Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Believe The Hype
I've been waiting for this Disc for quite a while... since I first heard "Alien" by Strapping young lad actually. I had a feeling that good things would be coming from this man in the near future. 2006 seems to be a good year to be a Townsend fan, with "Synchestra" already out, and a new one from Strapping due out in the summer. There was quite a bit of hype behind...
Published on February 18, 2006 by Igar The Terrible

versus
4 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars You just wait and wait...
For something - anything in this album to grab you and make you listen. Unfortunately it never happens as none of the songs are real ear pleasers. My background on Devin is based off of three pieces of work - "Accelerated Evolution", "Terria" and "Ocean Machine". Those albums just flat out rock(see my review for "Terria"). I've listened to this album and I just can't...
Published on March 13, 2006 by Cardiac


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Believe The Hype, February 18, 2006
This review is from: Synchestra (Audio CD)
I've been waiting for this Disc for quite a while... since I first heard "Alien" by Strapping young lad actually. I had a feeling that good things would be coming from this man in the near future. 2006 seems to be a good year to be a Townsend fan, with "Synchestra" already out, and a new one from Strapping due out in the summer. There was quite a bit of hype behind Synchestra. And Im happy to say that this disc lives up to all of the hype, and even manages to become my new favorite release by The Devin Townsend Band. It puts everything that is great about dTb and SYL onto one CD. At times it will even blur the line between the two sides of devin's music making something you have to listen to to believe.

Synchestra starts off amazingly with "Let it roll" and "Hypergeek". "Let it roll" is a sort of folky intro with acoustic guitars leading the way until the last 30 secs of the song. Which then leads into "Hypergeek" which is where things really start going. "Hypergeek" also starts off with a folky feel to it, its like the morning light rolling over country fields. Then, near the minute mark, theres a small pause before the biggest tidal wave of music ever created lauches itself at your ear drums.

After "Hypergeek" comes "Triumph", another amazing song. It has a couple dangerously catchy chorus's on it. along with a toe-tappingly groovy banjo/bluegrass like passage that, strangly enough, fits absolutely perfectly in with the rest of the song. "Triumph" also sports a beautiful solo by, none other than guitar legend Steve Vai. Who gave Devin his voice in the music industry by having him as a guest guitarist/vocalist on his 1993 album "Sex & Religion".

Next up is "Babysong", which is a pretty soild track. It reminds me of Alien a little past the half way mark of the song with UFO like synth work, and strange xylophonic beats in the background.

This leads Into "Vampolka" and "Vampira" Vampolka being a circus/big top rendition of the upcoming Single "Vampira". "Vampira" definitly sounds like a single, coming from this album anyway. It is still a great track, it was a wise choice to end it at around three minutes, because while it is good, it is pretty predicable song. Think of it this way, its a 4.5 on a whole album of 5s.

Then comes the Proggy instrumental "Mental Tan". This is very well done for an instrumental passage, which usually result in me only listening to the passage the first few times I sit down and listen through an album in its entirety. "Mental Tan" then flows into "Gaia", which has some great synth work throughout the song. And a great guitar Riff at around 1/2 way through the track. Another Great track, I think that the singles of Synchestra should have been This and "Triumph". actually Gaia feels(not necessarily sounds) simmilar to Triumph, im not quite sure as to why..but then again this whole album has a consistant "feel" to it.

Then its "Pixilate". Which mostly suffers from being a little too long at nearly 8 and 1/2 minutes. It does however make up for it with interesting and complex guitar work, and some unsuspected (and well done) female vocals.

Up next is "Judgement" which has a Scream one line then Sing the next plot to it. Which works out better then I thought it would. It has its ups and downs. Then "A Simple Lullaby" starts up, which is like a heavy-metal lullaby. It starts off with a hypnotic riff sequence before really starting. It does have a bit of a lullaby-like feel to it. I think that this track goes into the record for being the only lullaby with the phrase "Ready, Aim, FIRE!" in it. Its a very cool song...just don't count on it puting your kid to sleep!

"Sunset" is a track where Keybordist Dave Young really shines.( He wrote the guitar and keys for this track.) It is another great instrumental that dosen't feel like the average instrumental at all. The last track, "Notes From Africa", has an african like chorus to it...its sort of hard to describe why it sounds african...it just does. This ends with the sounds of the rainforset flowing through your speakers. Depending on what edition of Synchestra you bought, (There are many out there.) you may have "Sunshine & Hapiness" Which is a fun/happy track Which is just as great as all the others, but I think it would have been better to have the album end with the rainforest ambience, but hey, who can argue with a bonus track?
If your a Fan of The Devin Townsend band or Strapping young lad, you can't miss out on this release i don't think you will be dissapointed. Now lets hope The next release by strapping can be even better then Alien like Synchestra is To Accelerated Evolution.

If you managed to read this entire review, and didn't feel like kicking me in the teeth after doing so, or found it remotely interesting, appealing, or helpful please take a second out of your busy day to press the "yes" button next to "Was this review helpful to you?"
Thank you,
-Igar the Terrible
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ladies and gentlemen, 2006's King of the Mountain has arrived! Let the battle for supremacy begin!, February 2, 2006
This review is from: Synchestra (Audio CD)
My first experience with Devin Townsend was when he opened for Symphony X about two years ago. To say the least, I was not impressed. In fact, I do not think I could distinguish a single note or lyric throughout the entire set. But no matter what websites or reviews I would read, his name would continuously pop-up. So I decided to check out Accelerated Evolution, and since that day I have become a fan of both Strapping Young Lad, and his moniker band. By no means have I ever considered either to be in my league of absolute favorites. Well, for the past 30 days or so I have been listening to a copy of this album on an average of once per day, and now I see the Townsend world with new ears. And although the grandiosity of Synchestra has given me a newfound level of appreciation for all of Devin's work, nothing can match the scope, originality, and passion of this masterpiece.

One of the greatest pleasures of listening to this album is when I finally received my pre-ordered copy. The crystalline production allowed the music to pulsate throughout the house, and there were no more one-second lags between tracks. Instead, the entire album flowed seamlessly from one note, one emotion, one composition to the next with not a moment of silence, demonstrating the cohesiveness and pervasive themes that make this whole infinitely better than the sum of its parts.

This experience begins with two tracks running less than three minutes each, "Let it Roll" and "Hypergeek". Neither is so much a song as they are the first steps on a magnificent journey. "Let it Roll" starts with scintillating melodies which echo folk music, even including a nod to Irish folk with the repeated "let it roll, lassie roll". Though touching, the music starts out sparse. But of course, Devin's production genius surfaces early as the bass and drums come in forcefully, but with overall volume still suppressed. Even after the electric distortion comes in with earth-shattering bass bombs, the song comes to a close before really foretelling of the storm to come.

"Let it Roll" segues into "Hypergeek", which takes the tranquilly paced folk of the opener, and turns the speed up a notch, conjuring images of mystical deep forest folk capering and drinking mead on a midsummer's day. If you don't believe me at first, wait until the saloon piano, banjo (or something of the like), and flute chime in, bringing this joyous melody to an invigorating peak. Then it stops...the only pause on the album...a muffled "AYE!"

...and then

...the wave.

The music charges forth with no restraint and leaves you wondering where you will be whisked off to next, having already experienced something so epic in less than 8 minutes.

Though both of Townsend's main projects utilize a crushing avalanche of sonic force, it has always impressed me how The Devin Townsend manifestation actually sculpts this force into epic melody. And if this incarnation (as opposed to Strapping Young Lad) has become known for creating chugging monsters of larger-than-life grace, then Synchestra takes this grand sound to a whole new level.

And that's not to say that Synchestra is an all-out shiny happy fest, though that's the way The Devin Townsend Band tends to lean in comparison to SYL. "Pixillate" begins with some haunting eastern chanting and a bass line that forewarns of something dark and twisted. An orchestra of sound ensues, all building on the warped foundation before morphing into a more triumphant exaltation led by some exquisite female vocals.

Also present are a few tracks of more straightforward rock, most notably "Gaia", "Sunset", and the closer, "Sunshine and Happiness", and one bizarre freak-fest "Vampolka", which gives way to "Vampira", a mind-blowing love child of dark power metal and 80s hair band theatrics. Whether rocking out, freaking out, tearing through, or building up though, Synchestra pushes its agenda through some of the best metal production around. It absolutely boggles my mind how Townsend can barrage the listener with such cluttered and distorted sound, yet each instrument is heard so clearly that the true intricacies of this seemingly simplistic music can be heard. Synthesizers, layered vocals, crunchy, distorted guitars, bombastic bass, orchestral flourishes, mesmerizing tribal drumming, and the trademark spectrum of emotive Townsend vocals (which have absolutely never sounded better) all fill the air until silence has not a grain of space in which to hide, yet any part of the sum can be isolated and appreciated.

Unfortunately for many metal bands with early year releases, it seems that their albums are often over-looked at the year-end's top lists. For rabid fans of music, this is most likely due to our insatiable hunger for new meat. Still, we all know of those rare dishes that come along whose savory flavors always lurk in the back of our minds. I predict that at the end of 2006, metal fans will not easily forget who gave them meat to start the year. I'll second Mr. Batmaz's call for a bound to be top release of the year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So, are you convinced yet?, May 11, 2006
This review is from: Synchestra (Audio CD)
If somehow, there are those out there not convinced that Devin Townsend is a mad musical genius, here's even more proof. I find it remarkable that there are musicians who can continuously come up with interesting ideas, without a slack in quality, and without falling into a rut. It's just a shame that can't be true of every band.

Devin Townsend once again has created something distinctive, novel, and downright awesome with "Synchestra". If "Accelerated Evolution" was too "normal" sounding for you, then you're in luck, because he definitely went in the opposite direction here. Aside from perhaps "Infinity", this is some of the most bizarre and out there stuff he's done to date. And, like every Devin album, it is an entity unto itself. In some ways, it's what you expect from Devin, with the huge metal sounds, and complex production, but sonically it's like nothing he's ever done before. In fact, I would also say that musically, compositionally, and productionally (is that a word?), this is the most complex, daring, and challenging thing he's ever done.

Any specific description of the songs here will inevitably be crap, but I'll give it a go. You've got a lot of variety here, with insane, unpredictable progressive metal epics, like "Pixillate" and "Triumph" (the latter of which features a weird bluegrassy interlude that comes out of nowhere, and a truly transcendental solo from Steve Vai), "Gaia" and "Babysong" are massive melodic metal (with lyrics that once again prove that Devin thinks about things a bit differently than most of us); "Vampolka" is a wacky Mr. Bungle-like instrumental, which serves as an intro to the thrashy metal of "Vampira"; "A Simple Lullaby" is neither simple, nor a lullaby, and is full of complex, multi-layered riffs and melodies; "Sunset" is a short but sweet melodic instrumental, leading into the super-infectious "Notes from Africa", in which Devin does these sort of odd tribal chants (this will probably be the most memorable moment, upon your first listen). And of course, the album ends with a curve, as the closing track, "Sunshine and Happiness", contradicts the whole album with its straight-forward pop hooks.

Music is a polytheistic religion, and Devin Townsend is among the mightiest gods of them all. I'm not yet prepared to say how this album compares to his other work (other than to say it certainly doesn't fall short), but I will say this: I haven't heard every single album released this year, but trust me, this one's the best. And yes, I have heard the new Tool, and yes, it is pretty freakin' amazing in and of itself, but you can believe me when I say that this is brilliance beyond even that. I don't recommend this as a starting point (go with "Terria" or "Ocean Machine" for that), but if you're already a Devin fan, this will not disappoint.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Devin Townsend's antithesis to Alien, February 1, 2006
By 
Murat Batmaz (Istanbul, Turkey) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Synchestra (Audio CD)
Synchestra is by far Devin Townsend's most varied work to date. It is underscored with every single trait that makes his music so unique and his artistic expressions so powerful. The album is characterized by complex guitar work, creative mixing, densely nuanced rhythmic anchor, and Devin's unmatched vocals. Stylistically, Synchestra seems like a combination of the production of Terria and the quirkiness of Infinity. Musically, however, it's a completely different piece of work, emphasized by Devin's two diametrically opposite approaches to songwriting.

As you might know, Synchestra is supposed to be the antithesis to Strapping Young Lad's last album Alien. That said, the album is neither as SYL-influenced as Physicist nor as atmospheric as, say, Ocean Machine. It does present an alternative to the Alien track "Possessions" in the form of "The Baby Song", which basically addresses the responsibility required if you want to have children. Its poppy, big chorus that repeats, "Why don't you have a baby? / Why don't you have a child?" becomes utterly engaging and sticks to your mind for days on end. With great dynamics and a big symphonic backdrop underlying it, the song then morphs into a textured number with awesome piano and concludes with a mercilessly heavy and fast outro section. Contrary to this catchy piece, the album has a slower, almost dramatic start. Beautiful acoustic segments on "Let It Roll" segue into the earthy tones of "Hypergeek", a track reminiscent of Terria, with lots of roosters, frogs and birds humming in the background, amidst insanely heavy, rapid-fire machine-gun riffery and plodding kick drums. The band wastes no time achieving that huge wall-of-sound vibe synonymous with any Devin Townsend work, be it solo stuff or Strapping Young Lad. Now with two brief tracks, the atmosphere is set and the colour of Synchestra defined. The first real track, "Triumph", kicks off with soaring melodies, great drumming, both clean and harsh vocals, awesome keyboards, until its first breaking point in the middle - a country type of acoustic jam will surprise many, including the biggest Devin Townsend fans, but the song then goes back to where it started, only to be interrupted by a dreamy guitar solo by Steve Vai.

The brief hook-laden "Vampolka" is busy with phenomenal bass (fretless?), some classical influences, raging organ, and awesome percussion. The piece immediately leads into its counterpart "Vampira", where Devin's vocals are so unusual and off-the-wall that I had to think of Infinity. His singing is catchy, yet at the same time very aggressive. This track would be a killer choice for a live performance, considering those "hey, hey" chants at the end. "Mental Tan" is a nice keyboard instrumental that once again brings to mind the more peaceful moments on Terria. It is followed by two of the album's most progressive offerings. "Gaia" (which was originally titled "Nail Broth") has a steady rhythm guitar throughout its six minute duration and features Devin singing in both gentle and growled styles. The piece then makes a foray into a challenging unison lead where each member finds the opportunity to display their chops. "Pixillate" may be a personal favourite for me. Going from the intense, stormy depths of Arabic vocals' dirge-like effect to the heavily pronounced bass and crashing cymbals, the track also a female singer who contrasts Devin's beast-like screaming with her beautiful vocal harmonies.

The vulnerable throbs on the densely layered "Judgement" lead into "A Simple Lullaby", which climaxes the album, thanks to its live vibe overall. Mixed with a wild concert crowd in the background, the song is mostly instrumental punctuated by "Earth Day"-like dynamics, but it does contain a lullaby sung in classic Devin Townsend fashion. Similarly, "Sunset" is also instrumental save for the melodies in the end, and it's highlighted by lush acoustic guitars, hand drums, organ sounds, and piano. If memory serves, "Notes From Africa" is a song that didn't make it onto Terria and has perhaps the strongest rhythms on the album. Drummer Ryan Van Poedervooen plays stunning polyrhythms whilst Mike Young on bass has a great bass bottom. It has a tightly-knit pattern that Devin follows with a complex counterpoint vocal line at the end.

Synchestra is another powerful musical statement by Devin Townsend. The deluxe edition is even better, as it comes with a DVD where the band performs live. This is bound to become another top release of 2006.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sheer & Utter Genius, August 22, 2006
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Synchestra (Audio CD)
First of all- I have never written a review on Amazon, mostly due to my obscene laziness. However...after hearing this album today for the first time...I felt...required to write a review.

This album is the greatest piece of musical composition I have heard in years. This is complete brilliance and is almost overwhelming in its grandeur. This is Devin Townsend's masterpiece- if you have any appreciation for brilliant composing, second-to-none producing and soulfully moving layers of sheer sonic bliss- buy this album now. I don't use the term 'genius' lightly, but Devin Townsend is truly a living musical legend- GET THIS ALBUM.

This album should be lauched into outer space to show those aliens that humans know how to make the best music in the UNIVERSE.

This album is sweeter than a hundred ninjas jamming on guitars after killing a thousand pirates.

If YOU were a ninja- you would buy this album right now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Original, Hypnotic Prog-Rock Masterpiece, October 24, 2006
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Synchestra (Audio CD)
Devin Townshend is often referred to in other reviews I have read as a sort of "mad musical genius", but I had always scoffed at this notion, because at first impression, his music does'nt seem that interesting to the casual listener.....however, multiple spins reveal him to be a highly skilled and creative musician. Genius? Perhaps not, but this album was one of the most enjoyable and absorbing albums I have listened to this year. Much less heavy and extreme than his alter ego project, Strapping Young Lad (which is also good, by the way), this album combines elements of rock, prog, metal, folk, and electronica into a very original and compelling style that is really quite unique. Devin's vocal style runs the gamut; he really is quite a talented singer....I also enjoyed the personal lyrics as well as his subversive sense of humor on this disc. The sudden honky-tonk breakdown towards the end of "Triumph" is just hilarious without ruining the song or becoming ridiculous. The production is crystal clear, with the more sedate, mellow songs often juxtaposed with thunderous rock and metal guitar with a modern edge. Smart, original rock music....highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Epic? Yes, that's the word. Best of 2006? Probably., February 3, 2006
By 
Bill Lockhart (West Chester, PA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Synchestra (Audio CD)
Ok, so basically we have the newest effort from the brilliant and also very quirky Devin Townsend. Yes, this shines perfectly through Synchestra. The album is another atmospheric and epic prog metal adventure through this man's really interesting mind.

The music, as always, is really emotionally charged. As one reviewer said, this is the antithesis of Alien, the healing record. With cuts such as "Gaia","Pixillate", and "Judgment", the albums most epic tracks, we hear the sound of a man that has struggled and somehow made it through. To me, this might be Townsend's best work yet, next to the incredible "Terria".

Of course there will also be some that can't stand this record, as much of it is written in major key, and there's an almost, hopeful/happy feel you get from listening to it. I really love it, although others might find it cheesy. However, make no mistake that the album flows greatly from start to finish. Let it Roll is a beautiful acoustic opener which soon cascades into the childish Hyper Geek, which of course doesn't last long. A raging guitar soon fills your ears, and then one of the best songs on the record (Triumph) arrives. After this we have Baby Song, which is probably my least favorite song on the record, but has it's moments. Vampolka and Vampira are great, and perfect to listen to while hanging around with friends. Why? Vampolka is unbelievably hokey, but perfect, and Vampira is like listening to a track from Judas Priest. Up next is Mental Tan, a little keyboard instrumental that segways into the intergalactic prog rocker "Gaia", one of my favorites on the album, due to the cascading solo and spacey keyboards around the 3 mintute mark. "Pixillate", probably the heaviest and most epic song on the album features vocals done by a woman (whose name i'm not quite sure of), and she works perfectly. "Judgement" is next, which begins with a thundering riff covered in lots of reverb, and awesome lyrics in the beginning. "A Simple Lullaby" is probably the toughest song on the album, because it begins and keeps at a slow rate. However, it's very proggy. "Sunset" is a little guitar instrumental which leads to "Notes from Africa", another very cool song.

The bonus track... "Sunshine and Happiness", is exactly how it sounds. Really freaking happy. It's a nice 2 minute classic rock sounding feel good song, and a nice ending to the album.

So, this is my review for "Synchestra", in my opinion, a great piece of music. Pick it up if you're a Townsend fan, and if you like epic music, also check it out.

Thanks for reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best Devin CD yet...Terria a very close 2nd, May 21, 2006
By 
cosmicweatherdude (Saint Paul, MN US OF A!) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Synchestra (Audio CD)
The Devin Townsend band became my favorite band just a short 6 months ago when a friend of mine loaned me Terria. My musical tastes range widely but I usually listen to bands like Porcupine Tree, Dream Theater, Yes, SymphX etc...but Devin Townsend has really made a mark here. His musical ideas are right in synch with what I enjoy in music...large, huge sound...symphonic, diverse, metal, loud, quiet, dynamic, beautiful.

I have all Devins' CDs except Physicist. I rate Synchestra as my favorite but it really is just a slight notch above Terria imho. But when I first heard Terria I was never more impressed with an lp on first listen than this one. And I continue to be impressed, however Synchestra is just a wonderful offering from the DT Band. Please Mr or Mrs musical lover, get this...get this CD now. Thankyou. THANKYOU!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A sunset retrospective - Townsend's 4th or 5th masterpiece, May 28, 2008
This review is from: Synchestra (Audio CD)
"Synchestra" is everything that has ever made Devin Townsend great. It's clear on this album that he has an even more expansive, all-encompassing idea of what "music" can be. The colorful textures, creative song structures, meticulous detail and beautiful production of this record make it even more diverse and fresh than such amazing records as "Terria" and "Ocean Machine", and contains his usual earth-shattering level of emotional intensity. It feels gold like a sunset, or like that place you know so well that it means absolute safety.

If you're new to Devin, this is as good an example of his style as ever. Distinctive but fairly simplistic guitar work, and so many layers of harmony and sound that the music seems to become more than the notes being played. And of course, his amazing, versatile voice, that simply must be heard, and can't be described. He fits in no genre, but draws most from metal and ambient music.

It's not his most mature or intelligent record (that would be "Terria"), it instead settles for a wildly playful, blissfully enlightened sensibility that has permeated his work ever since this record. Townsend can rarely be faulted for his "joke" tracks, however, since the less than serious subject matter never stops him from writing amazing arrangements that rock really really hard.

The first three tracks of "Synchestra" comprise one of my favorite album beginnings from any artist. "Let It Roll" begins deceptively as a fairly conventional folk ballad with Townsend softly singing "Come in, don't be a stranger" before building into heavily produced, layered epic harmony and bursting into the hyperactive "Hypergeek", which again begins with clean guitars but bursts abruptly into jarring heaviness, complete with blast beats. These two tracks together form an intro of sorts, which leads into the first real song, an epic called "Triumph". This song ranks among Townsend's best, with a truly anthemic chorus proclaiming "mankind, connected", a bluegrass breakdown and a fantastic solo by Steve Vai. Devin pays homage to the earlier phases of his life with the lyrics , referencing his "skies of grey and field of green", something originally contained in the lyrics of "Bastard" from "Ocean Machine".

From there things goes through several different styles, with the slower and partially sarcastic "Babysong" (which contains one section that seems intentionally written to sound like it could have been on "Terria"), the 80's metal spoof "Vampira", and the more straight-ahead rock tune "Gaia", which is one of my favorites. This song is the ultimate driving music, full of groovy riffs, surrounded by clouds of synth and clean guitars that really give the song depth.

Near the end of the album, there are several more "epics", in typical Townsend fashion, and they are all amazing. "Pixellate" is strange and ominous, "Judgment" harkens back to "Physicist" with the "I'm sorry, I had no idea..." vocal, and also shows how the line between the Devin Townsend Band and his other project Strapping Young Lad has blurred a little, as this song contains some his most violent, amelodic screams yet. Somehow it never stops the song from being beautiful... its wave-like pulse makes it another favorite. It brings to mind so many visuals at once. "A Simple Lullaby" is mostly instrumental, and the mood is completely life-affirming and in keeping with Townsend's Buddhist beliefs, is the sound of love itself. "Notes From Africa" is an urgent, mysterious, rhythmic way to end the album, containing another lyric reprise of "Oh what a feeling..." from SYL's "Love?".

"Synchestra" was described by Townsend as a look back at what he'd done, as the end of an era. As this, it succeeds masterfully, and yet still it covers new ground. This is empowering music, happy and positive without any hint of cheesiness; this is the happiness of a man who worked hard to find it, and this is an amazing, near-flawless album. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Devin Townsend album to date, February 8, 2006
This review is from: Synchestra (Audio CD)
I still can't put it down since I got it. This album is like a mix between Ocean Machine and Terria with a little of Accelerated Evolution on the side. It is very varied and entertaining. This may well be the best album of the year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Synchestra
Synchestra by Devin Townsend (Audio CD - 2006)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.