Facility Spring Cleaning Spring Reading 2016 Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_cbcc_7_fly_beacon The Jayhawks Fire TV Stick Subscribe & Save Made in Italy Amazon Gift Card Offer out2 out2 out2  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors Kindle Paperwhite AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Shop Now May4th

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on September 12, 2015
The book is a little outdated but nonetheless is packed with essential information. My only complaint is about rolling your own toolchain chapter. I got it working but it was a challenge to follow. If you are wanting to get a better understanding of Linux and making your own distro you must buy it and try it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 15, 2015
Not to good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 4, 2015
Was great and made a perfect gift!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 5, 2014
I really advise anyone interested in linux. What i like the most about this book is that all subjects are explained for both Red Hat and Ubuntu based. Not only from one distro's perspective but rather from both two big distros red hat and ubuntu based, which is very rare for this kind of books. Secondly, the sections and writings are very informative. The only thing i may critise; it should have more examples and Q&A section.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 22, 2014
Well organized, and it covers a plethora of topics in clear detail. I might use just this book to pass the LPI exams. It's that good.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 31, 2014
Needed this text for school, it actually turned out to be pretty good and I would recommend for others learning about the topic.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 7, 2013
best money i've spent on a book.. breaks it down for even a novice to linux to understand.. highly recommended
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 29, 2011
Probably the only book on Linux Sys Adm you'll ever need. Pro Linux System Administration cleared up my bookshelf by making 10 other books on Linux redundant.
11 comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 6, 2011
though I haven't gone through the entire book i found what i was looking especially stuff on Open VPN and Rsync and other backup tools. This book is a must have for the new system administrators or for those whom Linux is not their forte and for others who need quick brushups and tips.Though not perfect the content is well defined.Its not as advanced as some of the other books out there but it certainly simplifies stuff. So before you bad mouth the book please write a book of your own.Job well done to James Turnbull I certainly will put the book to good use
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 3, 2011
The book has so many errors that it is practically useless. It is probably oriented towards those that skim through the book to get a general idea without actually trying to type in the stuff that is there.

For starters, the chapter 6 averages 2-3 errors per page! Environment variables that are not set are being used in the code. There is a mess up with paths and more. Plus, the author uses incompatible versions of 'binutils' and 'glibc' and moves forward like everything is building fine. It is not! The configuration script that is to be run before the build tells they are not compatible and exits with error. tip: reading the configuration script will tell you which versions should be used. Moreover, the selected GCC (that is what is being built) version has a documented bug to circumvent which additional steps needed to be performed for the build. Again, there is no mention of it, only pretending that everything builds fine.

I found the right place for this book - in my garbage can.
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.