Prime Music
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Image Unavailable

Image not available for
  • Symphony 4: Sinfonia Stetta
  • Sorry, this item is not available in
  • Image not available
  • To view this video download Flash Player

Symphony 4: Sinfonia Stetta Import

See all 2 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Audio CD, Import, October 30, 2001
$19.99 $25.00

Product Details

  • Audio CD (October 30, 2001)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Format: Import
  • Label: Bis
  • ASIN: B00005RTSC
  • Average Customer Review: 4.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #670,957 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)

1. Introduzione - Michael Swierczewski
2. Tema - Michael Swierczewski
3. Variations 1 - Michael Swierczewski
4. Variations 2 - Michael Swierczewski
5. Variations 3 - Michael Swierczewski
6. Variations 4 - Michael Swierczewski
7. Variations 5 - Michael Swierczewski
8. Variatioins 6 - Michael Swierczewski
9. Conclusione - Michael Swierczewski
10. 1. Andante - Vanda Tabery
11. 2. Adagio - Vanda Tabery
12. Andante - Michael Swierczewski
13. Tema. Andantino - Vanda Tabery
14. Variation 1. Lento - Vanda Tabery
15. Variation 2 - Vanda Tabery
16. Intermedia E Variation 3 - Vanda Tabery
17. Variation 4. Larghetto - Vanda Tabery
18. Coda. Andante - Bremen PO/Michel Swierczewski

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See the customer review
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

2 of 3 people found the following review helpful By G.D. TOP 1000 REVIEWERVINE VOICE on August 19, 2010
Format: Audio CD
Before BIS launched their cycle of Lokshin's (1920-1987) orchestral works and symphonies, I bet that few people were even aware of the name. Yet Shostakovich and Schnittke both hailed him as a genius, or at least a truly great composer. He was, however, in constant trouble with the regime during his formative years, and didn't embark on his symphonic cycle until 1957. He completed 11 of them in total, all of which apart from the fourth featured here have vocal parts.

The concise, powerful and relatively callous fourth was written in 1968. Stylistically it is a seamlessly unified prelude, variations and finale, in which the darkly dissonant language only intermittently gives way to anything softer and more reflective. Still, it is an imaginative, hauntingly inventive work with an epic sweep (despite its relatively short duration of 16.41) which should appeal to any fan of Schnittke or Tishchenko, even though it doesn't in any way really sound like either composer.

Lokshin sometimes referred to the Three Faust Scenes as his twelfth symphony. Composed in 1980, this song cycle is in fact more easily accessible than the symphony; it is still dissonant but not as relentlessly so as the symphony, and much more melodic. Ranging from the hazily dreamlike to the dramatically operatic, it is another work well worth getting to know. The performances are, as far as I can discern, excellent and the sound quality very good; in sum, this is a rewarding release, recommended with some enthusiasm to anyone with a taste for exploration.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again


There are no discussions about this product yet.
Be the first to discuss this product with the community.
Start a new discussion
First post:
Prompts for sign-in

Look for Similar Items by Category