Automotive Deals Best Books of the Month Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Happy Belly Coffee Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Enter for the chance to win front row seats to Barbra Streisand Segway miniPro



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on February 15, 2014
By leaving less than a 5-star review, I'm costing myself $15. The manufacturer offers a $15 "rebate" (read: bribe) for 5-star reviews of this product.

The camera is decent, and I'm happy with my purchase. I would give 4 stars, as it's not perfect (requires internet explorer to do video recording), but the practice of bribery to skew reviews that shoppers rely upon to make informed purchases is low.
review image
3939 comments| 1,600 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
We've been upgrading our security system from Logitech cams to IP cams, and let me tell ya, the difference is stark. Logitech's security cams have always been wonky, but now with the addition of these new IP cams, Logitech's shortcomings have become stark. Do yourself a favor, and get these IP cams instead.

> Foscam vs Tenvis

This Tenvis looks to be identical to this older Foscam FI8918W. Tenvis performs just as well as this old model Foscam, but has a slightly narrower Pan & Tilt range:

Tenvis: Horizontal 270°; Vertical 90°
Foscam: Horizontal 270°; Vertical 120°

That 30° difference in the vertical lens movement can be a big deal, depending on the environment where you're using the cams. A little extra coverage is never a bad thing.

> User Interface

Tenvis just doesn't even come close to Foscam in this department. Foscam is much more refined, pleasing to the eye and just downright easier to use. Tenvis, by contrast, appears much cruder and rudimentary. The UI is loaded onto each cam itself, so all you need is a web browser to view all the options. Tenvis basically has the same features, but just not laid out as nicely as Foscam.

> No IR LED Control

One stunning omission with the Tenvis' functionality, is that you can NOT turn off the infra red LEDs manually. This is important, because IR LEDs will NOT work through glass. Even though IR isn't visible to the naked eye, the cam certainly sees it, and if you try to place this in a window looking outside, all the cam sees is a white spotlight reflecting off the glass. So in that instance, turning off the LEDs would be helpful. Also, there's some cam locations that have plenty of light, even at night, so turning off the LEDs would help make the cam more stealth. As it is, this is just not possible with Tenvis.

> Performance

The wireless range doesn't appear to be as good with Tenvis compared to Foscam. However, adding a longer external antenna seemed to help the issue. I got this one: WIFI 10 dBi 2.4GHz Antenna and they work quite well. About 3.5x longer than the antenna that came with this Tenvis. Definitely worthwhile.

> Value

We got this Tenvis for about half the cost of the new Foscam FI8916W - New Housing. At that price, we just couldn't pass up on adding another cam to our system. This cam is excellent for the money, but Foscam is better constructed, IMO. This one just feels a bit cheap by comparison. However, once it's mounted, none of that really matters, since it functions just fine.

> Not As Many PTZ Presets

Foscam has 8, Tenvis has 6. No stark difference, but certainly worth noting.

> Works With Blue Iris Software

We recently upgraded our software to Foscam Blue Iris Professional, and let me tell ya, it's fantastic. Puts Logitech to shame for sure. Blue Iris works with almost every webcam, USB cam, and IP cam on the market. Setting up this Tenvis on it was quick and seamless.

**Note** - You can use EITHER Foscam or Tenvis settings for this cam. Both work. Just good to know, in case some unknown conflict arises.

> Picture Quality

The images from the cam look fantastic. Seems to be on par with Foscam in this dept. Nice, crystal clear images, and very detailed. Almost looks HD, even though it's the old standard of 640x480.

> Pan & Tilt

Tenvis isn't as smooth as Foscam with the pan and tilt movement. The motor works fine, but the images can be a bit jerky. This might be related to wireless range. Nothing terrible, but worth noting.

> Iffy Mounting Bracket

By far, Tenvis is inferior to Foscam in this dept. Their mount just feels cheap by comparison, and like it could easily break if you over-tighten your screws. Plus, the angle adjustment knobs just don't stay in place as nicely, or clamp down as tight as Foscam's mounting bracket. If you bump your Tenvis, or don't handle it gingerly, the bracket moves from where you've set it and you have to make readjustments.

> Loud PTZ Motor

If you're planning on recording audio from this Tenvis, be aware that the mic picks up the PTZ motor while it's moving. When the PTZ motor stops, you can hear audio just fine. But once that motor kicks in again, you won't hear much, other than that PTZ motor whirring quite loudly into the mic.

> Setup

You'll need some knowledge of IP addresses and basic routing, but nothing difficult. A few paragraphs of reading at most. Very easy to setup and get going. Mine was up and running within 15 minutes. Granted, it was another day or 2 of tinkering to refine everything exactly how I want it, but the initial setup took no time at all. I didn't even read the enclosed material; just jumped right in and got it all setup in a snap.

Bottom Line -- This is a fantastic IP cam for the money, but the user interface isn't as user friendly as Foscam. If I need another budget cam, I'd definitely get another Tenvis. However, if there's a deal to be had on Foscam, I'd pick that one over Tenvis for sure. We're quite happy with our Tenvis, particularly at the price we got it for. Hands-down it kicks Logiteh's arse; very nice to finally be dumping WiLife. Happy! ;oD
1717 comments| 442 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 22, 2012
This might be the first review on Amazon of the Tenvis JPT3815W. I originally wanted to go with the Foscam since it was the most popular of the same type of IP camera, but decided to take a chance with the Tenvis. The little booklet manual was easy to follow and has good illustrations and photos. Set it up first with the ethernet cable before attempting wireless setup. The software auto-detects your network and puts the camera in the same IP address range. I got it all working and was viewing over the LAN in under a half-hour. With some port-forwarding knowledge, you can set the camera up for remote view on your smartphone, which I did with the excellent Android phone app, TinyCam Monitor Pro. Picture quality is good and focus can be manually adjusted by turning the ring around and night-vision works very well.
When operating, a green LED flashes continuously but unfortunately there is no way to turn it off in the software and hopefully the manufacturer will have a fix for it sometime in the near future.
1111 comments| 116 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 13, 2013
I am almost a week in testing this camera, three days inside after setting it up testing its ability and testing out software to use with it and then outside in a covered area for the past four days without a hitch. If you have a large network that includes more than one wireless router or network switches like my home network does be aware the software assigns it a fixed IP address which is good for working with the camera but can cause havoc once you try to go wireless for it if you did not setup the camera on the same IP address range. For example if your behind a second router that assigns the camera a IP address of 192.168.0.XXX and your main router which you intend to use it wireless with uses the range of 192.168.1.XXX the camera will never connect wireless. So make sure to plug it directly into the router with the wireless you intend to use comes from to get around this issue.

The video quality is good for the price and only blurs when being panned around at a setting a Normal speed or faster so for a smooth video when panning use a slower speed. The light adjusting ability of this camera is outstanding, I can sit here and look outside a window and can barely see but the view from the camera makes it appear mid day and that's not even it using the night vision which works wonderful when you make sure to also account for the IR led maximum range. The Pan ability is almost funny that even though it is not stated as 360 deg, the camera can pan around far enough that it can see its own antenna from both directions so you can not hide from it in a circle but one tip I would give is that even though it states its 90 degrees Tilt it can really only go about 5 degrees down and 85 degrees up so if you intend to mount it over 5 feet in the air then mount it upside down like I did and invert the view in the software to correct for that and it will give you the ability to look all the way down including directly under the camera.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 20, 2015
Very happy with this camera. I bought this to be able to remotely check in on my elderly grandmother when I'm not at home and it does that fantastically, so long as I'm using a cell phone (Still haven't figure out how to connect an off network computer to it, however since the cell phone app works fine this isnt a huge problem). My main issue *heads up software devs*, is that not all the features are available via computer unless you are using internet explorer. As a person younger than 50 :) I tend to use either chrome or firefox and when I tried to test the audio part of this camera it kept telling me I'd have to use IE if I wanted that feature. Not a deterrent especially for the price of this camera however since I imagine most people DON'T use IE anymore this might be something that is addressed in future releases. All in all very pleased, thinking about ordering another one for the front door to be able to see who's actually visiting since I'm to short for my peep hole. Would recommend this to anyone looking to pick up an inexpensive security/nanny cam.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 17, 2014
This is a great little camera. Set up took about 5 minutes and the app is very easy to use. This is the one to get if you want a basic camera that's easy to set up, with good features and a good picture.
UPDATE: One week later the camera stopped working. Apparently a hardware issue as it no longer turns on when plugged in (even though the green light shows). Sending it back tomorrow!!!
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 18, 2015
I've purchased other cameras from well known companies - but those cameras cost twice as much, were more difficult to configure, and provided fewer features. This camera was very easy to set-up with its clear instructions. The camera can be controlled from an iPhone/iPad app as well as an android app (or desktop application). I am using the iPhone and iPad apps with multiple devices (6, 6+, and iPads). Works very well so far and I am definitely going to purchase more. The camera pans easily and has fantastic remote controls. You do need to initially connect the camera to a wired LAN before using the Wifi (but that is a reasonable requirement). I found that I had to quit the app after setting it up with the wired LAN and restarting the app before setting up the WiFi (not sure if anyone else will need to do this - but I had to do this).
Overall - very satisfied.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 26, 2014
Camera installed easily to my home network -- both wired and wi-fi. If you want to view this device outside of your immediate network, you will have to port forward. Port forwarding sounds scary, but it's really not hard to do. The online manual that comes with the camera has all of the details for most of the popular routers. Follow the instructions and you are in business. Only caution is with the amount of data an IP camera will send to you. Generally not a problem on wi-fi, but if you are using your phone's data plan, it will eat up your allotment very quickly. I had to temporarily bump up my plan to a larger data package to avoid an overage. But now I understand the issue will will only use the cam remotely with a wi-fi connection. Free Android app (Tenvis Sight) works slick ... even found another 3rd party app that works just as well with the cam. I loaded that one on my Kindle Fire.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 28, 2014
This is one of the alarm video record by this camera.

Pros:
1. Probably the best wireless IP Night Vision Camera you can find in this price range.
2. It offers basically all the function you need from the Camera.
snapshots, record video, position movable (remote), alarm, alarm record, Night vision, Android and Apple remote

Cons:
1 only IE support several functions such as snapshots and record. NOT chrome and Firefox or others.
Even fro IE,it only supports IE 9 or lower versions on my computer
2 the alarm function is not very accurate. Fault alarm happens even when at lowest sensitivity
review image review image
0Comment| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 12, 2013
Bought a TENVIS JPT3815W for its good price. TENVIS made it tremendously easy to setup, I choose the "Wizard Mode" during setup, I am not exactly tech savvy but I was able to detect the camera
on my network instantly. I followed the setup instruction and successfully connect to WiFi wirelessly! This company offers access URL for users to view the camera image through internet, which is fabulus.
The setup wizard has automatic way to set port forwarding, unfortunately that doesn't work for me. However, by following the instructions on zettaguard.com website (their distributor),
I was able to setup the port forwarding.

Images is great, Pan/Tilt control is very smooth. IR cut is not included, but I have no complains due to its price. The product can remember 6 preset positions for quick navigation, it works
perfect. It has 2 way audit so I can hear what is happening in our living room through the camera. You can take picture snapshot, save videos on your hard drives -
I explored most of features and I am so happy to own this camera. The only thing need to improve is its browser compatibility - it works with IE the best, but not so good with other browsers.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 476 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.