Buy New
$13.49
Qty:1
  • List Price: $14.99
  • Save: $1.50 (10%)
FREE Shipping on orders over $35.
Temporarily out of stock.
Order now and we'll deliver when available.
Order now and we'll deliver when available. We'll e-mail you with an estimated delivery date as soon as we have more information. Your account will only be charged when we ship the item.
Details
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com.
Gift-wrap available.
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Sweets: A New Orleans Crime Story Paperback – September 27, 2011


Amazon Price New from Used from
Paperback
"Please retry"
$13.49
$9.94 $3.35


Frequently Bought Together

Sweets: A New Orleans Crime Story + Saga, Vol. 1
Price for both: $19.51

One of these items ships sooner than the other.

Buy the selected items together
  • Saga, Vol. 1 $6.02

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought

NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE

Best Books of the Month
Best Books of the Month
Want to know our Editors' picks for the best books of the month? Browse Best Books of the Month, featuring our favorite new books in more than a dozen categories.

Product Details

  • Paperback: 120 pages
  • Publisher: Image Comics (September 27, 2011)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1607064138
  • ISBN-13: 978-1607064138
  • Product Dimensions: 10.2 x 6.6 x 0.2 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 13.6 ounces (View shipping rates and policies)
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (3 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #1,541,950 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Editorial Reviews

Review

"A visual triumph...it gave me the same chill I would get when reading old Frank Miller comics"
--Ain't It Cool


"Pretty close to a perfect crime story"
--Image Addiction


"A bob-and-weave of story that talks like a Tarantino film"
--Crave


"This kind of care and craftsmanship isn't just art it's magic"
--Newsarama


"Reads like some of the best episodes of Homicide Life on the Street"
--Comics Nexus

About the Author

Kody Chamberlain (b. 1972) is a native of Thibodaux, Louisiana. He  relocated to Lafayette in 1993 to attend the University of Louisiana at Lafayette where he earned a BFA in Advertising Design. After working for several top advertising agencies, he started his own design studio in 1999 where he offered a diverse set of client services for print and web. Early in 2004, he started his carreer as a professional comic book artist and hasn't looked back. Kody is known for working in a diverse range of styles and will often adapt visually to better suit the tone of the story being told. This is most obvious by comparing Sweets to his first creator-owned comic series Punks with co-creator Joshua Hale Fialkov. Kody loves spending quality time with friends and family, and enjoys cooking classic Cajun dishes he learned by helping his grandmother in the kitchen. Kody is happily married to his lovely wife Kristie, and the couple just celebrated the birth of their son, Lucas.

More About the Author

Kody Chamberlain is an American comic book writer and artist mostly working in the genres of drama, crime, horror, and comedy. Chamberlain recently completed his first fully creator-owned miniseries titled SWEETS: A NEW ORLEANS CRIME STORY published by Image Comics. This award winning crime noir centers around a homicide detective hot on the trail of a spree killer a few days before Hurricane Katrina.

Chamberlain is also the co-creator of PUNKS: THE COMIC from MTV Comics. PUNKS is a dada-inspired comedy done entirely in traditional paste-up using an old photocopier, an X-Acto blade, and a glue stick.

In addition to his extensive comic and graphic novel work, Chamberlain is also an accomplished commercial designer, illustrator, character designer, storyboard artist, conceptual artist, and public speaker. Professional credits include DC Comics/WildStorm, HarperCollins, HOW Design Live, IDW Publishing, Marvel Comics, MTV, Mulholland Books, Sony, Universal Pictures, and WarnerBrothers. For more information, visit KodyChamberlain.com

Customer Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
3
4 star
0
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
See all 3 customer reviews
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful By Hansel Moreno on December 17, 2011
Format: Paperback
Sweets is a master piece. The story has all the foundations of greatness: lovable characters, lively settings and one wonderful unexpected twist.

Sweets is also a work of love. The extensive artistic details and plot clues laboriously hidden in every chapter are there for the keenest of eyes.

This book is for those who appreciate fine literature and amazing art work. The highest of praise for Mr. Kody Chamberlain.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful By Joshua Hale Fialkov on November 29, 2011
Format: Paperback
Kody Chamberlain has crafted a daunting, sophisticated, horrifying, and beautiful story of murder that stands alone as a master work of originality and craft. Executed in a style that leans towards the poetic while remaining clear and concise, SWEETS is one of the most sophisticated graphic novels of the past ten years.

It never talks down to it's audience and allows the characters and story to draw you through the mystery to a conclusion that's both unexpected and inevitable. For fans of Brubaker, Lapham, and Rucka, meet the next amazing Crime Graphic Novelist.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful By Sophisticated_ComicBook_Fan on March 26, 2012
Format: Paperback
Published by Image Comics, Sweets is a crime drama written and illustrated by Kody Chamberlain. I picked this book up, having seen Kody's work in other books such as Tag from BOOM! Studios. However, I didn't know that he was also a writer as well. I'm glad I did make this impulse purchase, since Sweets was a great read that kept me glued until the final pages.

The story takes place in New Orleans, a city rich in crime and corruption, as well as it's own flavor of cooking and culture. A serial killer is on the loose, leaving behind praline treats with each murder committed. I won't spoil the rest of the story, but expect a twist or two along the way and enjoy Kody's fully painted artwork at every step.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again