Customer Reviews


57 Reviews
5 star:
 (39)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fun party game
This game is great for any size group, and it makes you think! The game makes you try to describe something without using the most common words you might think of, so you must dig into your vocabulary and come up with interesting ways to make someone say a word.
Published on December 9, 2011 by Anthony Otto

versus
66 of 66 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Cheaper quality overall, but it's still a blast
FOR THOSE WHO'VE ALREADY PLAYED TABOO:

This particular edition, with the white box, is the most recent one (copyrighted in 2010). The edition before it is the 10th anniversary, I believe. There's a number of changes in this one, including:
- new cards (also differently sized than in previous versions)
- a different buzzer
- different...
Published on January 30, 2012 by P. Phan


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

66 of 66 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Cheaper quality overall, but it's still a blast, January 30, 2012
= Durability:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Taboo (Toy)
FOR THOSE WHO'VE ALREADY PLAYED TABOO:

This particular edition, with the white box, is the most recent one (copyrighted in 2010). The edition before it is the 10th anniversary, I believe. There's a number of changes in this one, including:
- new cards (also differently sized than in previous versions)
- a different buzzer
- different cardholder
- addition of the "game-changer" die

COMPONENTS (3/5)

CARDS (3/5)
Yes, there are four words per card, two on each side. However, they are not oriented in the same direction. The top word is right-side up, while the bottom word is upside down. Thus, no matter how the card is oriented, the top half will be readable (think playing cards). I didn't have any trouble or confusion with which word to give clues for, or any significant trouble reading the text, for that matter (some cards have white text on yellow, which can be a minor nuisance). There are 1,080 words (270 cards), giving it 72 more words than previous editions (which have 504 cards with two words per side). The cardstock definitely IS thinner, but either way, it can still stand up to people's frantic flipping.

Some words are indeed very current, perhaps too current. You'll be seeing things like "frenemy" and "Octomom", which will probably be out of lexicon by the time you read this. HOWEVER, the majority of words are still normal-- that is, not slang words. Also, keep in mind that all Taboo sets include contemporary words along with normal ones. For example, the previous edition (purple-and-white) includes such words as "You've got mail" (of AOL fame), Monica Lewinsky, and car phone.

An additional problem: because each card is designed to be reused up to three more times, you have to keep them all oriented in the same direction upon discarding to ensure that they can be reused without seeing any repeat words. Pretty annoying.

OTHER COMPONENTS (3/5)
I have to disagree with the other reviewer who said the cards don't fit well into the cardholder. They fit just fine, although they do hold much fewer cards than the ones given in the previous editions, maybe only 1/5 as much. The cardholder for the new ones definitely won't fit older Taboo cards, and vice versa. The buzzer now says "uh uh!" instead of making a buzzing sound. A very unnecessary, silly change, IMO. In my box, the timer has trouble "starting": sand often gets stuck. When it does work, it works fine. Hopefully, my problem was an isolated one.

The tray itself has three separate compartments meant to help keep track of scored cards and discarded cards. It is pretty counter-intuitive, since in practice, none of the compartments actually has enough space to hold all the cards.

GAMEPLAY (5/5)
Exactly the same. The game-changer die is optional, and is, in my opinion, another silly and unnecessary change. If you play with it, you roll it before the clue-giver starts his/her turn. The game-changer die adds additional rules. It's a six-sided die, and here are all the sides:
ONE GUESSER- choose only one person from your team to guess words
DOUBLE TIME- two minutes instead of one. The bonus also applies to the other team.
ALL PLAY- both teams guess, first to guess gets the point.
STATUE- Sit absolutely still while giving clues (isn't this technically a rule anyways?)
CLASSIC- play as usual; no changes to rules

FOR THOSE WHO HAVEN'T:

This section is a review of Taboo itself.

GAMEPLAY (5/5)
Players are split up into two teams. You draw a card, which gives you a word, along with five words you AREN'T allowed to use as clues. You get your team to guess correctly, they score a point. Continue until time runs out. Then, a player from the next team plays the role of clue-giver. After everyone in the game has been clue-giver once, the game ends, and team with the most points win.

It's a devilishly simple test of quick thinking, cleverness, and communication. The premise sounds easy (only five words? pah!), but trust me, the moment you draw a card, you'll see why people find this game challenging. Saying one of the forbidden "Taboo" words gives the other team a point, and so does skipping a card. With over 1,000 words, Taboo will stay fresh for quite some time. It's definitely one of the quintessential party games (and a fantastic ice-breaker to boot), and can accommodate quite a number of people: although the rules speak of having only two teams, it's totally possible to have more than that.

COMPONENTS (3/5)
You'll find most of the component information up there. For reference, a Taboo set comes with:
270 double-sided cards
1 one-minute sand timer
1 plastic card holder
1 buzzer (double AA batteries)
1 Taboo score sheet. Nothing special; can easily use a notepad or scratch paper when you run out of sheets.
1 game-changer die.

BOTTOM LINE: SHOULD I BUY THIS?
Overall, the components definitely do feel of cheaper quality. Despite this, it doesn't hamper the gameplay, and Taboo is still as enjoyable as ever. If you love Taboo and want the new cards, buy this. If this is your first set ever, look into buying a previous edition (purple and white box); the quality is far superior. The lack of the game-changer die, the only thing truly unique to this particular set, will hardly be missed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 25 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Poor quality, disappointing new words, December 30, 2011
= Durability:2.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Taboo (Toy)
We've had this game in its original version for a long time and all of us laughed hard for a couple nights recently(ages 49, 48, 17, 15, 13). However some words were just too dated (e.g."coonskin"). I decided to buy this most recent version as an indulgence since it's quite expensive. The quality was very disappointing on most items in the box. Cardstock is thinner. Words are doubled up on single cards to save space, but this is distracting. Poor choice of print color makes reading difficult (white on yellow for some cards). The original version card holder is pretty well designed. But the new cards don't fit well in the new holder. The buzzer has always looked a little odd, but my daughter thinks this one looks like a hard boiled egg. Her teenage friends didn't like the new game either. We didn't even try the buzzer. it's back to the original for us. I'll start looking for some previous updates like the 2000 version instead. This one is getting returned.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fun party game, December 9, 2011
= Durability:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Taboo (Toy)
This game is great for any size group, and it makes you think! The game makes you try to describe something without using the most common words you might think of, so you must dig into your vocabulary and come up with interesting ways to make someone say a word.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great game!, December 27, 2011
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Taboo (Toy)
A fun game for family or small group of people! A must have for people who enjoy games of any kind. Recommended for ages from 12 - up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars awesome group game, January 9, 2012
By 
H. Choy "tiniest" (West Lafayette, IN USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:1.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Taboo (Toy)
I have the original taboo. This one has some spins including the dice and of course each card has two words so you get double the words. The dice is ok. Not genius or anything. You can play without it the regular way. Basically this new version is mostly worth it for the new words. The difficulty is about the same as the old version. Both are awesome.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of those amazing games, June 25, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Taboo (Toy)
IT's just one of those games that's fun for everyone, particularly larger groups.
You need at least 4 players for this game, but it's worth it to get some friends together. I've loved this game since I was a kid and this newer addition has more words. It also has different ways to play the game besides the original way. I think it keeps a already excellent game fresh.

I cannot forsee any problems with the game. Mine came in mint condition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One FUN Game, July 14, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Taboo (Toy)
Do you want a fun game? Taboo is just the thing! Grab a card on which you will see a word at the top. There are several other words on the card, and in the process of getting your team to say the word at the top, you may say anything EXCEPT those other words on the card. Not as easy to do as you might think....but FUN? OH YEAH! Great for a few people or for a party!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Ice Breaker, May 19, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Taboo (Toy)
Great game! I was even sent an extra pack of batteries! This game breaks all awkward barriers :) Great for any party
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Loads and loads of fun, May 18, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Taboo (Toy)
Hours of fun...can be played by all ages...clean family fun... we have played for hours without running out of cards
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars I got sent the wrong version!, February 14, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Taboo (Toy)
I ordered this ADULT version from you guys (white box like the picture and descriptions you guys have on here). I was excited about getting it for my friend's birthday gift. I opened it and it was the PURPLE one?! It was sent by Target.com from Indiana? How can you get the versions AND colors wrong? It doesn't even match the picture you guys have! There's only so many version, how can you get it mixed? I don't know if you guys gave TARGET the wrong information or if a worker at TARGET is (color)blind, but I want the ADULT VERSION (WHITE), not PURPLE (and it doesn't even say adult on it). Now I'm gift-less to her party.

Guess other folks on here got better luck than me of not getting someone who can't read or see ship their order. Ridiculous. I've check many stores around here and they don't even sell the "Adult" version, that's why I ordered one online like what the picture here has. Wow... False Ad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Taboo
Taboo by TABOO
$31.99 $14.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.