Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An Excellent Overview of Spectroscopy for Undergrads & Grads
Harris and Bertolucci have written an excellent overview of general spectroscopy theory, appropriate for both undergraduate and graduate students. As a chemist, I found it very helpful as I took introductory quantum mechanics in graduate school and later used it as a practical guide to interpreting and understanding infrared spectra as a graduate student.
For the...
Published on February 15, 1999

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars good
it's a very nice book I like it very much.The price is acceptable for students and it's really useful for students who are majoring in spectroscopy
Published on October 3, 2011 by njubei


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An Excellent Overview of Spectroscopy for Undergrads & Grads, February 15, 1999
By A Customer
Harris and Bertolucci have written an excellent overview of general spectroscopy theory, appropriate for both undergraduate and graduate students. As a chemist, I found it very helpful as I took introductory quantum mechanics in graduate school and later used it as a practical guide to interpreting and understanding infrared spectra as a graduate student.
For the price, this is one of the best bargains available to students. Consider other Dover publications for great prices as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An interesting little cookie of a book..., November 16, 2000
By 
Les Kismartoni (Park Ridge, IL USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is probably one of the most useful books that deals with the subject of Molecular symmetry and how it applies to the derivation of IR Spectra, Molecular Orbital Theory, and UV VIS spec. Some parts can be sparse (Term symbol section is a little confusing at first go) so it pays to have a good Quant. book next to you... Lots of problems that are all solved. Excellent reference for some basic QM problems as well... Perhaps the best thing about this book is the fact that it is not (expensive).... So if you have the dosh, then go for it and finally figure out Group Theory and how it relates to IR and everything else...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best book for beginners, February 6, 2005
This is the best book for those who dont have or dont remember any quantum mechanics background. The language is very simple to understand for non english speakers. A good book with low price for personal liabrary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another Dover Bargain in Physical Chemistry, March 8, 2008
By 
Timothy Hughbanks (College Station, TX) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This book has served as a companion text for courses I've taught in Symmetry and Group Theory and in Physical Methods in Inorganic Chemistry for the past two years. It provides a solid background for practicing chemists who will use electronic and vibrational spectroscopy in their everyday research, though it is only an introduction for serious spectroscopists. The book adopts an easy conversational tone that appeals to students but doesn't fail to provide an appropriate level of rigor - with one notable exception to be mentioned below. For a students seeking to learn by self-study there is a good supply of problems, with solutions provided, to deepen understanding. The examples are most plentiful in the vibrational spectroscopic sections.

Both photoelectron and UV-Visible spectroscopy are presented, and Harris and Bertolucci do a better job at teaching what electron states are than Cotton does in his well-known "Chemical Applications of Group Theory". Unfortunately, however, electronic spectra of transition metal complexes are given short shrift and ligand-field-theoretic problems are not adequately fleshed out. Equally unfortunate is the fact that the one transition-metal example of vibronic coupling provided in the body of the text is the same example presented by Cotton: the polarized spectra of trans-[Co(en)2Cl2]+ - and the authors have transcribed exactly the same serious error: One of the vibrational modes is wrong and one of the electronic absorption peaks are misassigned as a result.

These problems notwithstanding, this is very good book - I recommend it to students and teachers as an affordable, instructive, and very readable text.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One of the best understandable text!, July 24, 2003
By 
Mohsin (The Netherlands) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Although I am an undergraduate physics student but this is one of the best book on the vibrational spectroscopy, I used it to understand the application of the group theory and molecular vibrations.
Harris and Bertolucci wrote the text in a clear way with examples. I am only half way through the book but the way the text is presented, its evident how the rest of the book will be, Clear and to the point. Only minus point is that the character tables are not derived and are given in appendix and it also lacks the representation theory but after all it is a book on Spectroscopy and not on Group theory so I may not complain. In my openion, this book can be compared with Cotton and Bishop and if I have to understand the application of group theory and molecular vibrations I will certainly pick up Harris & Bertolucci.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best, July 23, 2007
I bought this book about half way through my postgraduate studies in Physical chemistry, then immediately kicked myself for not buying it earlier. If you're a bit rusty in QM, as I was, then the chapter on QM is worth the price of admission alone, the same could really be said for all of the 5 chapters (Group Theory, QM, Vibrations, MO Theory and Electronic Transitions) though as they are all clear, well constructed, with nice problems (and solutions for most). Great introduction for any aspiring Physical Chemist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent spectroscopy book, May 17, 2007
By 
P. D. Akrivos (Thessaloniki, Greece) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
There was really no need for my short review to convince anyone interested or even marginally active in the field of molecular spectroscopy that the SYMMETRY AND SPECTROSCOPY-Introduction to Vibrational and Electronic Spectroscopy by D.C. Harris and M.D. Bertolucci is an excellent presentation of the underlying physical principles, the laws and parameters involved in the measurement and, above all and in accordance with the title, the involvement of symmetry on the appearance of virbrational and electronic spectra.

Recommended, in my opinion, to both students and tutors, and to those interested in the application or the theoretical part of the aforementioned spectroscopic fields.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars loved this book, March 28, 2007
I used this book to supplement my molecular spectroscopy course many years ago. As others have noted - very friendly in its tone.

For other classic books in this area look at:

1. Introduction to Molecular Spectroscopy by Gordon M. Barrow, McGraw-Hill, 1962 (You should avoid his more commonly found book with a similar title: The Structure of Molecules: An Introduction to Molecular Spectroscopy, published by W. A. Benjamin, 1964. This book is too simple.)

2. Introduction to Molecular Structure and Spectroscopy by William A. Guillory, Allyn and Bacon, 1977

Check out my other reviews for other chem books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book for Spec, May 12, 2009
This was a great book for spectroscopy. Ugly cover but who cares. Good for graduate class unless your at MIT then this is good for junior classes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, February 23, 2006
By 
This was an optional text in my grad-level chemical engineering spectroscopy class, and I absolutely love it. The book is readable, the examples clear and concise, and the problems throughout the text are very instructive. A great book for those new to spectroscopy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Symmetry and Spectroscopy: An Introduction to Vibrational and Electronic Spectroscopy
Used & New from: $104.96
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.