Trade in your item
Get a $2.00
Gift Card.
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Sworn Sword (Hedge Knight II) (v. 2) Hardcover – June 18, 2008


See all 2 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Hardcover
"Please retry"
$84.95 $29.98
Showcase%20Weekly%20Deal

NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE

Michael Vey 4
Featured New Release in Teen Science Fiction & Fantasy

Product Details

  • Hardcover: 152 pages
  • Publisher: Marvel (June 18, 2008)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0785126503
  • ISBN-13: 978-0785126508
  • Product Dimensions: 10.4 x 7.1 x 0.5 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 1.2 pounds
  • Average Customer Review: 4.2 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (19 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #964,493 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Authors

Discover books, learn about writers, read author blogs, and more.

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
5 star
9
4 star
7
3 star
2
2 star
0
1 star
1
See all 19 customer reviews
Great art, great story.
J. Williams
All in all, a must have for fans of A Song of Ice and Fire - especially if you like graphic novels!
ThrawnZA
Can't wait to read the third one.
Andrew

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

26 of 28 people found the following review helpful By ThrawnZA on March 11, 2010
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
I'm a big fan of George R.R. Martin's "A Song of Ice and Fire" series of books - the novels (at least, up to A Storm of Swords) have been uniformly superb. A Feast for Crows is in my opinion weaker, but still a worthy entry in the saga.

That said, Martin's two short stories - Tales of Dunk and Egg - are brilliantly written and thoroughly enjoyable romps through Westeros. The plotting isn't as Machiavellian, owing to the slow pace, but it's a vastly entertaining window into the world of A Song of Ice and Fire, and is a good primer to get someone who is unfamiliar to the books an idea of how the world works (although they may be slightly lost amidst the backstory.)

The Sword Sword is the second Tale of Dunk and Egg, and arguably contains more of the signature scheming, plotting and carefully paced reveals of the main novels. However, I enjoyed The Hedge Knight (the first short story) more, if only because I enjoy the entire tourney 'scene' in Westeros, and Martin writes it exceptionally well.

Even though this is the short story presented in graphic novel format, I believe there is no real loss of the detail or depth when compared to the written version. In fact, certain scenes benefit from the graphical medium.

The art is uniformly well done and serves the story well.

All in all, a must have for fans of A Song of Ice and Fire - especially if you like graphic novels!
1 Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
32 of 39 people found the following review helpful By S. Myers on February 23, 2010
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
I ordered both of the Hedge Knight graphic novels thinking they were actual novels, so I was quite surprised when I opened up my Amazon package to find comics/graphic novels instead. It may have been mentioned somewhere, but I didn't see any description to that effect, so I didn't realize it.

Luckily, my husband (who I bought them for) is a fan of graphic novels in addition to being a fan of the author. So, it turned out to be OK.

I just wanted to say for anyone not already aware, these are GRAPHIC novels. :)

Husband enjoyed them, and is looking forward to the third installment (if it ever gets published...) :P
2 Comments Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful By Talvi TOP 100 REVIEWER on May 6, 2011
Format: Paperback
I have never read the RR Martin books yet still enjoyed this graphic novel. Clearly, I would have enjoyed the depth more if I had previous knowledge of the Fire and Ice names and characters as well. But as such, it is a straightforward story with a few surprises and a good set of characters.

Whether you are a fan of the Fire and Ice novels or not, this graphic novel is a good read. The artwork is clean and easy to follow and the story moves at a good pace.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful By J. Williams on February 19, 2010
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
Great art, great story. I hope there is more to come. Anyone who enjoys the Song of Fire and Ice series of novels should pick these up.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful By Michael K. Smith TOP 500 REVIEWER on November 13, 2012
Format: Hardcover
This sequel to _The Hedge Knight_ (2008) was also adapted by Ben Avery and drawn by Mike Miller, but I didn't find it to be nearly as good as the first book. It's a year and a half after the events we witnessed there and young Dunk (who keeps trying, not very successfully, to get people to call him "Ser Duncan the Tall"), accompanied by his squire, Egg (who is a good deal more than he seems) has taken service with the elderly Ser Eustace. The old man lives in the glory days of the past and he has ongoing territorial issues with the "Red Widow" of the next fief over. There's a drought on, and water is being stolen, and a peasant worker gets his face slashed by an arrogant and bullying knight, and now it looks like a good deal more blood is about to be shed to no good purpose. Dunk would like to try to prevent that, so off he goes -- and discovers that various people have been lying to him. But he always tries hard to live up to his own vision of what a knight's honor ought to be, and this time that's going to put him in danger.

It's not a bad story as such, but there's so much extraneous narration, so many dozens of offstage characters who never become more than names -- even if you've recently read the first volume -- that you're likely to wonder if you've missed something. It's almost as if this were the third volume in a series, not the second, and that the middle volume was never published -- maybe never written. If you *bleep* over that half of the book, the remaining half makes a passably interesting episode, and that's about all.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
6 of 8 people found the following review helpful By Justin M. James on November 18, 2008
Format: Hardcover Verified Purchase
Most of the time, when you see a number in the title of a book indicating that it is a sequel, you know it will be bad. This time is different. Hedge Knight II continues the story of Dunk the Hedge Knight and his squire Egg, in the same tradition as the first. Dunk is a good hearted man of honor who is treated with contempt due to his status. He holds firm to the values that he was taught, while he has every incentive not to. If you like the Dunk and Egg characters, this is a winner. If you don't, you won't like this one either.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Format: Hardcover
"Sworn Sword" is a sequel to "The Hedge Knight", a comic book/graphic adaptation of George R. R. Martin novel that bears the same name.
Reading both books, reader will be introduced to the magic world that was beautifully portrayed in his "A Song of Ice and Fire" book series.

"Sworn Sword" is continuation of the previous book about events that happened almost hundred years before the events pictured in Martin's famous book - "A Game of Thrones".

After Lord Ashford's great tourney, Sir Duncan the Tall, a hedge knight seeking for fame and fortune and his unusual boy squire, Egg will travel the land in search of the puppeteer girl named Tanselle. They will enter the service of Ser Eustace, an older knight and Dunk will have lot of troubles with one of the others Ser Eustace's knights. When this knight will attack a peasant and provoke conflict with Lady Rohanne Webber, some unpleasant truths from the past about Ser Eustace will emerge...

This graphic novel published by the Marvel Enterprises comes in same nice hardcover version like the previous one and was beautifully illustrated by Mike S. Miller. Due to the nice pictures it wouldn't be strange that reader after she/he quickly read the book for the first time, when will read it for the next time spend a lot of time in front of each picture, enjoying the sight of the countless details.

The same drawback as I said for the previous one, mainly for those readers unfamiliar with George R. R. Martin work is level of details related to characters names, houses, their relationships and events from the past. For someone who would just like to enjoy reading a comic book it would probably be frustrating to see how many characters and relationships between them are present.
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Customer Images

Most Recent Customer Reviews


What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?