Customer Reviews


192 Reviews
5 star:
 (113)
4 star:
 (35)
3 star:
 (17)
2 star:
 (13)
1 star:
 (14)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


30 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Definite Temptation for Erotic Romance lovers & Maya Banks fans
Micah lost his wife as well as his best friend in a tragic accident that left him unable to cope with the painful memories of his loss, so he moves to a different city and creates a new life for himself in hopes to be able to forget the agony of all that he has lost with their deaths. Each year he makes a pilgrimage to their graves, then secretly visits a club to submit...
Published on April 6, 2010 by Booklover1335

versus
108 of 116 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars When the bad-boy hero is so bad you root for the villain
Angelina moves to Houston to flee a stalker and to woo her true love Micah, who sees Angelina like a kid sister. Angelina is a submissive who will do anything to convince Dom Micah that she is the woman for him.

Maya Banks is a talented writer whose story telling gets better and better. She has a smooth style and I've enjoyed several of her books, especially...
Published on September 19, 2010 by Hooked


‹ Previous | 1 220 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

108 of 116 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars When the bad-boy hero is so bad you root for the villain, September 19, 2010
By 
Hooked (Midwest, USA) - See all my reviews
Angelina moves to Houston to flee a stalker and to woo her true love Micah, who sees Angelina like a kid sister. Angelina is a submissive who will do anything to convince Dom Micah that she is the woman for him.

Maya Banks is a talented writer whose story telling gets better and better. She has a smooth style and I've enjoyed several of her books, especially the Sweet series. I liked the characters and was pulling for our hero Micah and our heroine Angelina to come together up until the football game at about p. 200. At this point I think Banks alienated her readers - at least me - as I took myself out of the story and shook my head.

Our former nice guy from the other books Micah treated Angelina so badly that I started rooting for the stalker (at least he sent chocolates and flowers). I wanted the stalker to rescue Angelina from her horrid boyfriend Micah who "gave" her to his buddies, at one point leaving the room, while they held her down and used her. But apparently she likes this, which is why I felt sorry for Angelina and wanted her to get some therapy for her low self-esteem. At this point I ceased to care whether Micah worked out his issues or discovered he really loved Angelina since I wanted him to choke on a gag ball.

Football stats: It almost takes a spread sheet to keep track of the football game gang-bang that went on for 40 pages. This really was a complicated and skillfully executed piece of writing but it did push the limits of my suspended disbelief. First, you have to believe a Texan would choose sex over football. Then in a 4-hour game (adding an hour for over time and the postgame show) 4 guys in their mid-thirties jizzed 12 times. (I don't think this is possible after about age 18.) During 8 mostly ménage sex acts, including 3 BDSM acts with wax, whips, a beam etc., Angelina endured 9 front-door penetrations, 3 back-door penetrations, 6 oral penetrations and apparently had 5 orgasms -- even though the guys used her hair as a bridal and stuffed her mouth so she couldn't breathe -- or say "stop", not that she would -- but it's fiction, so ok. In my opinion Angelina was treated worse than a whore so I think Micah and pals owe her some cash. Even at the bargain rate of 50 bucks an entry, I think she should bill a good 900 for this football game -- and reimbursement for the medical expenses any woman without steel orifices would incur. I know, I know this is erotic fiction, so she's ok. Reality is tissue tearing, blood, fecal incontinence, abrasions and infection, but who wants to read about that.

Plot wise Banks has got to call a moratorium on the kidnapper scenario. Of the six Banks books I've read four have used the bad guy kidnapping the heroine as the turning point into the dramatic conclusion. She's got to stop it, or buy new plot software or something.

This book is good for readers who enjoy reading about total dominance, sharing, pushing a sub's limits and ménage BDSM acts; readers who like Nathan and Julie will enjoy a couple very romantic scenes with them in it; and for writers who want to study how a good orgy scene is written (it was very skillfully done, you have to admit). But if you are looking for a traditional romance, standard Dom/sub scenes, original plot twists, or character arcs this isn't the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 31 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars "Wanted to Love, But Had Trouble Finding My Groove", June 13, 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The Plot: The fourth book in Maya Banks's Sweet series tells the story of Micah. Micah's mysterious past comes to full light in this book--the tragic story of how his wife and best friend were killed in a tragic car accident and how he abandoned his best friend's kid sister, Angelina, in Miami when he fled the city trying to escape his past. But, Angelina is now all grown up and has been longing for Micah for years, waiting for him to move past the loss of his wife and to be able to love again. Taking cues that he is finally ready, Angelina moves to Houston to try to seduce Micah and, while she finds his friends more than welcoming, Micah is resistant to her advances at best. On top of this, Angelina's mysterious Miami stalker has followed her to Houston and begun threatening her and her newfound friends.

Zelda's Take: In the first three books of the Sweet series, Micah comes off as a true-blue kind of guy. He's good looking, likes to play, a hard worker and extremely loyal to his friends. What we don't see lurking below the surface is that he has run from his old life Miami, from the memories of his wife and lover... his best friends. We find that he has also run from the orphaned kid-sister of his best friend, whom he'd promised his best friend he'd care for in the event anything ever happened to him. He just walked. And forgot about her. It's kind of sad.

So Micah is obviously damaged goods--he has baggage and emotional issues that would be hard for anyone to move beyond. That being said, he responds to Angelina in what I felt was a really rude and inappropriate manner. He's downright mean to her when he is obviously attracted to her at the same time. Not only is he downright mean to her, but I feel he also uses her when he tells her that he'll play with her sexually, but won't ever give her anything more. Micah character fail. Boo.

Which moves us to the play. And, oh, does Micah play with Angelina. He takes this girl every which way to Sunday and there's no question he likes it rough with some pretty hard-core BDSM. As with some of Banks's previous Sweet books, it is the sex in this one that redeems it in my eyes. Despite this, what bugs me is that Angelina is willing to take any- and everything that Micah throws her way without expecting anything in return from him. She is happy enough to just give herself to him despite the fact that that he is wholly disrespectful of her. I have issues with weak women who won't stand up for themselves, and have a hard time respecting Angelina for forsaking so much of herself here.

On top of this, with the stalker/kidnapper Banks has brought in another nefarious plotline that seems a bit too ancillary to be real and relevant to the story. I just found it unecessary and a bit contrived. Not to mention Micah's seemingly miraculous turnaround once he knows Angelina is in danger... all of a sudden he is a changed man!

So, unfortunately, as hot as I thought Micah was going into this book and as excited as I was to get some more time with him in the House, his treatment of Angelina in this book really bothered me. Sure, I get that he was struggling through his issues, but I just don't see that as a worthy enough excuse. That being said, the sex was still hot, so I can say that it's still a worthy read for some good BDSM play, but if it had to float on it's plot and character-development alone, we'd have a swiftly sinking ship.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Definite Temptation for Erotic Romance lovers & Maya Banks fans, April 6, 2010
By 
Micah lost his wife as well as his best friend in a tragic accident that left him unable to cope with the painful memories of his loss, so he moves to a different city and creates a new life for himself in hopes to be able to forget the agony of all that he has lost with their deaths. Each year he makes a pilgrimage to their graves, then secretly visits a club to submit to inflicted pain as a physical manifestation and release from his grief and anguish that he suppresses and hides in his replacement life.

Angel is a determined, strong, and resilient woman who knows what she wants...and she wants Micah. She will stop at virtually nothing to prove to Micah that she is the one woman who understands him and can fulfill both of their needs. Running from a stalker she feels the timing is perfect to pursue Micah; to let him know how she feels about him and hopefully gain his love while hiding from the dangerous admirer who is pursuing her.

I've loved the Sweet series, and Sweet Temptation is no exception. One of the things that I think Maya Banks does so well is create a world of friends that readers crave to know more about again and again. Readers of this series will not be disappointed as they get a glimpse into the lives of the characters they have grown to love. I think her dialogue between friends whether they be male or female is close to genius. When reading these passages it feels exactly like you could be there taking part in the fun.

That being said, I had some serious doubts about Micah as a hero about half way through the book. I questioned whether I liked Micah because of how he treated and reacted to Angel...in more than one scene. But Micah is a very complex Alpha hero. He feels guilt, rage, desire, fear, lust....and finally love. Those are a lot of emotions to have to deal with and all of these emotions translate in their sexual encounters.

At first, Angel feels that she needs to prove to Micah that she can handle all of his dark and demanding sexual needs. Their relationship is illustrated through many love scenes, some of which I initially thought were a bit excessive (even for an erotic romance), but the more I reflected on the story the more I realized that the sex scenes were a very carefully orchestrated series of escalating events that progressively intensified with Micah's growing need to prove and test not only himself, but also Angel. The more he pushes her, and the more it seemed like the sex scenes were deliberately unemotional on Micah's part, the more it showed his growing obsession and craving for her acceptance and love. He continuously tries to prove to himself that his feelings for Angel are nothing more than lust. Micah is an overwhelming alpha and Dominant hero.

Angel continuously tries to demonstrate to Micah that she can take anything he can dish, and tries to reveal her love for him by being submissive and accepting of his wants, needs, and desires....including accepting that she may never have the kind of love that he had for his deceased wife. At times I wanted to shake Angel and have her realize that she was worthy of his love, not just his acceptance...to not solely focus on Micah's needs, but to discover her own worthiness of love. And in the end she does. She realizes that she is worthy of the kind of love he had for his first wife and is not satisfied to settle for a relationship where her love is not returned in full measure.

Maya Banks pulled the story together beautifully. I loved the way the book ended with an intimate scene between Angel and Micah, not of a sex scene as an expression of their love for each other. Instead it was with a heartfelt declaration that honestly showed what he was willing to do to earn the love that Angel gave so freely. It was much more meaningful, and I felt that it really showed the progression of their relationship that began with sex, but ended with words of love.

Sweet Temptation is intensely sexual, just like its hero Micah. It is also endearing because of the friendships, emotional and heartrending because of all that Angel and Micah go through, as well as suspenseful with just the right amount of danger to declare that in the end, love is triumphant. It is totally and completely engrossing. I think you will feel a wide range of emotions when reading this story, one which is definitely a sweet temptation for romance lovers. Read and enjoy all of the books in this series. I know I have! I've found that I've developed a "sweet tooth" for Maya Banks and anxiously await each novel.

My favorite scene:

(a few sentences have been deleted because it gave away too much of the story, however it doesn't diminish it's meaningfulness IMO)

He stared back down at her face, her lashes resting delicately against her cheeks, the dark smudges beneath her eyes, like bruises.

This....this was what loved looked like. Vulnerable yet strong. Constant, unwavering...He was absolutely, completely unworthy of her loyalty. The magnitude of injustice he'd heaped on her was enough to make him sick. He'd treated her like some sexual conquest, a toy to slake his lust while he kept his heart guarded and safe...

He bent and whispered against her soft skin, "I never want you to know another day without my love, Angel girl." P 337-338

Ratings: 4.75 stars (this one is hot, even for an erotic romance...some BDSM, menage with 4 men, and many sex scenes with just the H/h)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Could not be further from romance..., April 30, 2012
This review is from: Sweet Temptation (Kindle Edition)
This book will appeal to those people who want to read about a woman being sexually abused by her "boyfriend's" pals. With a boyfriend like Micah, who needs sexual sadists and rapists. There was not a likable character in this book... that is in the part of the book I could manage to get through. More importantly, there was not a man that would appeal to you, and isn't that why we read romance? To me the other books pushed the limit, but the dominant men at least cared for their submissives, showed respect. This was abusive sex, by disgusting men. I finally deleted the book from my reader....never even finishing the obscene, grotesque, abusive gang bang scene. It made me sick. I'm not sure why Ms. Banks felt the need to take this D/s theme so far, but all I know is that i'm done. I even deleted the next book in the series without reading it. Lastly, I don't care if the female lead loved pain. I don't care if she was game for a gang bang. I don't care that she was a willing participant, it was sexual assault, pure and simple. I do care that the romantic lead, "hero" of the book arranged the sadistic scene, allowed it, participated in, and worst of all enjoyed it. No man that cares for a woman would have allowed what occurred in this book to happen. In fact, most men would not allow it, even if they did know the woman.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Demeaning porn masquerading as erotica, March 18, 2012
I would like to say that dom/sub relationships are about trust, respect, consent and mutual pleasure. From the most "vanilla" BDSM play to the most hardcore, all those qualities are a foundation. I don't know what this novel is, but BDSM erotica, it isnt. The heroine is seriously disrespected and abused, by the hero no less, her pleasure is non existent, also, I think she might be suffering from low self esteem issues. The gang bang was sickening beyond belief. When someone who supposedly cares about you, treats you like a possession and passes you off to his buddies to be degraded, I think it is well within your rights to punch them and take off. She could have done better, so much better. The hero is an abusive jerk, I absolutely do not believe this marriage is going to be a happy one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I accepted it for what it is... and really liked it!, April 14, 2010
This was a much darker, hardcore offering than some of the others in the series. Given Micah's core/true character shaped by his devastating personal history - which was only hinted at in the other books - that really wasn't a surprise. Nor, in my opinion, was it off-base. I personally did not find it at all inconsistent that the other women who were leads in the other books in the series got a "kinder, gentler" Micah. His deep emotions were never triggered with them. While he had grown to care about his friends/colleagues in the few years he'd lived in Houston, there was only so far he let them in.

Enter Angelina... who lowered his defenses and hit his core of pain. First, because she reminded him of the loss of his beloved wife and best friend. Then because she stoked the guilt he belatedly felt for essentially abandoning her... and finally because he began to see her and care about her deeply, in a very different light. And because of that, there were times when for him he felt his very survival depended on pushing her away, hitting back hard, trying to convince himself and her that they were never going to be a long-term, loving proposition.

Even so, again in my opinion, I think he gave himself away at almost every turn with gentle, tender moments. Sometimes these were just the merest flash of a moment in the midst of hardcore, seemingly impersonal kink. But those activities were not at all inconsistent with the lifestyle portrayed. Now, that lifestyle may not be most people's cup of tea, perhaps, but I do believe within the context of those sort of BDSM interludes that involved sharing, there was foundation of respect and concern on the part of all the men. I especially loved Cole in that regard.

It was somewhat glossed over, but nonetheless mentioned, that over the few weeks that Micah and Angelina were hanging out at The House, a routine evolved that had plenty of close, non-sexual moments where the bond between them grew. Those weeks were not shown, but Angelina thought about them so they were mentioned.

Sorry I'm getting long-winded. I understand all the reasons some had issues with this particular book, yet in the end - for me - it still worked as an ultimate love-story, taken in the context of the dark history, emotional pain/conflict and more hardcore BDSM nature of this pairing/book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Bitter Temptation, September 13, 2012
I like to have some romance and love in my erotica and this one just didn't have it. Perhaps it's a matter of personal preference and lifestyle choices, but I just cannot see how love can exist with someone as dominant and messed up as Micah. I also think that Angelina nees to have her head examined as well.

The sex scenes were definitely very hot and well-written, but they still left a bad taste afterwards because the gangbang scene, while hot, was also very cold in terms of emotions. My honest reaction while reading it was that Angelina was some very high-priced and hard-core porn star or hooker in training. There was no concern shown for her well-being and they treated her as simply an orifice--or three orifices.

Yes, the writing was hot, but there was nothing "sweet" about it and quite frankly, nothing very "tempt"ing either. Micah needs therapy to get over his guilt issues, not sex therapy. And Angelina just comes across like someone who was sexually and emotionally abused as a child.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A bit much, May 24, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sweet Temptation (Kindle Edition)
I really liked Micah's story, but there were a couple scenes in there I couldn't take. I had to skim past them. I like a good Dom/Sub book with a lot of steam to back it up. But the "sharing" parts were actually more vulgar than erotic, and make my stomach turn. It was just too much. And frankly...no woman on the earth could be put through all the sexual things he put her through and still be standing. Once I skipped over that...it was still good to see why Micah is like he is!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars She craved more; he was her drug..stupid female!, August 5, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I always wondered about Micah Hudsons' history...well, now we know. This story starts off with a high octane 5 star BANG but quickly falls to a 4 star predicable plot (painfully so)! As intriguing as it was to see calm, cool, Micah thrown off his game, this story quickly descends to a low 3 star reading, and continues to plummet further from there.

I've always liked Micah...no matter his "kinks", he was just...."likable" ...still, I found it very satisfying in a perverse pleasurable kind of way, to find Micah attracted to the one female in his life that he feels off limits to. What a delicious mess!! And for the most part Ms. Banks spells his dilemma out so well...

Angelina Moyano craves the darker erotic edge of sex [so she's a perfect match for Micah] - -all she wants is Micah....all she's EVER wanted is Micah and he's all but blind to this fact. No matter how far Micah runs from Angelina and his emotional, traumatic past (for reasons I won't disclose), it eventually catches up to him. Sometimes his reason[s] for running from Angelina kinda/sorta makes sense- - even though Angelina desires to be "owned" by Micah, he doesn't reciprocate those feelings...at first. He's so emotionally damaged that he feels unworthy of loving again, so he's got huge defenses set up around his emotions. He feels Angelina deserves better...blah blah.... But...life threatening events and circumstances throw these two main characters together....(but of course!) There always seems to be a psychobutt loose and on the prowl for our female heroines.

This story had promise, until the football game scene. After that it was just one moronic, grimacing, monotonous, humiliating sex scene after another... These men are even proud of themselves when their toy falls unconscious! I mean, how many ways, positions, partners can we toss in the mix?!? Here there's an actual dramatic plot developing and Ms. Banks falls back to degrading sex scenes to move & fill the story. Gimme a frikkin' break! Similar to Faith & Gray's story, this story had some actual mystery added too. Very intriguing as a whole...for a while. Then Ms. Banks blows it with continual, raunchy tripe. Even had little "side bars" on the progression of a few of the other couples (Julie/Nathan...Faith/Gray)...and introduces a "set-up" to Connors upcoming story.

Anyway, I hated how Angelina continually threw herself at Micah and kept chasing him after he repeatedly rejects her and "shares" her with his buddies...[wants his pals to envy him for this hawt woman who'll do anything]. Yeah, I know he's fighting his demons...still it burned my biscuits to see how he treated her and she dumb enough to accept it and keep coming back for more. Talk about low self-esteem!

Then he loses her...and it's the age old adage...."ya don't appreciate what you've got until you lose it".

Anyway, even though Micah is so afraid of loving again... it still occurs before he realizes what's happening. And that's a whole 'nother set of problems for him to come to grips with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Nothing sweet about it, January 11, 2012
Okay, so I didn't like Sweet Temptation. I'm fussy about my BDSM novels. It's very difficult to portray extreme elements of BDSM well if you don't have first hand knowledge of the lifestyle.

The hero in this book treats the heroine more like a piece of property than someone he wants a relationship with and then decides later that he wants something more traditional. I get what the author was attempting to do, and objectification is a very real aspect of certain Master/slave relationships, but there was no relationship to speak of here. It was just a man using a woman and letting his friends use her. The trust building it takes to gain that kind devotion from a slave wasn't present in this book. The heroine threw herself at the hero and he took full advantage of the fact that she would do anything for him. He came across rather like a domineering manipulator who had a liking for very kinky sex instead of a Master Dominant.

The stalker plot line felt like an afterthought and there wasn't any romance, but there was PLENTY of sex -- pages and pages and pages of it. It felt kind like a vanilla person's version of BDSM porn. I'm talking multiple whippings, which didn't hurt as much as the candle wax by the way, paddling, bondage, nipple clamps with teeth, double penetration, lots of semen spraying, deep-throating to the point of gagging, oh and the anal virgin who can take it from four guys in one night and not really be sore the next day.

There was just too much about this book that felt forced and contrived. We did get glimpses of the secondary characters that I liked and I won't spoil it for anyone, but at least there was that
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 220 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Sweet Temptation
Sweet Temptation by Maya Banks
$10.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.