Customer Reviews


74 Reviews
5 star:
 (52)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


48 of 49 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Carmichael epitomizes LORD WIMSEY, aristocrat sleuth
Bonnie fine PI mystery. Bonnie -not wee, as EACH story is over 3 hrs. 16+ hrs total. Ian Carmichael as Lord Peter Wimsey plays a perfect 1920/30s gentleman emitting proper pomp and finesse. Glyn Houston is gentleman's gentleman. Bunter is Watson-like in investigations, a chef, and spiffy as any Brit butler. View a parade of fine period vehicles.

SDH SUBTITLES...
Published 20 months ago by Harold Wolf

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not really the Complete Series
This is the complete series only insofar as it includes all of the titles in which Ian Carmichael starred. I enjoyed these when they first aired. This time, not so much, as I found Carmichael's performance too facetious and precious.

Take a look at the titles that feature Wimsey and Harriet Vane, which are available in a separate collection. In these Edward...
Published 6 months ago by needingknittles


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

48 of 49 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Carmichael epitomizes LORD WIMSEY, aristocrat sleuth, March 23, 2013
By 
Harold Wolf "Doc" (Wells, IN United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: THE LORD PETER WIMSEY MYSTERIES: COMPLETE COLLECTION (DVD)
Bonnie fine PI mystery. Bonnie -not wee, as EACH story is over 3 hrs. 16+ hrs total. Ian Carmichael as Lord Peter Wimsey plays a perfect 1920/30s gentleman emitting proper pomp and finesse. Glyn Houston is gentleman's gentleman. Bunter is Watson-like in investigations, a chef, and spiffy as any Brit butler. View a parade of fine period vehicles.

SDH SUBTITLES available while enjoying English and Scot dialects. Scenery is wonderful, costumes perfection. A period delight in all ways. The BBC adapted Dorothy L. Sayers' Wimsey novels spot on, thank you.

CLOUDS OF WITNESS -book published 1926
Wimsey's vacation interrupted by his brother's, Duke of Denver, murder trial. A dispute was followed by a man being killed by Gerald's gun. The Duke has no explanation for his action and time. Wimsey investigates clues and changing facts. Lies? Secrets? Who has motive? It's a family affair of trouble. Delightful costumes and interior sets.

THE UNPLEASANTNESS AT THE BELLONA CLUB -book published 1928
Can this investigation get more complicated? A respected Bellona member dies in the reading room. A sister the same day. Wimsey is called to verify a death time needed for an inheritance issue. Poison? Just the beginning of complicated discoveries. Watch for Phyllida Law.

MURDER MUST ADVERTISE -book published 1933
Ad copywriter, Dean, associated with wealthy drug user group. Was his spiral staircase death fall accidental? Sister Pamela (Gwen Taylor-"A Bit of a Do") says he's clean. How`s Maj Milligan (Peter Bowles- "Lytton's Diary") connected? An annoying over-played blonde actress in this story, but bang-on good. Book-true, a surprise, uncommon, satisfying end.

FIVE RED HERRINGS -book published 1931
Wimsey discovers Bunter's art hobby on a Galway train. Holiday time in a fishing area frequented by artists. Campbell is ejected from a golf club leading to a pub fight. While fishing near an abandoned easel, a body is discovered. Vacation ends. Enough art suspects to fill the Glasgow Gallery. 1 killer and `five red herrings' near Kirkcudbright in 1931. Dramatizes early police times as PI Wimsey, appoints himself to investigate, contaminates scene & evidence. Wonderful landscape film artistry.

THE NINE TAILORS -book published 1934
Most anticipated Sayers story adaptation. The title refers to church bells being rung 9 times for the old year, or for a man's death. c1914 in Fenchurch St. Paul, emeralds were stolen. Maj. Wimsey's WWI bunker's hit. He's pulled to safety by Sgt. Bunter in 1918. c1924, Wimsey and now-butler Bunter have a car accident outside Fenchurch St. Paul. Wimsey rings bell for New Year Peal. c1930s, a hand-less body drives Wimsey's search for emeralds. A mystery consuming decades. "By Jove; and bless your black button gaiters; jolly good," Wimsey would say.

Bonus: 3 Carmichael interviews, text bios, Sayers bib., text prod notes.
Family friendly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really love this series, July 30, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: THE LORD PETER WIMSEY MYSTERIES: COMPLETE COLLECTION (DVD)
I had read all of Dorothy L. Sayer's books back in the 1970's, loved the BBC series and was thrilled to see it was on DVD. Ian Carmichael is for me the perfect Lord Peter Wimsey. While this collection states it is the Complete Collection, I suppose technically it is with Ian Carmichael, but to get the Harriet Vane and Lord Peter stories I had to buy Dorothy L. Sayers Mysteries also.
The Complete set is the original from PBS's Masterpiece Theatre: Clouds of Witness, The Unpleasantness at the Bellonia Club, Murder Must Advertise, Five Red Herrings, The Nine Tailors plus an interesting interview with Ian Carmichael.
Purchase Dorothy L. Sayer's Mysteries and you can complete the Lord Peter series with Strong Poison, Have His Carcase and Gaudy Night.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Whodunnit at Its best, April 19, 2013
This review is from: THE LORD PETER WIMSEY MYSTERIES: COMPLETE COLLECTION (DVD)
I had never seen The Lord Peter Wimsey Mysteries before I received this set to review, but I think that its now one of my favorite crime based shows. I love period drama, and I love learning about criminal investigations. This show combines both in an early 1920's setting and is actually one of the first crime series ever made. These episodes are whodunits at their best. You'll learn how forensics excerpts solved the cases before they had the help of computers. Each episode brings you each of the best drama and mystery in realistic settings and with stunning period costumes. The cast of characters including priest, butlers English gentlemen of the highest caliber are funny, interesting and diverse. Siblings, artists, and even Lord Peter's own future brother-in-law are murdered and Wimsey must do whatever it takes to bring the killer to justice. This series is definitely a refreshing switch from the norm.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 31 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I say!, March 1, 2013
This review is from: THE LORD PETER WIMSEY MYSTERIES: COMPLETE COLLECTION (DVD)
Dorothy Sayers created a rather unusual sleuth in Lord Peter Wimsey -- think Bertie Wooster, except with a formidable crime-solving brain, a haunted past and a tendency to stumble across murders. And "Lord Peter Wimsey Mysteries: Complete Collection" brings together all of the solid BBC adaptations of her works starring Ian Carmichael, which are hampered mainly by the fact that the cast is a bit old for their roles.

In "Clouds of Witness" Peter is on vacation when he finds out that his brother, The Duke of Denver (informally "Gerald"), is on trial for murder -- he had a blowup with his sister Mary's fiancee, Denis Cathcart, and the next morning, Cathcart was found shot through the heart by Gerald's gun, with Gerald bending over the body. The Duke stubbornly refuses to explain why he was out in the rain at three in the morning. Now Peter must unravel a mass of lies, secrets and red herrings, and figure out who truly killed Cathcart.

"The Unpleasantness at the Bellona Club" happens while Peter is lunching with his mentally fragile friend George Fentimen -- elderly General Fentiman expires in his chair. Because the exact time of death is unknown (and the general's sister died at around the same time), it's not clear who the inheritance is going to. And when the body is exhumed and examined, it's found that the old guy was actually poisoned.

"Murder Must Advertise" when an employee at an advertising agency falls down a spiral staircase and breaks his neck. Using the name "Death Bredon," Lord Peter goes undercover at the agency, and quickly discovers that he has a natural talent for it. He also discovers that the agency is involved somehow in a seedy drug smuggling ring, and has links to an upper-class party crowd. Oh yeah, and there are more murders.

Then in "Five Red Herrings," a fishing/painting vacation to an arty little village in Scotland goes horribly awry. Bunter and Wimsey stumble across the body of Sandy Campbell -- a violent, malicious, verbally-abusive painter who has alienated almost everybody in Galloway -- face-down in the pond. At first it appears to be an accident, but Wimsey soon realizes that it was murder. Now he has to figure out who actually murdered the man everyone wanted to throttle.

And finally, in "The Nine Tailors" Wimsey helps out the bellringers at a remote village by helping them ring in the New Year... and of course, a corpse is found the next day. As Wimsey investigates the identity of the mystery man, he discovers that it's connected to stolen emeralds from several years ago -- AND the biggest mystery is not just who killed the man, but HOW.

The BBC did an excellent job preserving the spirit of Dorothy Sayers' classic mystery novels, steeped in the atmosphere of post-World War I England -- gentlemen's clubs, tweed jackets, wood-paneled manorhouses and flapper dresses. There's incisive wit in the dialogue, clever humor ("Every time I get my pay packet, I glow with honest pride!"), and an array of characters including fusty old gentry, office drones, feisty artists to drug-addled flappers.

Even better, these are genuine whodunnits. All three mysteries are tangles of lies, deceptions, infidelities, errors and the occasional bizarre twist such as a Nosferatu-esque man scaring a maidservant into a few grey hairs. In every situation, the solution ends up being wonderfully simple.

Perhaps the biggest problem of the story is that the cast is a bit long in the tooth: Ian Carmichael, Rachel Herbert and Anna Cropper are all at least a decade older than their characters are. It's a bit weird, especially since Carmichael is old enough to be his own character's dad. But despite being in his mid-fifties, Ian Carmichael plays Wimsey with a light, incisive touch and a clever tongue ("I like facts... and there are remarkably few of them in this case"), and he's a likably plausible detective who can be steely when the occasion demands it. Glyn Houston is a warmly jolly Bunter, and he's sorely missed whenever he isn't in one of the stories.

"Lord Peter Wimsey Mysteries: Complete Collection" has a cast that's a bit old for their roles. But otherwise it's a solid collection of murder mysteries that stick close to the original books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not really the Complete Series, May 22, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: THE LORD PETER WIMSEY MYSTERIES: COMPLETE COLLECTION (DVD)
This is the complete series only insofar as it includes all of the titles in which Ian Carmichael starred. I enjoyed these when they first aired. This time, not so much, as I found Carmichael's performance too facetious and precious.

Take a look at the titles that feature Wimsey and Harriet Vane, which are available in a separate collection. In these Edward Petherbridge plays Wimsey, and I find that I like him better than Ian Carmichael. And Harriet Walter is just wonderful as Harriet Vane.

Before all of these originally aired on TV (1980's?), I had already read all of the novels. Now that I've viewed all the videos again, I'm going back to reread the novels. And perhaps, while I'm at it, I'll look in on the mysteries of Ngaio Marsh (Inspector Roderick Alleyn) and Margery Allingham (Mr. Campion).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Subtitles: Oh, Joy!, December 11, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: THE LORD PETER WIMSEY MYSTERIES: COMPLETE COLLECTION (DVD)
5 stars for, FINALLY, subtitles. Indubitably, the best Wimsey series with Ian Carmichael the best Lord Peter. When the discs arrived as group of fellow hearing-impaired friends and I had a get-together to watch an episode. Oh, Joy! The discs are excellent; clear, beautiful, and understandable with the subtitles. Packing was perfect, service was smooth and quick, and the price is good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not quite Petherbridge, but Good Fun, July 24, 2013
This review is from: THE LORD PETER WIMSEY MYSTERIES: COMPLETE COLLECTION (DVD)
It isn't really fair of me to compare this series with the later one, starring Edward Petherbridge as Lord Peter Wimsey (Dorothy Sayers Mysteries Wimsey Harriet Collection ), because the latter are the stories concerning Lord Peter and Harriet Vane, which are so delightful, and Petherbridge brought a melancholy longing to the role . This one, with Ian Carmichael, has Lord Peter as less brooding and more procedural. I agree with another reviewer here on Amazon who said that many of the actors in this series are a bit older than the characters were meant to be in the books, but like that reviewer, I don't think this detracts too much from enjoyment of one of the first and best mystery series that came to PBS. As for the quality of this collection, there is an extra of an interview with Carmichael parceled throughout the DVD's, and it is interesting listening to him talk about the series, and his approach to the character. Production values grew better as the series went along, so the later stories look better, although even the early ones look fine on my flat screen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lord Peter Wimsey Collection, December 15, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: THE LORD PETER WIMSEY MYSTERIES: COMPLETE COLLECTION (DVD)
Doesn't get any better than this - the flavor of the period, beautifully filmed and very well directed. Ian Charmichael was born to play Wimsey.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Only if you are an Anglophile, January 16, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: THE LORD PETER WIMSEY MYSTERIES: COMPLETE COLLECTION (DVD)
Being produced in the 1970's it is not up to the current standards in BBC. The acting varies in portrayal actor by actor. Some are superb and some mediocre. The costumes and sets are extremely beautiful. The editing on the stories needs work. It is very wordy and could be shortened. Perhaps it is filler to make the series longer. At times, it became tedious and my mind wandered. Even after having lived in England for a year, I had to strain to hear and understand the dialogue. Obviously, the sound technology has vastly improved in 40 years. Characters fade in and out. Video is grainy and not hd.
In comparison, the scripts were not as interesting as other BBC shows. If however you are looking for detailed information on how the peerage lived, then this show is for you. I believe this show should be used as a period piece in the development of British mystery. It would, however, not be my first choice in viewing. The exposition is lengthy. The subtle, English dialogue is difficult for the American viewer..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I find Lord Peter charming!, April 28, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: THE LORD PETER WIMSEY MYSTERIES: COMPLETE COLLECTION (DVD)
Ian Carmichael is lots of fun to watch as he solves upper-crust mysteries with the help of his butler/valet and his good friend at Scotland Yard. Great stories from the original books.

It did take me a little bit of time to get used to the artificial-looking indoor sets in some of the films, but once I got involved, I forgot all of that!

These are "happy" mysteries for those who like their television viewing to be pleasant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

THE LORD PETER WIMSEY MYSTERIES: COMPLETE COLLECTION
THE LORD PETER WIMSEY MYSTERIES: COMPLETE COLLECTION by Lord Peter Wimsey Mysteries (DVD - 2013)
$59.99 $21.49
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.