Customer Reviews


44 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


113 of 117 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Solves the noise problem
After ogling this for weeks I cracked down and pulled the trigger. It arrived a couple of days ago. So far I have been running the following (in parallel):

* migration of my backups and media library (from Readynas NV+), about 460 GB
* watched a movie
* played music on the Squeezebox Touch
* a remote backup of another Synology Diskstation over...
Published on April 3, 2011 by Wonderboy

versus
70 of 81 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars High Idle Temps Make This No Go
"...the fan does not spin while the unit hibernates and the CPU, which does NOT throttle down, sits scant millimeters away from drive four."

My initial testing of this unit was very favorable. Read speeds over 90MB/s, using basic 5400 RPM drives, on AFP with a 2011 MacBook Pro through an HP ProCurve 1GB switch. Writes speeds, using RAID 5, drop to half of this,...
Published on May 21, 2011 by C. ROMER


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

113 of 117 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Solves the noise problem, April 3, 2011
By 
Wonderboy (Lausanne, Switzerland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Synology DiskStation 4-Bay (Diskless) Network Attached Storage DS411slim (Black) (Personal Computers)
After ogling this for weeks I cracked down and pulled the trigger. It arrived a couple of days ago. So far I have been running the following (in parallel):

* migration of my backups and media library (from Readynas NV+), about 460 GB
* watched a movie
* played music on the Squeezebox Touch
* a remote backup of another Synology Diskstation over the Internet, 45GB
* hourly time machine backups (continuing on the sparsebundle from the NV+
* download of 4GB BitTorrent.

Even with the disks that busy, the fan sometimes turns completely off. The CPU temperature is consistently at 64 degrees Celsius and the 2 disks are at 42 degrees. My take on the temperature discussion is that these are the temperatures that both hard drives and CPU are designed for and running at these temperatures allows for a super quiet NAS.

This has less than half of the footprint and less than a quarter of the volume of the NV+. It looks quite futuristic, too. Works perfectly with currently 2 Western Digital 1 TB Scorpio Blue SATA 5200 RPM 8 MB Cache Bulk/OEM Notebook Hard Drive WD10TPVT. Much faster response than the NV+ when e.g. opening a folder, accessing the admin interface or picking and starting a song on the squeezebox.

I have only good things to say about it.

UPDATE (4/8/11)
Likely not related to the DS411slim, but nevertheless important for those who migrate from another NAS: Make sure you verify that the data is there after you copied it. I noticed skipping on a certain song that went away when I recopied the song from its original location. Upon comparing my old NAS with the DS411slim, many instances of corrupted data were discovered. I am using beyond compare, and compared a whole night long until I figured out that I did it wrong and didn't discover any inconsistencies. Now that I'm doing it right, many corrupted files have been discovered, and I fortunately could recopy them before reformatting and selling my old NAS. Look up file comparison in Wikipedia for a list of tools you can use. Probably there are safer mechanisms than I used to migrate the data in the first place, but this is definitely something to watch out for.

UPDATE (5/31/11)
Still looking good. Noticed that a 1 volume set-up using all available disk space cannot be changed later without reformatting. If you add a drive, it will extend the existing volume, it won't allow you to add a new volume on the additional space. For older Apple OS' Time Machine works better under iSCSI and iSCSI is faster on its own partition:
[...] /How_to_use_the_iSCSI_Target_Service_on_the_Synology_DiskStation#How_to_create_an_iSCSI_Target_on_the_Synology_DiskStation

UPDATE (2/21/12)
The DS411 has been used nonstop with a lot of downloading video, backing up another NAS remotely, playing music on the Squeezebox and time machine backup for 2 MacBooks. Not a hitch. Once a bit of dust got caught in the fan making a little noise, pulled it out, that's it. As much pleasure with this unit as on the first day. None of the concerns voiced by other reviewers have materialized.

UPDATE (7/28/13)
Still not a single problem. The DSM software has been getting continuously better and all updates went through easily. Even though the station is on nonstop, none of the hard drives have ever failed and the S.M.A.R.T. status for all is normal. Today I just added Amazon Glacier backup for the family photos. While it takes a little bit of frowning, I'd say they make it as easy as possible: create an AWS account, add payment option, then enter the AWS key and secret key in the NAS, choose which folders to back up, that's all. You don't even need to create a vault on the Amazon end, the DS does that automatically.

With the model now 2.5 years old it I was hoping for a successor that I can recommend to friends who want to buy a NAS now - but it seems there is still none in sight. Maybe DS411slim is still going too strong for them to worry about that - at least it seems there aren't many comparable devices out there, and the price hasn't changed in 2.5 years!

UPDATE (5/8/14)
After 3 years, the first drive broke down. Replaced it and the volume rebuilt without a problem. Chromecast playing videos from NAS, too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, April 7, 2011
By 
Chad (United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Synology DiskStation 4-Bay (Diskless) Network Attached Storage DS411slim (Black) (Personal Computers)
This is the most advanced little NAS i've ever seen. The style, quality and physical layout of the NAS to the user interface and simple tools used to get it working. It supports all raids from 1,0,10,5,6 and even some others i've never heard of.

I am still thrown back at the size, it fits in the palm of your hand and has 4 hard drives in it. It's silent except when its working hard even then its a whisper.

The other thing that amazed me is the user interface, no more remote desktop non sense no more windows Server head aches no complicated command line. You login via a web browser gui, just like a home router if you've ever used go to assist express or something similar it reminds me of that.

I have a high resolution 30 inch monitor, and the gui looked amazing. It's fast, very intuitive and easy to use.

I put in 4 500GB western digital drives in raid 6, that amounts to around 922GB of usable storage. Raid 6 can lose 2/4 hard drives and still recover the data.

The free updates of the software is an awesome deal. they come often too, 3.1 was just released and I upgraded to it painlessly without having to register on the site. The unit also can do upgrades on its own within its software automatically.

the initial setup was painless, it comes with no software preinstalled as in os, so you install the hard drives in the racks, hooked it up to your network, power it on and use the initial setup app, this finds the nas on the network, which was given an ip via dhcp and allows you to right click on it in a list and tell it to install. It gives you a status on where it is with configuring drives, formatting and installing the software. then you login using a webgui, default username is admin with a blank password.

Here you configure the hard drives in a raid configuration based on how many hard drives you have. setup usernames accounts etc. Everything gui based similiar to windows but much more streamlined, simple and easy.

Great nas, and considering a Windows media server costs just as much this device is a no brainer. Synology will be touted every where I see a place for it. Synology will get bought by a bigger competitor, no doubt about it. Amazing stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


70 of 81 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars High Idle Temps Make This No Go, May 21, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Synology DiskStation 4-Bay (Diskless) Network Attached Storage DS411slim (Black) (Personal Computers)
"...the fan does not spin while the unit hibernates and the CPU, which does NOT throttle down, sits scant millimeters away from drive four."

My initial testing of this unit was very favorable. Read speeds over 90MB/s, using basic 5400 RPM drives, on AFP with a 2011 MacBook Pro through an HP ProCurve 1GB switch. Writes speeds, using RAID 5, drop to half of this, which is still acceptable for a typical environment (i.e. home or small office share).

The size has to be seen first hand to appreciate how compact the unit is. The styling is nice, and the management software Synology's DiskStation Manager is pleasant to look at as well as easy to use (despite some options being scattered about).

However, PC transfer speeds (W7 on i7 with SSD over HP ProCurve 1GB, using FastCopy, and optimized network settings) seem to be much slower. I had trouble topping 50MB/s, while an i5 MacBook Pro can manage 70-90 MB/s on the same setup. Also, the CPU is banging away at 80% during single writes. I have doubts this would scale well.

Still, it's the idling unit temperatures that have been causing users issues (check Synology forums). Synology replies with temperature specs that are incredible. "76C is normal because 105C is the max, and the unit shuts down at 95C" (paraphrasing). In other words 167F is ok, because Synology doesn't consider it an issue until 203F!

To be clear, this is when the unit is Hibernating. Once everything is up and running, the unit cools down considerably. This is so even when all four drives are pushed to the max. The reason is the fan does not spin while the unit hibernates and the CPU, which does NOT throttle down, sits scant millimeters away from drive four. Synology considers the act of slowly baking your drives to be acceptable in their design.

If you do buy it, consider using no more than three drives. Also, check into the fan speed hacks, but do so with this warning. This is a direct quote from support:

"There are users on the forum who have submitted ways to edit the fan tables, but this voids our offer of support and you will need to proceed at your own discretion."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars May be a bit of a niche product..., February 18, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Synology DiskStation 4-Bay (Diskless) Network Attached Storage DS411slim (Black) (Personal Computers)
No matter how you run the numbers, a 3.5" 2-drive Synology is going to be cheaper, greener and less trouble than the DS411slim. Laptop drives can be a pain to deal with, due to long-term reliability concerns as well as performance and capacity limitations. Any power savings you'll see with the DS411slim will take decades to realize, if at all (it draws more power when hibernating than the DS212j, for example!)

That said, this little guy is perfect for SSDs. Fill it with important photos and documents, recent downloads, security camera footage, a few virtual machines for your VMware cluster, etc. Add on some obscure servers like e-mail, web, VoIP and some cloud-based backups and you'll be good to go for a full-featured system-in-a-box.

FAN/HEAT ISSUES:
The default fan setting is VERY conservative. The DS409slim does not have this issue since it runs the fan all the time. The DS411slim turns the fan off most of the time. I simply set the fan operating mode to "Cool Mode" under "Power" in the Control Panel. The fan is completely silent, yet the temp dropped from 130F to 105F in a few minutes. Power usage went up a scant .4W using some rough measurements.

9/16/13 UPDATE
Still 4 stars for now, but I am currently breaking away from Synology. Some of the unresolved quirks have started to weigh on me. See my review on the DS409slim for more details.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent product - Value for money, January 19, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Synology DiskStation 4-Bay (Diskless) Network Attached Storage DS411slim (Black) (Personal Computers)
I am a first time NAS buyer and was looking for a product that would support cloud storage with reliable backups for my Laptops. After some research online, I saw that in the consumer price range Synology products were very highly recommended with QNAP a close second. After much deliberation I decided to go for Synology as it not only has a great hardware package but also is very well supplemented by their proprietary OS (Linux based) DSM which packs a punch in it's service offering. I was impressed by their support for mobile devices running iOS, Android and Windows.

My primary ask from the device was a robust cloud storage to store my photos, music and documents with adequate backup.

Packaging and Dimenstions : I would rate it at 5 on 5.

The packaging was very intuitive and sleek. The product itself was much smaller than I had anticipated for a 4 bay NAS and can be stowed away in a small enclosure (provided there is enough air circulation as it does get quite warm during operation)

Setup and configuration: I would rate it at 3.5 on 5

It takes an intermediate level of understanding of networks and associated interfaces (routers and modems) to setup. The device fits 4 2.5Inch HDD. I bought 2 WD Blue 1 TB SATA II HDD and it was very easy to install it. Adequate screws were provided and even though the bay trays are plastic they are well made and quite sturdy. Watch for excessive vibrations after installation. This indicates that the HDDs are not sitting tight in the trays and can damage the HDD.

I used their SHR configuration which offers the same resilience as RAID configuration and allows for more flexibility for growth. I have a total of 2 TB in a single volume and plan to expand as soon as I can afford more HDD. The only draw back is that the options for HDD in 2.5 Inch form factor is quite limited and is pricey for Solid State HDDs.

After installing the DSM software (Note: the DSM software sits on the same HDD and hence the device is more susceptible to catastrophic failure) I went about configuring the DDNS service. Synology offers Dynamic DDNS service for those without static ip address. The only setback is that even though they claim that SSL certificates can be obtained via StartSSL for free, its not the case as the parent domain Synology.me is a blacklisted domain. Also, to get a cert issued you need to have complete ownership over the parent domain. So your browser will keep alerting you about the lack of a trusted certificate. However, you can invest in a trusted certificate (personally I feel that it's a rip-off to spend $70+ on hosting services).

Configuration: 4 on 5

Setting up users and groups is easy but understanding which permissions precede which like running through a maze. For e.g. I have setup read only access on a folder for a user and read+write on the same folder for the group. While the user permissions trumps the group permissions I found that "Admin" user is also by default (irrevocably) member of users group and removing access to any folder will remove it from Admin user too!! I'm still learning!

My Wi-Fi router was on the supported list and hence I assumed that the ports that were configured from DSM would be available but they were available only for a few hours at best and would lose their configuration. Upon inspection on the router config page, I found that it was being configured as PPPoE ports with a 4 hour lease. I had to manually forward all the ports and since then they have been working as expected.

DSM Software: 4.5 on 5

Photo Station - Easy to use. Again confusion with access permissions. But it will allow you to setup photo station only accounts. Creating thumbnails takes way too long but the end result is extremely satisfying.

Cloud Station - Easy to setup and use. Works very well

Music and Video Station - Easy to setup and works as a DLNA server as well. Immediately found by my XBox 360.

Device was running a little hot and I had to switch it from silent mode to cool mode.

All-in-all a great product.I'm very satisfied with it's performance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Overall good features, some networking problems and access limitations, December 5, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Synology DiskStation 4-Bay (Diskless) Network Attached Storage DS411slim (Black) (Personal Computers)
Purchased to serve as SOHO File Server. Numerous functions not needed for this purpose. Initially unable to connect as a shared drive over point-to-point VPN. Both Synology tech support and Cisco Tech support unable to resolve. Finally open up additional port to allow this traffic (1723?) and problem finally resolved,

Up to 7 computers accessing this device for file sharing - limitation in number of open files caused frequent "freezing" of unit - frequently requiring reboot to rsolve.

Would probably be fine for local network with 3-4 computers accessing unit at same time.

Lastly, cloud backup sevices auch as Carbonite require business account (significantly more $$$) for backing up shared network drive. Had to syncronize shared directories to drive on workstation then backup from workstation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally, the NAS I've been looking for!, March 18, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Synology DiskStation 4-Bay (Diskless) Network Attached Storage DS411slim (Black) (Personal Computers)
As far as I'm aware this is the first 4 bay 2.5" NAS on the market. It came out over a year ago but hasn't received very much attention, which blows my mind, because it truly is a wonderful device. It combines an incredibly small form factor, a gigabit ethernet port, and a wealth of advanced options like a webserver, bittorrent client, FTP server, IP camera system, intelligent RAID configurations and Synology's renowned Disk Manager software. When you consider how many features are packed into this tiny box, its low price, and its lower noise and power consumption compared to much larger and more expensive NAS enclosures, the 411slim is a no brainer.

Currently I have 4 Western Digital 1TB Scorpio Blue drives in this enclosure in a RAID5 array. At the time of this review, 1TB is the largest 2.5" drive available, so yes, you're limited to half the storage capacity of a normal 4 bay 3.5" NAS. However, don't let this scare you away. 1.5TB and 2TB 2.5" drives are right around the corner, and as long as those drives don't exceed 12.5mm thickness, you should be able to scale upwards to 8TB and subsequently get some real bang for your buck with this machine.

Speed is on the slow side - don't expect it to rival a ReadyNAS with aggregated ethernet. But considering the way I use this NAS - as a repository for all my video, music and photos, with direct playback via USB to my Popcorn Hour network media player - speed is secondary. I love having something that is out of sight and out of mind (and out of hearing range). I can always do massive file transfers overnight while I'm sleeping. If speed is paramount to you, look into traditional 3.5" NAS solutions. But if you plan to use this as a backup drive or as media storage, without constant R/W or high-def playback to other networked machines, then this is the perfect NAS.

I can't say enough about the 411slim - it is a remarkable piece of computer engineering, and while it won't rival the performance of a traditional NAS, its other features more than make up for it and set it apart from the rest of the NAS pack.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic little box for home use, July 2, 2013
By 
G. M. Byrom (Melbourne, Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Synology DiskStation 4-Bay (Diskless) Network Attached Storage DS411slim (Black) (Personal Computers)
Very happy with the Synology DS411slim since it arrived. Incredibly quiet, easy to use and reliable. Those who have encountered overheating issues please bear in mind there are three fan settings, you can set it to "Cool" mode which prevents any overheating issues (and never shuts the fan off). The fan is so quiet and consumes so little power that you would probably never notice any difference.

If you wish to turn this into a wireless unit be careful which model of wireless adapter you choose as if it isn't on the compatibility list for Synology NAS's it will NOT work. Most models on the list are older N150 ones so you won't find them in stores - search on Amazon instead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great NAS Product!, April 20, 2013
This review is from: Synology DiskStation 4-Bay (Diskless) Network Attached Storage DS411slim (Black) (Personal Computers)
This little NAS is just what I was looking for.WOW I recommend this synology DS it is amazing with alots of free apps it's almost complete solution for home and small business. Like other reviewers, I am very happy with the noise levels of the machine. The only sounds that I really notice are those coming from the actual disks when the disks are suddenly engaged.I also think the software is excellent.The free updates of the software is an awesome deal.I have done a lot of research on home NAS servers before I bought the DS411 Slim. It does exactly what it states on the Synology website. It has a very good intuitive interface and simple navagation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Product, September 14, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Synology DiskStation 4-Bay (Diskless) Network Attached Storage DS411slim (Black) (Personal Computers)
I have been using this device with 4 1tb 12mm lap top drives(WD's) in hybrid RAID config. for 6mths. Absolutely no issues. DSM software is intuitive. Powerful little box. Amazing how much you can do with this thing that is nearly silent and takes up less room than my stapler on my desk. My only complaint would be the price of the Drives is over a 100 bucks a piece for 1TB's. Even so, you gain so much space that I feel it was worth it as I don't need more functionality than this NAS offers for my home office.

Great product; would deff buy again and am thoroughly impressed with Synology.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.