Customer Reviews


69 Reviews
5 star:
 (59)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


35 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars yet another "Now Voyager" release, but still a good BETTE for Davis fans
Warners unveils their latest entries in the TCM Greatest Classic Films Collection. Whilst NOW VOYAGER has previously been covered in the TCM Greatest Classic Films Collection: Romance (Splendor in the Grass / Love in the Afternoon / Mogambo / Now Voyager); the other three titles are must-own Bette Davis vehicles, and when bought together in this package are cheaper than...
Published on January 5, 2011 by Byron Kolln

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ok group of movies
TCM could have put together some of her better known Davis movies like "The Little Foxes" "Mrs. Skeffington", with a couple of these.
Published 17 months ago by N.M. Gibbs


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

35 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars yet another "Now Voyager" release, but still a good BETTE for Davis fans, January 5, 2011
By 
Byron Kolln (the corner where Broadway meets Hollywood) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: TCM Greatest Classic Film Collection: Legends - Bette Davis (Now, Voyager / Dark Victory / Old Acquaintance / Jezebel) (DVD)
Warners unveils their latest entries in the TCM Greatest Classic Films Collection. Whilst NOW VOYAGER has previously been covered in the TCM Greatest Classic Films Collection: Romance (Splendor in the Grass / Love in the Afternoon / Mogambo / Now Voyager); the other three titles are must-own Bette Davis vehicles, and when bought together in this package are cheaper than the individual discs.

NOW VOYAGER - Davis dazzles as Charlotte Vale, a miserable young spinster driven to the brink of a nervous breakdown by her shrewish mother (Dame Gladys Cooper in a masterful performance); but saved by a caring psychiatrist and a chance for love. Special Features: music scoring sessions.

DARK VICTORY - In the ultimate portrait of courage under fire, Davis is New England heiress Judith Traherne, faced with an incurable brain cancer that will eventually rob her of her sight. Special Features: new featurette "1939: Tough Competition for Dark Victory", audio commentary with James Ursini and Paul Clinton; and the trailer.

OLD ACQUAINTANCE - Bette Davis slaps Miriam Hopkins silly in the signature scene from this ripe "women's picture". Davis is Kit Marlowe, an author who willingly shuns fame and glory for the prestige of her work, whilst Hopkins is her antithesis, glamorous romance novelist Millie Drake, intent on destroying Kit's happiness when it happens to also involve Millie's husband and child! Special Features: audio commentary with Boze Hadleigh and director Vincent Sherman; and the trailer.

JEZEBEL - When Scarlett O'Hara proved impossible, Bette Davis played her own wilful Southern belle to Oscar-winning effect in this splendid re-working of Owen Davis' play. Even in black-and-white, the "red dress" ball scene sets the screen ablaze, as Julie (Davis) attempts to seduce her beau, Pres (Henry Fonda) into marrying her. From a Yellow Fever outbreak to countless hoopskirted costumes, this sordid saga of the South has it all! Special Features: audio commentary with Jeanine Basinger, new featurette "Jezebel: Legend of the South", vintage musical short "Melody Masters: Jimmy Dorsey and His Orchestra", classic cartoon "The Mice Will Play"; and the trailer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great movies. the best of the best from early in Bette's career, November 7, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: TCM Greatest Classic Film Collection: Legends - Bette Davis (Now, Voyager / Dark Victory / Old Acquaintance / Jezebel) (DVD)
The movies are classics and the quality of the restorations is exquisite. My one complaint is that the "Dark Victory" DVD only plays about 1/3 the way through before degenerating into pixels, advancing haltingly, then stopping altogether. I've purchased DVDs on occasion with similar problems, tried them in multiple players, all with the same result. I wish quality control methods were better. From reading other buyers' reviews, I realize this is not a rare occurrence and I suppose it's a caveat to be aware of when buying movies on DVD. The other movies played just fine from beginning to end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bought this for Now Voyager!, November 28, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: TCM Greatest Classic Film Collection: Legends - Bette Davis (Now, Voyager / Dark Victory / Old Acquaintance / Jezebel) (DVD)
I specifically bought this DVD in order to watch Now Voyager which was a favorite movie of my mom's. I was not disappointed. The movie was great and restoration of the film was wonderful... crisp and clear. I enjoy Bette Davis and can't wait to see the other films. Note that each movie is on it's own DVD which surprised me. I expected 2 double-sided DVDs... nice surpise!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great BD films!!!, November 18, 2012
By 
Dianne Rogers (Fayetteville, AR, US) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: TCM Greatest Classic Film Collection: Legends - Bette Davis (Now, Voyager / Dark Victory / Old Acquaintance / Jezebel) (DVD)
This is a great look at B Davis in her prime; "Now, Voyager," is one of my favorite films, with "Dark Victory" as a bonus!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars TCM Greatest Classic Film Collection: Legends - Bette Davis, February 19, 2013
This review is from: TCM Greatest Classic Film Collection: Legends - Bette Davis (Now, Voyager / Dark Victory / Old Acquaintance / Jezebel) (DVD)
Having been a classic movie fan for decades, I've seen a lot of movies. I watch a favourite movie over and over again....I literally watch it, then rewind it and watch it again. This collection of films starring Bette Davis are four of those movies! I love to watch her "act" because it's not "acting" at all! She lives her characters - from the vulnerable spinster aunt in "Now, Vogageur", the vain cougar in "Mr. Skeffington" to the doomed newly wed in "Dark Victory". Now, with this collection, I am able to see even more characters come to life with "Old Acquaintance" (which I had not only never seen, but I'd never even heard of!) and the strong willed "Jezebel". Always strong, always in control of her own life, she is an inspiration and an icon to me and I am sure to all women who are lucky enough to be able to watch her, and thanks to Amazon and their wonderful collection of DVDs, I'll be able to watch her again and again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Can not get better!, July 3, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: TCM Greatest Classic Film Collection: Legends - Bette Davis (Now, Voyager / Dark Victory / Old Acquaintance / Jezebel) (DVD)
I am a huge fan of Bette Davis, I love her movies. For anyone who is a fan, this collection is great!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bette Davis Fan, April 1, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: TCM Greatest Classic Film Collection: Legends - Bette Davis (Now, Voyager / Dark Victory / Old Acquaintance / Jezebel) (DVD)
Great collection of BD movies w/one of my favorites "Now Voyager" included. Also included in the collection is Old Acquaintances & Jezebel as well as Dark Victory. Bette was one of the all-time great actresses and this collection proves her staying power even in death. I recommend this collection to all her fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love it, November 26, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: TCM Greatest Classic Film Collection: Legends - Bette Davis (Now, Voyager / Dark Victory / Old Acquaintance / Jezebel) (DVD)
My mother and sister in law also enjoy watching this movie over and over again, especially Now Voyager. Good quality dvd and will buy more old Betty Davis movies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's Bette Davis!!!!, September 6, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: TCM Greatest Classic Film Collection: Legends - Bette Davis (Now, Voyager / Dark Victory / Old Acquaintance / Jezebel) (DVD)
What more can I say --- this video set is Bette Davis at her best!!! Another great deal that I purchased second hand from Amazon :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BETTE DAVIS CLASSICS, September 20, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: TCM Greatest Classic Film Collection: Legends - Bette Davis (Now, Voyager / Dark Victory / Old Acquaintance / Jezebel) (DVD)
THERE IS NOTHING LIKE THE OLD MOVIES, THE OLD STARS. NOT EVEN THE MOVIES OF TODAY CAN COMPARE WITH THESE CLASSICS. BETTE DAVIS IS ONE OF MY MANY FAVORITES, I LOVE HER WITH CLAUDE RAINS. I HAD 2 OF THESE MOVIES ON TAPE, BUT IT IS SO MUCH BETTER TO HAVE THE DVDs. THERE IS ANOTHER SET THAT I WANT TO GET OF THIS STAR AND THEN I WANT TO GET SOME MORE SETS OF OTHER STARS. I HAVE QUITE A COLLECTION OF TAPES AND DVD MOVIES, THIS IS JUST ONE OF MY MANY PASSIONS.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.