure erotica, but I avoid them when I'm reading for romance.

I do think this author has a lot of potential. The erotic scenes (once we finally got them) were very, very hot. Unfortunately they came so late in the book that we never really got a chance to watch these two work out their d/s relationship. They talked a lot about what they were looking for but we never really get to see it play out.

I was excited about this book based on the reviews and the blurb, but I'll be cautious about trying this author again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A deliciously fun Adventure Into a New lifestyle!, December 21, 2011
This review is from: Sweet Surrender (Kindle Edition)
It has been a very long time since I've read an erotica book. I was a little shocked haha .. I guess I feel old. Regardless, this book was super cool and I really like the story and the characters.

The author did a fantastic job bringing the characters to left. The diversity of personalities is a wonderful change.

Sweet Surrender is a book about the relationship between Faith and Gray.

Faith is a sweet and kind woman who is disappointed and unsatisfied with the relationships in which she has found herself. Although the men in her life have been kind and respectful, they have also been entirely too passive for her tastes. She craves a man who will make the decisions for her. She craves submission and to be taken over by the passion that only a real man can give her.

Gray is a cop that is grieving over his dead partner that was murdered. Taking some leave from work, he relocates to Houston where he inserts himself into a security business where Faith works. She is his only lead and he must get close to her in hopes of luring the murderer out into the open.

Fighting the attraction (I just love it when they fight it haha), they both constantly turn away from each other. Avoiding lust filled eyes and sexual tension, the relationship becomes firework worthy explosive.

Deciding to take control of her sexuality, she searches for a way to dive into a new lifestyle. The House is an establishment that hosts a scrumptious amount of room to fulfil almost any fantasy a person can dream of. Need.

Gray refuses to let Faith put herself in that position and walks into The House to bring her home kicking and screaming if he has to. What he finds, sends lightning shooting through his body as well as rage. Trying to prove to Faith what she does and truly does not want, Gray opens up a moment between them that are unable to ignore.

This book has extremely strong sexual content. Mild violence. Forewarning, this is an erotica book that is surrounded by an alternative lifestyle. Read at your own lust filled bravery!

I recommend this book to any lonely housewife. I recommend this book to anyone in general that needs a little spike for their fantasies. I recommend this book to anyone that is searching for something they may feel ashamed of.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


43 of 55 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sweet Surrender, April 18, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sweet Surrender (Paperback)
Gray Montgomery is working on the biggest case of his life. His best friend and partner Alex was murdered, and he cannot rest until the perpetrator is brought to justice. The Dallas police department has been working on it without any forward progress, and Gray decides to follow the lead Alex's father uncovered. He takes a leave of absence from the police department, and goes undercover in Houston to find out what Faith Malone knows because their suspect was last seen in the company of her mother.

After just spending a few moments with Faith, Gray instinctively knows that she had nothing to do with the hit on Alex, but stays in hopes of finding a lead on her mother. Gray finds himself incredibly attracted to Faith, but fights his feelings because of her involvement in his investigation, and he is afraid she couldn't handle his darker sexual tastes. Little does Gray know that Faith craves a strong dominant man. She finds herself thinking about him constantly hoping he is the man she has been looking for. When Gray and Faith finally give into their desires, and it is explosive.

Maya Banks became a must buy for me after Colters' Woman, and her subsequent books never fail to hit the mark. I am always excited to see what she has coming out next. This book was sexy, erotic, and thrilling. I am hoping to maybe see this developed into a series. It sure was set up to. Superb read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars You need a little Faith when times are Gray, January 26, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sweet Surrender (Kindle Edition)
Detective Gray Montgomery is on a mission to find the killer of his partner. After a long recovery and no leads, he takes the advice of his partner's father and follows a lead that takes him to meet Faith Malone, a stranger. With only one goal, to catch a killer, he denies the passion and attraction he feels for Faith. Faith is the sweet, feminine woman he longs to dominate, but he thinks she is only playing games.

Faith is a young woman finding out what she really wants. After many relationships, she knows she wants a man to take care of her. A man she can surrender her heart, body and mind too. When her latest relationship ends amicably, she starts researching BDSM on the internet and finds The House and Damon the owner. Damon leads her through The House cumulating in a spanking by a Dom that does nothing for her, until Gray arrives. Gray showing up changes everything and now she knows what she wants.

But there is a real threat to Faith and Gray must man up and decide what he feels for Faith is more than a game or even a mission.

Sweet Surrender was a good beginning to a series I am looking forward to reading. Most of the love scenes happen towards the end of the book, but they are hot and fast, one coming upon the last one fast. No pun intended. The book is erotica and has some deep sexual scenes including M/M/F, anal sex, bondage, and spankings. If this isn't your cup of tea, then this book won't interest you.

The plot had a few transparent scenes. You know the bad guy up front and his connection to Faith. Faith is the innocent, young girl, but not so young as to not have dated. You assume she is in her early 20s and Gray is in his 30s. Faith was adopted when she was an adult by Pop Malone, gaining a brother Connor. There is also Micah and Nathan who work for Pop and act like brothers to Faith. Hoping the next books are about this hot guys along with Damon.

Not an outstanding, hold onto your seat and douse yourself with water book. It was fun, but just not something I took too seriously. No deep emotions evoked. No tears. Just a fun book and series that I hope gets better with each book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sweet Surrender, March 4, 2008
This review is from: Sweet Surrender (Paperback)
Police officer Grayson Montgomery is on mandated leave. Having lost his partner, Alex, to a rogue criminal months before, Gray only has one physical and psychiatric evaluation standing in his way before he can return to work. When Alex's father, Mick, comes to Gray and asks him to take a leave of absence and follow a lead on Alex's killer, Gray feels he owes it to Alex and arranges another few months off in order to try and find the man who shot Alex down in cold blood. The killer's trail leads to a woman in Houston named Faith Malone. Grayson figures he can get in good with her and then he will find his man. Once that is done, Alex can rest in peace.

Faith Malone and her adopted family run a security company. She spends her time working and her nights craving the touch of a man. The dominant touch of a man who will call the shots, who will take what he wants when he wants. A man unlike any she has ever met. When her family hires Gray Montgomery, Faith can't help but hope that the dominance she sees in his eyes is for real and she sets out to capture the elusive Mr. Montgomery. There is just one problem, he knows what she is doing and he isn't cooperating. Until Faith gives over power and completely surrenders, Gray refuses to even be half the man she hopes for. Surrender, however, comes with a price; a price so steep that Faith may never recover.

Talk about Sweet Surrender! Let me be the first to say that Gray Montgomery can tie me up anytime, anywhere - and let people watch! That alpha man pushed my buttons and steamed my glasses. His dominating personality was just perfectly executed and his tenderness, albeit alpha tenderness, could have made me swoon had I been there experiencing him firsthand. I held my breath, I got teary-eyed, and I smiled. All because of this enticing male character. Faith was so near to me in personality that I more than once winced at her mistakes, although they were innocent ones. Her ability to forgive showed how innocent she truly was and her ability to complete Grayson was awe-inspiring.

I can't get enough of this author. Maya Banks has the ability to whisk me away and make me forget where I am and who I am with--When I read a Maya Banks release, I am right there with the characters and I wouldn't have it any other way. Sweet Surrender releases from Berkley on March 5, 2008. I have already pre-ordered my copy and I personally think others should do the same!

Talia
reviewed for Joyfully Reviewed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 32 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A disappointment, November 28, 2009
By 
Ridley (New England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Sweet Surrender (Paperback)
I am glad I won this book in a contest. Had I paid a trade paperback price for this, I would have been out of my mind with disappointment.

Gray Montgomery is a Dallas cop working undercover, and off the record, to avenge his partner's death on the job. Faith Malone is the office manager at Gray's new job, and her mother is the suspected killer's accomplice. Gray takes this job to get close to Faith to see if she's in cahoots with her mother.

While tapping her phones and invading her privacy illegally (how romantic) the two begin a flirtation. You see, Faith is looking for a dominant man to call all the shots in and out of bed and Gray is looking to do some shot calling. Slam dunk, right? Of course not. Naturally he has to fight his attraction. Why? I don't know. We're never really given a reason. So Faith goes after him. Wicked submissive of her, amirite?

To be fair, Gray does call Faith on her topping from the bottom, but the book gets no less silly. The mysteriously rich sex club owner Damon, on a short, professional acquaintance, offers his Galveston beach house for her solo use for a week (and sends her there via chauffeured Bentley) so she can think about her Gray dilemma. Uh-huh. Sure.

Right after she leaves, Gray's partner's father shows up in Houston all worked up about the suspected killer being nearby. Gray and the people her works with, aka the Cast of Future Heroes, hatch a plan to set a trap to catch the bad guy, who's after Faith to try to kidnap and ransom her. Gray is then sent to Galveston to "protect" Faith with the command from her father to not tell her about all this trouble (foreshadowing should be subtle, this screams INCOMING BIG MISUNDERSTANDING, no?)

What follows is some light D/s play, some backdoor action, a borderline creepy threesome with her friend Micah and enough showering to drain the Great Lakes. Banks' falls into the trap of telling rather than showing when she writes sex. There's a lot of play-by-play where she tells us what body parts are doing to other body parts, but a paucity of emotion and reaction. Gems include, "He continued to thrust against her until finally he stopped....Then he eased out of her body with a gentle pop." So. Not. Hot.

The conclusion to the suspense has gaping holes like a porn actress after a gang bang. What the hell was Mick on about by leading the bad guy to Galveston? Why was he so mean to Faith? Did the bad guy actually kill Gray's partner? Why was Gray unarmed? Why did bad guy leave Faith where she could escape? Why would Faith believe an armed madman's word over Gray's and who the hell asks questions of an armed madman? Surely her relationship drama could've waited.

All told, this book was a chore to read. The secondary characters were woefully underdeveloped, the D/s rather vanilla, the sex tepid and the prose dry. It was a disappointment, as I enjoyed the Samhain books of hers that I read. I doubt I'll read book two, unless I win a copy of that as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hot and Sweet, with a little BDSM thrown in, September 26, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sweet Surrender (Paperback)
This isn't going to make the list of "Greatest Books of All Time," but for what it is, it's fantastic. A romance featuring steamy sex with splashes of bondage and d/s thrown in. For people who want more than just a hint of kink, but who don't want full-blown BDSM, this is a great read. And among 'erotica authors,' Maya Banks definitely stands out as one of the more talented.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


46 of 67 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 5 Klovers - Courtesy of CK2S Kwips & Kritiques, October 30, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sweet Surrender (Paperback)
Barely recovered from his own injury and still reeling from the murder of his partner, police detective Gray Montgomery will do almost anything to bring the killers to justice. But his department in Dallas isn't getting anywhere with the investigation. Worse, they've cut him out of it. Frustrated and determined, Gray teams with his partner's father, a retired cop, to follow the trail to Houston and the doorstep of one Ms. Faith Malone.

From the moment he lays eyes on Faith, Gray's gut tells him she is innocent, even if she does have ties to the murderer. Sweet, delectable Faith brings out every protective instinct he's got, and stirs some very dominant tendencies as well. But Gray has never found a woman who can handle his dominant side, and he is sure that innocent little Faith can't, no matter how much he wishes otherwise.

Faith has never found satisfaction in her relationships, either in or out of bed. She needs something more than the men she knows have been able to give. She wants someone to take control - not only for a night, not just in bed, but in all aspects of the relationship. When she meets Gray, she recognizes a man who can fulfill her every fantasy, if only she can figure out a way to prove she is the woman he needs...

With Maya Banks' second New York print release, I realize I just may need another bookcase in the next year with a few shelves reserved for her work! This author's accomplishments in the writing arena grow with every new release, and this reviewer never ceases to be impressed with Ms. Banks' imagination and skill.

Sweet Surrender is a story ripe with potential for sequels, with a solid cast of supporting characters as intriguing as the hero and heroine. Yet for all the interest she stirs in the secondary characters, Banks easily manages to prevent them from overshadowing the main characters. Do we want to see more of hunks Connor, Nathan, Micah, and Damon? Heck, yes! But this book very definitely belongs to Gray and Faith.

Gray is your typical tortured hero - only he never feels typical. Not one little bit. Not only is Gray fighting to capture his late friend's killer, but his own internal demons. He struggles with guilt over a necessary deception, concern that he wants more from Faith than she can give, and fear that he might lose her forever. For a man as in control as Gray is, that internal struggle is perhaps more worrisome than the murder investigation he is conducting. But once he sees Faith for who she truly is and decides what he really wants, the doubt falls away and the man we've caught glimpses of throughout the story shines through.

Faith is absolutely beautiful. She is warm and giving, qualities that are bound to make a submissive desirable to any man, but which beckon to Gray as sweetly as any Siren's song. In the beginning, she is simultaneously unsure of what she really needs from a relationship, and afraid to admit what she suspects it is. As she begins to explore her submissive side, she learns more about herself than she ever expected. And she soon discovers that what she needs can only be found in the arms of one man.

Through it all, Banks tells an intriguing tale of suspense, with an action packed climax guaranteed to keep you biting your nails!

I absolutely adored Sweet Surrender!! This story ran my heart through the wringer more than once, ultimately leaving me with a more than satisfying ending - the kind of ending that makes me believe in real-life romance. I will be crossing my fingers for many sequels to this fantastic story of love and suspense!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Push pull to love love, June 6, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sweet Surrender (Paperback)
Grayson is sent to Huston by his adoptive father to find the killer of his brother and partner on the police force. They have a lead that is linked to Faith in a security firm. They have an instant attraction, but not knowing if she is involved with the bad guy Gray pushes, Faith pulls. Faith is looking for dominance yearning to be a submissive, for a good portion she tries to control situations to a suitable outcome. She knows what she wants, just doesn't know how to get it. Grayson finally understands her motives and tries to set things right.
I understand that this novel was trying to build up the sexual tension between the two, it didn't pull me in as well as some other novels have. I enjoyed the characters and their development. I liked Micah, Conner, Nathan, Damon and Pop. When the damn finally broke between Faith and Gray it was passionate and sweet, but I easily put down the book. It was a sweet romance, I wouldn't read it again. Maybe i'm having an off day, towards the end I was bored. The subplot wasn't suspense full at all. Overall it was okay i give 3.5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 5 blue ribbons from Romance Junkies, March 4, 2008
By 
This review is from: Sweet Surrender (Paperback)
Having lost his best friend and partner Alex in the line of duty Grayson Montgomery isn't sure he's really ready to return to his job. After talking to Mick Winslow, Alex's father, and being stonewalled by police bureaucracy, it's obvious that Alex's murder will go unpunished - a fact he will not allow to happen.

Mick's looking into the circumstances surrounding his son's death has garnered information which the current chief of police chooses to completely disregard. Mick's hopes of catching a killer lie in enlisting Gray's help and the belief that Faith Malone's tenuous link to her mother can lead them to the man in question - Eric Samuels.

Faith Malone works for her adopted father, William, at Malone and Sons Security. She's a simple girl just trying to find happiness in life after surviving a difficult childhood caring for her drug-addicted mother. The only time she hears from her mother is if she needs money and hasn't heard from her in a year.

Through Mick's connections, Gray secures a job at the security company which puts him in the perfect position to get close to Faith. On his very first day there he witnesses her reaction to a phone call which he believes to be from her mother. Faith isn't anything like he expects and he feels bad for using her in an attempt to get to her mother and Samuel. Gray finds it difficult to remain detached from Faith and the more he learns about her the faster his attraction grows. It reaches a breaking point when he learns that she's visiting a sexual fantasy club referred to as The House. There's no way sweet, innocent little Faith could possibly know what she's getting herself into - or so he thinks. Faith has done all the settling she's going to for vanilla sex and passive men. She's looking for a real man - one who's willing to take control and make her feel safe and protected and there's no denying that many aspects of Dominance and submission turn her on in a big way. Gray's dedication to finding Alex's killer has never wavered but he's drowning in guilt for his deception. Faith's refusal to cave into her mother's pleas for money puts her in an extremely precarious position, especially since Samuels refuses to take `no' for an answer. Can Gray protect Faith and still manage to catch a killer? And how will Faith feel about being `used'?

With her newest release, SWEET SURRENDER, Maya Banks delivers all the intensity and sexual tension that have quickly endeared her to readers. From the moment each character is introduced in this story they take on a very personal `friend' quality and I found that I wanted to know more about each and every one of them. I got a huge laugh out of Faith's venture into The House - not because she was shocked by anything that went on in there but because of how Gray reacts. I swear you could practically feel the rage radiating off of him over the thought of another man touching `his woman.' I especially developed a fondness for Damon, the proprietor of The House. He's so genuinely likeable and up-front about his own desires that I'm hoping we'll see more of him in a future book - as well as Faith's brothers - you just have to love these guys!

SWEET SURRENDER has it all - sexual tension, suspense, characters that live on in your memory even after you've put the book down, but most importantly there's a feeling that you belong - that you're part of this group of people. Maya Banks's storylines are always full of situations that captivate readers, but it's the emotional pull you experience which brings the stories to life. Beautifully written!

Chrissy Dionne (courtesy of Romance Junkies)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 224 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Sweet Surrender
Sweet Surrender by Maya Banks (Mass Market Paperback - December 4, 2012)
$7.99 $7.19
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.