Industrial-Sized Deals Shop all Back to School Shop Women's Handbags Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon Deradoorian $5 Off Fire TV Stick Off to College Essentials Shop Popular Services pivdl pivdl pivdl  Amazon Echo Starting at $99 Kindle Voyage Nintendo Digital Games Shop Back to School with Amazon Back to School with Amazon Outdoor Recreation STEM Toys & Games
Your Amazon Music account is currently associated with a different marketplace. To enjoy Prime Music, go to Your Music Library and transfer your account to (US).
Buy Used
Used: Very Good | Details
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: Eligible for FREE Super Saving Shipping! Fast Amazon shipping plus a hassle free return policy mean your satisfaction is guaranteed! Tracking number provided with every order; CD and jewel case in very good condition.
Other Sellers on Amazon
Buy Used - Very Good
+ $3.99 shipping
Sold by: drumeagle
Seller Rating: (1266)
Add to Cart
Buy New
+ $3.99 shipping
Buy New
+ $3.99 shipping
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Image Unavailable

Image not available for
  • Symphonys 1 4 & 7
  • Sorry, this item is not available in
  • Image not available
  • To view this video download Flash Player

Symphonys 1 4 & 7

1 customer review

See all 2 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Audio CD, November 19, 1996
"Please retry"
$50.00 $5.43

Listen to Samples and Buy MP3s

Songs from this album are available to purchase as MP3s. Click on "Buy MP3" or view the MP3 Album.

Song TitleArtist Time Price
  1. Symphony No. 4, "Chiaroscuro": I. IlluminationStuttgart Philharmonic Orchestra10:54Album Only
  2. Symphony No. 4, "Chiaroscuro": II. Mystical plosivesStuttgart Philharmonic Orchestra 6:13$0.99  Buy MP3 
  3. Symphony No. 4, "Chiaroscuro": III. Dream sequenceStuttgart Philharmonic Orchestra 9:31Album Only
  4. Symphony No. 7, "Dedicated to those who brought down the Wall in peace": I. Whirling of TimeStuttgart Philharmonic Orchestra 8:07Album Only
  5. Symphony No. 7, "Dedicated to those who brought down the Wall in peace": II. Glass of TimeStuttgart Philharmonic Orchestra 6:02$0.99  Buy MP3 
  6. Symphony No. 7, "Dedicated to those who brought down the Wall in peace": III. Corridors of TimeStuttgart Philharmonic Orchestra11:08Album Only
  7. Symphony No. 1, "Music on Open Strings": I. Theme and TransformationBavarian Radio Symphony Orchestra 5:17$0.99  Buy MP3 
  8. Symphony No. 1, "Music on Open Strings": II. ScherzoBavarian Radio Symphony Orchestra 2:31$0.99  Buy MP3 
  9. Symphony No. 1, "Music on Open Strings": III. ScordaturaBavarian Radio Symphony Orchestra 3:46$0.99  Buy MP3 
10. Symphony No. 1, "Music on Open Strings": IV. Refracted Mirror Canon for 14 LinesBavarian Radio Symphony Orchestra 4:58$0.99  Buy MP3 

Product Details

  • Audio CD (November 19, 1996)
  • SPARS Code: DDD
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Label: Alliance
  • ASIN: B000001S19
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #647,627 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)

Customer Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See the customer review
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

12 of 13 people found the following review helpful By Quantum Yippers on September 5, 2002
Format: Audio CD
This is Gloria Coates' finest CD release so far. For those not familiar with her work, her music is dark and engaging. Though primarily tonal, her music can venture into regions of nearly apocalyptic gloom. It is distinctly modern and profoundly intriguing. This is the musical equivalent of reading Poe. The macabre aspects of it are by no means off-putting but evocative and thought provoking. These symphonies are spectral, mist enshrouded and dusky. If you like music along the lines of Crumb's Haunted Landscape with dense and richly developed orchestration like Maxwell Davies, this is for you.
Caution: you may find Gloria Coates' music irresistable. Should that be the case her Symphony No. 2 also appears on CPO. There are also a set of Quartets on Naxos. Though the quartets are more along the lines of Tavener or Part, they retain the same appealingly haunted quality.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again


There are no discussions about this product yet.
Be the first to discuss this product with the community.
Start a new discussion
First post:
Prompts for sign-in

Look for Similar Items by Category