Have one to sell? Sell yours here
Sorry, this item is not available in
Image not available for
Image not available

To view this video download Flash Player


Symphonies 2 & 4 [Import]

Robert Schumann , Philippe Herreweghe , Champs Elysees Orchestra Audio CD
5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)

Available from these sellers.

Customers Who Viewed This Item Also Viewed

Product Details

  • Orchestra: Champs Elysees Orchestra
  • Conductor: Philippe Herreweghe
  • Composer: Robert Schumann
  • Audio CD (September 14, 2004)
  • SPARS Code: DDD
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Format: Import
  • Label: Harmonia Mundi Fr.
  • ASIN: B00026WSC0
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #808,001 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)

1. Symphony No. 2 in C major, Op. 61: Allegro
2. Symphony No. 2 in C major, Op. 61: Scherzo
3. Symphony No. 2 in C major, Op. 61: Adagio
4. Symphony No. 2 in C major, Op. 61: Finale. Allegro
5. Symphony No. 4 in D minor, Op. 120: Introduction. Ziemlich langsam - Lebhaft
6. Symphony No. 4 in D minor, Op. 120: Romanze. Ziemlich langsam
7. Symphony No. 4 in D minor, Op. 120: Scherzo. Lebhaft
8. Symphony No. 4 in D minor, Op. 120: Finale. Andante - Lebhaft

Customer Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars
5.0 out of 5 stars
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
Share your thoughts with other customers
Most Helpful Customer Reviews
3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "The Poet Speaks!" February 23, 2006
This CD is very interesting and beautiful. Phillipe Herreweghe, who has a repertoire from Bach to Bruckner, Kurt Weill, conducted his Orchestre de Champs Elysees, performed these symphonies very succesful. They are feel the typic deep romanticsm of Schumann, very sensitive.

The Symphony No. 2 in C major, written in a depressive period of Schumann, because of long-waiting for marry to Clara. In this music, you can notice that, Schumann was stuck to some melodies, some rhtyms, as a man who going to be mad. He was repeat some melodies again and again. It has a languish romanticism. The 4th Symphony is the most drammatic of all of the composer's symphonies. It was completed in his last period, 1851, towards to tragic end of his life. This symphony to be constitued in a single movement, written as a symphonic-fantasia. Orchestration, as usual in Schumann, not too powerful, brilliant, it is a little weak, but the music is very romantic, poetic and has a tragic mood. Especially the first movement is a drammatic opening movement, the second movement is a lyric "Romanze" which I think has a musical diolag between Robert and Clara (violoncello solo and oboe). But in Finale, there is a glorious joy, contrasts to the dark mood of beginning movements.

At this price, you can not wrong with it. If you want a new digital recording of Schumann symphonies, this CD can be your first choice.

Highly recommended.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Search Customer Reviews
Only search this product's reviews


There are no discussions about this product yet.
Be the first to discuss this product with the community.
Start a new discussion
First post:
Prompts for sign-in

Look for Similar Items by Category