Industrial-Sized Deals TextBTS15 Shop Men's Hightops Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon Iron Maiden UP3 $5 Off Fire TV Stick Grocery Shop Popular Services hog hog hog  Amazon Echo Starting at $99 Kindle Voyage Shop Back to School with Amazon Back to School with Amazon Outdoor Recreation Learn more

Sorry, this item is not available in
Image not available for
Color:
Image not available
 

Digital Delivery
(How does this work?)
 

Switch: How to Change Things When Change Is Hard.(Book review): An article from: Utah Business [HTML] [Digital]

Chris Thomas
4.7 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (723 customer reviews)

Price: $9.95
o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o
Available for download now.
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com.
Edition: e-document (Learn more)
Best Books of the Month
Best Books of the Month
Want to know our Editors' picks for the best books of the month? Browse Best Books of the Month, featuring our favorite new books in more than a dozen categories.

Special Offers and Product Promotions



Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews
468 of 515 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Several sticky insights February 16, 2010
Format:Hardcover
Chip and Dan Heath have once again summoned a lively writing style to present a series of compelling insights that make this book even more interesting as well as more valuable than its predecessor, Made to Stick. As they explain in the first chapter, "In this book, we argue that successful changes share a common pattern. They require the leader of change to do three things at once: To change someone's behavior, you've got to change that person's situation...[to cope with the fact that change] is hard because people wear themselves out. And that's the second surprise about change: What looks like laziness is often exhaustion...If you want people to change, you must provide crystal clear direction [because what] looks like resistance is often a lack of clarity." Throughout, the Heaths work within a narrative, best viewed as a "three-part framework," as they provide countless real-world (as opposed to hypothetical or theoretical] examples and - to their great credit - also provide a context or frame-of-reference for each.

Moreover, the Heaths invoke a few extended metaphors. The most important of these are the Rider (i.e. our rational side), the Elephant, (i.e. our emotional and instinctive side) and the Path (i.e. the surrounding environment in which change initiatives will be conducted). The challenge is to direct the Rider, motivate the Elephant, and shape the Path to make change more likely, "no matter what's happening with the Rider and Elephant...If you can do all three at once, dramatic change can happen even if you don't have lots of power or resources behind you."

Donald Berwick offers an excellent case in point.
Read more ›
Was this review helpful to you?
166 of 182 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Switching "On" Your Emotional Intelligence December 23, 2010
Format:Hardcover
Switch is a compelling, story-driven narrative the Heaths use to bring together decades of counterintuitive research in psychology, sociology, and other fields to shed new light on how we can engage our emotions and reason to create real change.

The book is arranged around an analogy that illustrates the crux of emotional intelligence: when making a decision we are typically torn between our rational, logical reasons and our emotional, intuitive feelings. Chip and Dan ask us to imagine an Elephant and its Rider (the mahout). The Rider represents the rational and logical. Tell the Rider what to do, provide a good argument and the Rider will do it. The Elephant, on the other hand, represents our emotions, our gut response. If the Rider can direct the Elephant down a well-prepared path then there is a good chance for change. Otherwise, the massive elephant is bound to win.

The book is structured into three sections, each one suggesting specific behaviors you can follow:

I. Direct the Rider:
- Find the bright spots
- Script the critical moves
- Point to the destination

II. Motivate the Elephant:
- Find the feeling
- Shrink the Change;
- Grow your people

III. Shape the Path:
- Tweak the environment
- Build habits
- Rally the herd

Another must read on the topic is Emotional Intelligence 2.0
Was this review helpful to you?
143 of 157 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars On the whole, a worthwhile, rewarding read... April 17, 2010
Format:Hardcover
"Switch" oscillates between the citation of psychological research and the slightly-suspect relaying of 'inspirational anecdotes' (as is de rigeur for this genre), but is, on the whole, a worthwhile read. Coming across as a self-help version of Nudge, the authors wield an array of techniques to help people create change in their lives as painlessly as possible. In doing so, they indirectly provide an evidential basis for David Allen's "Next Action" mantra, as suggested in Getting Things Done, but their focus is neither on the "nuts and bolts" of organisational management (which can lead to meta-productivity fetishism, as many GTD converts are prone to), nor on the sort of "flying with the eagles" nonsense that keeps Anthony Robbins in a mansion in Hawaii. Instead, the authors try and strike a balance between social psychology and "change your life" blue sky thinking. For the most part, they succeed admirably, and their approach ends up leading them to more sensible suggestions than the interesting -but wacky- 59 Seconds which itself purports to be based on hard science (or, at least, as "hard science" as psychological research can be). For those who like their self help rooted strongly in scientific research, I would probably recommend this alongside Brain Rules, but own it's own, Switch is still a worthwhile addition to the burgeoning genre of self-help-based-on-academic-research genre.
Was this review helpful to you?
177 of 206 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing August 28, 2011
Format:Hardcover
Like many universities, mine is in the midst of implementing some major changes to the way we do business, with the goal of becoming more efficient and decreasing operating costs. Recently, Chip Heath and Dan Heath's book "Switch" was provided to a number of people on campus who have responsibility for some aspects of these changes. Although I generally find business books to be disappointing at best, and irritating at worst, I started this one optimistic that it would be different. Alas, that optimism waned by the second chapter, and was completely destroyed by the time I finished the book.

"Switch" suffers from the three main problems that I've found in nearly all popular business books. First, it presents claims without sufficient justification. This book focuses on techniques to facilitate change in organizations and individuals, and while it occasionally cites interesting work in cognitive and social psychology that may be relevant to the techniques suggested, for the most part the justification for the techniques is anecdotal: technique X worked at company Y in particular instance Z, and so it's obviously a valid technique that's always applicable. There's no attempt at any sort of rigorous scientific testing of such a claim. For example, in chapter 2, the Heath brothers claim that you cannot focus on why a proposed change is failing to take hold, but must instead "find the bright spots," i.e., identify the pockets where it is working, figure out why it works there, and then try to emulate the small successes elsewhere. They describe several case studies where this approach has led to successful change, including a project to improve childhood nutrition in Vietnam, and an intervention with a misbehaving ninth grader.
Read more ›
Was this review helpful to you?
Most Recent Customer Reviews
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars
Excellent writing on the topic. Very easy and engaging to read.
Published 5 days ago by Kwik.Pixel
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars
Great book on managing change.
Published 5 days ago by Leon W.
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars
Entertaining writing about important ideas in behavior change
Published 7 days ago by Chata
5.0 out of 5 stars How to increase your chances for successful change
This is one of my favorite books because it provides a very clear road map for effecting change. The brothers Heath break down successful change into three components: 1) Direct... Read more
Published 7 days ago by bronx book nerd
5.0 out of 5 stars These guys write for understanding
The Heath Bros along with Gladwell and a few others are my favorite authors. Very detailed analytical work with the theory, practical application and story for every lesson. Read more
Published 8 days ago by Amazon Customer
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent resource to understand change in all walks of life
Best book on change I've ever read. So many of the concepts they cover are so relevant to many ares of life and business. Read more
Published 8 days ago by Skibum
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, well written, entertaining read...
Great book and VERY well written with interesting case studies told in a way that make you want to continue reading. Very practical and easy to implement the concepts.
Published 15 days ago by Bob Herchick
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars
Fascinating book with lots of examples of folks succeeding in helping others make changes in their life.
Published 15 days ago by MLeland
5.0 out of 5 stars Big or Small Changes Required, This is Your Guide
I've read this book 4 times now, and definitely consider this a must-read for anyone attempting to lead change. Read more
Published 22 days ago by Christopher R. Weiss
5.0 out of 5 stars A good value add!
Awesome book I wish I am able to follow and implement some of the learnings.
Published 26 days ago by Dom
Search Customer Reviews

Forums

There are no discussions about this product yet.
Be the first to discuss this product with the community.
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 



Look for Similar Items by Category