Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your email address or mobile phone number.

Qty:1
  • List Price: $17.99
  • Save: $0.82 (5%)
FREE Shipping on orders over $35.
Only 3 left in stock (more on the way).
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com. Gift-wrap available.
Sweet Venom (Sweet Sixtee... has been added to your Cart
Condition: Used: Good
Comment: Help us save a tree! This book is a copy that has been read, but remains in clean condition. All pages and the cover are intact. Is Ex-Library and will have the usual markings, stamps and possibly a mylar cover.
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See all 2 images

Sweet Venom (Sweet Sixteen) Hardcover – September 6, 2011

4.1 out of 5 stars 190 customer reviews
Book 1 of 3 in the Sweet Venom Series

See all 6 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Price
New from Used from
Kindle
"Please retry"
Hardcover
"Please retry"
$17.17
$6.95 $0.01

Raging Sea
The Undertow Trilogy
For fans of Rick Yancey and Marie Lu, "Raging Sea" is the latest electrifying addition to this much-anticipated trilogy from author Michael Buckley. Hardcover | Kindle book
$17.17 FREE Shipping on orders over $35. Only 3 left in stock (more on the way). Ships from and sold by Amazon.com. Gift-wrap available.

Frequently Bought Together

  • Sweet Venom (Sweet Sixteen)
  • +
  • Sweet Legacy (Sweet Venom)
  • +
  • Sweet Shadows (Sweet Venom)
Total price: $44.22
Buy the selected items together


Editorial Reviews

About the Author

Tera Lynn Childs is the award-winning author of several books for teens, including the first two books in the Sweet Venom series, the mermaid romances Forgive My Fins, Fins Are Forever, and Just for Fins, as well as another mythology-inspired series, including Oh. My. Gods. and Goddess Boot Camp. Although Tera always dreamed of discovering a secret twin (or triplet), she is sad to report she remains an only child.

NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE

Image
Looking for the Audiobook Edition?
Tell us that you'd like this title to be produced as an audiobook, and we'll alert our colleagues at Audible.com. If you are the author or rights holder, let Audible help you produce the audiobook: Learn more at ACX.com.

Product Details

  • Series: Sweet Sixteen (Book 1)
  • Hardcover: 352 pages
  • Publisher: Katherine Tegen Books; First Edition edition (September 6, 2011)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0062001817
  • ISBN-13: 978-0062001818
  • Product Dimensions: 5.5 x 1.1 x 8.2 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 2 pounds (View shipping rates and policies)
  • Average Customer Review: 4.1 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (190 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #1,457,891 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Author

Tera Lynn Childs is the RITA-award-winning young adult author of the mythology-based Oh. My. Gods. series, the Forgive My Fins mermaid romance series, the kick-butt monster-hunting Sweet Venom trilogy, and the Darkly Fae series. She also writes the City Chicks sweet chick lit romance series and is co-writing the Hero Agenda and CreativeHeArts series. Tera lives nowhere in particular and spends her time writing wherever she can find a comfy chair and a steady stream of caffeinated beverages.

To stay up to date, follow her on Amazon (amazon.com/author/tlc) or sign up for her free newsletter (eepurl.com/bJm__v).

Customer Reviews

Top Customer Reviews

Format: Hardcover
When I hear the word `Medusa' it immediately conjures up the famous Ray Harryhausen snake haired creature from the original Clash of the Titans movie. SWEET VENOM by Tera Lynn Childs' version bears little resemblance. Instead, she imagines teenage monster hunters who are the only ones who can see the mythological beasties that prey on humanity. No snake hair. No serpent bodies. No turning people to stone with a glance. These descendants of Medusa have lethal venom laced fangs, the ability to hypnotize with their eyes, and three powers uniquely theirs.

Gretchen, Grace, and Greer are the three monster hunters who were separated at birth. All three do have very distinct personalities, which I appreciated, but those distinctions all kiss the cliché line more than I would like. Gretchen is the tough and jaded one who has been fighting monsters for years on her own. She's super sarcastic and supremely unimpressed with everything. She took a long time for me to warm up to and is responsible for the less than stellar start in SWEET VENOM. Grace is the sweet, brainy sister. She's big into computers and not so much into sticking up for herself. Greer is the sister we meet towards the end of the book. She's the socialite snob who is more concerned with not ruining her shoes than with the monsters attacking them.

Imagine teenaged Charmed but with Greek Mythology and you get SWEET VENOM. Not all the sisters endeared themselves to me, but the mythological ride was a fun one. I also really liked the guys in this book, two of whom clearly have big secrets they are keeping. In fact, I would have loved to read a whole book just about Grace and her mysterious older brother. Fair warning about the ending.
Read more ›
Comment 24 of 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Hardcover
I didn't start to really get into this book until about ¾ of the way through, which was disappointing. It's not that the story was lacking or the characters were dull it's just that it lacked excitement for me. I absolutely love love LOVE Grace and Thane. I looked forward to a chapter when I saw it was told from Grace's point of view but Greer absolutely annoyed me (until the very end) and Gretchen was OK. Though, I liked Gretchen's situation with her `love' interest, Nick. Some can say he would be annoying but he also is very motivated to go after what he wants and honestly, you have to respect that.

I'm kind of bummed. Now that I got all into the book and was excited for what was happening, the book ended. Now I have to wait and hope the next book (SWEET SHADOWS) continues with the excitement the book finally delivered.

I love all the Greek Mythology involved in this book and I just know we'll be seeing so much more in the next book to come, and that really gets me bouncy with anticipation. I love the idea of Medusa and the fact that her true story was fabricated and now it's what we all believe. With the opening chapter, when she mentioned she was wearing sunglasses I just assumed it was to prevent her from killing someone accidentally but I like what Tera Lynn Childs did much better.

I feel like the minority who didn't really enjoy this book, which is weird for me. I usually like practically anything you place in front of me. It's not that I hated this, because I didn't...but I just didn't care for it. It's not one I'd pay for to own. Though, I am glad I read it so if you're looking for a fantasy novel that is much different from vampires, werewolves, faeries, etc then you should pick up a copy of this book. If anything, it's a quick read.
Comment 5 of 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Hardcover Vine Customer Review of Free Product ( What's this? )
Grace's family moves to San Francisco when she gets a full-ride scholarship to the elite prep school, Alpha. She hopes to recreate herself, but has no idea just how much her life is going to change. She is shocked when she sees her first monster - a minotaur. The next day she sees two more while out at a club with her brother and his friend. She is even more amazed when she sees a girl who looks just like her, who fights the monsters. Gretchen, as it turns out, is her sister and Grace - like Gretchen - is descended from a mythological figure whose descendants are charged with defending humans against the monsters.

I really loved this book - it's engaging, the characters are very realistic, and it is very easy to relate to them. The plot, with narration interweaving between each of the sisters, flows smoothly and provides a closer glimpse into their lives. I found myself very intrigued by both Thane - Grace's brother - and Nick - a new student at Gretchen's school. I believe both characters are much more than they seem and will play an integral part in the story to come. I highly suspect there will be additional books in this series and am quite looking forward to following the story as it develops. This is a great mixture of reality and mythology and I think would be classified as magical realism - highly recommended!
Comment 2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Hardcover
Told in alternating voices between the three sisters, Sweet Venom is the beginning of a new series for young adults about triplets Gretchen, Grace and Greer: sixteen-year-old descendents of the misunderstood Gorgon, Medusa, who are destined to spend their lives as huntresses, sending monsters who cross into the human realm to hunt back to where they belong. At the outset of the novel, only Gretchen is aware of her role as a monster hunter. Unaware that she even has a sister, let alone two identical twins, Gretchen encounters Grace, a recent transplant to San Francisco, by chance and is surprised to find that the girl who looks just like her also seems to have the ability to see monsters. It seems that San Francisco, the setting of the novel, is home to a gap between the monster realm and the human realm. Monsters roam the city disguised as humans, and only the three huntresses have the ability to see their true forms and, using their fangs, dispatch the monsters. At first, Grace is excited to meet her twin, but wary of training with the Rambo-like Gretchen to fight minotaurs, draeconas, and other "beasties." When Grace and Gretchen discover they have a third sister, Greer, it seems that they've stumbled upon more than they bargained for about the truth of their heritage and their role in securing the safety of the human realm.

Fans of Greek mythology will relish the first installment of the Medusa Girls trilogy by veteran author Tera Lynn Childs. Full of references to the residents of Mount Olympus (apparently, Athena was jealous of Medusa and fabricated the whole "snake haired killer" scenario), ancient monsters, oracles and more, this novel offers a fun and fresh take on some very old characters.
Read more ›
Comment 4 of 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Most Recent Customer Reviews

Set up an Amazon Giveaway

Amazon Giveaway allows you to run promotional giveaways in order to create buzz, reward your audience, and attract new followers and customers. Learn more
Sweet Venom (Sweet Sixteen)
This item: Sweet Venom (Sweet Sixteen)
Price: $17.17
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com

Want to discover more products? Check out these pages to see more: jennifer donnelly books, teen book series