Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nice set of Poitier films
This is a nice set of some of Sidney Poitier film from WB and few MGM's which are owned by WB. Each movie has it's own disk and is in a spindle type holder in a 14mm DVD case. The audio for all DVDs are English mono and French mono and the subtitles vary from English, French and Spanish. The films included are as follows:

"The Blackboard Jungle"...
Published 14 months ago by Rick Lane

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Classic Sidnay Poitier
I usually like Sidney Poitier movies. These were perhaps some of his little known ones. Patch of Blue and Blackboard Jungle were the best in this collection. I really was not impressed with the other two.
Published 6 months ago by Ruth A. Schaffer


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nice set of Poitier films, October 17, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: TCM Greatest Classic: Legends - Sidney Poitier (DVD)
This is a nice set of some of Sidney Poitier film from WB and few MGM's which are owned by WB. Each movie has it's own disk and is in a spindle type holder in a 14mm DVD case. The audio for all DVDs are English mono and French mono and the subtitles vary from English, French and Spanish. The films included are as follows:

"The Blackboard Jungle" (1955/b&w/Widescreen/100mins)
Glenn Ford, Anne Francis, Louis Calhern, Margaret Hayes, Sidney Poitier; directed by Richard Brooks
"Edge of City" (1957/b&w/Widescreen/85mins)
John Cassavetes, Sidney Poitier, Jack Warden, Kathleen Maguire; directed by Martin Ritt
"Something of Value" (1957/color/Widescreen/114mins)
Rock Hudson, Dana Wynter, Sidney Poitier, Wendy Hiller; directed by Richard Brooks
"A Patch of Blue" (1965/b&w/Widescreen/105mins)
Sidney Poitier, Shelley Winters, Elizabeth Hartman; directed by Guy Green

Overall this is a great collection and is a product I would recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All Excellent fiilms, May 22, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: TCM Greatest Classic: Legends - Sidney Poitier (DVD)
A Patch of Blue is one of my all time favorite movies so I got this set for that movie alone but greatly enjoyed the others as well.

Sidney Poitier's versatility is superb.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT SET OF FILMS, August 30, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: TCM Greatest Classic: Legends - Sidney Poitier (DVD)
This is a fantastic collection of films. Transfers are excellent and each movie is on its own disc. I got it for Blaackboard Jungle. The others were equally good. A true treasure indeed. I highly recommend this fine set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sidney Poitier is the BEST., June 2, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: TCM Greatest Classic: Legends - Sidney Poitier (DVD)
I love almost every movie he has been in. He is an outstanding actor and his movies are always well played.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good collection, April 19, 2013
By 
Jean Kasperek (Cole Camp, MO United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: TCM Greatest Classic: Legends - Sidney Poitier (DVD)
Prompt delivery, good product, and reasonable price. I hadn't seen most of these before. Very enjoyable and thought provoking, interesting comparison to today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great value for the money..., January 17, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: TCM Greatest Classic: Legends - Sidney Poitier (DVD)
Got as a gift for my sister in law for Christmas. She had asked for the movie "A Patch of Blue",it costs more to buy that movie separately. Saw this set of movies, and was very happy with the price. When she opened it at Christmas, she was more than pleased. The fact that it was done as a set by TCM is a bonus.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Big fan!, May 1, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: TCM Greatest Classic: Legends - Sidney Poitier (DVD)
Loved watching these old movies! They have substance to them without sex and violence. These movies were made before my time but I still enjoy watching them. Arrived on time and well packaged.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Patch of Blue is such a wonderful movie. The others are good too but that ..., September 17, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: TCM Greatest Classic: Legends - Sidney Poitier (DVD)
A Patch of Blue is such a wonderful movie. The others are good too but that is my favorite Sidney Poitier
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I will love it, March 5, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: TCM Greatest Classic: Legends - Sidney Poitier (DVD)
I have only seen A Patch of Blue of this classic legend collection. I will enjoy viewing them all and great to have in my library. One thing I love about all of the Sidney Poitier movies that I have seen is that none of the stories are racially based. They are a great subject matter and good quality material and acting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, July 14, 2014
This review is from: TCM Greatest Classic: Legends - Sidney Poitier (DVD)
loved it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

TCM Greatest Classic: Legends - Sidney Poitier
$27.92 $9.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.